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Table 1

Occupational Licenses in Texas



Explanation of Table 1

Type of License
The term “license” also includes other occupational, professional, and business authorizations, such as certifi cates, certifi cates of authority, permits, 

and registrations.

Description
The description sets out the authority of the license holder, including any limitations. 

Code Chapter
Unless noted otherwise, code chapter references are to the Occupations Code. If licensing requirements are set out in the Texas Administrative Code 

(T.A.C.) instead of in Texas statutes, the rule number is provided.

Number of Active Licenses
This number may include licenses that have expired but are eligible for renewal; it excludes inactive licenses. 

Fees
Unless noted otherwise, fee amounts: (1) are paid annually; (2) apply to both original and renewal applications; and (3) may include application, 

examination, professional, and other fees required of each applicant.  Different fees for original and renewal applications are shown as (O) and (R). 

State Revenue from Fees (FY 07)
This amount may include late fees for renewals of expired licenses and other fees that cannot be separated from licensing fees (e.g., corrective action 

fees, reinstatement fees, or fees for a change of name or location on a license). 

Year First Regulated
This date is the year in which legislation was enacted or an administrative rule was promulgated that required a specifi c occupation to be licensed 

by the State of Texas. Where licensing requirements are provided only by administrative rule, the year provided refl ects the year fi rst regulated under 
the current rule number; an earlier version of the rule may exist but that history is not provided in the Texas Administrative Code.



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
Certifi ed public accountant (CPA) 
license

Authorizes holder to practice public accountancy 
(including services that involve the use of 
accounting, attesting, or auditing skills) as an 
individual.

901 61,026 $2551 $16,524,130 1979

Certifi ed public accounting fi rm 
license

Authorizes holder to practice public accountancy 
as a corporation, limited liability company, 
partnership, registered limited liability partnership, 
or sole proprietorship.

901 9,772 $502 $998,583 19793

Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services4

Home and community support 
services agency license5

Authorizes holder to provide one or more home 
health, hospice, or personal assistance services 
in a client's residence, an independent living 
environment, or another location.  Authorized 
services include: nursing, such as blood pressure 
monitoring and diabetes treatment; physical, 
occupational, speech, or respiratory therapy; 
medical social services; intravenous therapy; 
furnishing of certain medical equipment and 
supplies excluding drugs; nutritional counseling; 
intervention services that focus on the reduction or 
abatement of physical, psychosocial, and spiritual 
symptoms of a terminal illness; and routine ongoing 
care such as bathing, dressing, grooming, feeding, 
assisting with self-administered medications, and 
transfer or ambulation.  Specifi c types of providers 
that must be licensed are as follows:

142 1979

A parent agency that develops and maintains 
administrative controls and supervises branch 
offi ces and alternate delivery (hospice service) 
sites.

3,612 $875 $3,400,367

1



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

A branch offi ce or site in the parent agency's 
service area that provides home health or personal 
assistance services or maintains active client 
records.

756 $875 $718,550

An alternate delivery site in the parent agency's 
service area that is not the agency's principal place 
of business from which the agency exclusively 
provides hospice services.

137 $500 (O)
$300 (R)

$56,075

Convalescent and nursing home 
and related institutions licenses

Authorizes holder to establish, operate, or maintain 
a facility providing institutional care for certain 
individuals.  The specifi c authorization provided 
by each class of license is as follows:

Nursing facility license• 6 Authorizes holder, including a governmental unit, 
to establish, conduct, or maintain an establishment 
that furnishes, in one or more facilities, food and 
shelter to four or more persons who are unrelated 
to the proprietor of the establishment and that 
provides minor treatment under the direction 
and supervision of a licensed physician, or other 
services that meet some need beyond the basic 
provision of food, shelter, and laundry.  Specifi c 
types of facilities that must be licensed include 
nonparticipating nursing facilities that are not 
certifi ed to participate in Medicare or Medicaid, 
nursing facilities certifi ed to participate in 
Medicaid, skilled nursing facilities certifi ed to 
participate in Medicare, skilled nursing facilities/
nursing facilities certifi ed to participate in both 
Medicare and Medicaid, and swing bed facilities 
certifi ed to participate in Medicare with contracted 
services housed in a rural hospital setting.

242 1,2707 $125+8 $860,322 1945

2



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Adult day-care facility • 
license9

Authorizes holder to operate a facility that provides 
daytime health, social, and related support 
services to four or more individuals unrelated 
to the facility's owner through a structured, 
comprehensive program that is designed to meet 
the needs of elderly or handicapped adults with 
functional impairments.  A facility must have at 
least one registered nurse or licensed vocational 
nurse on site eight hours per day and must have 
suffi cient licensed nursing staff on site to meet its 
clients' nursing needs.

10310 466 $25 $12,861 1979

Assisted living facilities • 
license

Authorizes holder to establish or operate an 
establishment that provides to four or more 
individuals unrelated to the facility's owner 
food, shelter, and personal care services, such 
as assistance with meals, dressing, movement, 
or bathing, the administration of medication, 
or general supervision of a person to maintain 
a private and independent residence within the 
establishment's facilities.  Facilities are licensed 
by type according to a resident's physical and 
mental characteristics and the level of assistance 
required, as follows:

247 1,815 $419,487 197811

Type A: residents must be physically and mentally 
capable of evacuating the facility unassisted, 
be capable of following directions during an 
emergency, and not require routine attendance 
during nighttime sleeping hours.

$100+12

3



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Type B: residents may require staff assistance to 
evacuate, be incapable of following directions 
during an emergency, or require attendance 
during nighttime sleeping hours.  Residents may 
not necessarily be permanently bedridden but may 
require assistance in transferring to and from a 
wheelchair.

$100+12

Type C: a four-bed facility categorized by DADS 
as an adult foster care facility.

$50

Type E: residents must be physically and mentally 
capable of evacuating the facility unassisted, 
be capable of following directions during an 
emergency, and not require routine attendance 
during nighttime sleeping hours.  The facility may 
not provide substantial assistance with activities of 
daily living but may provide medication assistance 
and general supervision of a resident's welfare.

$100+12

Nursing facility administrator 
license

Authorizes holder to administer, manage, 
supervise, or be in general administrative charge 
of a nursing facility.

242 2,07913 $25014 1993

Intermediate care facility for 
persons with mental retardation or 
related conditions license

Authorizes holder to establish, conduct, or maintain 
a facility that is primarily for the diagnosis, 
treatment, or rehabilitation of persons with mental 
retardation or related conditions  and provides in a 
protected setting continuous evaluation, planning, 
24-hour supervision, coordination, and integration 
of health or rehabilitative services to help each 
resident function at the resident's greatest ability.

252 42615 $150+16 $68,980 1975

4



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Texas Department of Agriculture17

Organics Licenses18

Organic distributor certifi cate19 Authorizes holder to operate as a broker, trader, 
warehouse facility, or storage facility that handles 
organic products, or as a packing shed or operation 
that grades or sizes organic products.

18 44 $400 or 
$60020

$179,895 1993

Organic processor license Authorizes holder to label, market, advertise, or 
represent as organic or transitional food or fi ber 
products processed by the holder according to 
National Organic Standards established by the 
U.S. Department of Agriculture.  Licenses are 
issued for the following categories:

18 1993

Certifi ed producer license• Authorizes holder with an on-farm state-licensed 
kitchen to process certifi ed food ingredients, feed, 
or milk products in that facility.

11 $50

Commercial feed processor • 
license

Authorizes holder to process organic feed 
products.

2 $600

Commercial food processor • 
license

Authorizes holder to process organic food 
products.

51 $600

Cotton ginning license• Authorizes holder to process organic cotton. 14 $300

Textile manufacturing license• Authorizes a fi ber processor to make fi nished 
textiles or unwoven products from organic fi ber.

2 $600

Organic producer certifi cate 
(land)

Authorizes holder to sell or represent  as organic 
agricultural crops grown by the holder in 
accordance with national standards established by 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture.21

18 199 $175+22 1993

5



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Organic producer certifi cate 
(livestock)

Authorizes holder to sell or represent as organic 
livestock products raised by the holder in 
accordance with national standards established by 
the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

18 16 $175+23 1993

Organic retailer certifi cate24 Authorizes holder to sell organic products through 
a retail facility.

18 74 $100 per 
location

2003

Pesticide and Structural Pest Control Licenses
Commercial pesticide applicator 
license

Authorizes holder or an employee of the holder 
to apply restricted-use or state-limited-use 
pesticides to the property of another person for 
hire or compensation.  Such a license is issued 
for specifi ed service categories or subcategories 
determined by the purpose or method of application 
or the substance applied.

76 3,243 $180 $1,171,087 1975

Noncommercial pesticide 
applicator license

Authorizes holder who is not a private applicator 
or commercial applicator to use restricted-use or 
state-limited-use pesticides.  Generally applies to 
persons employed by businesses applying such 
pesticides on their own property.

76 1,472 $120 1975

Noncommercial pesticide 
political subdivision applicator 
license

Authorizes the holder of a pesticide applicator 
license who is employed by a political subdivision 
of the State of Texas or a federal agency operating 
in Texas to use restricted-use or state-limited-use 
pesticides.

76 4,929 $1225 1975

Private pesticide applicator 
license

Authorizes holder to use or supervise the use of 
restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides for the 
purpose of producing an agricultural commodity 
on property owned or rented by the holder or the 
holder's employer or under the holder's general 
control, or on the property of another person if

76 32,597 $6026 198927

6



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

applied without compensation other than the 
trading of personal services between producers of 
agricultural commodities.

Pesticide dealer's license Authorizes holder to distribute state-limited-use or 
restricted-use pesticides or regulated herbicides.  
A pesticide dealer must obtain a license for each 
location in the state that is used for distribution.

76 1,567 $24028 $24,960 1975

Structural pest control business 
license

Authorizes holder of a certifi ed commercial 
applicator license or the employer of the holder 
of such a license to perform pesticide application 
inside buildings, including the fumigation 
of processed food, and around buildings and 
structures.  Each business location, including 
branch offi ces, must be licensed.

195129 3,404 $180 plus 
$84 per 
technician 
employed

$649,260 1971

Structural pest control certifi ed 
commercial applicator license

Authorizes holder to provide training and direct 
supervision for pest inspections, identifi cations, 
and control measures of a licensed structural pest 
control business.  This person may be a certifi ed 
commercial applicator for only one business 
license location.

195129 5,928 $85 (O)
$80 (R)
plus $84 per 
technician 
employed

$807,039 1971

Structural pest control certifi ed 
noncommercial applicator license

Authorizes holder to provide structural pest control 
services for his or her employer, which may be 
a political subdivision or the owner or operator or 
maintenance provider for an apartment building, 
day-care center, hospital, nursing home, hotel, motel, 
lodge, warehouse, food-processing establishment, 
or educational institution.  Services include making 
inspections for the purpose of identifying infestations; 
making inspection reports, recommendations, 
estimates, or bids; and making contracts or submitting 
bids to perform services designed to prevent, control, 
or eliminate infestations.

195129 1,787 $85 (O)
$80 (R)

1971

7



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Structural pest control 
commercial technician license

Authorizes holder, under the direct supervision 
of a structural pest control certifi ed commercial 
applicator, to perform structural pest control 
services.  Holder must be licensed for every 
business for which he or she is employed or for 
whom he or she performs pest control services.  
Before registering to take the licensing exam, the 
applicant must be registered as an apprentice and 
complete all apprentice training requirements.

195129 3,989 $65(O)
$60(R)

$401,927 1971

Structural pest control 
noncommercial technician license

Authorizes holder, under the direct supervision of 
a structural pest control certifi ed noncommercial 
applicator, to perform structural pest control 
services for a governmental entity, apartment 
building, day-care center, hospital, nursing home, 
hotel, motel, lodge, warehouse, food-processing 
establishment, or educational institution.

195129 $65(O)
$60(R)

1971

Weights and Measures Licenses
Public weigher certifi cate of 
authority (county)

Authorizes holder to issue an offi cial certifi cate 
declaring the accurate weight of a commodity 
requested to be weighed in the county for which 
the holder is elected or appointed.

13 1,263 $120 per 
county30

$41,040 1919

Public weigher certifi cate of 
authority (state)

Authorizes holder to issue an offi cial certifi cate 
declaring the accurate weight of a commodity 
requested to be weighed anywhere in the state.

13 14 $48030 1981

Weights and measures service 
technician registration

Authorizes registrant to place into service or 
remove an out-of-order tag from any weighing 
or measuring device and to inspect liquefi ed 
petroleum gas meters or ranch scales.

13 1,220 $8031 1996

8



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Weights and measures inspection 
company license

Authorizes holder to employ registered technicians 
to place devices into service, remove out-of-order 
tags, and inspect liquefi ed petroleum gas meters 
or ranch scales.

13 16 $90 per class 
of equipment 
inspected28

$38,160 1996

Weights and measures service 
company license

Authorizes holder to employ registered technicians 
to place devices into service and remove out-of-
order tags.

13 459 $90 per class 
of equipment 
serviced28

1996

Other Licenses
Aquaculture facility license Authorizes holder to produce and sell cultured 

species raised in a private pond, tank, cage, or 
other structure capable of holding cultured species 
in confi nement wholly within or on private land or 
water or on permitted public land or water.

134 169 $12032 $8,765 1969

Cooperative marketing 
association license

Authorizes an association or a group of fi ve or 
more persons who produce agricultural products  
to engage in any activity connected with the 
production, cultivation, and care of citrus groves; 
the harvesting, preserving, drying, processing, 
canning, storing, handling, shipping, marketing, 
selling, or use of agricultural products of its 
members; the manufacturing or marketing of by-
products of such products; the manufacturing, 
selling, or supplying to its members of machinery, 
equipment, or supplies;  or the fi nancing of any 
authorized activities.

52 177 $25 $5,900 1921

Egg broker license Authorizes holder to act as an agent, for a fee or 
commission, in the sale or transfer of eggs between 
producers, or dealer-wholesalers as sellers and 
dealer-wholesalers, processors, or retailers as buyers.

132 5 $420 $534,710 1957

9



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Egg dealer-wholesaler license Authorizes holder to buy eggs from producers or 
other persons on the egg dealer-wholesaler's own 
account and sell or transfer eggs to other dealer-
wholesalers, processors, retailers, or other persons 
and consumers.  Also allows holder to produce 
eggs from his or her own fl ock and dispose of any 
portion of this production on a graded basis.

132 360 $20 to 
$2,40033

1957

Egg processor license Authorizes holder to operate a plant for the 
purpose of breaking eggs for freezing, drying, or 
commercial food manufacturing.

132 5 $60 to $42034 1957

Nursery or fl oral registration Authorizes a nursery owner, dealer, or agent or a 
fl orist to sell nursery or fl oral items, or to offer for 
sale or lease, distribute, or grow such items for the 
purpose of sale or lease, or offer such items as an 
enticement to promote the sale or lease of other 
items.

71 19,864 $75 to $18035 $1,456,547 190936

Rose grading certifi cate of 
authority

Authorizes holder to grade or infl uence the grading 
of rose plants sold or offered for sale in Texas.

121 8 $18 to $12037 1961

Perishable commodities license 
(handling and marketing of)

Authorizes a business or individual to handle, sell, 
or deal in Texas-grown citrus fruits and vegetables, 
as follows:

101 $58,390 1963

General license• Authorizes holder to buy for resale, sell, offer 
for sale, process, broker, or ship for the purpose 
of selling perishable commodities grown in this 
state; purchase on credit; take possession for 
consignment or handling on behalf of the producer 
or owner; or take possession for consignment or 
handling in a manner or under a contract that does 
not require or result in full payment to the producer, 
seller, or consignor in United States currency at 
the time of delivery or taking possession.

325 $9038
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Buying agent license• Allows holder to purchase perishable commodities 
for a general license holder.

365 $10

Cash dealer license• Authorizes holder to purchase perishable 
commodities paid for in U.S. currency before 
or at the time of delivery or taking possession.  
Authorizes a retailer to sell perishable commodities 
if its annual sales of such commodities make up 50 
percent or more of the retailer's total sales or if the 
retailer employs buying agents who buy directly 
from a producer.

698 $30

Transporting agent license• Authorizes holder to act for a general license holder 
in the transporting of perishable commodities.

620 $10

Prescribed burn manager 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to assume ultimate authority, 
responsibility, and liability insurance coverage 
for a prescribed burn, defi ned as the controlled 
application of fi re to naturally occurring or 
naturalized vegetative fuels under specifi ed 
environmental conditions in accordance with a 
written prescription plan.

15339 14 $5040 $500 1999

Public grain warehouse license Authorizes holder to operate a grain elevator or a 
business engaged in the operation of a public grain 
warehouse where grain is stored.  Also allows 
holder to store and commingle grain owned by 
others for compensation.

14 217 $150+41 $45,273 1969

Vegetable seed license Authorizes holder to sell or offer, expose, or 
otherwise distribute for sale vegetable seed for 
planting purposes within the state.

61 71 $120 $8,520 1975
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Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission42,43

Beer Licenses
Agent's beer license Authorizes holder to represent beer manufacturers 

and distributors in selling, soliciting, displaying, 
advertising, or otherwise promoting beer sales.

73 11,856 $50 $592,800 1961

Branch distributor's license Allows general distributor to expand its distributing 
business at another location.

66 60 $373 $22,380 1937

Brewpub license Authorizes holder to manufacture, brew, bottle, 
can, package, and label malt liquor, ale, and 
beer, and to sell or offer without charge, on the 
premises of a brewpub, to ultimate consumers for 
consumption on or off those premises, malt liquor, 
ale, or beer produced by the holder in or from a 
lawful container, to the extent the sales or offers 
are allowed under the holder’s other permits or 
licenses.  License must be held with a permit or 
license authorizing on-premises consumption.  
Total production cannot exceed 5,000 barrels for 
each licensed location.

74 30 $681 $20,430 1993

General distributor's license Authorizes holder to sell beer to other distributors, 
local distributors, private clubs, and retailers in the 
unbroken original packages from the manufacturer 
or distributor; to serve free beer for consumption on 
the licensed premises; and to distribute and sell beer 
to qualifi ed persons for shipment outside the state.

64 89 $598 $53,222 1935

Importer's license Authorizes distributor to import beer from outside 
the state.

67 145 $138 $20,010 1953

Importer's carrier's license Authorizes a distributor who also holds an 
importer's license to import beer in vehicles owned 
or leased in good faith.

68 19 $106 $2,014 1949
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Local distributor's license Authorizes holder to sell beer to local distributors, 
retailers, private clubs in the county where the 
holder resides, and other licensed distributors and 
to serve beer free for consumption on the licensed 
premises.

65 1 $373 $373 1935

Manufacturer's license Authorizes holder to manufacture beer; to sell 
beer to a holder of a general, local, or branch 
distributor license and to qualifi ed persons outside 
the state; and to dispense beer for on-premises 
consumption.

62 13 $1,027 to 
$8,67744

$14,851 1935

Manufacturer's warehouse license Authorizes holder of a manufacturer's license 
whose annual production of beer in this state did 
not exceed 75,000 barrels on January 1, 1993, 
to have a warehouse where beer sales are lawful 
and to import beer from outside the state for 
delivery to the licensed warehouse for sale to beer 
distributors or for removal to other warehouses of 
the manufacturer.

62 5 $535 $2,675 1993

Nonresident manufacturer's 
license

Authorizes holder to have beer received in Texas 
only by the holder of an importer's license.

63 173 $995 $172,135 1961

Retail dealer's off-premise license Authorizes holder to sell beer in a lawful container 
directly to the consumer but not for resale and 
not to be opened or consumed on or near the 
premises.

71 6,792 $295 $2,003,640 1935

Retail dealer's on-premise license 
(excludes Dallas, Harris, and 
Tarrant Counties)

Authorizes holder to sell beer for consumption 
on or off premises in a lawful container to the 
ultimate consumer but not for resale.  Requires 
adequate seating area for customers.

69 1,152 $385 $443,520 1935
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Retail dealer's on-premise license 
(Dallas, Harris, and Tarrant 
Counties)

Authorizes holder to sell beer for consumption 
on or off premises in a lawful container to the 
ultimate consumer but not for resale.  Requires 
adequate seating area for customers.

69 357 $1,235 (O)
$985 (R)

$357,395 1935

Retail dealer's on-premise late 
hours license

Authorizes holder of a retail dealer's on-premise 
license or a wine and beer retailer's permit to sell 
and serve wine, beer, and ale until 2 a.m.

70 2,518 $389 $979,502 1969

Special three-day wine and beer 
permit

Authorizes holder to sell to ultimate consumers 
for on-premises consumption, wine, beer, and 
malt liquor containing alcohol in excess of one-
half of 1 percent by volume but not more than 
14 percent or 17 percent by volume (depending 
on the type of local-option election).  May be 
issued to a nonprofi t charitable, civic, or religious 
organization for the temporary serving of wine 
and beer at a picnic, celebration, or similar event 
sponsored by the organization.

27 1,878 $201 $377,478 1993

Storage license Authorizes the holder of a customs broker’s 
license to import beer, ale, and malt liquor from 
the holder of a nonresident manufacturer’s license 
or a nonresident brewer’s permit located in Mexico 
and to store the beverage until it can be shipped out 
of the state.  The licensed premises must be in a 
"wet" area in a county with a population that does 
not exceed 300,000 and that borders Mexico.

75 0 $286 0 1997

Temporary charitable auction 
permit

Authorizes holder to conduct an auction where 
the sale of the alcoholic beverage to be auctioned 
is authorized by a local-option election.  May be 
issued only to a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization.  
Only one permit may be issued to an organization 
each calendar year, and the permit is valid for a 
maximum of fi ve days.

53 67 $196 $13,132 1997
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Temporary license Authorizes the holder of a retail dealer’s on-
premises license or a wine and beer retailer’s 
permit to sell beer to ultimate consumers for 
consumption on or off the premises where sold.  
May be issued for a period of up to four days and 
only for the sale of beer at picnics, celebrations, or 
similar events.

72 1,812 $201 $364,212 1935

Temporary wine and beer 
retailer's permit

Authorizes holder to sell to ultimate consumers 
for consumption on or off the premises, beer, malt 
liquors, and wine containing alcohol in excess of 
one-half of 1 percent by volume but not more than 
14 percent or 17 percent by volume (depending on 
the type of local-option election).  May be issued 
for a period up to four days and only for a picnic, 
celebration, or similar event.  May be issued only 
to the holder of a wine and beer retailer’s permit 
or a mixed beverage permit or to a nonprofi t 
historic preservation organization that has been in 
existence for at least 30 years.

27 10 $201 $2,010 1973

Wine and beer retailer's permit 
(excludes Dallas, Harris, and 
Tarrant Counties)

Authorizes holder to sell for consumption on or off 
the premises where sold, but not for resale, beer, 
ale, malt liquor, and wine containing alcohol of 
not more than 14 percent or 17 percent by volume 
(depending on the type of local-option election).  
Requires adequate seating area for customers.

25 6,102 $410 $2,501,820 1935

Wine and beer retailer's permit 
(Dallas, Harris, and Tarrant 
Counties)

Authorizes holder to sell for consumption on or off 
the premises where sold, but not for resale, beer, 
ale, malt liquor, and wine containing alcohol of 
not more than 14 percent or 17 percent by volume 
(depending on the type of local-option election).  
Requires adequate seating area for customers.

25 2,770 $1,235 (O)
$985 (R)

$2,837,450 1935
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Wine and beer retailer's off-
premise permit

Authorizes holder to sell for off-premises 
consumption only, but not for resale, wine, beer, 
and malt liquor containing alcohol in excess of 
one-half of 1 percent by volume and not more than 
14 percent or 17 percent by volume (depending on 
the type of local-option election).

26 12,225 $295 $3,606,375 1973

Wine and Liquor Permits
Agent's permit Authorizes holder to represent only the holders of 

active permits within this state, other than retail 
permit holders, authorized to sell liquor to retail 
dealers in Texas.

35 10,991 $50 $549,550 1935

Airline beverage permit Authorizes a corporation operating a commercial 
airline to sell or serve alcoholic beverages while 
operating in or through Texas.

34 21 $2,339 $49,119 1969

Beverage cartage permit Authorizes certain permit holders (mixed beverage, 
private club registration, private club wine and 
beer, or private club exemption certifi cate) to 
transport alcoholic beverages to those licensed 
premises from the place of purchase.

44 6,668 $84 $560,112 1971

Bonded warehouse permit Authorizes holder to store liquor for any permit 
holder who holds a public storage permit.

46 8 $208 $1,664 1937

Bonded warehouse permit (dry 
area)

Authorizes holder to store wine in a dry area for a 
winery permit holder who holds a public storage 
permit.

46 0 $208 0 1993

Brewer's permit Authorizes holder to manufacture ale and malt 
liquor and sell it only to wholesale permit holders 
in this state or to qualifi ed persons outside the 
state.

12 12 $1,745 $20,940 1935
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Carrier's permit Authorizes holder to transport liquor into and out 
of the state and between points within the state, 
but not to dry areas.

41 491 $137 $67,267 1935

Caterer's permit Authorizes a mixed beverage permit holder to sell 
mixed beverages on a temporary basis at a place 
other than the premises for which that permit is 
issued but only in areas "wet" for the sale of mixed 
beverages.

31 1,286 $618 $794,748 1971

Daily temporary mixed beverage 
permit

Authorizes holder to sell mixed beverages for 
consumption on the premises for which the permit 
is issued.  May be issued to the holder of a mixed 
beverage permit for a location in the county where 
the mixed beverage permit is located.  May be 
issued for a picnic, celebration, or similar event 
sponsored by a religious organization; political 
party or association supporting a proposed 
amendment or candidate for public offi ce; or a 
charitable, civic, or fraternal organization with 
regular membership that has existed for more 
than fi ve years.  If issued to an organization, the 
organization may not hold more than 10 temporary 
permits in a calendar year.

30 563 $221 $124,423 1971

Daily temporary private club 
permit

Authorizes holder to serve alcoholic beverages 
for consumption on the premises for which the 
permit is issued.  May be issued only to the holder 
of a private club registration permit, private club 
wine and beer permit, or private club exemption 
certifi cate permit for a location in the same county 
where the permits are located.  It may be issued for a 
picnic, celebration, or similar event sponsored by a 
political party or association supporting a candidate 
for public offi ce or proposed amendment;

33 171 $242 $41,382 1989
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a charitable, civic, or fraternal organization with 
a regular membership in existence more than fi ve 
years; or a religious organization.  If issued to an 
organization, the organization may not hold more 
than two temporary permits in a calendar year.

Distiller's and rectifi er's permit Authorizes holder to manufacture, rectify, purify, 
and refi ne distilled spirits; mix liquor; bottle and 
package fi nished products; sell to wholesalers 
and qualifi ed individuals outside this state; and 
import from nonresident sellers distilled spirits for 
manufacturing and rectifying purposes.

14 9 $1,649 $14,841 198345

Food and beverage certifi cate May be issued to the holder of a beer retailer’s 
on-premise permit or a wine and beer retailer’s 
permit if food service is the primary business 
being operated on the licensed premises or to the 
holder of a mixed beverage permit or private club 
permit if food service is available on the premises 
and the gross receipts of alcoholic beverages 
do not exceed 50 percent of the business's total 
gross receipts.  The holder must comply with 
statutory and regulatory provisions concerning 
the minimum number of entrees served, hours of 
service, and other requirements.

25, 28, 32, 
69

6,054 $345 $2,088,630 1995

Forwarding center authority Allows the member of the manufacturing tier who 
is transporting alcoholic beverages into the state or 
from point to point within the state to temporarily 
hold the beverages in a regional forwarding center.  
The center must be located in a “wet” area for the 
type of alcoholic beverages held.  City and county 
certifi cations are required for this authority.

16 T.A.C. 
§35.6

21 $1,118 $23,478 1999

Industrial permit Authorizes holder to use alcohol for industrial 
purposes tax free.

38 79 $171 $13,509 1935
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Local cartage permit Authorizes warehouse or transfer company to 
transport liquor within city limits.  May also be 
issued to the holder of a package store permit or 
a wine-only package store permit to deliver liquor 
to a customer within the city or a two-mile limit 
thereof and to transport liquor within the county 
between the holder's other licensed premises.

43 909 $116 $105,444 1935

Local distributor's permit Authorizes a package store permit holder to sell 
alcoholic beverages to the holder of a mixed 
beverage, private club registration, or private club 
exemption certifi cate permit.

23 655 $292 $191,260 1971

Local industrial alcohol 
manufacturer's permit

Authorizes holder to manufacture, rectify, and 
refi ne industrial alcohol; denature alcohol; or 
blend alcohol with petroleum to make a motor fuel 
and sell the fuel to consumers.  Denatured alcohol 
may be sold only to the holder of a local industrial 
alcohol manufacturer’s permit or an industrial 
permit or to qualifi ed persons outside the state.

47 6 $239 $1,434 1979

Manufacturer's agent's permit Authorizes holder to represent active nonresident 
seller's permit holders and to solicit and take 
orders from permit holders authorized to import 
liquors for resale.

36 1,072 $50 $53,600 1943

Manufacturer's agent's 
warehousing permit

Authorizes holder to receive malt beverages from 
the holder of a nonresident brewer’s permit or a 
nonresident manufacturer’s license and to store 
those beverages on its premises.  Allows holder to 
ship, sell, or transfer malt beverages to permitted 
distributors or wholesalers as designated by 
the assigned territorial agreement issued by the 
actual manufacturer of the brands.  Allows holder 
to return malt beverages to the manufacturer or

55 0 $977 0 2007
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brewer from which they were received.  Allows 
holder to store malt beverages that are not labeled 
and approved for sale in this state and ship them 
to qualifi ed persons in other states or jurisdictions 
where their sale is legal.

Market research packager's 
permit

Authorizes holder to receive alcoholic beverages 
produced by and belonging to an authorized permit 
or license holder inside or outside the state and 
to place the beverages in containers or packaging 
materials as a service to the license or permit holder 
in connection with market research and return the 
beverages to the license or permit holder.

49 0 $154 0 1985

Minibar permit Authorizes a mixed beverage permit holder in a 
hotel to sell alcoholic beverages in a guest room 
of the hotel from a locked container in the room.

51 71  $2,149 (O)
 $899 to
 $1,649 (R)

$80,579 1989

Mixed beverage permit Authorizes holder to sell mixed drinks from 
unsealed containers and wine, beer, ale, and 
malt liquor in containers of any legal size for on-
premises consumption.  May be issued to a boat 
that carries at least 350 passengers, weighs at least 
90 gross tons, and is at least 80 feet long or to a 
regularly scheduled excursion boat that is licensed 
by the U.S. Coast Guard to carry passengers on 
the navigable waters of the state if the boat carries 
at least 45 passengers, weighs at least 35 gross 
tons, and is at least 55 feet long.

28 9,133  $3,256 (O)
 $1,006 to
 $2,506 (R)

$14,693,548 1971

Mixed beverage restaurant permit 
with food and beverage certifi cate

Authorizes a restaurant located in an area voted 
"wet" for the legal sale of mixed beverages 
in a restaurant that holds a food and beverage 
certifi cate to sell mixed drinks, wine, beer, ale, 
and malt liquor for consumption on the restaurant 
premises.

28 931 $3,256 (O)
$1,006 to
$2,506 (R)

$2,278,336 1995
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Mixed beverage late hours permit Authorizes holder of a mixed beverage permit to 
sell mixed beverages until 2 a.m.

29 6,239 $289 $1,803,071 1971

Nonresident brewer's permit Authorizes an out-of-state brewer that holds a 
nonresident seller's permit to sell ale or malt 
liquor to Texas permit holders qualifi ed to import 
such beverages.

13 182 $1,660 $302,120 1961

Nonresident seller's permit Authorizes a distiller, winery, importer, broker, 
or other entity to solicit, take orders for, or ship 
liquor, or to cause liquor to be shipped, to permit 
holders authorized to import liquor into Texas.

37 1,813 $310 $562,030 1943

Out-of-state winery direct 
shipper's permit

Authorizes holder to sell and deliver wine produced 
or bottled by the holder to ultimate consumers  
located in wet or dry areas in Texas.

54 482 $7546 $36,150 2005

Package store permit Authorizes holder to sell liquor, malt liquor, and 
vinous liquors on or from licensed premises at retail 
to consumers for off-premises consumption.

22 2,426 $713 $1,729,738 1935

Package store tasting permit Authorizes holder to conduct product tasting of 
distilled spirits, wine, beer, and malt- or spirit-based 
coolers on the licensed premises of the holder's 
package store during regular business hours.

52 1,026 $100 $102,600 1993

Passenger train beverage permit Authorizes a corporation operating a commercial 
passenger train to sell or serve alcoholic beverages 
while operating in or through Texas.

48 3 $756 $2,268 1985

Private carrier's permit Authorizes holder to transport liquor from the 
place of purchase to its place of business and from 
its place of business to the purchaser in vehicles 
owned or leased in good faith.  Holder must 
also have a wholesaler’s permit, general Class B 
wholesaler’s permit, local Class B wholesaler’s 
permit, winery permit, wine bottler’s permit, or 
distiller's and rectifi er's permit.

42 352 $137 $48,224 1935
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Private club exemption certifi cate 
permit

Authorizes a private club of a fraternal or veterans 
organization to serve alcoholic beverages to its 
members and their guests.

32 454 0 0 197147

Private club registration permit Authorizes a private club to serve alcoholic 
beverages to its members and their guests.

32 871 Option 1:
$1,133 to 
$3,38348

$1,100,744 1961

1,068 Option 2: 
$3,883 (O)
$2,383 or 
$3,133 (R)49

$2,809,794

Private club beer and wine permit Allows holder to have activities authorized under 
a private club permit restricted to the storage and 
service of wine, beer, and malt liquor for club 
members.

32 92 $1,883 $173,236 1993

Private club late hours permit Authorizes the holder of a private club registration 
or private club exemption certifi cate permit to 
serve alcoholic beverages until 2 a.m.

33 495 $899 $445,005 1969

Private storage permit Authorizes holder to store alcoholic beverages 
in a private warehouse owned or operated by the 
holder.

45 7 $186 $1,302 1935

Promotional permit Authorizes holder to engage in activities to 
promote and enhance the sale of an alcoholic 
beverage in this state, including activities that take 
place on the premises of the holder of an alcoholic 
beverage permit or license or on behalf of a 
distiller, brewer, rectifi er, manufacturer, winery, 
or wine bottler with whom the promotional permit 
holder has entered into a contract.

54 38 $30050 $11,400 2005
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Public storage permit Authorizes holder to store alcoholic beverages in 
a public storage warehouse that holds a bonded 
warehouse permit.

45 7 $186 $1,302 1935

Wholesaler permit Authorizes holder to purchase and import distilled 
spirits, malt liquor, ale, and vinous liquor from 
nonresident seller's permit holders or from Class 
B or other wholesalers and to sell the beverages to 
authorized retailers and wholesalers.

19 139 $2,173 $302,047 1935

Wholesaler's (general Class B) 
permit

Authorizes holder to purchase and import malt 
liquor, ale, and vinous liquor from nonresident 
sellers, brewer's permit holders, and Class B or 
other wholesalers and to sell such beverages to 
retailers and wholesalers authorized to sell same.

20 131 $577 $75,587 1937

Wholesaler's (local Class B) 
permit

Authorizes holder to purchase and import malt and 
vinous liquor from nonresident sellers, brewer's 
permit holders, and Class B and other wholesalers 
and to sell the beverages to retailers in the county 
of residence and to authorized wholesalers.

21 3 $352 $1,056 1961

Wine and beer retailer's permit for 
an excursion boat

Authorizes an excursion boat to sell and serve beer 
and wine containing alcohol of up to 14 percent or 
17 percent by volume (depending on the type of 
local-option election) for consumption on the boat 
while operating in a wet area.

25 11 $365 $4,015 1955

Wine and beer retailer's permit for 
a railway dining, buffet, or club 
car

Authorizes a railway dining, buffet, or club car to 
sell and serve beer and wine containing alcohol 
of up to 14 percent or 17 percent by volume 
(depending on the type of local-option election) 
for consumption on the car while operating in a 
wet area.

25 0 $265 0 1935
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Wine bottler's permit Authorizes holder to purchase and import wine 
from a nonresident seller or to purchase wine in 
this state from the holder of a wholesaler's, winery, 
or wine bottler's permit, and to bottle, re-bottle, 
label, package, and sell wine to permit holders in 
this state that are authorized to purchase and sell 
wine.

18 4 $481 $1,924 1937

Wine only package store permit Authorizes holder to sell ale, malt liquor, wine, 
and vinous liquors on or from licensed premises at 
retail to consumers for off-premises consumption.  
A holder whose premises are located in a wet 
area allowing the legal sale of wine for off-
premises consumption as determined by a local-
option election may purchase, sell, or possess 
vinous liquor, but not ale or malt liquor, on those 
premises.

24 3,418 $310 $1,059,580 194951

Winery permit Authorizes holder to manufacture, bottle, label, 
and package wine containing up to 24 percent 
alcohol by volume; to sell wine to wholesalers 
and to winery and wine bottler's permit holders; 
to sell wine to ultimate consumers in unbroken 
packages for off-premises consumption; to sell 
wine to permit holders authorized to sell wine to 
ultimate consumers; and to dispense free wine for 
consumption on the winery premises.

16 155 $373 $57,815 1935

Winery storage permit Authorizes holder of a winery permit whose 
winery is in a county that is all or partially dry 
to store the winery’s product in a dry area of the 
county.

45 2 $186 $372 1993
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Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certifi cation Board52

Appraiser trainee authorization Authorizes trainee to appraise those properties, 
under the supervision of a sponsoring certifi ed 
appraiser, that the supervising appraiser is 
permitted to appraise.

1103 1,191 $105 (O)
$110 (R)

$785,01053 1991

General real estate appraiser 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to appraise all types of real 
property without regard to transaction value or 
complexity.

1103 2,250 $310 (O)
$320 (R)

1989

Real estate appraiser license Authorizes holder to appraise non-complex 
residential property of one to four units having 
a transaction value of less than $1 million and 
complex residential property of one to four units 
having a transaction value of less than $250,000.   
May also appraise vacant or unimproved land for 
which the highest and best use is for one- to four-
family purposes.  May not appraise subdivisions.

1103 934 $235 1991

Residential real estate appraiser 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to appraise residential property 
of one to four units without regard to transaction 
value or complexity and vacant or unimproved 
land that may be used for one- to four-family 
purposes.  May not appraise subdivisions.

1103 2,380 $260 (O)
$270 (R)

1989

Real estate appraiser provisional 
license

Authorizes holder to appraise the same types of 
properties as a state licensed real estate appraiser.

22 T.A.C.  
§153.8

52 $235 2001

Texas Board of Architectural Examiners
Architect registration Authorizes holder to engage in the practice of 

architecture.
1051 10,190 $155 to

$400 (O)54,55

$305 or
$400 (R)55,56

$3,700,889 1937
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Interior designer registration Authorizes holder to identify or develop solutions 
to problems relating to the function or quality 
of the interior environment by using specialized 
knowledge of interior construction, building 
codes, equipment, materials, and furnishings.

1053 4,862 $355 to
$400 (O)54,55

$305 or
$400 (R)55,56

$1,655,122 1991

Landscape architect registration Authorizes holder to engage in landscape analysis, 
planning, and design, including the performing 
of such services as consultation, investigation, 
research, preparation of general development 
and detailed site design plans, and responsible 
supervision related to the development of 
landscape areas.

1052 1,225 $355 to
$400 (O)54,55

$305 or
$400 (R)55,56

$449,307 1969

Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Court interpreter certifi cation Authorizes holder to interpret court proceedings 

for a hearing-impaired individual.
5757 142 $175 (O)

$100 (R)
N/A N/A

Texas Department of Banking58

Money services business license59 Authorizes holder to engage in, or advertise, 
solicit, or hold itself out as a person that engages 
in, the business of money transmission or currency 
exchange.

151 128 $2,500 (O)60

$500 or
$1,500 (R)61

$146,000 1963 and 
199162

Perpetual care cemetery 
certifi cate of authority

Authorizes holder to maintain a cemetery for the 
benefi t of which a perpetual care trust fund has 
been established.

71263 243 $500 (O)
$50 to
$1,000 (R)64

$156,950 1945

Prepaid funeral contract seller 
permit

Authorizes holder to sell or offer to sell a contract 
or agreement for prepaid funeral benefi ts, whether 
trust-funded or insurance-funded.

154 413 $500 (O)
$100 to
$3,000 (R)65

$238,225 1955

Private child support enforcement 
agency registration

Authorizes an individual or nongovernmental 
entity to engage in the enforcement of child 
support ordered by a court or other tribunal for a 
fee or other consideration.

396 12 $1,000+66 $6,500 2001
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Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Chiropractic license Authorizes holder to analyze, examine, or 

evaluate the biomechanical condition of the spine 
and musculoskeletal system of the human body 
and perform nonsurgical, nonincisive procedures, 
including adjustment and manipulation, to improve 
the subluxation complex or the biomechanics of 
the musculoskeletal system.

201 4,544 $325 (O)67

$135 (R)
$2,057,98768 1949

Chiropractic facility registration Authorizes registrant to own an offi ce, clinic, or 
other place of business that provides chiropractic 
services by or under the direction of a licensed 
doctor of chiropractic.

201 3,175 $65 1993

Chiropractic radiological 
technician registration

Authorizes registrant to perform radiologic 
procedures in a chiropractic facility.

201 45 $35 199669

Offi ce of Consumer Credit Commissioner70

Creditor registration Authorizes registrant to originate, service, or collect 
on a retail installment sales transaction, including 
for the sale of a manufactured home.  Excludes a 
contract for the purchase of a motor vehicle.

345, 34771 4,824 $10 or $1572 $81,045 1987 and 
1993

Debt management services 
provider registration

Authorizes registrant, regardless of whether 
located in this state, to provide a debt management 
service to a consumer in this state.  Such a service 
includes receiving money from a consumer 
for distribution to or among one or more of the 
consumer's creditors in full or partial payment 
of the consumer's obligations; arranging or 
helping a consumer arrange for such distribution 
of payments; or exercising control, directly or 
indirectly, or arranging for the exercise of control 
over a consumer's funds for the purpose of such 
distribution.

394 59 $250 (O)
$430 (R)

$25,300 2005
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Motor vehicle creditor license Authorizes holder to initiate a retail installment 
sale transaction for the purchase of a motor 
vehicle.

348 5,562 $100 (O)73

$75 (R)
$293,847 2001

Pawnshop license Authorizes holder to engage in business as a 
pawnbroker, i.e., lend money on the security of 
pledged goods or purchase goods on condition that 
the goods may be redeemed or repurchased by the 
seller for a fi xed price within a fi xed period.

371 1,152 $500+ (O)74

$430+ (R)75
$136,858 1971

Pawnshop employee license Authorizes an individual employed by a 
pawnbroker to write a pawn transaction, buy or 
sell merchandise, or supervise another licensed 
pawnshop employee.

371 8,439 $25 (O)76

$15 (R)
$105,630 1981

Property tax lender license77 Authorizes holder to provide to a property owner 
in Texas a property tax loan in connection with 
the transfer of a property tax lien or a contract for 
the foreclosure of a property tax lien to receive 
compensation over a certain amount in connection 
with such a loan.

35178 0 $200+79 0 2007

Refund anticipation loan 
facilitator registration77

Authorizes registrant, individually or in 
conjunction or cooperation with another person, 
to act as a facilitator for a tax refund anticipation 
loan.

35178 0 $5080 0 2007

Regulated loan license Authorizes holder to make, transact, or negotiate a 
consumer loan or to contract for, charge, or receive, 
directly or indirectly, in connection with such a 
loan, a charge, including interest, compensation, 
consideration, or other expense, that in the 
aggregate exceeds the charges authorized under 
other law.  Excludes a bank, savings bank, or 
savings and loan association, or an insurance 
premium fi nance company.

342 1,497 $200+79 $1,842,297 1963
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Court Reporters Certifi cation Board81,82

Court reporting fi rm registration Authorizes registrant to provide court reporting 
services for use in litigation in the courts of this 
state and in grand jury, arbitration, county, or city 
proceedings.

52 383 $200 $37,600 2001

Shorthand reporter certifi cate Authorizes holder to provide court reporting 
services for use in litigation in the courts of this 
state and in grand jury, arbitration, county, or city 
proceedings.

52 2,732 $185 (O)
$210 (R)

$325,090 1977

State Board of Dental Examiners
Dentist license Authorizes holder to clean, diagnose, and provide 

surgical or adjunctive treatment for a disease, pain, 
injury, defi ciency, deformity, or physical condition 
of human teeth, oral cavity, alveolar process, gums, 
jaws, or masticatory structures.  Also authorizes 
holder to perform various functions related to 
the construction, fi tting, adjustment, or repair of 
dental appliances, dentures, bridges, dental plates, 
or other substitutes for human teeth.

251, 
256-258, 

267

12,51683 $355 (O)84

$316 (R)
$1,550,23985 1889

Dental hygienist license Authorizes holder to perform certain tasks 
delegated by a dentist, except diagnosis of a dental 
disease or ailment; prescription of a treatment or a 
regimen; prescription, order, or dispensation of a 
medication;  or any procedure that is irreversible 
or involves the intentional cutting of soft or hard 
tissue by any means.

256, 262 9,763 $75 (O)
$69 (R)

$697,265 1951

Dental laboratory registration Authorizes registrant to operate a dental laboratory 
or provide or offer to provide dental laboratory 
services, such as the making, assembly, processing, 
production, repair, relining, or adjustment of a

266 1,007 $105 (O)
$101 (R)

$103,556 1973
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prosthetic or orthodontic dental appliance, a full or 
partial denture, a fi xed or removable dental bridge, 
a dental plate of false teeth, an artifi cial restoration, 
or a substitute or corrective device for any part of 
the human teeth, gums, jaws, or alveolar process;  
or the fi tting of a dental appliance, a denture, a 
bridge, a plate, false teeth, an artifi cial restoration, 
or a substitute or corrective device for the human 
teeth, gums, or jaws to or on a dental model, 
impression, or cast of any part of the human teeth, 
gums, jaws, or alveolar process.

Dental assistant registration Authorizes registrant to be employed by and work 
in the offi ce of a licensed and practicing dentist and 
perform one or more delegated dental acts under 
the direct supervision, direction, and responsibility 
of the dentist, including the application of a pit 
and fi ssure sealant.

265 14,762 $50 (O)
$25 (R)

$905,095 199186

Mobile dental facility or portable 
dental unit permit

Authorizes holder to operate a mobile dental 
facility or portable dental unit.

25487 17 $50 $95088 2001

State Board of Educator Certifi cation89,90

Classroom teacher certifi cate Authorizes holder to be employed by a school 
district in a classroom teacher assignment that 
matches the subject area and grade level of the 
certifi cate.

21 55,889 $75 $4,191,675 1905

Educational aide certifi cate Authorizes holder to perform certain tasks under 
the direction and supervision of a certifi ed teacher 
or teaching team, including assisting a teacher with 
selecting, planning, organizing, and evaluating 
classroom activities, and helping with clerical and 
supervisory duties.

21 10,461 $30 $313,830 1995
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Educational diagnostician 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to provide educational 
assessment and evaluation for students in early 
childhood programs through grade 12.

21 332 $75 $24,900 199691

Instructional educator (other than 
classroom teacher)

Authorizes holder, including a reading specialist, 
to teach students in early childhood programs 
through grade 12.

21 140 $75 $10,500 2003

Master teacher certifi cate Authorizes holder to serve as a mentor to other 
teachers and to teach in a specifi c subject area.

21 229 $75 $17,175 1984

Out-of-country standard 
classroom certifi cate

Authorizes an educator certifi ed or otherwise 
credentialed by another country, and who meets 
certain other accreditation and examination 
requirements, to be employed by a school district 
in a classroom teacher assignment that matches 
the subject area and grade level of the certifi cate.

21 551 $75 $41,325 1995

Out-of-state standard classroom 
certifi cate

Authorizes an educator certifi ed or otherwise 
credentialed by another state, and who meets 
certain other accreditation and examination 
requirements, to be employed by a school district 
in a classroom teacher assignment that matches 
the subject area and grade level of the certifi cate.

21 11,759 $75 $881,925 1955

Principal certifi cate Authorizes holder to serve as the principal or 
assistant principal of a public elementary, middle, 
or secondary school.

21 2,765 $75 $207,375 1984

School counselor certifi cate Authorizes holder to provide counseling services 
to students in regular education programs, career 
and technology education programs, and special 
education programs in prekindergarten through 
grade 12.

21 959 $75 $71,925 1995

School librarian certifi cate Authorizes holder to serve as a librarian in a  
public elementary, middle, or secondary school.

21 353 $75 $26,475 1995
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Superintendent certifi cate Authorizes holder to serve as the superintendent 
of a Texas public school district.

21 310 $75 $23,250 1905

Temporary teacher certifi cate Authorizes holder to teach only in a subject area 
of the curriculum in which the person holds 
a baccalaureate or advanced degree from an 
institution of higher education with an academic 
major related to that area of the curriculum.

21 0 $50 0 190592

Visiting international teacher 
certifi cate93

Authorizes a teacher certifi ed in another country 
and participating in an offi cially recognized 
teacher exchange or visiting teacher program 
to be employed by a public school district that 
participates in that program.

21 0 $5094 0 2004

Texas Board of Professional Engineers
Engineer license Authorizes holder to perform any public or 

private service or creative work in which adequate 
performance requires engineering education, 
training, and experience in applying special 
knowledge or judgment of the mathematical, 
physical, or engineering sciences.

1001 49,695 $250 (O)95

$235 (R)95
$8,170,620 1937

Engineering fi rm registration Authorizes a sole proprietorship, fi rm, partnership, 
corporation, or joint stock association to engage 
in the practice of engineering in this state if the 
practice is carried on only by engineers.

1001 7,316 Sole 
proprietor:  
$25
Other fi rms: 
$75 (O)96 
$150 (R)

$827,980 1937

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality97,98,99

Backfl ow prevention assembly 
tester license

Authorizes holder to repair or test the installation or 
operation of backfl ow prevention assemblies.100

341 4,849 $105 $110,181 2001
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Customer service inspector 
license

Authorizes holder to inspect homes and businesses 
to identify potential or actual cross-connections or 
other contaminant hazards in public water systems.

341 1,782 $105 $40,025 2001

Landscape irrigation installer 
license

Authorizes holder to connect a landscape 
irrigation system to a water supply under the direct 
supervision of a licensed irrigator.

1903101 6,220 $70 $228,765 1979

Landscape irrigator license Authorizes holder to sell, design, consult, install, 
maintain, alter, repair, or service an irrigation 
system, including the connection of such a system 
to a private or public, raw or potable water supply 
or any water supply, including water wells and 
unincorporated areas of the state.

1903101 $70 1979

Leaking petroleum storage 
tank corrective action specialist 
registration

Authorizes holder to undertake any assessment 
(except an initial site assessment), monitoring, or 
remedial activities to investigate the extent of, and 
to remediate, contamination at the site of a leaking 
petroleum storage tank.

26102 286 $150 $21,290 2001

Leaking petroleum storage tank 
project manager license

Authorizes holder to perform or supervise any 
assessment (except an initial site assessment), 
monitoring, or remedial activities to investigate 
the extent of, and to remediate, contamination at 
the site of a leaking petroleum storage tank.

26102 1,078 $70 $3,370 2001

Municipal solid waste facility 
supervisor license

Authorizes holder to supervise or manage the 
operation of a municipal solid waste facility, or 
the collection or transportation of municipal solid 
waste.

361 1,189 $105 $44,015 1981

On-site sewage facility (OSSF) 
apprentice registration

Authorizes holder to undertake an OSSF training 
program under the direct supervision of a licensed 
installer.

366 6,904 $50 $184,591 1987103
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On-site sewage facility designated 
representative license

Authorizes holder to be designated by an 
authorized agent of the commission to review 
permit applications, site evaluations, or planning 
materials, or to conduct inspections of OSSFs.

366 $70 1993

On-site sewage facility installer 
license

Authorizes holder to install standard OSSF 
systems, including septic tanks, absorptive 
drainfi elds, unlined evapotranspirative drainfi elds, 
leaching chambers, gravelless pipe, and pumped 
effl uent drainfi elds.

366 $70 1987

On-site sewage facility site 
evaluator license

Authorizes holder to conduct preconstruction 
site evaluations, including visiting a site and 
performing soil analysis, a site survey, or other 
activities necessary to determine the suitability of 
a site for an OSSF.

366 $70 2001

On-site sewage facility 
maintenance company 
registration

Authorizes a person or business to provide 
service or maintenance for one or more on-site 
sewage disposal systems using aerobic treatment.   
Registrant must employ one or more individuals 
who are authorized to maintain OSSFs.

366 419 $70 $96,010 2005

Public water system operator 
license (Classes A, B, C, and D)104

Authorizes holder to perform process control 
duties in the production or distribution of drinking 
water.

341 14,350 $70 or 
$105105

$4,074,057 1989

Water operations company 
registration

Authorizes registrant, on a contract basis, to 
operate a public water system.

341 $75 to 
$400106,107

1985

Underground storage tank 
contractor registration

Authorizes registrant, on a contract basis, to 
offer to undertake, represent itself as being able 
to undertake, or undertake the installation, repair, 
or removal of an underground storage tank.  
Registrant must have a licensed on-site supervisor 
at the site at all times during the critical junctures 
of the installation, repair, or removal.

26102 271 $150 $20,570 1989
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Underground storage tank on-site 
supervisor license

Authorizes holder to supervise the installation, 
repair, or removal of an underground storage 
tank.

26102 877 $70 $17,880 1989

Wastewater operator license 
(Classes A, B, C, D, I, II, and 
III)108

Authorizes holder to operate a domestic 
wastewater treatment facility or wastewater 
collection system.

26102 10,892 $70 or 
$105109

$457,480 1985

Wastewater operations company 
registration

Authorizes registrant, on a contract basis, to 
operate a domestic water facility or wastewater 
treatment facility.

26102 $75 to 
$400106,107

1985

Water treatment specialist 
certifi cation (I, II, and III)

Authorizes holder, on a contract basis, to 
install, exchange, service, and repair residential, 
commercial, or industrial water treatment 
equipment and appliances.

1904101,110 520 $105 $28,626 1981

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services111,112

Child-care administrator
license

Authorizes holder to supervise and exercise direct 
administrative control over a child-care institution 
and be responsible for its program and personnel, 
regardless of whether the person has an ownership 
interest in the institution or shares duties with 
other persons. 

43 948 $50113 $47,762 1974

Child-placing agency 
administrator license

Authorizes holder to supervise and exercise 
direct control over a child-placing agency and 
be responsible for its program and personnel, 
regardless of whether the person has an ownership 
interest in the agency or shares duties with other 
persons.

43 $50113 2005

Child-care center license Authorizes holder to care for seven or more 
children under 14 years of age for less than 24 
hours per day at a location other than the license 
holder’s home.

42 9,319 $35114,115,116 $1,594,524 1949
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Child-care home license Authorizes holder to provide child care for 
compensation in the license holder’s own 
residence for children under 14 years of age. The 
total number of children in care at any given time, 
including children related to the caregiver, may 
not exceed 12.

42 1,536 $35114,115,116 1975

Child-care home registration Authorizes holder to provide regular child care in 
the registrant’s own residence for not more than 
six children under 14 years of age and child care 
after school hours for not more than six additional 
elementary school children. The total number 
of children in care at any given time, including 
children related to the caregiver, may not exceed 
12.

42 7,214 $35114,115,116 1975

Child-placing agency license Authorizes holder (which may be a person, agency, 
or organization, other than a child’s parent) to 
place or plan for the placement of a child in an 
adoptive home or other residential care setting.

42 332 $50 (O)
$100 (R)114,115,116

1949

Employer-based day-care facility 
certifi cate of compliance

Authorizes a small employer (defi ned as a 
corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, or 
other legal entity that employs fewer than 50 full-
time employees) to provide care for not more than 
12 children of its employees. The children must 
be under 14 years of age and the care provided 
for less than 24 hours per day in a location on the 
employer’s premises in the same building where 
the parent works.

42 0117 $35114,115,116 2007
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Family home listing Authorizes caretaker, who must be at least 18 years 
of age, to provide child care for compensation in 
the caretaker’s own residence for three or fewer 
children under 14 years of age, excluding children 
who are related to the caretaker. Care must be 
provided for at least four hours a day, three or more 
days a week, and for more than nine consecutive 
weeks. The total number of children in care at 
any given time, including children related to the 
caregiver, may not exceed 12.

42 3,900 $20118 1997

General residential operation 
license

Authorizes holder to provide child care for 13 or 
more children up to 18 years of age. Such care 
may include treatment services and programmatic 
services. These operations include formerly titled 
emergency shelters, operations providing basic 
child care, operations serving children with mental 
retardation, and halfway houses. 

40 T.A.C. 
748.3

140 $35114,115,116 1975

Maternity home
license

Authorizes holder to provide care for four or more 
minor and adult women and their children during 
pregnancy and during the six-week postpartum 
period, within a period of 12 months.

249119 16 $50115,116,120 1993

Residential treatment center 
license

Authorizes holder exclusively to provide treatment 
services for emotional disorders for 13 or more 
children up to  18 years of age.

40 T.A.C. 
748.3

87 $35114,115,116 1975

Texas Commission on Fire Protection121

Fire service individual 
certifi cation

Authorizes, but does not require,122 the holder to be 
a permanent full-time employee of a fi re department 
or governmental entity and to be appointed duties 
in one of the following categories or disciplines: 
fi re suppression, fi re inspection, fi re and arson 
investigation, marine fi refi ghting, aircraft rescue 
fi refi ghting, fi re training, and fi re education.

419 33,887 $20 (O)
$25 (R)

$806,180 1971
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Fire service facility certifi cation Authorizes an institution or facility to operate a 
school by or for the state or a local government 
specifi cally for training fi re protection personnel 
or recruits.

419 320 $20 (O)
$25 (R)

$7,390 1971

Texas Funeral Service Commission
Individual licenses123

Funeral director• Authorizes holder to engage in the preparation, 
other than by embalming, of a dead human body 
for burial or other disposition for compensation and 
to arrange for its disposition from the time of taking 
charge of the body until its inurnment, interment, or 
entombment or its transportation out of this state.

651 5,200124 $50 $62,440 1935

Embalmer• 125 Authorizes holder to disinfect or preserve a dead human 
body for compensation using chemical substances, 
fl uids, or gases introduced into the body by injection 
or direct application into organs or cavities or by other 
means of disinfecting or preserving the body.

651 $50 1903

Establishment licenses126

Funeral establishment• Authorizes holder to engage in funeral business, 
including the care and preparation for burial or 
transportation of a dead human body.

651 1,355127 $417 $58,000 1953

Commercial embalmer • 
establishment

Authorizes holder to embalm for licensed funeral 
establishments.128

651 $417 1971

Cemetery establishment• Authorizes holder to conduct a cemetery 
business.129

651 $417 2003130

Crematory• Authorizes holder of a funeral establishment or 
commercial embalmers establishment license or 
the owner or operator of a perpetual care cemetery 
to operate a crematory and perform cremation 
services.

651 $417 2003130
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Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists
Geoscientist license Authorizes holder to engage, or offer to engage, in 

the practice of professional geoscience in this state, 
including consulting, investigating, evaluating, 
planning, designing, or directly supervising the 
construction of a public or private project where the 
public welfare or the safeguarding of life, health, 
and property is concerned or involved, when such 
professional service requires the application of 
geoscience principles and the interpretation of 
geoscience data.

1002 4,860 $200 (O)
$168 (R)

$476,370 2001

Geoscience fi rm registration Authorizes a sole proprietorship, corporation, 
partnership, or joint stock association to engage, 
or offer to engage, in the public practice of 
professional geoscience in this state.  Any 
geoscience work must be performed by, or under 
the supervision of, a licensed geoscientist who is 
in responsible charge of the work and who signs 
and seals all geoscientifi c reports, documents, 
and other records, or the principal business of the 
fi rm or corporation must be the public practice 
of geoscience as determined by board rule and a 
principal of the fi rm or an offi cer or director of 
the corporation is a licensed geoscientist and has 
overall supervision and control of the geoscientifi c 
work performed in this state.  Exempt from 
registration requirements is a fi rm that engages in 
the practice of both engineering and geoscience.

1002

22 T.A.C. 
§851.30

140 Sole 
proprietor: 
$25
Other fi rms:  
$75 (O)
$150 (R)

$10,500 2003131

Texas Department of State Health Services132

Health-related Professions133

Sex offender treatment provider 
license

Authorizes holder to provide mental health or medical 
services for the rehabilitation of sex offenders.

110 258 $300 (O)134

$200 (R)134
$78,081 1993
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Midwife license Authorizes holder to: provide the necessary 
supervision, care, and advice to a woman during 
normal pregnancy, labor, and the postpartum 
period; conduct a normal delivery of a child;  and 
provide normal newborn care.

203 112 $275 (O)
$550 (R)135

$54,526 1983

Optician registration Authorizes holder to dispense spectacles or contact 
lenses.136

352 221 $50
or $100137

$49,792 1991

Speech-language pathologist and 
audiologist license138

Authorizes holder to apply nonmedical principles, 
methods, and procedures in the evaluation 
and habilitative or rehabilitative treatment of 
communication disorders, including speech, voice, 
language, or hearing disorders, oral pharyngeal or 
vestibular function, or cognitive processes.

401 6,481 $75 or $150 
(O)139

$50 or $100 
(R)139

$75140

$55141

$739,269 1983

Hearing instrument fi tter and 
dispenser license

Authorizes holder to fi t and dispense hearing 
instruments.  Authorized activities include 
measuring human hearing by using an audiometer 
or other means, making impressions for ear molds, 
and post-fi tting counseling.  A temporary training 
permit or apprentice permit may be issued to an 
individual authorizing the permittee to work under 
the supervision of a licensee.

402 367 $205142

$405143
$148,699 1969

Athletic trainer license Authorizes holder to take measures to prevent, 
recognize, assess, manage, treat, dispose of, and 
recondition athletic injuries and illnesses under 
the direction of a physician licensed in this state 
or another qualifi ed, licensed health professional 
who is authorized to refer for health care services 
within the scope of the person's license.144

451 1,461 $100 (O)
$125 or $250 
(R)145

$355,867 1971
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Massage therapy licenses Authorizes holder to act as a massage therapist, 
massage school, massage therapy instructor, or 
massage establishment.  The specifi c authorization 
provided by each class of license is as follows:

455 14,353 $2,006,001 1985

Massage therapist license• Authorizes holder to practice massage therapy. $106 (O)
$50 or $100 
(R)146

Massage establishment • 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a place of business 
that advertises massage therapy or offers massage 
therapy as a service.  Licensed massage therapists 
working as solo practitioners are not required to 
hold an establishment license.

$300 (O)
$150 or $300 
(R)146

Massage therapy educational • 
program license (massage 
school and massage therapy 
instructor)

Authorizes holder to teach, at a minimum, the 
300-hour course of instruction required for 
licensure as a massage therapist.  A massage 
therapy school must have at least two instructors.  
A school must obtain an additional license for each 
educational program offered at a location other 
than the main campus.  The initial license and 
annual renewal fee is $750.  A massage therapy 
instructor licensed as a school-based instructor 
may instruct only at a massage school.

$2,800 (O)
$1,000 or 
$2,000 (R)146

Massage therapy instructor • 
license

Authorizes holder to provide to one or more 
students the department-approved course of 
instruction in massage therapy.  An instructor 
licensed as an independent massage therapy 
instructor may instruct either independently or at 
a massage therapy school.

$200 (O)
$100 or $200 
(R)146

Massage therapy continuing • 
education provider license

Authorizes holder to provide massage therapy 
continuing education.

$200 (O)
$100 or $200 
(R)146
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Marriage and family therapist 
license

Authorizes holder to provide professional therapy 
services to individuals, families, or married 
couples, individually or in groups, that involve 
applying family systems theories and techniques.

502 1,756 $90 (O)
$130 (R)147

$223,434 1991

Professional counselor license Authorizes holder to apply mental health, 
psychotherapeutic, and human development 
principles to: facilitate human development and 
adjustment; prevent, assess, evaluate, and treat 
certain mental, emotional, or behavioral disorders; 
conduct assessments and evaluations to establish 
treatment; and plan, implement, and evaluate 
certain treatment plans.

503 9,136 $100 $850,241 1981

Chemical dependency counselor 
license

Authorizes holder to assist an individual or group to 
develop an understanding of chemical dependency 
problems, defi ne goals, and plan action.

504 3,750 $75148 $403,470 1991

Social worker licenses Authorizes holder to apply social work theory 
to restore or enhance social, psychosocial, or 
biopsychosocial functioning of individuals, 
couples, families, groups, organizations, or 
communities.  The specifi c authorization provided 
by each class of license is as follows:

505 10,783 $738,785 1981

Baccalaureate social worker • 
or  licensed master social 
worker license

Baccalaureate social worker license.  Authorizes 
holder to engage in basic generalist practice that 
includes a certain range of activities.
Master social worker license.  Authorizes holder 
to apply specialized knowledge and advanced 
practice skills in those same activities.

$60 (O)149

$80 (R)

Clinical social worker license• Authorizes holder to apply specialized clinical 
knowledge and advanced clinical skills in 
assessing, diagnosing, and treating mental, 
emotional, and behavior disorders, conditions, 
and addictions.

$100149
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Licensed clinical social • 
worker - advanced 
practitioner

Authorizes holder to apply specialized clinical 
knowledge and advanced clinical skills in 
assessing, diagnosing, and treating mental, 
emotional, and behavior disorders, conditions, 
and addictions.

$120150

Medical radiologic technologist 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to perform a radiologic 
procedure involving the administration of 
radiation by means of a diagnostic X-ray or a 
nuclear medicine procedure under the direction of 
a licensed medical practitioner.151

601 11,716 $25 to 
$1,000152

$75 (O)
$60 (R)153

$786,373 1987

Medical physicist license Authorizes holder to apply certain protocols of 
physics to ensure the correct quality, quantity, and 
placement of radiation during the performance 
of a radiological procedure prescribed by a 
licensed practitioner.  Licensure provisions allow 
a holder to practice in one or more specialties as 
a diagnostic radiological physicist, therapeutic 
radiological physicist, medical nuclear physicist, 
or medical health physicist.

602 319 $125 (O)154

$250 (R)155
$71,062 1991

Perfusionist license Authorizes holder to perform an activity, including 
the operation of extracorporeal circulation or 
auto-transfusion equipment, necessary to support, 
treat, measure, or supplement the cardiovascular, 
circulatory, or respiratory system, or a combination 
of those activities, or ensure the safe management 
of a patient's physiologic functions during open-
heart surgery by monitoring the systems under the 
order and supervision of a licensed physician.

603 155 $175 (O)
$175 to $300 
(R)156

$47,484 1993

Respiratory care practitioner 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to treat, manage, control, 
evaluate, or care for a patient who has a 
defi ciency or abnormality associated with the 
cardiorespiratory system.

604 6,324 $120 (O)
$100 (R)157

$668,268 1985
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Orthotist and prosthetist licenses Authorizes holder to provide medical services 
to identify, prevent, correct, or alleviate acute 
or chronic neuromuscular or musculoskeletal 
dysfunctions of the human body.  The specifi c 
authorization provided by each class of license is 
as follows:

605 436 $157,620 1997

Prosthetist or orthotist license• Authorizes holder to provide either comprehensive 
prosthetic care or comprehensive orthotic care, 
but not both.

$300

Prosthetist/orthotist license• Authorizes holder to provide both comprehensive 
prosthetic care and comprehensive orthotic care.

$400

Prosthetist or orthotist • 
assistant license

Authorizes holder to provide ancillary patient care 
in the discipline in which the assistant's supervisor 
is licensed.

$200

Prosthetist/orthotist assistant • 
license

Authorizes holder to provide ancillary patient 
care under the supervision of either a licensed 
prosthetist or a licensed orthotist.

$250

Prosthetic or orthotic • 
technician registration

Authorizes registrant to fabricate, assemble, or 
service either prostheses or orthoses, as specifi ed, 
under the direction of an appropriate license 
holder.

$100

Prosthetic/orthotic technician • 
registration

Authorizes registrant to fabricate, assemble, or 
service both prostheses and orthoses under the 
direction of an appropriate license holder.

$150

Prosthetic or orthotic student • 
registration

Authorizes registrant to work under the direct 
supervision of a licensed prosthetist, orthotist, 
or prosthetist/orthotist who is licensed in the 
discipline of the student's clinical residency.

$75
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Prosthetic/orthotic student • 
registration

Authorizes registrant to work under the direct 
supervision of a licensed prosthetist, orthotist, or 
prosthetist/orthotist.

$100

Prosthetic or orthotic facility • 
accreditation

Authorizes the practice of prosthetics or orthotics 
at a particular physical site.

$400

Prosthetic/orthotic facility • 
accreditation

Authorizes the practice of prosthetics and 
orthotics at a particular physical site, which may 
be a building or offi ce.

$500

Dietitian licenses Authorizes holder to apply and integrate certain 
scientifi c principles for the proper nourishment, 
care, and education of an individual or group to 
achieve and maintain human health.  A dietitian 
also may obtain a provisional or temporary license 
as follows:

701 2,067 $211,955 1983

Dietitian license• Authorizes holder to apply and integrate scientifi c 
principles of food, nutrition, biochemistry, 
physiology, management, and behavioral and 
social sciences under different health, social, 
cultural, physical, psychological, and economic 
conditions for the proper nourishment, care, and 
education of individuals or groups to achieve and 
maintain the health of people.  The practice of 
dietetics includes the development, management, 
and provision of nutrition services.

$108 (O)
$90 (R)158

Dietitian, provisional license• Authorizes holder to practice under the supervision 
and direction of a licensed dietitian.

$54 (O)
$45 (R)159

Dietitian, temporary license• Authorizes a dietitian licensed by another state 
to practice in Texas pending approval of an 
application for a Texas license.

$54160
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Health Facilities
Hospital licenses Authorizes holder to operate either a general 

hospital or a special hospital as follows:
241 373 $39 to 

$10,000161
$2,622,565 1921162

General hospital license• Authorizes holder to operate an establishment as 
a general hospital that offers services, facilities, 
and beds for use for more than 24 hours for two 
or more unrelated individuals requiring diagnosis, 
treatment, or care for illness, injury, deformity, 
abnormality, or pregnancy and that regularly 
maintains, at a minimum, clinical laboratory 
services, diagnostic X-ray services, treatment 
facilities including surgery or obstetrical care 
or both, and other defi nitive medical or surgical 
treatment of similar extent.

Special hospital license• Authorizes a holder to operate an establishment 
as a special hospital that offers services, facilities, 
and beds for use for more than 24 hours for two 
or more unrelated individuals who are regularly 
admitted, treated, and discharged and who require 
services more intensive than room, board, personal 
services, and general nursing care; provides 
clinical laboratory facilities, diagnostic X-ray 
facilities, treatment facilities, or other defi nitive 
medical treatment; has a medical staff in regular 
attendance;  and maintains records of the clinical 
work performed for each patient.

Ambulatory surgical center 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a facility that 
primarily provides surgical services to patients 
who do not require overnight hospital care.

243 203 $5,200163,164 $1,016,962 1985

Birthing center license Authorizes holder to establish or operate a birthing 
center that is neither a hospital nor the residence 
of the woman giving birth.

244 22 $2,000165 $36,020 1985166
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Abortion facility license Authorizes holder to establish or operate an 
abortion facility.

245 27 $5,000167 $153,632 1985

Special care facility license Authorizes holder to establish or operate a facility 
or institution that provides a continuum of nursing 
or medical care or services primarily to persons 
with acquired immune defi ciency syndrome 
or other terminal illnesses, including a special 
residential care facility.

248 4 $300 to 
$2,500168

$16,205 1989

End-stage renal disease facility 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a facility that 
provides dialysis treatment or dialysis training to 
individuals with end-stage renal disease.

251 238 $3,500 to 
$6,700169

$1,142,437 1995

Chemical dependency treatment 
facility license

Authorizes holder to operate a facility that provides a 
planned, structured, and organized program designed 
to initiate and promote a person's chemical-free status 
or to maintain the person free of illegal drugs.

464 299 $35 to 
$1,200170

$574,430 1977171

Narcotic drug treatment program 
permit

Authorizes holder to operate a specialized medical 
clinic for the treatment of patients addicted to 
heroin or other opiates.

466 48 $60 to 
$1,000+172

$357,160 1989

Private mental hospital or mental 
health services facility license

Authorizes holder to operate a mental hospital or 
community center or other entity designated to 
provide mental health services.

577 15 $3,000+173 $384,461 1957

General Health
Youth camp licenses Authorizes holder to own, operate, control, or 

supervise a youth camp.   Authorization provided 
by each of the two classes of license is as follows:

141 542 $164,496 1973

Day youth camp license• Authorizes holder to operate a youth camp that is 
open primarily between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. for a 
period of four or more consecutive days but that 
may incidentally offer not more than two overnight 
stays each camp session.

$250 (O)
$50 or $150 
(R)174
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Residential youth camp • 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a youth camp that 
for a period of four or more days continuously 
provides residential services, including overnight 
accommodations for the camp session's duration.

$750 (O)
$100 or $450 
(R)175

Renderer licenses Authorizes holder to operate a rendering business 
or business adjunct to a rendering business (e.g., 
a dead animal hauler or a renderable raw material 
hauler).  The specifi c authorization provided by 
each class of license is as follows:

144 502 $106,248 1969

Rendering establishment • 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a plant or other 
premises where dead animals or renderable raw 
materials are processed to obtain a product for 
commercial use or disposition other than as food 
for human consumption.

$350 to 
$3,000176

Related station license• Authorizes holder to operate a facility that is 
necessary or incidental to the work of a rendering 
establishment but is separately operated or 
maintained.

$400 or $800

Transfer station license• Authorizes holder to operate a facility where 
renderable raw materials are transferred from one 
conveyance to another.

$400 or $800

Dead animal hauler license• Authorizes holder to collect and dispose of dead 
animals for commercial purposes.

$250 or $500

Renderable raw material • 
hauler license

Authorizes holder to collect or transport any 
unprocessed or partially processed plant or animal 
material, other than a dead animal, for processing 
by a rendering establishment.

$250 or $500

Combination dead animal • 
and renderable raw material 
hauler license

Authorizes holder to collect or transport both 
dead animals and renderable raw material for 
commercial purposes.

$250 or $500
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Tanning facility operator license Authorizes holder to operate a tanning facility.177 145 973 $220 or 
$440178

$451,353 1989

Tattoo and body piercing studio 
licenses

Authorizes holder to conduct, operate, or maintain 
a tattoo studio and/or body piercing studio or to 
perform tattooing or body piercing at a tattoo 
studio or a body piercing studio.  The specifi c 
authorization provided by each type of license is 
as follows:

146 1993

Tattoo studio license• Authorizes the holder to conduct, operate, or 
maintain a tattoo studio.

146 589 $450 to 
$900179

$551,082

Body piercing studio license• Authorizes the holder to conduct, operate, or 
maintain a body piercing studio.

146 285 $150 to 
$400180

$102,694

Tattooist or body piercer • 
registration

Authorizes holder to perform tattooing or body 
piercing at a tattoo studio or a body piercing 
studio.

146

Sanitation and Environmental Quality
Bedding permits181 Authorizes holder to manufacture, wholesale, or 

engage in the business of renovating or selling 
bedding in the state or for delivery in the state.  
Specifi c authorization provided by each class of 
license is as follows:

345 2,403 $660,764 1939

Mattress manufacturer permit• Authorizes holder to manufacture mattresses or 
box springs for shipment into or within the state 
for the purpose of resale.

$220 to 
$1,320182

Mattress renovator permit• Authorizes holder to renovate mattresses or box 
springs for shipment into or within the state for 
resale.

$220 to 
$1,320183

Bedding product • 
manufacturer permit

Authorizes holder to manufacture bedding 
products, other than mattresses and box springs, 
for shipment into or within the state for resale.

$220 to 
$1,320184
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Wholesaler and distributor • 
permit

Authorizes holder to wholesale and distribute 
bedding articles or fi lling materials for shipment 
into or within the state for resale.

$220 to 
$1,320185

Importers permit• Authorizes holder to import bedding articles or 
fi lling material into the state for resale.

$220 to 
$1,320186

Processor permit• Authorizes holder to manufacture or process bulk 
fi lling materials for shipment into the state.

$110

Germicidal treatment permit• Authorizes holder to apply approved germicidal 
treatment process to articles of bedding or fi lling 
materials to be shipped into or to be sold in the 
state.

$110

Arts and crafts permit• Authorizes holder with no paid employees to 
manufacture less than 250 bedding articles 
other than mattresses (such as pillows, quilts, 
comforters) per year for sale in the state.

$55

Radioactive materials and devices 
licenses187

Authorizes holder to use, manufacture, produce, 
transport, transfer, receive, acquire, own, possess, 
process, or dispose of certain sources of radiation.  
License categories are listed without descriptions 
in the radioactive material license fee schedule in 
25 T.A.C. §289.204(e).

401 21,600188 $230 to 
$66,895189

1956190

Industrial radioactive material 
licenses

Authorizes holder to use radioactive materials for 
industrial purposes, such as testing of structural 
integrity of pipes and building materials, logging 
oil/gas wells, density measurements in roadway/
building construction, and for fl ow and thickness 
measurements for industrial processes.

Possession of radioactive • 
material training course 
license

$3,676
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By-product material mineral • 
recovery license

$66,895191

Calibration service license• $1,690

Calibration/reference source • 
license

$1,267

Civil defense license• $1,987

Fixed-site decontamination • 
service license

$25,597

Mobile decontamination • 
service license

$8,392

Demonstration/sales license• $3,830

Environmental laboratory • 
license

$1,564

Fine leak testing device • 
license

$4,815

Hand-held light intensifying • 
imaging device license

$1,987

Gas chromatograph license• $1,846

Spinning pipe-thickness/• 
portable gauge license

$2,816

Fixed gauge license• $2,268

Gauge general • 
acknowledgement license

$704

Fixed facility industrial • 
radiography license

$5,660
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Temporary fi eld site industrial • 
radiography license

$11,912

Installer, repair, or • 
maintenance license

$3,126

Unshielded irradiator license• $19,261

Leak test service license• $1,846

Processor of radioactive • 
material license

$48,745

Other manufacturing and • 
commercial distribution 
license

$7,941

Commercial distribution only • 
license

$3,676

Limited manufacturing • 
license (loose material)

$7,096

Naturally occurring • 
radioactive material 
commercial processing 
license

$25,597

Nuclear pharmacy license• $7,096

Sealed neutron generator • 
target license

$2,028

Unsealed neutron generator • 
target license

$4,055

Pipe joint collar marker • 
license

$2,268

Source material license• $3,830
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Special nuclear material • 
license

$2,268

Tracer studies license• $6,533

X-ray fl uorescence license• $1,987

Well-logging license• $3,942

Medical/academic radioactive 
material licenses

Authorizes holder to use radioactive material for 
medical diagnosis and therapy, and for academic 
and research and development purposes.

Accelerator license• $15,319

Bone mineral analyzer license• $1,564

Broad license• $20,698

Diagnostic nuclear medicine • 
license

$2,409

Eye applicator license• $1,564

In-vitro use of radioactive • 
material license

$945

In-vitro test kit manufacturer • 
license

$4,915

Sealed source medical • 
therapy license

$2,703

Unsealed source medical • 
therapy license

$2,268

Mobile scanning service • 
license

$4,393

Pacemaker license• $1,142
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Radiopharmaceutical • 
manufacturing license

$20,979

Remote controlled • 
brachytherapy device 
license192

$3,548

Research and development • 
license

$2,985

Fixed multi-beam teletherapy • 
license

$3,548

Self-contained irradiator • 
license

$3,126

Industrial certifi cates of 
registration

Authorizes holder to use radiation machines such 
as X-ray, fl uoroscopy, computerized tomography 
(CT), accelerators, lasers, and other types of 
radiation machines for non-human use in academic 
settings and industrial processes such as testing of 
structural integrity of building materials, research, 
screening, and other analytical purposes.  Machine 
categories and uses subject to registration are 
listed without description.

Accelerator, simulator, or • 
other therapeutic radiation 
machine registration

$586

Computerized tomography • 
(CT) registration

$1,656

Dental radiographic only • 
registration

$330

Fluoroscopy registration• $816

54



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Fixed facility industrial • 
radiography registration

$1,702

Temporary job site industrial • 
radiography registration

$2,852

Industrial diffraction • 
registration

$575

Industrial computerized • 
tomography registration

$575

Industrial fl uoroscopy • 
registration

$575

Industrial fl ash radiography • 
registration

$575

Industrial handheld light-• 
intensifying image devices 
registration

$575

Laser registration - medical, • 
research, academic

$200

Laser registration - industrial, • 
services, entertainment

$340

Medical physicist services • 
registration (exposure rate or 
dose measurements)

$253
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Minimal threat radiation • 
machines registration  (catho-
doluminescence, electron beam 
welding, X-ray fl uorescence, 
X-ray gauges, ion implantation, 
package X-ray, cabinet X-ray, 
particle size analyzer)

$264

Morgues and educational • 
facilities registration

$575

Podiatric radiographic only • 
registration

$374

Radiographic machines only • 
registration

$517

Services registration • 
(exposure rate or 
dose measurements, 
radiation machine output 
measurements, agency-
accepted training courses, 
calibration, demonstrations/
sales, assembly, installation 
or repair, equipment 
performance evaluations on 
dental machines, provider of 
equipment)

$253

Veterinary registration • 
(including CT, fl uoroscopy, 
and accelerators)

$264

Other industrial certifi cations

Industrial radiographer • 
certifi cation

$230
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Mammography systems 
certifi cation193

Authorizes holder to perform mammography with 
a mammography system.

401 436 $1,745 $522,708 1993

Food, Drugs, Alcohol, and Hazardous Substances
Food manufacturer, food 
wholesaler, or food warehouse 
operator licenses

Authorizes holder to operate as a food 
manufacturer, food wholesaler, or food warehouse 
operator.  Specifi c authorization provided by each 
class of license is as follows:

431 10,429 $7,109,411 1911

Food manufacturer license• Authorizes holder to combine, purify, process, or 
package food for sale through a wholesale outlet.  
Applies also to a retailer that packages or labels 
food for sale and represents itself as responsible 
for a food item's purity and proper labeling by 
labeling the item with the retailer's name and 
address.

$100 to 
$1,680194

Food wholesaler license• 195 Authorizes holder to distribute food for resale, 
either through a retail outlet owned by the holder 
or through sales to another person.

$250 to 
$1,350194

Food wholesaler with  • 
combination products license

Authorizes holder to distribute food and drugs, 
food and medical devices, or food and drugs and 
medical devices.

$520 to 
$1,950194

Food warehouse operator • 
license

Authorizes holder to operate a warehouse where 
food is stored.

$350 to 
$2,000196

Drug and medical device 
manufacturer and distributor 
licenses197,198

Authorizes holder to manufacture or distribute 
prescription drugs, nonprescription drugs, and/or 
medical devices.  Specifi c authorization provided 
by each class of license is as follows:

431 1,869 $716,246 1911

Medical device distributor • 
license

Authorizes holder to distribute medical devices.  
Authorization applies also to an importer and to 
an own-label distributor.

$480 to 
$1,680
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Medical device distributor • 
with combined products 
license

Authorizes holder to distribute food or drugs as 
well as medical devices.

$520 to 
$1,950

Medical device manufacturer • 
license

Authorizes holder to manufacture, assemble, or 
process medical devices.

$480 to 
$3,600

In-state wholesale distributor • 
of compressed medical gases 
license

Authorizes in-state holder to distribute only 
compressed medical gases.

$675 to 
$2,295

In-state wholesale distributor • 
of compressed medical gases 
with combined products 
license

Authorizes in-state holder to distribute devices 
or food as well as wholesale compressed medical 
gases.

$540 to 
$2,025

In-state wholesale • 
prescription drug distributor 
and manufacturer license

Authorizes in-state holder who is a manufacturer 
to distribute wholesale prescription drugs.

$1,080 to 
$2,295

Out-of-state wholesale • 
prescription drug distributor 
license

Authorizes out-of-state holder to distribute 
prescription drugs for sale in Texas.

$1,350 to 
$2,025

In-state wholesale • 
nonprescription drug 
distributor license

Authorizes in-state holder who is not a manufacturer 
to distribute wholesale nonprescription drugs.

$1,040 to 
$2,210

In-state wholesale • 
nonprescription drug 
distributor with combined 
products license

Authorizes in-state holder who is not a 
manufacturer to distribute food or medical devices 
as well as wholesale nonprescription drugs.

$520 to 
$1,950

In-state wholesale • 
nonprescription drug 
distributor and manufacturer 
license

Authorizes in-state holder who is a manufacturer 
to distribute wholesale nonprescription drugs.

$1,040 to 
$2,210
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Out-of-state wholesale • 
nonprescription drug 
distributor license

Authorizes out-of-state holder to distribute 
nonprescription drugs for sale in Texas.

$1,300 to 
$1,950

Salvage broker/operator • 
license (drugs and medical 
devices)

Authorizes holder to engage in the business of 
selling, distributing, or otherwise traffi cking in 
distressed or salvaged food, drugs, cosmetics, or 
medical devices or to operate a business that is 
engaged in reconditioning or otherwise salvaging 
distressed food, drugs, cosmetics, or devices or 
that buys, sells, or distributes salvaged food, drugs, 
cosmetics, or medical devices for human use.

432 143 $600 or 
$1,200199

$135,934 1983

Milk seller permits Authorizes holder to offer milk or milk products for 
sale or to be sold in Texas.  Specifi c authorization 
is provided by license for different types of milk 
producers, vendors, processors, or handlers as 
follows:

435 635 $2,034,910 1937

Milk plant permit• Authorizes holder to collect, handle, process, 
dry, store, pasteurize, asceptically process, bottle, 
or prepare milk for distribution.  Authorization 
applies to a processing plant, manufacturing plant, 
or bottling plant.

$800200

Producer dairy farm permit• Authorizes holder to provide, sell, or offer for 
sale to a milk plant, transfer station, or receiving 
station a part or all of the milk or milk products 
derived from the holder's cows, sheep, or goats.

$200

Receiving and transfer station • 
permit

Authorizes holder to receive, collect, handle, store, 
cool, and prepare raw milk for further transporting 
or to transfer milk or milk products directly from 
one tanker to another.

$800
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Milk transport tanker permit• Authorizes holder to operate a truck or tanker 
to transport bulk shipments of milk from a milk 
plant, receiving station, or transfer station to 
another plant or station.

$200

Grade "A" raw milk for retail • 
dairy farm permit

Authorizes holder to sell or offer for sale to the public 
raw milk without the benefi ts of pasteurization.

$800

Molluscan shellfi sh dealer 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to operate as a molluscan shellfi sh 
shucker/packer, repacker, or shellstock shipper.

436 76 $1201 $2,387,052 1993

Food service establishment 
permit202

Authorizes holder to operate a food service 
establishment, retail food store, or mobile food 
unit or as a roadside food vendor.203 Specifi c 
authorization provided by each class of license is 
as follows:

437 5,868 $2,296,423 1987

Fixed-site food establishment • 
permit

Authorizes holder to operate a restaurant, retail food 
store, satellite or catered feeding location, catering 
operation providing food directly to a consumer, 
market, or vending location, or other operation that 
stores, prepares, serves, or vends food directly to 
the consumer for human consumption.

$250 to 
$750204

Mobile food unit permit• Authorizes holder to operate a vehicle-mounted 
food establishment that is readily moveable.

$250

Roadside food vendor permit• Authorizes holder to operate a mobile retail food 
store from a temporary location adjacent to a 
public road or highway.

$250

Food manager certifi cation Authorizes holder to conduct, manage, or operate 
a food establishment.

438 18,494 $10 to 
$2,000205

$107,663 2001

Food service education and 
training program license of 
accreditation

Authorizes holder to provide food safety education 
for food establishment managers and administer 
an approved examination for certifi cation or 
recertifi cation purposes.

438 49 $600206 $153,691 1987
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Frozen dessert manufacturer 
license

Authorizes holder to operate an establishment 
for the manufacture of a frozen dessert, imitation 
frozen dessert, product sold in semblance of a 
frozen dessert, or a mix for one of those products.

440 99 $800207 $417,130 1981

Bottled and vended water 
operator certifi cation of 
competency

Authorizes holder to produce, process, or 
distribute bottled or vended water to the public or 
to provide bottled or vended water for distribution 
to the public.

441 258 $100208 $27,938 1999

Abusable volatile chemical seller 
permit

Authorizes holder to sell at retail abusable volatile  
chemicals, such as aerosol paint and glue.

485 10,793 $55209 $658,870 1987210

Hazardous substance 
manufacturer registration

Authorizes holder to manufacture, import, or 
repack a hazardous substance that is distributed in 
the state or to distribute a hazardous substance in 
the state under the holder's brand name.211

501 431 $630212 $233,826 1985

Safety
Emergency medical services 
provider licenses and certifi cates

Authorizes holder to operate, conduct, or maintain 
an emergency medical service or practice as 
emergency medical services personnel.213 Specifi c 
authorization provided by each class of license is 
as follows:

773 16,812 $2,021,744 1983

Emergency medical services • 
provider license

Authorizes holder to use or maintain emergency 
medical services vehicles, medical equipment, and 
emergency medical services personnel to provide 
emergency medical services.

$680+214

Emergency care attendant • 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to perform emergency 
prehospital care by providing initial aid that 
promotes comfort and avoids aggravation of an 
injury or illness.

$60
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Emergency medical • 
technician certifi cation

Authorizes holder to perform emergency 
prehospital care necessary for basic life support, 
including cardiopulmonary resuscitation and the 
control of hemorrhaging.

$60

Emergency medical • 
technician intermediate 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to perform emergency 
prehospital care by initiating certain procedures 
under medical supervision, including intravenous 
therapy and endotracheal or esophageal 
intubation.

$90

Emergency medical • 
technician paramedic 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to perform, in addition to the 
procedures listed above for an emergency medical 
technican-intermediate, electrical defi brillation or 
cardioversion and drug therapy.

$90

Paramedic license• Authorizes holder to perform advanced life support 
that includes initiation under medical supervision 
of certain procedures, including intravenous 
therapy, endotracheal or esophageal intubation, 
electrical cardiac defi brillation or cardioversion, 
and drug therapy.

$120

Personal emergency response 
system provider licenses and 
registrations

Authorizes holder to sell, install, service, monitor, 
or respond to a personal emergency response 
system,215 defi ned as an alarm system installed 
in a person's residence, monitored by the alarm 
system's company, permitting the person to signal 
the occurrence of a medical or personal emergency 
to which the company may dispatch the appropriate 
aid.  Does not include a combination system with 
burglar or fi re alarms.  Specifi c authorization 
provided by each class of license or registration 
is as follows:

781 150 $18,830 2005

Personal emergency response • 
system provider license

Authorizes holder to provide personal emergency 
response system services.

$800
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Installer, manager, branch • 
offi ce manager, salesperson 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform specifi ed duties 
in the provision of personal emergency response 
services.

$125

Owner, offi cer, partner, or • 
shareholder of a personal 
emergency response system 
company registration

Authorizes holder to be actively involved in the 
normal course of operation and business of a 
licensee.

$125

Health and Safety of Animals
Animal control offi cer and animal 
shelter personnel training

Authorizes holder to be employed by an animal 
shelter as a basic, advanced, or administrative 
animal control offi cer.

823, 829 556 $75 $40,825 1981216

Practices and Trades Related to Water, Health, and Safety217

Code enforcement offi cer 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform inspections of 
public or private buildings for the purposes of 
identifying certain health and safety hazards.

1952 1,049 $50 or 
$100218

$103,081 1991

Sanitarian registration219 Authorizes registrant to perform duties relating 
to education and inspections in environmental 
sanitation.

1953 715 $140 (O)220

$150 (R)221
$105,070 1965

Asbestos removal licenses Authorizes holder to engage in asbestos removal 
activities, including encapsulation, survey 
and inspection, airborne asbestos monitoring 
and analysis, transport, and training.  Specifi c 
authorization provided by each class of license is 
as follows:

1954 14,812 $3,736,843 1987

Asbestos abatement worker • 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform asbestos 
abatement work in a public building, including 
performing any maintenance, repair, installation, 
renovation, or cleaning that dislodges, breaks, 
cuts, abrades, or impinges on asbestos material.

$65222
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Asbestos operations and • 
maintenance contractor 
license (restricted)

Authorizes holder to conduct small-scale, short-
duration work and engineering controls for tasks 
that result in the disturbance, dislodgment, or 
removal of asbestos in the course of performing 
repairs, maintenance, renovation, installation, 
replacement, or cleanup operations.

$260

Asbestos operations and • 
maintenance supervisor 
license (restricted)

Authorizes holder to directly supervise personnel 
and work practices limited to the conduct of 
operations and maintenance activities affecting 
asbestos-containing building materials.

$225

Asbestos abatement • 
contractor license

Authorizes holder to employ asbestos abatement 
supervisors and workers to carry out asbestos 
abatement or removal procedures.

$1,070

Asbestos abatement • 
supervisor license

Authorizes holder to engage in the supervision 
of an asbestos abatement project conducted in a 
public building.

$645

Individual asbestos consultant • 
license

Authorizes holder to design asbestos abatement 
projects, including the survey of public buildings 
for asbestos-containing building material; 
the evaluation and selection of appropriate 
methods; project layout; the preparation of plans, 
specifi cations, and contract documents; and the 
review of environmental controls, procedures, and 
equipment to be used.

$645

Asbestos consulting agency • 
license

Authorizes holder to employ asbestos consultants, 
asbestos project managers, asbestos inspectors 
and management planners, and air monitoring 
technicians to assist in the conduct of the agency's 
asbestos consultation activity.

$430
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Asbestos project manager • 
license

Authorizes holder to be employed by a licensed 
asbestos consultant agency to monitor an asbestos 
abatement project and evaluate the quality and 
safety of the work being performed.

$320

Asbestos inspector license• Authorizes holder to conduct asbestos surveys 
in a public building as an employee of a licensed 
asbestos consultant agency or licensed asbestos 
management planner agency.

$130

Asbestos management • 
planner license

Authorizes holder to develop asbestos management 
plans to include a written schedule and procedures 
to protect occupants from asbestos health hazards 
in a public building.

$260

Air monitoring technician • 
license

Authorizes holder to perform air monitoring 
services for an asbestos abatement project or 
related activity in a public building by obtaining 
baseline, area, personal, and clearance samples.

$110

Asbestos management • 
planner agency license

Authorizes holder to employ an individual 
management planner and one or more additional 
management planners or inspectors.

$430

Asbestos laboratory license• Authorizes holder to provide polarized-light 
microscopy, phase contrast microscopy, or 
transmission electron microscopy analysis of bulk 
or air samples collected in public buildings.  A 
branch offi ce performing as a laboratory must be 
separately licensed and accredited.

$430

Asbestos training provider • 
license

Authorizes holder to conduct asbestos training 
for fulfi llment of specifi c requirements that are 
prerequisite to licensing or registration by the 
Department of State Health Services.

$1,070

Asbestos transporters license• Authorizes holder to transport certain asbestos 
material removed from a public building.

$430
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Lead-based paint abatement 
certifi cations

Authorizes holder to be involved in a lead-based 
paint abatement activity in target housing223 and 
child-occupied facilities.  Specifi c authorization 
provided by each class of certifi cation is as 
follows:

1955 1,170 $274,851 1995

Lead inspector certifi cation• Authorizes holder to conduct soil and dust 
abatement clearance sampling and lead-based 
paint inspections of target housing223 and child-
occupied facilities that measure the concentration 
of lead in paint on a surface-by-surface basis.

$300224

Lead risk assessor • 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to conduct a risk assessment 
and other lead hazard assessment activities (such 
as screening a residence for lead hazard) in target 
housing and child-occupied facilities, identify 
hazard control strategies to reduce or eliminate 
lead exposures, conduct post-abatement dust and 
soil clearance sampling, and perform the same 
duties as a certifi ed lead inspector.

$600

Lead abatement supervisor • 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to identify the most appropriate 
course of action to eliminate identifi ed lead 
hazards, ensure that abatement activities in 
target housing and child-occupied facilities 
are completed according to certain standards 
and in accordance with applicable regulatory 
requirements, prepare a written abatement report, 
develop an occupant protection plan, and ensure 
that each lead abatement worker under supervision 
has a department-issued certifi cation identifi cation 
card.

$300

Lead abatement project • 
designer certifi cation

Authorizes holder to prepare a written abatement 
project design and written abatement reports and 
develop a written occupant protection plan.

$600
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Lead abatement worker • 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to be employed by a lead fi rm 
to engage in abatement activities.

$100

Lead fi rm certifi cation• Authorizes holder to conduct lead abatement 
activities, provide notifi cation to DSHS relating 
to impending abatement projects, and supply and 
train employees in the use of personal protection 
equipment.

$1,000

Mold assessor and remediator 
licenses

Authorizes holder to inspect, investigate, or 
survey a dwelling with regard to the presence, 
identifi cation, or evaluation of mold; develop 
a mold remediation plan; collect or analyze a 
mold sample; and remove or treat mold or mold-
contaminated matter.  Specifi c authorization 
provided by each class of license is as follows:

1958 5,423 $437,611 2003

Mold assessment technician • 
license

Authorizes holder to determine the location 
and extent of mold or suspected mold to record 
observations and take measurements, collect 
samples, and prepare a mold assessment report.

$200

Mold assessment consultant • 
license

Authorizes holder to perform activities of a mold 
assessment technician and plan surveys to identify 
conditions favorable to mold growth or determine 
the presence and extent of mold, develop a mold 
management plan, prepare a remediation protocol, 
and evaluate the outcome of a remediation project.

$600

Mold assessment company • 
license

Authorizes holder to employ two or more 
individuals licensed as mold assessment 
technicians or mold assessment consultants.

$1,000

Mold remediation worker • 
license

Authorizes holder to be employed by a licensed 
mold remediation contractor or company to 
perform mold remediation.

$60

67



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Mold remediation contractor • 
license

Authorizes holder to perform mold remediation 
and supervise workers performing remediation.

$500

Mold remediation company • 
license

Authorizes holder to employ mold remediation 
contractors and workers to assist in the company's 
remediation activity.

$1,000

Mold analysis laboratory• Authorizes holder to analyze samples collected 
during mold-related activities to determine 
presence, identity, or amount of mold present and 
provide other information regarding a sample.

$1,000

Mold training provider • 
accreditation

Authorizes holder to offer mold training courses 
that are prerequisite for licensing.

$1,000

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs225

Manufactured housing broker 
license

Authorizes holder to be engaged by one or more 
other persons to negotiate a bargain or contract 
for the sale, exchange, or lease-purchase of 
a manufactured home for which a certifi cate 
or document of title has been issued and is 
outstanding.  Excludes a person who maintains a 
location for the display of manufactured homes.

1201 781 $175 $136,675 1979

Manufactured housing installer 
license

Authorizes holder, including a retailer or 
manufacturer, to contract to perform or to perform 
an installation function on manufactured housing.

1201 999 $175 $174,825 1979

Manufactured housing 
manufacturer license

Authorizes holder to construct or assemble 
manufactured housing for sale, exchange, or 
lease-purchase in this state.

1201 56 $425 $23,800 1979
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Manufactured housing retailer 
license

Authorizes holder to engage in the business 
of buying for resale, selling, or exchanging 
manufactured homes or offering such homes for 
sale, exchange, or lease-purchase to consumers, 
and to maintain a location for the display of 
manufactured homes.  A license is required if a 
person sells, exchanges, or lease-purchases two 
or more manufactured homes to consumers in a 
12-month period.

1201 993 $275 $273,075 1979

Manufactured housing retailer 
license—branch location

Authorizes a branch location of the holder of a 
manufactured housing retailer license to engage 
in the same business as the headquarters location.  
Each branch must submit a separate application 
and be separately bonded.

10 T.A.C. 
§80.3

N/A $550 N/A 1979

Manufactured housing 
salesperson license

Authorizes holder, as an employee or agent of a 
manufactured housing retailer or broker, to sell or 
lease-purchase or to offer to sell or lease-purchase 
manufactured housing to a consumer for any form 
of compensation.

1201 830 $200 $166,000 1983

Manufactured housing salvage 
rebuilder certifi cate

Authorizes holder to repair, rebuild, or otherwise 
alter a salvaged manufactured home (as defi ned in 
Section 1201.461, Occupations Code).

1201 0 $275 0 1987

Texas Department of Insurance226

Fire Detection and Alarm Device Installation Licenses227,228

Fire alarm branch offi ce 
registration

Authorizes registrant, which must be a separate 
offi ce location of a registered fi re alarm fi rm, to 
perform the same business as that fi rm.

6002 157 $150 (O)
$300 (R)

$23,250 1975

Fire alarm fi rm registration Authorizes registrant to plan, certify, lease, sell, 
install, service, monitor, or maintain a fi re alarm 
or fi re detection device or system.  A limited 
registration certifi cate authorizes the registrant

6002 1,066 $500 (O)
$1,000 (R)

$558,331 1975
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only to monitor such a device or system.  Each 
registered fi rm must employ at least one fi re alarm 
technician, residential fi re alarm superintendent, 
or fi re alarm planning superintendent.

Fire alarm fi rm registration 
(single station)

Authorizes registrant to plan, certify, lease, sell, 
service, install, monitor, or maintain a single 
station fi re alarm device, defi ned as a detector 
that is not part of or connected to any other fi re 
detection device or system.

6002 25 $250 (O)
$500 (R)

$7,000 1997

Fire alarm monitoring technician 
license

Authorizes holder to monitor a fi re alarm or fi re 
detection device or system.

6002 37 $120 (O)
$200 (R)

$4,360 1989

Fire alarm planning 
superintendent license

Authorizes holder, who must be designated by a 
registered fi re alarm fi rm, to plan a fi re alarm or 
fi re detection system that conforms to applicable 
adopted National Fire Protection Association 
(NFPA) standards or other adopted standards 
and to certify that each system as planned meets 
those standards.  The holder also may act as a 
fi re alarm technician or residential fi re alarm 
superintendent.

6002 731 $120 (O)
$200 (R)

$44,470 1987

Fire alarm technician license Authorizes holder, who must be designated by a 
registered fi re alarm fi rm, to inspect and certify that 
each fi re alarm or fi re detection system as installed 
meets the standards provided by law and directly 
supervise and certify the service or maintenance 
of a previously installed device or system.  The 
holder also may perform or supervise monitoring 
of such a device or system.

6002 3,241 $120 (O)
$200 (R)

$338,025 1987
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Residential fi re alarm 
superintendent license

Authorizes holder, who must be designated by 
a registered fi re alarm fi rm, to plan a fi re alarm 
or fi re detection system for a one- or two-family 
residence that conforms to applicable adopted 
NFPA standards or other adopted standards and to 
certify that each system as planned meets those 
standards.  The holder also may act as a fi re alarm 
technician.

6002 910 $120 (O)
$200 (R)

$89,380 1991

Residential fi re alarm 
superintendent license (single 
station)

Authorizes holder, who must be designated by a 
registered fi re alarm fi rm, to plan a single station 
fi re alarm or fi re detection system (a system that 
is not part of or connected to any other alarm or 
detection device or system) for a one- or two-family 
residence that conforms to applicable adopted 
NFPA standards or other adopted standards and to 
certify that each system as planned meets those 
standards.  The holder also may act as a fi re alarm 
technician.

6002 23 $120 (O)
$200 (R)

$560 1997

Residential fi re alarm technician 
license229

Authorizes holder, who must be designated by 
a registered fi re alarm fi rm, to install, service, 
inspect, and certify a fi re alarm or detection system 
in a one- or two-family residence.

5.43-2230 0 $50 0 2007

Fire Extinguisher Service and Installation Licenses231,232

Fire extinguisher apprentice 
permit

Authorizes holder, under the direct supervision of 
an individual who holds a license and who works 
for the same fi rm as the apprentice, to install or 
service portable fi re extinguishers or install and 
maintain fi xed fi re extinguisher systems.

6001 209 $30233 $8,250 1971

Fire extinguisher branch offi ce 
registration

Authorizes registrant, which must be a separate 
offi ce location of a registered fi re extinguisher 
fi rm, to perform the same business as the fi rm.

6001 83 $100 (O)
$200 (R)

$8,100 1981
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Fire extinguisher employee 
license

Authorizes an individual employed by a registered 
fi re extinguisher fi rm to perform work as indicated 
by the following types of licenses:

6001 $70 (O)242

$100 (R)
1971

Type A license• Authorizes holder to certify or service the 
installation of a fi xed fi re extinguisher system 
other than a pre-engineered system; to install, 
certify, or service a pre-engineered fi xed fi re 
extinguisher system; and to certify and service a 
portable extinguisher.  A prerequisite for a Type 
A license is having held a Type B license or an 
apprentice permit for at least six months.

901 $41,040

Type B license• Authorizes holder to service, certify, and perform 
low-pressure hydrostatic testing of a portable fi re 
extinguisher.

907 $48,330

Type K license• Authorizes holder to install, certify, or service a 
pre-engineered fi xed fi re extinguisher system for 
the protection of cooking areas and to certify and 
service a portable fi re extinguisher.  A prerequisite 
for a Type K license is having held a Type B license 
or apprentice permit for at least six months.

151 $10,150

Type PL license• Authorizes holder to plan, supervise, certify, 
install, or service a fi xed fi re extinguisher system 
other than a pre-engineered system; and to perform, 
supervise, or certify the installation or servicing 
of  a pre-engineered fi xed system or portable fi re 
extinguisher.  The holder also may sell portable 
fi re extinguishers.

96 $4,350

Type R license• Authorizes holder to install, certify, or service a 
pre-engineered fi xed residential range-top fi re 
extinguisher system.

0 0
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Fire extinguisher fi rm registration 6001 1971

Types A, B, and PL licenses• Authorizes registrant to engage in the business of 
installing or servicing a portable fi re extinguisher 
or to plan, certify, install, or service a fi xed fi re 
extinguisher system.  The extent of work allowed 
by the fi rm's certifi cate is limited by the type of 
fi re extinguisher licenses held by its employees.

470 $450 (O)
$600 (R)

$152,520

Type C license• Authorizes registrant to engage in the business 
of hydrostatic testing of U.S. Department of 
Transportation specifi cation fi re extinguisher 
cylinders. 

86 $250 (O)
$300 (R)

$11,650

Fire Protection Sprinkler System Service and Installation Licenses234,235

Fire protection sprinkler system 
contractor  registration

To perform the work authorized by each category 
of registration described below, each fi re protection 
sprinkler system contractor must employ at least 
one licensed responsible managing employee on 
a full-time basis.

6003 1983

General registration• Authorizes registrant to plan, sell, install, maintain, 
or service a fi re protection sprinkler system or any 
part of such a system.

265 $900 (O)236

$1,800 (R)
$219,600

Dwelling registration• Authorizes registrant to plan, sell, install, 
maintain, or service a one- or two-family dwelling 
fi re protection sprinkler system or any part of such 
a system.

1 $300 (O)
$600 (R)

$600

Underground fi re main • 
registration

Authorizes registrant to sell, install, maintain, or 
service, but not plan, an assembly of underground 
piping or conduits that conveys water with or 
without other agents, used as an integral part of 
any type of fi re protection sprinkler system.

181 $300 (O)
$600 (R)

$59,400
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Responsible managing employee 
license

To perform the work authorized by each category 
of license described below, each holder must be 
designated by a registered fi re protection sprinkler 
system contractor.

6003 1983

General license• Authorizes holder to ensure that any such system, 
as planned, installed, maintained, or serviced, 
meets the standards as provided for by law.

358 $200 (O)
$350 (R)

$64,800

Dwelling license• Authorizes holder to ensure that any such system 
for a one- or two-family dwelling, as planned, 
installed, maintained, or serviced, meets the 
standards as provided for by law.

0 $150 (O)
$200 (R)

$62,200

General and dwelling license• Authorizes holder to ensure that any such system, 
including a system for a one- or two-family 
dwelling, as planned, installed, maintained, or 
serviced, meets the standards as provided for by 
law.

34 $200 (O)
$350 (R)

0

General inspector• Authorizes holder to perform inspection, testing, 
and maintenance services for a fi re protection 
sprinkler system in accordance with the standards 
as provided for by law.

29 $50 (O)
$100 (R)

$1,650

Underground fi re main• Authorizes holder to ensure that the underground 
fi re main for any such system, as installed, 
maintained, or serviced, meets the standards as 
provided for by law.

216 $150 (O)
$200 (R)

$24,450

Fireworks and Fireworks Displays Licenses237,238

Agricultural, industrial, and 
wildlife control permit

Authorizes holder to use Fireworks 1.3G for 
agricultural, industrial, or wildlife control 
purposes.  The applicant must specify the exact 
purpose for which the fi reworks are to be used 
before a permit may be issued.

2154 0 $10239 0 1985
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Fireworks distributor license Authorizes holder to import into this state or store, 
possess, and sell Fireworks 1.3G to a licensed 
pyrotechnic operator or distributor or to the holder 
of a single public display permit, multiple public 
display permit, or agricultural, industrial, and 
wildlife control permit; or import or store, possess, 
and sell Fireworks 1.4G to a licensed fi reworks 
jobber, retailer, or distributor in this state.

2154 46 $1,500240 $69,000 1985

Fireworks jobber license Authorizes holder to store, possess, and sell 
Fireworks 1.4G only to retailers in this state.

2154 3 $1,000240 $3,000 1985

Fireworks manufacturer license Authorizes holder to manufacture, store, possess, 
and sell fi reworks constructed by that person.  
Holder may sell Fireworks 1.4G only to a licensed 
distributor or jobber and Fireworks 1.3G only to 
a licensed distributor or pyrotechnic operator, or 
to a fi reworks public display permit holder for use 
in public fi reworks displays in this state.  Holder 
also may manufacture, store, possess, and sell an 
item other than a permissible fi rework if the item 
is only for sale and delivery to authorized persons 
in a state in which the item is permissible.

2154 2 $1,000240 $2,000 1985

Fireworks pyrotechnic operator 
license

Authorizes holder to assemble, discharge, and 
supervise public displays of Fireworks 1.3G or 
Fireworks 1.4G. Must be at least 21 years of age.

2154 479 $45 (O)242

$25 (R)
$12,575 1985

Fireworks pyrotechnic special 
effects operator license

Authorizes holder to assemble, conduct, and 
supervise displays using Fireworks 1.3G or 
Fireworks 1.4G for public amusement where an 
audience is closer to the pyrotechnic devices than 
permitted by the NFPA Code of Fireworks Display 
(NFPA 1123).  Must be at least 21 years of age.

2154 229 $45 (O)242

$25 (R)
$6,225 1997
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Flame effects241 operator license Authorizes holder to assemble, conduct, or 
supervise fl ame effects before an audience in 
accordance with NFPA standards.  Must be at least 
21 years of age.

2154 103 $45 (O)242

$25 (R)
$2,995 2003

Public display permit Multiple.  Authorizes holder to conduct multiple 
public fi reworks displays at a single approved 
location.

2154 17 $400239 $6,800 1985

Single.  Authorizes holder to conduct one public 
fi reworks display to be held during the hours and 
on the date or alternate date, if provided, stated on 
the permit.

2154 614 $50239 $30,700 1985

Retail fi reworks permit Authorizes holder to sell fi reworks only to the 
public and only during periods beginning June 
24 and ending at midnight on July 4; beginning 
December 20 and ending at midnight on January 
1 of the following year; and beginning May 1 and 
ending at midnight on May 5 if the fi reworks are 
sold at a location not more than 100 miles from the 
Texas-Mexico border and in a county in which the 
commissioners court of the county has approved 
the sale of fi reworks during that period.  A permit 
is required for each retail location.

2154 4,600 $20243,244 $92,040 1985

Insurance Licenses245,246

Agent continuing education and 
adjuster prelicensing education 
course provider registration

Authorizes registrant to offer continuing education 
courses for insurance licensees and  prelicensing 
courses suffi cient for students to take and pass 
the course's fi nal examination for an insurance 
adjuster's license.  Registrant may, but is not 
required to, offer both types of courses.

4004 and 
28 T.A.C. 
§19.1005

1,184 $50 $28,850 2001 and 
2003247
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County mutual agent license Authorizes holder to write county mutual insurance 
for an insurer authorized to engage in the business 
of such insurance in this state.

4051 3,320 $50248 $77,225 1941

Escrow offi cer license Authorizes holder, who may be an attorney, a bona 
fi de employee of an attorney licensed as an escrow 
offi cer, a bona fi de employee of a direct operation, 
or a bona fi de employee of a title insurance agent, 
to countersign title insurance forms, supervise the 
preparation and delivery of title insurance forms, 
sign escrow checks, and close the transaction.

2652 7,832 $35 $187,915 1967

Full-time home offi ce salaried 
employee registration

Authorizes registrant to solicit or receive an 
application for the sale of insurance through an 
oral, written, or electronic communication for an 
insurer authorized to engage in the business of 
insurance in this state. 

4051 1,256 $50 $2,850 2001

Funeral prearrangement life 
insurance agent license

Authorizes holder to write only life insurance 
policies and fi xed annuity contracts to secure 
the delivery of funeral services and merchandise 
under prepaid funeral contracts regulated by the 
Texas Department of Banking.

4054 2,331 $50248 $55,671 1997

General life, accident, and health 
agent license

Authorizes holder to write life, accident, and health 
insurance for an insurer authorized to engage in 
the business of such insurance in this state.

4054 167,501 $50248 $3,947,772 1933

General property and casualty 
agent license

Authorizes holder to write property and casualty 
insurance for an insurer authorized to engage 
in the business of such insurance in this state.  
Authorizes holder who is a subagent of a licensed 
property and casualty agent to solicit and bind 
insurance risks for that agent.  Authorizes holder 
to write any other kind of insurance as required by 
the insurance commissioner for the protection of 
the insurance consumers of this state.

4051 102,759 $50248 $2,448,340 1941
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Independent review organization 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to review a utilization 
review agent's adverse determination, which 
is a fi nding by the agent that certain health care 
items or services being provided or proposed to 
be provided, or that have been provided to an 
enrollee in a health benefi t plan are not medically 
necessary or appropriate and therefore not eligible 
for coverage under the plan.  The request for such 
a review cannot be made until the enrollee has 
appealed the adverse determination to the health 
care provider and the appeal has been denied.

4202 27 $800 (O)249

$200 (R)
$11,400 1997

Insurance adjuster license Authorizes holder to investigate or adjust losses on 
behalf of an insurer as an independent contractor 
or as an employee of an adjustment bureau, 
association, general property and casualty agent, 
or personal lines property and casualty agent, 
independent contractor, insurer, or managing 
general agent.  The holder also may supervise 
the handling of claims and investigate, adjust, 
supervise the handling of, or settle workers' 
compensation claims, including claims arising 
from services provided through a certifi ed workers' 
compensation health care network or on behalf of a 
third-party administrator or an insurance carrier.

4101 72,012 $50248 $1,378,887 1973

Insurance premium fi nance 
company license

Authorizes holder to engage in the business 
of making loans for the purpose of paying the 
premiums on an insurance contract by entering 
into premium fi nance agreements with insureds 
or prospective insureds and to acquire such 
agreements from insurance agents or brokers or 
from other insurance premium fi nance companies.  
Authorizes a holder who is an insurance agent or

651 325 $100 or
$200 (O)250

$200 (R)

$62,700 1973
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broker making such loans to hold premium fi nance 
agreements made and delivered by insureds that 
are payable to the agent or broker or to the agent’s 
or broker’s order.

Insurance service representative 
license

Authorizes holder who is a salaried offi ce 
employee of a property and casualty agent to 
explain insurance coverage, describe an insurance 
product, quote insurance premium rates, and issue 
insurance binders only with the express approval 
of the supervising agent.

4051 1,654 $50248 $38,531 1941251

Joint underwriting association 
certifi cate of authority

Authorizes a voluntary unincorporated association 
of insurers authorized by its members to act on 
their behalf to engage in joint underwriting or 
issuing syndicate insurance policies on a several, 
but not joint, basis.

2202 3 $200252 $200 1991

Life agent license253 Authorizes holder who does not hold a general 
life, accident, and health agent license to write 
insurance coverage on human lives, including 
endowment benefi ts and annuities, benefi ts in the 
event of death or dismemberment by accident, and 
benefi ts for disability income; act as an industrial 
life insurance agent for an insurer that writes 
only weekly premium life insurance on a debit 
basis; write fi xed or variable annuity contracts 
or variable life contracts; write for a stipulated 
premium company only life insurance in excess 
of $15,000 on any one life; and write any other 
kind of insurance as required by the commissioner 
for the protection of the insurance consumers of 
this state.

4054 0 $50248 0 2007
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Life and health insurance 
counselor license254

Authorizes holder for compensation to examine 
or offer to examine a life, accident, or health 
insurance policy, health benefi t plan, or annuity 
or pure endowment contract and to give advice or 
other information relating to the terms, conditions, 
benefi ts, coverage, or premiums of such a policy, 
plan, or contract, or the advisability of changing, 
exchanging, converting, replacing, surrendering, 
continuing, rejecting, accepting, or procuring a 
policy, plan, or contract from an insurer or health 
benefi t plan issuer.

4052 372 $50248 $11,361 1955

Life insurance not exceeding 
$15,000 agent license

Authorizes holder to write life insurance policies 
only in an amount that does not exceed $15,000 
on any one life on receipt of certifi cation from a 
stipulated premium company, statewide mutual 
assessment company, local mutual aid association, 
or local mutual burial association.

4054 944 $50248 $25,451 2001

Life or viatical settlement255 
broker registration

Authorizes registrant who is not a life or 
viatical settlement provider representative, for a 
commission or other form of compensation or with 
the intent of obtaining such compensation, to offer 
or attempt to negotiate a life or viatical settlement 
between a life settlor or viator and owner of an 
individual policy or certifi cate holder under a 
group policy insuring the life of a life settlor or 
viator and one or more life or viatical settlement 
providers by representing the life settlor, viator, 
or owner in negotiations to obtain the best offer 
or sale price for the policy; gather, organize, and 
analyze confi dential information about a life 
settlor, viator, or owner for the purpose of entering 
into such a settlement contract; and contact a life

1111 401 $250 $67,523 1995256
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settlor, viator, or owner or a life settlor’s or viator’s 
designee for the purpose of tracking the life settlor’s 
or viator’s health status after a settlement has been 
signed by all necessary parties and payments have 
been made to the owner.

Life or viatical settlement255 
provider registration

Authorizes registrant who is not a life settlor, viator, 
or owner of an individual policy or certifi cate holder 
under a group policy insuring the life of a life settlor 
or viator to enter into a life or viatical settlement 
with a life settlor or viator and owner or certifi cate 
holder or to attempt to do so through negotiation, 
solicitation, or acquisition of confi dential information 
from or about a life settlor, viator, or owner.  Also 
may perform services authorized for a life or viatical 
settlement broker or provider representative.

1111 $500 1995256

Life or viatical settlement255 
provider representative 
registration

Authorizes registrant who is not a life or viatical 
settlement broker and is employed by or contracts 
exclusively with a life or viatical settlement 
provider to offer or attempt to negotiate a life 
or viatical settlement with a life settlor, viator, 
or owner of an individual policy or certifi cate 
holder under a group policy insuring the life of a 
life settlor or viator by representing the provider; 
gather, organize, and analyze confi dential 
information about a life settlor, viator, or owner 
for the purpose of entering into such a settlement 
contract; and contact a life settlor, viator, or 
owner or a life settlor's or viator's designee for 
the purpose of tracking the life settlor's or viator's 
health status after a settlement has been signed 
by all necessary parties and payments have been 
made to the owner.

1111 $250 2001256
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Limited lines agent license Authorizes holder to handle specifi cally limited 
kinds of insurance, as determined by the 
commissioner of insurance, in the lines of county 
mutual insurance; funeral prearrangement life 
insurance; general life, accident, and health 
insurance; general property and casualty insurance; 
and life insurance not exceeding $15,000.  A 
limited license also may be issued for an insurance 
adjuster.

4051, 
4054, and 

4101

5,441 $50248 $125,552 2001

Managing general agent license Authorizes holder to have supervisory 
responsibility for the local agency and fi eld 
operations of an insurer in this state and to accept 
or process on the insurer's behalf insurance 
policies produced and sold by other agents.  A 
single license authorizes the licensee to represent 
or act for one or more insurers as a managing 
general agent.

4053 1,625 $50248 $39,201 1967

Personal lines property and 
casualty agent license257

Authorizes holder to write property and casualty 
insurance sold to individuals and families 
primarily for personal or household use for an 
insurer authorized to engage in the business of 
property and casualty insurance in this state.  Also 
authorizes the holder to  solicit and bind insurance 
risks as a subagent of a person who holds a 
personal lines property and casualty agent license.  
The holder also may write contracts for limited 
property and casualty insurance, county mutual 
insurance, specialty insurance, and accident and 
health insurance for individuals and families for 
personal, family, or household purposes for a 
property and casualty insurer authorized to sell 
those insurance products in this state.

4051 0 $50248 0 2007
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Public insurance adjuster license Authorizes holder—for direct, indirect, or any other 
compensation—to act on behalf of an insured in 
negotiating for or effecting the settlement of a claim 
or claims for loss or damage under any policy of 
insurance covering real or personal property; on behalf 
of any other public insurance adjuster to investigate, 
settle, or adjust or advise or assist an insured with a 
claim or claims for loss or damage under any policy 
of insurance covering real or personal property; or to 
advertise, solicit business, or hold himself or herself 
out to the public as an adjuster of claims for loss or 
damage under any policy of insurance covering real 
or personal property.

4102 202 $50248 $5,726 2003

Public insurance adjuster trainee 
temporary certifi cate

Authorizes registrant, for educational and training 
purposes only, to practice only under the direction 
and sponsorship of a licensed public insurance 
adjuster.

4102 0 $50258 0 2003

Reinsurance intermediary broker 
license

Authorizes holder other than an offi cer or 
employee of an insurer engaged in the business 
of insurance or reinsurance in this state to solicit, 
negotiate, or place reinsurance business on behalf 
of the insurer but not to exercise that authority to 
bind reinsurance on the insurer's behalf.

4152 66 $500248 $24,380 1991

Reinsurance intermediary 
manager license

Authorizes holder to bind reinsurance or manage 
all or part of the reinsurance business of an insurer 
engaged in the business of insurance or reinsurance 
in this state, including the management of a separate 
division, department, or underwriting offi ce.

4152 15 $500248 1991

Risk manager license Authorizes holder, for compensation, to examine 
or evaluate risks for and provide advice regarding 
reduction of risks to a person seeking to obtain or 
renew property and casualty insurance coverage 
in Texas.

4153 1,123 $50248 $18,912 1987
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Specialty agent license Authorizes holder to act as an agent for specifi ed 
kinds of insurance for any insurer authorized to 
engage in the business of those kinds of insurance 
in this state, as follows:

4055 $50248 $83,051

Credit insurance agent license• Authorizes holder to act as an agent for an insurer 
in the sale of any kind of credit insurance in the 
business of which the insurer is authorized to 
engage, including individual or group credit 
insurance.  This license may be issued to a retail 
distributor of goods, automobile dealer, bank, 
state or federal savings and loan, state or federal 
credit union, fi nance company, production credit 
association, or manufactured home or mobile 
home retailer.

2,993 1999

Rental car company license• Authorizes a company engaged in the business 
of providing leased or rented vehicles or vehicle 
equipment to the public, or the franchisee of such 
a company, to act as an agent for an authorized 
insurer only in connection with the rental of 
such vehicles or equipment and with respect to 
certain excess liability insurance, accident and 
health insurance, and personal effects insurance 
during the rental period, and any other coverage 
the commissioner approves as meaningful and 
appropriate in connection with the rental of 
vehicles or vehicle equipment.

64 1999

Self-service storage facility • 
license

Authorizes holder engaged in the business of 
providing leased or rented storage space to the 
public to act as an agent for any authorized insurer 
only in connection with the rental of such space 
and with respect to hazard insurance coverage 
provided to a renter for loss of or damage to

83 1999
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tangible personal property in storage or in transit 
during the rental period or any other coverage 
the commissioner approves as meaningful and 
appropriate in connection with the rental of 
storage space.

Telecommunications • 
equipment vendor license

Authorizes a retail vendor of telecommunications 
equipment to act as an agent for an authorized 
insurer only in connection with the sale and use 
of such equipment and with respect to insurance 
coverage provided to customers for the loss or 
malfunction of or damage to the equipment or 
any other coverage the commissioner approves 
as meaningful and appropriate in connection with 
the use of telecommunications equipment.

12 2001

Travel insurance license• Authorizes a travel agency (defi ned as an entity that 
sells or arranges transportation or accommodations 
for the public), a franchisee of a travel agency, or 
a public carrier to act as an agent for an authorized 
insurer only in connection with the sale or arrangement 
of such transportation or accommodations and with 
respect to certain accident and health insurance, 
personal effects insurance, life insurance, and 
insurance that provides coverage to a traveler for 
expenses incurred as a result of trip cancellation 
or interruption of a planned trip, and any other 
coverage the commissioner approves as meaningful 
and appropriate in connection with transportation or 
accommodations arranged through a travel agency.

812 1999

Surplus lines agent license Authorizes holder to write surplus lines insurance 
and perform certain other insurance activities for 
an insurer eligible to provide such insurance in 
this state.

981 4,238 $50248 $120,888 1967
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Title attorney license Authorizes holder on behalf of an attorney's title 
insurance259 company to insure, guarantee, or 
indemnify an owner of real property in this state, 
or another interested in the property, against loss 
or damage resulting from a lien or encumbrance 
on or defect in the title to the property or the 
invalidity of a lien on the property.  Attorney's title 
insurance is issued only in connection with and 
as part of a real property transaction and a title 
opinion of a title attorney.

2552 0 $50 (O)260

$48 (R)
0 1975

Title insurance agent license Authorizes holder to own or lease and control 
an abstract plant261 or participate in a bona fi de 
joint abstract plant operation and, if authorized 
in writing by a title insurance company, to solicit 
insurance and collect premiums and issue or 
countersign policies on the company's behalf.

2651 1,767 $50 (O)
$35 (R)

$25,955 1967

Title insurance direct operation 
license

Authorizes a title insurance company to own or 
lease and operate an abstract plant (a facility that 
makes and sells abstracts of title to real property 
or interests in real property) or participate in a 
bona fi de joint abstract plant operation in a county 
in this state.

2651 17 $50 (O)
$35 (R)

$210 1987

Utilization review agent 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to conduct a prospective or 
concurrent review of the medical necessity and 
appropriateness of health care services being 
provided or proposed to be provided to an 
individual within this state.  Such a review is 
provided for an employer with employees in the 
state who are covered under a health benefi t plan 
or health insurance policy, a payor, or a third-party 
administrator.  The review does not include an 
elective request for clarifi cation of coverage.

4201 197262 $2,150 (O)
$545 (R)

$76,940 1991
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Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying
Professional land surveyor 
registration

Authorizes registrant to engage in the practice of 
land, boundary, or property surveying or other 
similar professional practices.

1071 2,939 $275 (O)263

$367 or
$409 (R)264

$982,967 1979265

State land surveyor license Authorizes holder to survey land in which the 
state or the permanent school fund has an interest 
or perform other original surveys for the purpose 
of fi ling fi eld notes in the General Land Offi ce.

1071 1979

Professional land surveying fi rm 
registration

Authorizes an association, partnership, or 
corporation to offer professional surveying 
services.  The fi rm must have at least one registered 
professional land surveyor employed full-time and 
that person must perform or directly supervise all 
surveying work.

1071 0266 $25267 0 2007

Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Offi cer Standards and Education
Academic alternative provider 
license

Authorizes a school, accredited by the Southern 
Association of Colleges and Schools and having 
a criminal justice or law enforcement degree 
program approved by the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board, to provide preparatory law 
enforcement licensing courses.

37 T.A.C. 
§215.6

7 $100268,269 0270 2004

Basic instructor certifi cate Authorizes holder to be appointed as the coordinator 
of a law enforcement training academy or training 
provider.  An instructor at such a facility may 
obtain a certifi cate, but it is not required.

1701 1,130 $25 $28,250 1965

Law enforcement academy 
license

Authorizes a school operated by a governmental 
entity and licensed by the commission to provide 
basic law enforcement licensing courses and 
continuing education.

37 T.A.C. 
§215.3

0 $1,000268 0 1968
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Training provider contract Authorizes a law enforcement agency, a law 
enforcement association, or an alternative delivery 
trainer to conduct law enforcement training on a 
contract basis.

37 T.A.C. 
§215.5

14 $100268,271 $1,400 2001

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Licenses

Air conditioning and refrigeration 
contractor license

Authorizes holder to perform or offer to perform 
the design, installation, construction, repair, 
maintenance, service, or modifi cation of equipment 
or a product in an environmental air-conditioning 
system, a commercial refrigeration system, or a 
process cooling or heating system.

1302 12,293 $130 (O)272

$80 (R)272
$1,089,335 1983

Air-conditioning and refrigeration 
technician registration273

Authorizes registrant to assist a licensed 
air-conditioning and refrigeration contractor in 
performing air-conditioning and refrigeration 
maintenance work.

1302 0 $20 0 2007

Auctioneer Licenses
Associate auctioneer license Authorizes holder to be employed by and under 

the direct supervision of a licensed auctioneer to 
sell or offer to sell property at an auction.

1802 125 $25274 $3,125 1977

Auctioneer license Authorizes holder to sell or offer to sell property 
at auction, with or without receiving valuable 
consideration, as a bid caller.

1802 2,036 $50275 $103,025 1975

Barbering Licenses276

Barber school permit Authorizes holder to provide training leading to 
issuance of a Class A barber certifi cate.

1601 12,534 $500 (O)
$300 (R)

$996,122 1930277
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Barbershop permit Authorizes holder to operate a facility, other than 
a permitted barber school, in which barbering is 
practiced or is offered or attempted to be practiced.  
Includes a barber salon.

1601 $60 1967

Barber teacher certifi cate Authorizes a Class A barber who meets certain 
experience and examination requirements to 
provide instruction in a permitted barber school.

1601 $70 1961

Barber technician license Authorizes holder to assist a barber in shampooing 
and sterilizing in a barbershop, and to give 
massages, administer facial treatments, and apply 
makeup.  Must work under the direction of a 
registered Class A barber.

1601 $40278 1967

Class A barber certifi cate Authorizes holder to perform or offer or attempt to 
perform any act of barbering; claim to be engaged 
in the practice of barbering; or directly or indirectly 
advertise or represent the person as a barber or as 
being authorized to practice barbering.

1601 $90278,279 1929

Manicurist license280 Authorizes holder to treat a person's nails by 
cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, 
cleansing, manicuring, or pedicuring, or attaching 
false nails; or to massage, clean, treat, or beautify 
a person's hands.

1601 $40278 1971

Specialty shop permit280 Authorizes holder to maintain an establishment in 
which only nail treatments, hand treatments, hair 
braiding, or hair weaving are performed.

1601 $50 1989281

Student permit Authorizes holder to enroll in and attend a barber 
school in this state.

1601 $35282 1930

Dual barber and beauty shop 
license273

Authorizes holder to own, operate, or manage 
a shop in which any practice of barbering or 
cosmetology is performed.

1603 0 $130 (O)
$100 (R)

0 2007
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Examination proctor 
registration283

Authorizes registrant to administer a practical 
examination for a barbering or cosmetology 
license or certifi cate on behalf of the department.

1603 0 $25 0 2005

Hair braiding specialty certifi cate 
of registration273,280

Authorizes registrant to braid a person's hair, 
trim hair extensions only as applicable to the 
braiding process, and attach commercial hair by 
braiding only and without the use of chemicals or 
adhesives.

1601 0 $53278 0 2007

Hair weaving specialty certifi cate 
of registration273,280

Authorizes registrant to weave a person's hair by 
using any method to attach commercial hair to a 
person's hair or scalp.

1601 0 $53278 0 2007284

Mobile shop permit273 Authorizes holder to practice barbering, 
cosmetology, or both in a facility that is readily 
movable rather than in a fi xed location.

1603 0 $60 0 2007

Combative Sports285 Licenses
Amateur combative sports 
association registration

Authorizes an organization that has nonprofi t 
status under the laws of this state or under federal 
law to produce, arrange, advertise, conduct, or 
stage combative sports events in which all the 
contestants are amateurs.

2052 2 $50 $100 2005

Event coordinator license286 Authorizes holder to arrange, conduct, or stage 
a combative sports event promoted by another 
person, other than a permanent full-time employee 
of the promoter of the event.  Does not include an 
employee of an event coordinator.

2052 0 $200 0 2007

Manager license Authorizes holder under contract, agreement, or 
other arrangement with a professional combative 
sports contestant to undertake to directly or 
indirectly control or administer the contestant's 
affairs.

2052 36 $200 $7,600 1933
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Matchmaker license Authorizes holder to arrange matches for 
professional combative sports contestants.

2052 17 $175 $2,975 1934

Professional contestant license Authorizes holder to compete in a combative 
sports event in this state conducted for a purse or 
compensation.

2052 645 $30287 $20,954 1933

Promoter license Authorizes holder to produce, arrange, advertise, 
conduct, or stage a combative sports event.

2052 46 $900 $42,400 1933

Judge license Authorizes holder to score the performances of 
the participants in a match.

2052 86 $200 $21,550 1977

Referee license Authorizes holder to be present in the ring during a 
match and exercise general supervision of the match.

2052 $250 1934

Ringside physician registration Authorizes an individual licensed to practice 
medicine by the Texas State Board of Medical 
Examiners to provide medical assistance to 
contestants, including medical examinations before 
and after contests and during contests in the event 
of a knockout, concussion, or other head injury.

2052 55 $25 $1,375 2003

Second license Authorizes holder to provide assistance or advice 
to a contestant during a contest.

2052 808 $30 $25,544 1934

Timekeeper license Authorizes holder to act as the offi cial timer of the 
length of rounds or heats in a combative sports 
event and of the intervals between rounds or heats 
and to count when a contestant is down.

2052 32 $40 $1,280 1934

Cosmetology Licenses288,289

Beauty shop license Authorizes holder to maintain an establishment in 
which any practice of cosmetology is performed.

1602 232,813 $106 (O)
$69 (R)

$7,964,567 1935

Booth rental license Authorizes holder to lease space on the premises 
of a beauty shop to engage in the practice of 
cosmetology as an independent contractor.

1602 $67 1991
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Facial instructor specialty license Authorizes holder to provide instruction in any 
practice authorized for the holder of a facialist 
specialty license.

1602 $70 1993

Facialist specialty license Authorizes holder to cleanse, stimulate, or massage 
a person's scalp, face, neck, or arms by hand or by 
using a device, apparatus, or  appliance and with 
or without the use of any cosmetic preparation, 
antiseptic, tonic, lotion, or cream; beautify a person's 
face, neck, or arms using a cosmetic preparation, 
antiseptic, tonic, lotion, powder, oil, clay, cream, or 
appliance; administer facial treatments; or remove 
superfl uous hair from a person's body using 
depilatories or mechanical tweezers.

1602 $53 1991

Hair braiding specialty 
certifi cate290

Authorizes holder to braid hair.  Holder also may 
trim hair extensions only as applicable to the braiding 
process or attach commercial hair only by braiding 
and without the use of chemicals or adhesives.  
Does not include shampooing, conditioning, drying, 
styling, or applying any chemicals, including 
color chemicals, relaxers, perm solutions, or other 
preparations to alter the color or to straighten, curl, 
or alter the structure of hair.

1602 $53 1997

Hair weaving specialty 
certifi cate290

Authorizes holder to perform the services of 
a hair braider and additionally to attach hair by 
any weaving method.  Holder also may shampoo, 
condition, and dry hair in connection with a hair 
weaving service.  Does not include styling, cutting, 
or trimming hair except to the extent such activity 
is incidental to a hair weaving service.  Also does 
not include the application of color chemicals, 
relaxers, perm solutions, or other preparations to 
alter the color or to straighten, curl, or alter the 
structure of hair.

1602 $53 1979
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Instructor license Authorizes holder to perform any practice of 
cosmetology and instruct a person in any practice 
of cosmetology, including providing instruction 
in a private beauty culture school or a vocational 
cosmetology program in a public school.

1602 $70 1935

Manicure instructor specialty 
license

Authorizes holder to provide instruction in any 
practice authorized for the holder of a manicurist 
specialty license.

1602 $70 1993

Manicurist specialty license290 Authorizes holder to treat a person's nails by 
cutting, trimming, polishing, tinting, coloring, 
cleansing, or manicuring, or attaching false nails;  
or  to massage, clean, treat, or beautify a person's 
hands or feet.

1602 $53 1935291

Operator license Authorizes holder to perform any practice of 
cosmetology.

1602 $53 1935

Private beauty culture school 
license

Authorizes holder to maintain an establishment in 
which any practice of cosmetology is taught.

1602 $500 (O)292

$200 (R)
1935

Public secondary or 
postsecondary beauty culture 
school certifi cate

Authorizes holder to provide a vocational 
cosmetology program in a public school.

1602 $500 (O)292

$200 (R)
1991

Shampoo-conditioning specialty 
certifi cate

Authorizes holder to shampoo and condition a 
person's hair. 

1602 $53 1979

Specialty shop license290 Authorizes holder to maintain an establishment 
in which only certain cosmetology services are 
performed, including hair braiding or weaving;  
wig services; manicuring services; beautifying 
a person's face, neck, or arms using a cosmetic 
preparation, antiseptic, tonic, lotion, powder, oil, 
clay, cream, or appliance; or removing superfl uous 
hair from a person's body using depilatories or 
mechanical tweezers.

1602 $106 (O)
$69 (R)

1979
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Student permit Authorizes holder to enroll in and attend a school 
of cosmetology in this state.

1602 $25293 1979

Wig specialty certifi cate Authorizes holder to service a person's wig or 
artifi cial hairpiece on a person's head or on a 
block after the initial retail sale.  Servicing may 
be performed in any manner in which a licensed 
operator may treat a person's hair.

1602 $53 1971

Electrician Licenses
Electrical apprentice license Authorizes registrant to perform electrical work 

under the on-site supervision of a licensed master 
electrician, journeyman electrician, or residential 
wireman, on behalf of an electrical contractor or 
employing governmental entity.

1305 103,829 $20 $4,762,717 2003

Electrical sign apprentice license Authorizes registrant to perform electrical sign 
work under the on-site supervision of a licensed 
master electrician, master sign electrician, or 
journeyman sign electrician, on behalf of an 
electrical sign contractor. (See entry for Master 
sign electrician license for description of work 
encompassed by the defi nition of electrical sign 
work.)

1305 $20 2005

Electrical contractor license Authorizes holder to design, install, erect, repair, 
or alter electrical wires or conductors to be used for 
light, heat, power, or signaling purposes.  Includes 
the installation or repair of ducts, raceways, or 
conduits for the reception or protection of wires 
or conductors and the installation or repair of any 
electrical machinery, apparatus, or system used 
for electrical light, heat, power, or signaling.

1305 $125294 2003
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Electrical sign contractor license Authorizes holder to design, manufacture, install, 
connect, reconnect, or service an electric sign, cold 
cathode, neon gas tubing, or outline gas tubing, 
or alter electric sign wiring or conductors either 
inside or outside of a building.

1305 $125294 2003

Journeyman electrician license Authorizes holder to perform electrical work 
under the general supervision of a licensed master 
electrician on behalf of an electrical contractor or 
employing governmental entity.

1305 $40295 2003

Journeyman sign electrician 
license

Authorizes holder to perform electrical sign work 
under the general supervision of a licensed master 
electrician or master sign electrician on behalf of 
an electrical sign contractor. (See entry for Master 
sign electrician license for description of work 
encompassed by the defi nition of electrical sign 
work.)

1305 $40295 2003

Maintenance electrician license Authorizes holder, while working under the 
general supervision of a licensed master electrician 
on behalf of an electrical contractor or employing 
governmental entity, to replace or repair existing 
electrical appurtenances, apparatus, equipment, 
machinery, or controls used in connection with 
the use of electrical energy in, on, outside, or 
attached to a building, residence, structure, 
property, or premises.  All replacements or repairs 
must be of the same rating and type as the existing 
installation.

1305 $25 2003

Master electrician license Authorizes holder to perform electrical work on 
behalf of an electrical contractor, electrical sign 
contractor, or employing governmental entity.

1305 $65296 2003
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Master sign electrician license Authorizes holder to perform electrical sign work 
on behalf of an electrical sign contractor.  Such work 
includes manufacturing, installing, maintaining, 
extending, connecting or reconnecting an electrical 
wiring system and its appurtenances, apparatus 
or equipment used in connection with signs, 
outline lighting, awnings, signals, light emitting 
diodes, and the repair of existing outdoor electric 
discharge lighting.  This work also includes the 
installation of an electrical service integral to an 
isolated sign or outline lighting installation.

1305 $65296 2003

Residential wireman license Authorizes holder, while working under the 
general supervision of a licensed master electrician 
on behalf of an electrical contractor or employing 
governmental entity, to perform electrical work 
limited to electrical installations in single-family 
and multifamily dwellings not exceeding four 
stories.

1305 $25 2003

Residential appliance installation 
contractor license297

Authorizes a business entity other than an electrical 
contractor or electrical sign contractor to engage 
in residential appliance installation contracting, 
defi ned as connecting or disconnecting a residential 
appliance to an existing electrical circuit other than 
by inserting or removing a plug from an electrical 
outlet.

1305 0 $125 0 2007

Residential appliance installer 
license297

Authorizes holder, who is not a licensed electrician, 
to perform electrical work limited to connecting 
or disconnecting a residential appliance to an 
existing electrical circuit other than by inserting 
or removing a plug from an electrical outlet.

1305 0 $40 0 2007
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Elevator Contractor and Inspector Licenses298

Elevator contractor license Authorizes holder to install, repair, or maintain 
an elevator, escalator, chairlift, platform lift, 
automated people mover operated by cables, 
moving sidewalk, or related equipment.  Does not 
include an employee of a contractor or a person 
engaged in cleaning or any other work performed 
on equipment that does not affect the operational 
safety of the equipment or diminish the safety 
of the equipment below the level required by 
applicable codes and standards promulgated by 
the American Society of Mechanical Engineers 
(ASME).

754 27 $300299 $8,100 2003

Elevator inspector registration Authorizes registrant to inspect all elevator, 
escalator, and related equipment for compliance 
with applicable ASME codes and standards.  
Registrant must be certifi ed as a QEI-1 inspector300 
by an organization accredited by ASME.

754 125 $100301 $12,500 1993

Employment Services Licenses
Personnel employment service 
certifi cate of authority

Authorizes holder to offer or attempt to obtain 
permanent employment for an applicant or to 
obtain or attempt to obtain a permanent employee 
for an employer.  A separate certifi cate of authority 
is required for each location of the business.

2501 132 $75 $14,450 2001

Staff leasing services license Authorizes holder to assign or lease its permanent 
employees to another employer where the 
arrangement is of a long-term or continuing nature 
rather than temporary or seasonal.  A limited license 
is available for a registrant that employs fewer 
than 50 assigned employees in the state at any one

91302 280 $250 to 
$750303

$238,150 1993
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time, does not provide assigned employees to a 
client company based or domiciled in the state, 
and does not maintain an offi ce in this state or 
solicit client companies located or domiciled in 
this state.

Talent agency registration Authorizes registrant to obtain or attempt to obtain 
employment for artists, including counseling 
or directing an artist in the development of the 
artist’s professional career.  A separate registration 
is required for each location of the business.

2105 59 $400 $32,900 1989

Temporary common worker 
employer registration

Authorizes holder to provide common workers304 
to users of such workers.  A separate registration 
is required for each location of the business.

92302 108 $550305 $75,050 1991

Industrialized Housing306 and Buildings307 Licenses
Industrialized housing builder 
license

Authorizes holder to engage in the assembly, 
connection, and on-site construction and erection 
of modules or modular components at the building 
site or in the purchase of industrialized housing or 
buildings or of modules or modular components 
from a manufacturer or from another industrialized 
builder for sale or lease to the public.  Does not 
include a subcontractor of an industrialized builder.

1202 361 $325 $123,034 1985

Industrialized housing design 
review agency license

Authorizes holder to review designs, 
plans, specifi cations, and building systems 
documentation relating to industrialized 
housing and to certify compliance with statutory 
requirements.

1202 8 $300 $2,400 1985

Industrialized housing 
manufacturer registration

Authorizes registrant to construct or assemble 
modules or modular components at a manufacturing 
facility that are offered for sale or lease, sold or 
leased, or otherwise used.

1202 103 $750 $80,725 1985
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Industrialized housing third-party 
inspector license

Authorizes holder, which may be a person or agency, 
private or public, to inspect industrialized housing, 
buildings, and portions thereof for compliance with 
the approved plans, documentation, compliance 
control program, and applicable code.

1202 7

41

$150 per fi rm

+
$100 per 
inspector

$900

$4,150

1985

Legal Services Licenses
Court interpreter license Authorizes holder to interpret court proceedings 

for an individual who can hear but who does not 
comprehend English or communicate in English.

57308 627 $75 (O)309

$50 (R)
$34,755 2001

For-profi t legal service contract306 
company registration

Authorizes registrant to enter into a contract 
with a contracting attorney to provide or obtain 
covered legal services for a legal service contract 
holder.  Authorizes holder to operate as a for-profi t 
legal service contract company.  The company 
is contractually obligated to the contract holder 
under the terms of the legal service contract.

953 7 $500 to 
$1,000311

$368,311 2003

Legal service contract 
administrator registration

Authorizes registrant to be responsible for all or 
any part of the administration of a legal service 
contract or group legal service contract; the sale 
of such contracts; or compliance with statutory 
requirements relating to such contracts.

953 2 $50 $100 2003

Legal service contract salesperson 
registration

Authorizes registrant to sell or solicit a legal 
service contract to a person on behalf of a legal 
service contract company.

953 16,627 $30 $532,773 2003

Property Tax Consulting312 Licenses313

Property tax consultant 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform property tax 
consulting services for compensation.  The registrant 
must be employed by or associated with a registered 
senior property tax consultant and under the senior 
property tax consultant's direct supervision.

1152 1,278 $275314 $368,745 1991
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Real estate property tax 
consultant registration

Authorizes holder of an active real estate broker 
license, real estate salesperson license, or real 
estate appraiser license or certifi cate to perform 
real estate property tax consulting services for 
compensation.

1152 $275314 1995

Senior property tax consultant 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform or supervise 
others in the performance of property tax 
consulting services for compensation.

1152 $315 (O)314,315

$275 (R)314
1991

Service Contract316 Licenses
Service contract administrator 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform third-party 
administration on behalf of a service contract 
provider, including collecting, maintaining, or 
disbursing money to compensate a party for a 
claim or repair pursuant to a service contract; 
processing or adjusting a claim arising under such 
a contract; or maintaining records.

1304 150 $250 $133,500 2005

Service contract provider 
registration

Authorizes registrant to enter into a service contract 
with a consumer.  The registrant is contractually 
obligated to the contract holder under the terms of 
the contract.

1304 $250 (O) 
$250 to 
$1,000 (R)317

1999

Towing and Vehicle Storage Facility Licenses318

Tow truck company 
registration319,320

Authorizes an individual, association, corporation, 
or other legal entity to control, operate, or direct 
the operation of one or more tow trucks over a 
public roadway in Texas.  Does not include a 
political subdivision of the state.

2308 3,443 $100 (O)321

$25 or $50 
per tow
truck (R)322

$688,154 1929323

Tow truck operator license Consent towing.  Authorizes holder to tow a 
vehicle with the consent of the vehicle's owner 
or operator.  A consent tow includes any tow of 
a motor vehicle initiated by the vehicle's owner, 
operator, or custodian.

2308 0 $100324 0 2007
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Incident management.  Authorizes holder to tow a 
vehicle without the consent of the vehicle's owner 
if the tow is initiated by a peace offi cer.

0 $100324 0 2007

Private property towing.  Authorizes holder to 
tow a vehicle without the consent of the vehicle's 
owner if the tow is authorized by a parking facility 
owner.

0 $100324 0 2007

Vehicle storage facility license Authorizes holder to operate a garage, parking lot, 
or other facility owned by a person other than a 
governmental entity and used to store or park at 
least 10 vehicles each year.

2303 1,910 $100 (O)325,326

$75 (R)
$192,343 1985

Vehicle storage facility employee 
license327

Authorizes holder to be employed by a licensed 
vehicle storage facility.

2303 0 $75324 0 2007

Water Well Driller and Pump Installer Licenses
Water well driller license Authorizes holder to drill, bore, core, or construct 

a water well in this state.  Includes the owner or 
operator of a well or the contractor or drilling 
supervisor.  Does not include a person who drills, 
bores, cores, or constructs a water well on the 
person's own property for the person's own use 
or assists in constructing a water well under the 
direct supervision of a driller and is not primarily 
responsible for the drilling operation. 

1901 2,382 $215328,329 $522,966 1965

Water well pump installer license Authorizes holder to install or repair well pumps 
and equipment.  Does not include a person who 
installs or repairs well pumps and equipment on 
the person's own property for the person's own 
use or assists in pump installation under the direct 
supervision of an installer and is not primarily 
responsible for the installation. 

1902 $215328,330 1991
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Water well driller or pump 
installer apprentice registration

Authorizes registrant to undertake a TDLR- 
approved apprentice program under the supervision 
of a licensed well driller or pump installer who has 
been licensed for at least two years.  A driller or 
pump installer may not supervise more than three 
apprentices at any one time.  An individual with 
both a well driller and a pump installer license 
may register a maximum of six apprentices (three 
of each type) at any one time.

16 T.A.C. 
§76.205

730 $65331 2001

Other Licenses
Accessibility specialist 
registration

Authorizes registrant to review plans and perform 
inspections to determine compliance with Texas 
Accessibility Standards, which set requirements 
for eliminating architectural barriers for individuals 
with disabilities in public buildings and facilities, 
privately owned buildings and facilities leased 
or occupied by state agencies, places of public 
accommodation, and commercial facilities.

469332 437 $300333 $127,325 2001

Discount health care program 
operator registration334

Authorizes registrant to operate a discount health 
care program and contract with health care 
providers, provider networks, or other discount 
health care program operators to offer access to 
health care services at a discount and to determine 
the charge to members.

76335 0 $1,000 (O)
$500 (R)

0 2007

Vehicle protection product 
warrantor registration

Authorizes registrant to sell or offer for sale a 
vehicle protection product or system, including a 
written warranty, that is designed to prevent loss 
or damage to the vehicle from a specifi c cause.

2306 25 $500 (O)336

$500 to 
$1,500 (R)337

$50,750 2001
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Texas Lottery Commission
Bingo conductor license Authorizes holder (an eligible religious society, 

nonprofi t organization, fraternal organization, 
veterans organization, or volunteer fi re department) 
to conduct bingo.

2001 973 $100 to 
$2,500338

$1,948,652 1981

Bingo conductor temporary 
license

Authorizes an eligible organization to conduct 
bingo for four hours during any one day.  The 
organization may not receive more than six such 
licenses in a calendar year.

2001 814339 $25 $125,915 1981

Bingo equipment distributor 
license

Authorizes a person who obtains, by purchase 
or otherwise, bingo equipment or supplies for 
use in bingo in this state, to sell or furnish the 
items to another person for use, resale, display, or 
operation.

2001 10 $1,000340 $12,000 1983

Bingo equipment manufacturer 
license

Authorizes holder to assemble from raw materials 
or subparts a completed piece of bingo equipment 
or supplies for use in bingo games in this state or 
to convert, modify, add to, or remove parts from 
any bingo equipment, item, or assembly to further 
its promotion or sale for or use in a bingo game in 
this state.

2001 14 $3,000340 $53,000 1983

Bingo equipment system service 
provider license

Authorizes holder to sell or supply automated 
bingo services for the use of a licensed authorized 
organization.

2001 0 $1,000 0 1995

Bingo commercial lessor license Authorizes holder to lease premises on which 
bingo is conducted directly to a licensed authorized 
organization.

2001 307 $100 to 
$2,500341

$425,565 1981
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Bingo unit manager license Authorizes holder to be responsible for the bingo 
revenues, authorized expenses, and inventory of a 
unit, which is composed of two or more licensed 
authorized organizations that conduct bingo at the 
same location and have joined together to share 
such revenue, expenses, and inventory.

2001 0 $250 0 2003

Lottery ticket sales agent license Authorizes holder to sell Texas Lottery tickets. 466342 7,723 $50 or
$125 (O)343

$15 (R)

$303,735 1991

Texas Medical Board
Physician licenses and permits 151, 155, 

156
60,209

Full physician license and • 
registration permit

Authorizes holder to diagnose, treat, or offer to 
treat a mental or physical disease or disorder or 
a physical deformity or injury by any system or 
method, including surgery, or to attempt to effect 
cures of those conditions.

$880 (O)344

$740 (R)345
$10,104,620346 1837347

Telemedicine license• Authorizes holder who is physically located in 
another jurisdiction to practice across state lines by 
performing an act that is part of a health care service 
initiated in this state by a physician or provided by 
a health care professional under supervision by a 
physician that involves an assessment, diagnosis, 
treatment, or transfer of medical data requiring 
use of advanced telecommunications other than 
by telephone or facsimile.

151 $880 1995
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Temporary physician licenses and 
permits and limited licenses

Temporary licenses and permits and limited licenses 
may be issued to qualifi ed individuals authorizing 
them to perform certain functions that are limited 
in scope or to perform functions specifi ed by the 
license for a limited period as follows:

155 271348 various349

Distinguished professors • 
temporary license350

Authorizes licensed physician to hold an 
appointment as a salaried full professor on the 
faculty working full-time in certain institutions.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.3

$50

State health agency • 
temporary license

Authorizes holder to hold a salaried clinical or 
administrative position with an agency of the state.  
Holder of an administrative temporary license is 
prohibited from practicing medicine as defi ned by 
Section 151.002(a)(13), Occupations Code.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.4

$50

Visiting physician temporary • 
permit351

Authorizes holder to practice medicine in the 
state under the supervision of a licensed Texas 
physician for educational purposes or to practice 
charity care for underserved populations in the 
state.  Excludes physicians training in postgraduate 
training programs.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.5

$0

Visiting professor temporary • 
license352

Authorizes holder to practice medicine as a 
visiting professor appointed to that position by 
certain Texas medical schools or institutions.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.6

$110

National Health Service • 
Corps temporary license353

Authorizes a licensed out-of-state physician to 
practice medicine in Texas under contract with 
the National Health Services Corps under certain 
conditions.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.7

$0

Faculty temporary license• 354 Authorizes a licensed out-of-state physician who 
holds an M.D., D.O., or equivalent degree or who 
has completed at least three years of postgraduate 
residency to practice medicine working full-
time in a salaried faculty position at the assistant

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.8

$680355 2005
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professor-level or higher at certain institutions, or 
working part-time at the assistant professor-level or 
higher if the person is on active duty in the United 
States military and is engaged in a practice that will 
fulfi ll a critical need of the citizens of the state.

Postgraduate research • 
temporary license356

Authorizes a medical school graduate to hold a 
research appointment at a Texas medical school 
under certain conditions.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.9

DSHS medically underserved • 
area temporary license357

Authorizes a licensed physician to be appointed 
by the Department of State Health Services to 
provide free services under the supervision of a 
fully licensed Texas physician at the department's 
regional clinics in medically underserved areas.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.10

$50

Conceded eminence license• Authorizes a physician who has achieved a high 
level of academic or professional recognition for 
excellence in research, teaching, or the practice 
of medicine to practice a specialty of medicine 
within the setting of the institution or program that 
recommended the holder for the license.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.13

$880 2005

Public health/administrative • 
medicine license358

Authorizes holder to engage in professional 
managerial, administrative, or supervisory 
activities related to public health or the practice of 
medicine on behalf of a governmental entity serving 
as a public health agency or institution, including 
prescriptive authority for public health purposes, 
preventive interventions, diagnosis and treatment 
of communicable and vaccine preventable 
diseases, pharmacological interventions for 
smoking cessation and contraception, and other 
clinical preventive medicine interventions such as 
those to prevent obesity and diabetes.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 172.15

$880 2005
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Physician registration for 
offi ce-based anesthesia services

Authorizes physician to provide anesthesia 
services or perform a procedure for which 
anesthesia services are provided in an outpatient 
setting.

162,
22 T.A.C. 
§ 192.1

1,014359 $210360 $200,637361 1999

Physician-in-training permit Authorizes holder to perform a medical act only 
as part of a graduate medical education training 
program and under the supervision of a licensed 
physician.

155,
22 T.A.C. 
§ 171.3

6,405 $140 1837362

Physician assistant license and 
registration permit

Authorizes holder to provide certain medical 
services that are delegated by a supervising 
physician.  Such services include obtaining patient 
histories and performing physical examinations; 
ordering and/or performing diagnostic and 
therapeutic procedures; formulating a working 
diagnosis; developing and implementing a 
treatment plan; monitoring the effectiveness of 
therapeutic interventions; assisting at surgery; 
offering counseling and education to meet patient 
needs; requesting, receiving, and signing for the 
receipt of pharmaceutical sample prescription 
medications and distributing the samples 
to patients; the signing or completion of a 
prescription; and making appropriate referrals.

204 4,290 $200 (O)
$219 (R)

$995,046363 1993

Surgical assistant license and 
registration permit

Authorizes holder to provide aid under direct 
supervision in exposure, hemostasis, and other 
intraoperative technical functions that assist a 
physician in performing a safe operation with 
optimal results for the patient, including the 
delegated authority to provide local infi ltration or 
the topical application of a local anesthetic at the 
operation site.

206 259 $300 (O)
$468 (R)

$69,462361 2001
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Acupuncturist license and 
registration permit

Authorizes holder to insert non-surgically an 
acupuncture needle and apply moxibustion to 
specifi c areas of the human body as a primary 
mode of therapy to evaluate, assess, treat, and 
mitigate a human condition and to administer a 
thermal or electrical treatment or recommend 
dietary guidelines, energy fl ow exercises, or 
dietary or herbal supplements in conjunction with 
the acupuncture treatment.

205 885 $300 (O)
$284 (R)

$247,912361 1993

Acudetox specialist certifi cation 
and registration permit

Authorizes holder to practice acupuncture under 
the supervision of a licensed acupuncturist or 
physician only for the treatment of alcoholism, 
substance abuse, or chemical dependency.

205 102 $50 (O)
$59 (R)

$6,575361 1997

Non-certifi ed radiologic 
technician registration and 
registration permit

Authorizes holder to perform radiologic 
procedures, such as bone densitometry using a 
dual energy X-ray densitometer, and certain chest, 
spine, extremities, abdomen, and skull studies 
using standard fi lm or fi lm screen combinations 
and an X-ray tube that is stationary at the time 
of exposure under the direct supervision or 
instruction of a licensed physician.

22 T.A.C. 
§ 194.3

1,553 $50 (O)
$84 (R)

$141,086361 n/a

Nonprofi t health organization 
certifi cation and recertifi cation

Authorizes a nonprofi t corporation to conduct 
scientifi c research and research projects in the 
public interest in the fi eld of medical science, 
medical economics, public health, sociology, or a 
related area; support medical education in medical 
schools through grants and scholarships; improve 
and develop the capabilities of individuals and 
institutions studying, teaching, and practicing 
medicine; deliver health care to the public; or 
instruct the general public in medical science, 
public health, and hygiene and provide related

162 340 $2,500363

$1,068364
$194,820361 1971
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instruction useful to individuals and benefi cial 
to the community.  The organization must be 
organized and incorporated solely by persons 
licensed by the board and have as its directors and 
trustees persons who are licensed by the board and 
actively engaged in the practice of medicine.

Texas Board of Nursing
Vocational nurse license Authorizes holder to practice a directed scope 

of nursing that involves: collecting data and 
performing focused nursing assessments of the 
health status of an individual; participating in the 
planning of the nursing care needs of an individual 
and the development and modifi cation of the plan; 
participating in health teaching and counseling 
to promote, attain, and maintain the optimum 
health level of an individual; and assisting in 
the evaluation of an individual's response to a 
nursing intervention and the identifi cation of an 
individual's needs.

301 82,621 $139 (O)
$58 (R)365

$200 (E)366

$2,582,387 1951

Registered nurse license Authorizes holder to practice professional nursing, 
which involves: the observation, assessment, 
intervention, evaluation, rehabilitation, care and 
counsel, or health teachings of a person who is 
ill, injured, infi rm, or experiencing a change in 
normal health processes; the maintenance of health 
or prevention of illness; the administration of a 
medication or treatment as ordered by a physician, 
podiatrist, or dentist; the supervision or teaching 
of nursing; the administration, supervision, and 
evaluation of nursing practices, policies, and 
procedures; the requesting, receiving, signing 
for, and distribution of prescription drug samples

301 201,172 $139 (O)
$67 (R)365

$200 (E)366

$6,257,804 1909
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to patients at sites in which a registered nurse 
is authorized to sign certain prescription drug 
orders; the performance of certain acts delegated 
by a physician; and the development of the nursing 
care plan.

Advanced nurse practitioner 
license

Authorizes holder to practice in an expanded role 
acting independently or in collaboration with other 
health care professionals in the delivery of health 
care services to individuals, families, or groups in 
a variety of settings, including homes, hospitals, 
institutions, offi ces, industry, schools, community 
agencies, public and private clinics, and private 
practice.

301 12,024 $75 (O)
$50 (R)
$25 (P)367

$365,230 1995

Texas Optometry Board
Optometrist license Authorizes holder to determine or measure the 

powers of vision of the human eye; examine or 
diagnose visual defects, abnormal conditions, or 
diseases of the human eye or adnexa;  or prescribe 
or fi t lenses or prisms to correct or remedy a defect 
or abnormal condition of vision.

351 2,993 $255 (O)
$387 (R)375

$1,276,662368 1921

Texas State Board of Pharmacy
Pharmacist license Authorizes holder to dispense or distribute 

prescription drugs.
551, 558, 

559
23,939 $214369 $2,308,334 1907

Pharmacy license Authorizes holder to operate a pharmacy.  The 
specifi c authorization provided by each class of 
license is as follows:

551, 560, 
561

6,315 $385369 $1,064,079 1929

Class A pharmacy license  • 
(community pharmacy)

Authorizes pharmacy to dispense a drug or device 
to the public under a prescription drug order.

Class B pharmacy license • 
(nuclear pharmacy)

Authorizes pharmacy to dispense a radioactive drug 
or device for administration to an ultimate user.
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Class C pharmacy license • 
(institutional pharmacy)

Authorizes holder to operate a pharmacy located 
in certain inpatient facilities, hospitals, and 
ambulatory surgical centers.

Class D pharmacy license • 
(clinic pharmacy)

Authorizes pharmacy to dispense a limited type of 
drug or device under a prescription drug order.

Class E pharmacy license • 
(nonresident pharmacy)

Authorizes a pharmacy located in another 
state whose primary business is to dispense a 
prescription drug or device under a prescription 
drug order and deliver the drug or device to a 
patient by United States mail, common carrier, or 
delivery service to operate in this state.

Pharmacy technician 
registration370

Authorizes registrant to be employed by a 
pharmacy and to work under the direct supervision 
of a pharmacist providing technical services that 
do not require professional judgment regarding 
preparing and distributing drugs.

568 32,106 $59 (O)
$56 (R)369

$811,822 1999

Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Physical therapist license Authorizes holder to practice a form of health care 

designed to prevent, identify, correct, or alleviate 
acute or prolonged movement dysfunction or pain 
of anatomic or physiologic origin and that includes 
hydrotherapy, physiotherapy, mechano-therapy, 
functional therapy, kinesiotherapy, physical 
rehabilitation, and myofunctional therapy.

453 9,963 $170 (O)
$217 (R)371

$1,178,833 1971

Physical therapist assistant license Authorizes holder to assist in the practice of 
physical therapy under supervision of a physical 
therapist.

453 4,589 $116 (O)
$167 (R)371

$419,596 1971
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Occupational therapist license Authorizes holder to: evaluate or treat a person whose 
ability to perform the tasks of living is threatened or 
impaired by developmental defi cits, the aging process, 
environmental deprivation, sensory impairment, 
physical injury or illness, or psychological or social 
dysfunction; use therapeutic goal-directed activities 
to evaluate, prevent, or correct physical or emotional 
dysfunction, or maximize function in a person's 
life; or apply therapeutic goal-directed activities in 
treating patients on an individual basis, in groups, 
or through social systems, by means of direct or 
monitored treatment or consultation.

454 6,131 $120 (O)
$217 (R)371

$745,086 1983

Occupational therapist assistant 
license

Authorizes holder to assist in the practice of 
occupational therapy under the general supervision 
of an occupational therapist.

454 2,235 $93 (O)
$167 (R)371

$230,512 1983

Physical therapy and occupational 
therapy facility license

Authorizes holder to own and/or operate a physical 
therapy or occupational therapy facility.

453
454

2,862 $314 (O)372

$306 (R)373
$603,783 1993

Texas Board of Plumbing Examiners
Drain cleaner registration Authorizes registrant to install cleanouts and 

remove and reset P-traps (a commonly used type 
of drain trap), for the purposes of eliminating 
obstructions in building drains and sewers, only 
under the supervision of a master plumber and 
only under a contract or agreement to perform 
plumbing work secured by a master plumber.

1301 643 $10 $6,428 2001

Drain cleaner restricted 
registration

Authorizes registrant to clear obstructions in sewer 
and drain lines only through any existing code-
approved opening, only under the supervision of 
a master plumber, and only under a contract or 
agreement to perform plumbing work secured by 
a master plumber.

1301 714 $10 $7,142 2001
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Journeyman plumber license Authorizes holder to do plumbing work only 
under the general supervision of a master plumber 
and only under a contract or agreement to perform 
plumbing work secured by a master plumber.

1301 12,726 $25 $318,913 1947

Master plumber license Authorizes holder to perform plumbing work, 
enter into a contract or agreement to perform 
plumbing work for the general public, and secure 
permits to perform plumbing work.

1301 9,690 $180 to $193 (O)
$193 (R)

$1,874,251 1947

Plumber's apprentice registration Authorizes registrant, as his or her principal 
occupation, to engage in learning and assisting 
in the installation of plumbing, only under the 
supervision of a master plumber and the direct 
supervision of a licensed plumber and only under 
a contract or agreement to perform plumbing work 
secured by a master plumber.

1301 23,382 $10 $233,826 2001

Plumbing inspector license Authorizes holder to conduct plumbing inspections 
as an employee or independent contractor of a 
political subdivision for compliance with health 
and safety laws and ordinances.

1301 1,238 $50 $61,900 1947

Residential utilities installer 
registration

Authorizes registrant to construct and install yard 
water service piping and building sewers for one- 
or two-family dwellings only, only under the 
supervision of a master plumber, and only under a 
contract or agreement to perform plumbing work 
secured by a master plumber.

1301 1,011 $10 $10,112 2001

Tradesman plumber limited 
license

Authorizes holder to construct and install 
plumbing for only one- or two-family dwellings, 
only under the supervision of a master plumber 
and only under a contract or agreement to perform 
plumbing work secured by a master plumber.

1301 1,997 $25 $50,279 2001
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Texas Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
Podiatric physician license Authorizes holder to treat or offer to treat any disease, 

disorder, physical injury, deformity, or ailment of 
the human foot by any system or method.

202 917 $444 (O)
$440 (R)

$403,480 1923

Texas Polygraph Examiners Board
Polygraph examiner internship 
license

Authorizes holder to engage in a course of study of 
polygraph examination and the administration of 
such an examination as a trainee under the personal 
supervision and control of a polygraph examiner 
as prescribed by the Texas Polygraph Examiners 
Board at the beginning of the internship.

1703 12 $150 (O)
$75 (R)374

$1,800 1965

Polygraph examiner license Authorizes holder to use an instrument, including 
a polygraph, to detect deception or verify the truth 
of a statement  or to present himself or herself as 
a polygraph examiner.  Includes a person who is a 
city, county, or state employee.

1703 248 $500 (O)
$450 (R)

$114,200 1965

Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists
Psychologist license Authorizes holder to provide or offer to provide 

services to an individual or group, including: providing 
computerized procedures to describe, explain, and 
ameliorate behavior; evaluating, preventing, and 
remediating psychological, emotional, mental, 
interpersonal, learning, and behavioral disorders of 
individuals or groups, as well as the psychological 
disorders that accompany medical problems, 
organizational structures, stress, and health; using 
projective techniques, neuropsychological testing, 
counseling, career counseling, psychotherapy, 
hypnosis for health care purposes, hypnotherapy, 
and biofeedback; and evaluating and treating mental 
or emotional disorders and disabilities.

501 7,653 $180 (O)
$387 (R)375

$334,900376 1969
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Psychologist - provisional license Authorizes holder to practice under the supervision 
of a licensed psychologist.  This license is a 
prerequisite for licensure as a psychologist.

501 $340 (O)
$291 (R)375

1997377

School psychology specialist 
license

Authorizes holder to be employed by a school 
district as a school psychologist or associate 
school psychologist.

501378 $220 (O)
$239 (R)375

1995

Psychological associate license Authorizes holder with master's degree from an 
accredited university or college in a program that 
is primarily psychological in nature to engage in 
the practice of psychology under the supervision 
of a licensed psychologist and to use certain titles 
in that practice.

501 $190 (O)
$296 (R)375

1969

Texas Department of Public Safety379,380

Alarm systems installer 
registration

Authorizes registrant to install, maintain, or 
repair an alarm system or detection device or an 
electronic access control device.

1702 2,955 $30 $88,650 1983

Alarm systems monitor 
registration

Authorizes registrant to monitor an alarm system 
or detection device.

1702 1,734 $30 $52,020 1987

Alarm systems salesperson 
registration

Authorizes registrant to sell an alarm system or 
detection device, including an electronic access 
control device, for a Class B or C licensed 
company.

1702 1,992 $30 $59,760 1987381

Branch offi ce manager 
registration

Authorizes registrant to operate a branch offi ce 
of a security services contractor or investigations 
company.

1702 122 $30 $3,660 1975

Commissioned security offi cer 
registration

Authorizes a person to whom a security offi cer 
commission has been issued by the department's 
Private Security Bureau to be employed as a 
security offi cer and carry a fi rearm while on duty.

1702 9,303 $50 $465,150 1975
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Company license382 1702

Class A• Investigations company.  Authorizes holder to (1) 
engage in the business of obtaining or furnishing, 
or accept employment to obtain or furnish, 
information related to crime or wrongs done or 
threatened against a state or the United States; the 
identity, habits, business, occupation, knowledge, 
effi ciency, loyalty, movement, location, affi liations, 
associations, transactions, acts, reputation, or 
character of a person; the location, disposition, or 
recovery of lost or stolen property; or the cause 
or responsibility for a fi re, libel, loss, accident, 
damage, or injury to a person or to property; (2) 
engage in the business of securing, or accept 
employment to secure, evidence for use before a 
court, board, offi cer, or investigating committee; 
(3) engage in the business of securing, or accept 
employment to secure, the electronic tracking 
of the location of an individual or motor vehicle 
other than for criminal justice purposes by or on 
behalf of a governmental entity; and (4) engage in 
the business of protecting, or accept employment 
to protect, an individual from bodily harm through 
the use of a personal protection offi cer.

1,179 $350 $412,650 1969383

Class B• Security services contractor.  Authorizes holder to 
sell, install, and monitor alarm systems, including 
camera and closed circuit television systems; 
provide guard services, including armed and 
unarmed guards and guard dogs; provide armored 
car or courier services; provide locksmith services; 
and provide private security consulting services.

2,729 $400 $1,073,660 1975
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Class C• Investigations and contract security services 
company.  Authorizes holder to provide services 
included within Classes A and B.

618 $540 $333,720 1975

Class D• Electronic access control device company.  
Authorizes holder to install or maintain an 
electronic access control device, defi ned as an 
electronic, electrical, or computer-based device, 
including a telephone entry system, that allows 
access to a controlled area of a business but 
that is not monitored by security personnel or 
services and does not send a signal to which law 
enforcement or emergency services respond.

38 $400 $15,200 2003

Class DD• Private security consulting company.384 Authorizes 
holder to consult, advise, train, or specify or 
recommend products, services, methods, or 
procedures in the security loss prevention industry 
on an independent basis and without being affi liated 
with a particular service or product.  Holder 
also must meet certain experience requirements 
established by the bureau.

94 $300 $28,200 1983

Class F• Level III training school.  Authorizes holder to 
provide training to an applicant for a security 
offi cer commission or a personal protection offi cer 
authorization.

189 $350 $66,150 2004

Class O• Alarm Level I training school.  Authorizes holder 
to provide training to an alarm systems installer or 
a security salesperson.

2 $350 $700 2004

Class P• Private business letter of authority.385 Entitles 
the security department of a private business to 
employ a commissioned security offi cer.

288 $400 $115,200 1975
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Class T• Telematics company.  Authorizes holder to provide 
services to owners, operators, and occupants of 
consumer vehicles or commercial fl eet vehicles 
through the remote access of in-vehicle data that 
may rely on global positioning system satellite 
data to fi x the exact location of the vehicle, are 
enabled through the two-way communication 
of voice or data, often with an interactive voice 
response technology interface, between a service 
subscriber's vehicle and a telematics company's 
response center, and are provided to enhance 
vehicle service, safety, and convenience.  Such 
services include emergency and roadside vehicle 
breakdown assistance, automatic collision 
notifi cation, real-time traffi c and navigation 
information, remote vehicle diagnostics, and 
stolen vehicle recovery.

1 $2,500 $2,500 2005

Class X• Governmental letter of authority.  Entitles the 
security department of a political subdivision to 
employ a commissioned security offi cer.

27 $400 $10,800 1987

Electronic access control device 
installer registration

Authorizes registrant to install, maintain, or 
repair  an electronic, electrical, or computer-based 
device, including a telephone entry system, that 
allows access to a controlled area of a business, 
but that is not monitored by security personnel or 
services and does not send a signal to which law 
enforcement or emergency services respond.

1702 391 $30 $11,730 2003

Employee of license holder 
registration

Provides that the registrant, who voluntarily 
registers with the bureau, is employed by a 
security services license holder in a capacity that 
is not subject to mandatory registration.

1702 453 $30 $13,590 1969386
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Guard dog trainer registration Authorizes an employee of a licensed guard dog 
company or investigations company to train a dog 
used to protect persons or property or to conduct 
investigations.

1702 46 $30 $1,380 1987

Instructor license Authorizes holder to teach basic training courses 
for commissioned security offi cers at a school 
approved by the bureau.  Such a course must 
include general security offi cer training issues, 
classroom instruction on handgun profi ciency, 
and range instruction on handgun profi ciency.

1702 588 $100 $58,800 1975

Locksmith registration Authorizes an employee of a licensed locksmith 
company to sell, install, service, or maintain 
mechanical security devices, including deadbolts and 
locks, and to advertise or offer services to the public or 
represent to the public that the person is a locksmith.

1702 614 $30 $18,420 2003

Manager registration Authorizes an offi cer or supervisor of a corporation 
or a general partner of a partnership who meets 
certain qualifi cation and experience  requirements 
to manage a security services contractor or 
investigations company.

1702 155 $30 $4,650 1969

Noncommissioned security 
offi cer registration

Authorizes a person to provide security services 
without a security offi cer commission issued by 
the bureau and therefore without authorization to 
carry a fi rearm while on duty.

1702 36,145 $30 $1,084,350 1983

Owner, partner, shareholder, or 
offi cer registration

Authorizes registrant to be an owner, partner, 
shareholder, or offi cer of a licensed private security 
provider, including  an alarm systems installer, alarm 
systems monitor, electronic access control device 
installer, locksmith, guard dog trainer, manager or 
branch offi ce manager, noncommissioned security 
offi cer, private investigator, private security 
consultant, or security salesperson.

1702 4,213 $50 $210,650 1987
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Personal protection offi cer 
authorization

Authorizes an individual who has been issued a 
security offi cer commission by the bureau to carry 
a concealed fi rearm to protect an individual from 
bodily harm.

1702 201 $50 $10,050 1995

Private investigator registration Authorizes an employee of a licensed investigations 
company (a holder of a Class A or C company 
license) to provide investigative services offered 
by the company.

1702 1,638 $30 $49,140 1969383

School license Authorizes holder to offer basic training courses 
for commissioned security offi cers, taught by 
instructors approved by the bureau.  Such a 
course must include general security offi cer 
training issues, classroom instruction on handgun 
profi ciency, and range instruction on handgun 
profi ciency.

1702 189 $350 $66,150 1975

Security salesperson registration Authorizes registrant to be employed by a security 
services contractor (a holder of a Class B or C 
company license) to sell services offered by the 
contractor.

1702 290 $30 $8,700 1987

Texas Racing Commission387

Adoption program personnel 
license

Authorizes a greyhound association employee to 
work with the adoption program at a track to place 
dogs with adoption groups or adoptive homes.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

5 $20 $100 1989

Announcer license Authorizes an individual hired by a racetrack 
association to announce races.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

12 $25 $300 1989

Apprentice jockey license Authorizes holder who meets the qualifi cations 
of a jockey to ride thoroughbred horses with an 
apprentice weight allowance.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.105

13 $55 $715 1989

120



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Assistant farrier, plater, or 
blacksmith license

Authorizes an individual hired by a licensed farrier 
to assist in holding a race animal when shoeing.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

4 $20 $80 1989

Assistant starter license Authorizes an individual hired by a horse racetrack 
association to perform duties required by the 
starter at the starting gate.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

72 $20 $1,420 1989

Assistant trainer license Authorizes an individual hired by a licensed trainer 
and who is at least 18 years of age and has met the 
qualifi cations required by the Board of Stewards/
Judges to perform duties required by the trainer.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

112 $75 $8,400 1989

Assistant trainer-owner license Authorizes an individual hired by a licensed 
trainer-owner and who is at least 18 years of 
age and has met the qualifi cations required by 
the Board of Stewards/Judges to perform duties 
required by the trainer-owner.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

45 $75 $3,300 1989

Association assistant management 
license

Authorizes holder to assist a department manager 
of a racetrack association; does not include the 
authority to hire or fi re employees.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

25 $35 $875 1989

Association management 
personnel license

Authorizes holder to manage a department of a 
racetrack association, including the authority to 
hire or fi re employees.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

106 $50 $5,300 1989

Association offi cer or director 
license

Authorizes holder to fi ll a key position in 
the management or ownership of a racetrack 
association, including association owner, board 
member, offi cer, and senior manager.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

24 $75 $1,800 1989

Association license (other) Authorizes holder to perform duties as an employee 
of a racetrack association in a position not covered 
under any other title.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

15 $50 $750 1989
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Association staff license Authorizes holder to provide various services as 
an employee of a racetrack association, including 
clerical, accounting, admissions, food service, 
housekeeping, front side maintenance, parking, 
and ushering.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

2,013 $25 $49,725 1989

Association veterinarian license Authorizes a licensed veterinarian hired by a 
greyhound racetrack association to provide 
veterinary services for greyhounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

8 $50 $400 1989

Authorized agent license Authorizes a person appointed by an owner or 
trainer of a horse to represent the owner or trainer.  
The person must be licensed as an owner or 
trainer and be appointed by a written instrument 
acknowledged and approved by the commission.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.108

18 $10 $180 1989

Chaplain license Authorizes a member of the clergy to be allowed 
on racetrack association grounds for religious 
meetings or counseling.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

6 $20 $120 1989

Chaplain assistant license Authorizes an individual to work for a chaplain 
on racetrack association grounds for religious 
meetings or counseling.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

1 $20 $20 1989

Exercise rider license Authorizes holder to exercise horses on a 
racetrack during training.  May be self-employed 
or employed by a trainer.  Must be at least 16 years 
of age.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

257 $20 $5,080 1989

Farrier, plater, or blacksmith 
license

Authorizes a self-employed individual to provide 
horse shoeing services to licensees on racetrack 
association grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

52 $55 $2,860 1989

Groom or hot walker license Authorizes an individual 16 years of age or older 
hired by a licensed trainer to provide care for 
horses.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

1,351 $20 $26,660 1989

122



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Jockey license Authorizes an individual who is 16 years of age or 
older and who has provided proof of a satisfactory 
physical examination within the previous 
12-month period to ride thoroughbreds in a race.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.105

174 $75388 $15,375 1989

Jockey agent license Allows an individual who is authorized by a 
licensed jockey to represent the jockey in securing 
mounts.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

23 $75 $1,725 1989

Kennel registration Authorizes an individual, partnership, corporation, 
or other entity to operate at a greyhound track 
under a kennel name.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

35 $50 $1,750 1989

Kennel helper license Authorizes an individual 16 years of age or older 
hired by a licensed kennel to work on racetrack 
association grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

100 $20 $2,000 1989

Kennel owner license Authorizes an individual approved by a greyhound 
racetrack association to operate a kennel on 
association grounds.  Must be sole or part owner of 
the kennel or a lessor or lessee.  The kennel owner 
must be under contract with the association.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.103

0 $75388 0 1989

Kennel owner/owner license Authorizes an individual approved by a greyhound 
racetrack association to operate a kennel on 
association grounds.  Must be sole or part owner of 
record or a lessor or lessee of a properly registered 
race animal that the individual intends to race in 
Texas and that is in the care of a licensed trainer.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1, 
311.102, 

and 
311.103

16 $75388 $1,425 1989

Kennel owner/owner-trainer 
license

Authorizes an individual 18 years of age or older 
approved by a greyhound racetrack association to 
operate a kennel on association grounds.  Must 
be sole or part owner of record or a lessor or 
lessee of a properly registered race animal that the 
individual intends to race in Texas and that is in 
training for that purpose.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1, 
311.103, 

and 
311.104

24 $75388 $1,800 1989
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Kennel owner/trainer license Authorizes an individual 18 years of age or older 
approved by a greyhound racetrack association to 
operate a kennel on association grounds.  Must be 
sole or part owner of record or a lessor or lessee of 
a properly registered race animal that the person 
intends to race in Texas and must be the animal's 
trainer.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1, 
311.103, 

and 
311.104

2 $75388 $150 1989

Leadout license Authorizes holder hired by a greyhound racetrack 
association to lead greyhounds in the post parade 
to the starting box.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.110

170 $20 $3,360 1989

Maintenance license Authorizes holder hired by a racetrack association 
to perform maintenance duties, including on the 
track and in barns.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

245 $20 $4,880 1989

Medical staff license Authorizes holder hired by a racetrack association 
to provide medical assistance to racetrack staff 
and patrons.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

16 $25 $400 1989

Miscellaneous license Authorizes holder hired by a racetrack association 
to perform duties for which no other license type 
applies (for example, a pari-mutuel wagering 
system technician).

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

3 $20 $60 1989

Multiple owner, stable, or farm 
registration

Authorizes the owner of a race animal that is an entity 
other than an individual, such as a partnership, stable, 
or farm, and that owns at least 5 percent of the race 
animal to be registered so the animal will be permitted 
to race.  Also authorizes a kennel not located on the 
grounds of a Texas racetrack to race its animals.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.101

960 $25389 $32,825 1989

Mutuel clerk license Authorizes an individual 16 years of age or older 
hired by a racetrack association to work at the 
betting windows.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.109

613 $25 $15,300 1989
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Mutuel license (other) Authorizes an individual hired by a racetrack 
association to work in the mutuel department in a 
capacity other than a mutuel clerk.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.109

30 $25 $725 1989

Owner license Authorizes an individual who is a sole or part 
owner of record or a lessor or lessee of a properly 
registered race animal to race the animal in 
Texas.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.101 

or 
§311.102

3,831 $75388 $408,705 1989

Owner-trainer license Authorizes an individual 18 years of age or older 
who has qualifi ed as a trainer to train animals for 
which the person is: (1) the owner or the lessee or 
lessor of record; or (2) has an ownership interest 
in any properly registered race animal intended 
for racing in Texas.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.101 

or 
§311.102, 

and 
§311.104

807 $75388 $85,575 1989

Pony person license Authorizes an individual to "pony" horses 
for training or on race day, which involves 
accompanying a race animal on another horse to 
exercise and calm the race animal.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

109 $20 $2,180 1989

Racing industry representative 
license

Authorizes holder to be the executive director 
of a breed organization or racing industry 
organization.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

6 $75 $450 1989

Racing industry staff license Authorizes holder to be employed by a breed 
organization or racing industry organization.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

10 $25 $250 1989

Racing offi cial license Authorizes an individual hired by a racetrack 
association to act in an offi cial capacity where the 
title or duties are not described under any other 
license category.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

124 $25 $3,050 1989

Security offi cer license Authorizes an individual hired by a racetrack 
association to provide security for the racetrack 
grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

274 $25 $6,775 1989
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Stable foreman license Authorizes an individual hired by a horse owner 
or trainer to supervise a stable.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

16 $25 $400 1989

Tattooer license Authorizes an individual contracted by the 
Thoroughbred Racing and Protective Bureau or 
the American Quarter Horse Association to tattoo 
racehorses.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

2 $75 $150 1989

Test technician license Authorizes an individual hired by a horse racetrack 
association to work in the testing area and to collect 
blood and urine samples, among other duties.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

52 $20 $1,000 1989

Tooth fl oater license Authorizes holder to work under the supervision of 
a licensed veterinarian providing equine dentistry 
on racetrack association grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

7 $75 $525 1989

Trainer license Authorizes holder who is 18 years of age or older 
to train one or more horses or greyhounds for the 
purpose of racing in Texas.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.104

226 $75388 $21,600 1989

Training facility employee license Authorizes an owner of a horse training facility or 
an individual hired by the training facility to work 
at that facility.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

8 $25 $200 1989

Training facility general manager 
or chief executive offi cer license

Authorizes holder to oversee a horse training 
facility and its employees.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

3 $25 $75 1989

Valet license Authorizes holder hired by a racetrack association 
to assist jockeys with their tack, silks, and other 
equipment in the jockey room.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

31 $20 $620 1989

Vendor or concessionaire license Authorizes an individual, company, or corporation 
providing goods or services to a racetrack 
association, and who has approval from the 
association, to conduct business on association 
grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

75 $75 $5,625 1989
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Vendor or concessionaire 
employee license

Authorizes an employee or owner of a vendor who 
works on racetrack association grounds to deliver 
goods or services on behalf of the vendor within 
the enclosure.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

418 $25 $10,350 1989

Veterinarian license Authorizes a self-employed veterinarian licensed 
by the Texas State Board of Veterinary Examiners 
to practice on racetrack association grounds.

16 T.A.C. 
§§311.1 

and 
311.106

24 $75388 $3,075 1989

Veterinarian assistant license Authorizes an individual hired by a licensed 
veterinarian to assist the veterinarian on racetrack 
association grounds.  Also authorizes holder to 
perform massage therapy on horses.

16 T.A.C. 
§311.1

34 $25 $850 1989

Railroad Commission of Texas390

Compressed natural gas (CNG) 
license

116 1983

Category 1• Authorizes a manufacturer of CNG cylinders to 
manufacture, assemble, repair, test, sell, install, or 
subframe CNG cylinders.

6 $1,000 (O)
$600 (R)

$3,600

Category 2• Authorizes a general installer or repairman to sell, 
install, service, or repair CNG systems, including 
cylinders.

19 $300 (O)
$150 (R)

$5,250

Category 3• Authorizes a retail or wholesale dealer to sell, 
store, transport for delivery, or dispense CNG for 
use other than by an ultimate consumer, and to 
sell, install, service, or repair CNG systems.

4 $750 (O)
$300 (R)

$1,800

Category 4• Authorizes a testing laboratory to test CNG 
cylinders.

1 $400 (O)
$200 (R)

$200
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Category 5• Authorizes holder to operate a CNG service station 
and fi ll CNG cylinders or a cylinder exchange 
dealership and fi ll or sell CNG cylinders, sell 
CNG in cylinders, and replace cylinder valves.

1 $100 (O)
$70 (R)

$70

Category 6• Authorizes an equipment dealer to sell CNG 
cylinders or systems.

0 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

0

Liquefi ed natural gas (LNG) 
license

116 1993

Category 15• Authorizes holder to manufacture, fabricate, 
assemble, repair, install, test, and sell LNG 
containers, including LNG motor or mobile fuel 
containers and systems, and to repair transport 
and transfer systems for use in Texas.

2 $1,000 (O)
$600 (R)

$1,200

Category 20• Authorizes a transport outfi tter to subframe, test, 
and sell LNG transport containers; to test LNG 
storage containers; to install, test, and sell LNG 
motor or mobile fuel containers and systems; and 
to install and repair transport systems and motor 
or mobile fuel systems for use in Texas.

2 $400 (O)
$200 (R)

$400

Category 25• Authorizes a carrier to transport LNG, including 
its loading and unloading.

2 $1,000 (O)
$300 (R)

$1,300

Category 30• Authorizes a general installer or repairman to 
sell, repair, service, or install stationary LNG 
containers and LNG systems.

3 $100 (O)
$70 (R)

$240

Category 35• Authorizes a retail or wholesale dealer to store, 
sell, transport, and distribute LNG and to engage 
in any other activity authorized for an LNG 
licensee except the manufacture, fabrication, 
assembly, repair, subframing, and testing of LNG 
containers.

4 $750 (O)
$300 (R)

$1,800

128



Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Category 40• Authorizes a general public dispensing station 
to store, sell, and dispense LNG into motor and 
mobile fuel containers.

0 $150 (O)
$70 (R)

0

Category 45• Authorizes holder to sell and install LNG motor 
or mobile fuel containers and to sell, repair, and 
install LNG motor or mobile fuel systems.

2 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

$100

Category 50• Authorizes a testing laboratory to test LNG 
containers, LNG motor fuel systems or mobile 
fuel systems, transfer systems, and transport 
systems for the purpose of determining the 
safety of the containers or systems for LNG 
service, including the necessary installation, 
disconnection, reconnection, testing, and repair of 
LNG motor fuel systems or mobile fuel systems, 
transfer systems, and transport systems involved 
in the testing of containers.

0 $200 (O)
$100 (R)

0

Liquefi ed petroleum gas (LPG) 
license

113 1959

Category A• Authorizes holder to manufacture, fabricate, 
assemble, repair, install, subframe, test, and sell 
LPG containers, including LPG motor or mobile 
fuel containers and systems, and to repair and 
install transport and transfer systems.

21 $1,000 (O)
$600 (R)

$15,200

Category B• Authorizes a transport outfi tter to subframe, 
test, and sell LPG transport containers; test LPG 
storage containers; install, test, and sell LPG 
motor or mobile fuel containers and systems; and 
install and repair transport systems and motor or 
mobile fuel systems.

12 $400 (O)
$200 (R)

$6,200

Category C• Authorizes a carrier to transport LPG, including 
its loading and unloading, and to install and repair 
transport systems.

17 $1,000 (O)
$300 (R)

$9,580
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Category D• Authorizes a general installer or repairman to sell, 
service, and install containers, excluding motor 
fuel containers, and to service, install, and repair  
piping, certain appliances as defi ned by rule 
(excluding recreational vehicle appliances and 
LPG systems), and motor fuel and recreational 
vehicle systems.

934 $100 (O)
$70 (R)

$68,445

Category E• Authorizes a retail or wholesale dealer to store, 
sell, transport, and distribute LPG and to engage in 
any other activity authorized for an LPG licensee 
except the manufacture, fabrication, assembly, 
repair, subframing, and testing of LPG containers, 
and the sale and installation of LPG motor or 
mobile fuel systems that service an engine with a 
rating of more than 25 horsepower.

489 $750 (O)
$300 (R)

$156,160

Category F• Authorizes holder to operate a cylinder-fi lling 
facility and to sell LPG in cylinders and replace  
cylinder valves.

28 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

$1,400

Category G• Authorizes holder to operate an LPG dispensing 
station that fi lls ASME containers391 designed for 
motor or mobile fuel.

1 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

$50

Category H• Authorizes a cylinder dealer to transport and sell 
LPG in cylinders.

5 $1,000 (O)
$300 (R)

$2,900

Category I• Authorizes holder to engage in any service station 
and cylinder activity set out in Categories F and 
G.

482 $150 (O)
$70 (R)

$39,840

Category J• Authorizes holder to operate a cylinder-fi lling 
facility; sell, transport, install, and connect LPG 
in cylinders; replace cylinder valves; and operate 
an LPG service station as set out in Category G.

46 $1,000 (O)
$300 (R)

$18,450
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Category K• Authorizes holder to sell and distribute LPG 
through mains or pipes, and to install and repair 
LPG systems.

0 $1,000 (O)
$300 (R)

0

Category L• Authorizes holder to sell and install LPG motor or 
mobile fuel containers and systems.

97 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

$5,955

Category M• Authorizes a recreational vehicle installer or 
repairman to sell, service, and install recreational 
vehicle containers, appliances, piping, and LPG 
systems, including recreational vehicle motor or 
mobile fuel systems and containers.

115 $100 (O)
$70 (R)

$8,305

Category N• Authorizes a manufactured housing installer 
or repairman to service and install containers 
that supply fuel to manufactured housing and to  
install, repair, and service appliances and piping 
systems for manufactured housing.

3 $100 (O)
$70 (R)

$210

Category O• Authorizes a testing laboratory to test LPG 
containers, LPG motor fuel systems or mobile fuel 
systems, transfer systems, and transport systems 
for the purpose of determining the safety of the 
containers or systems for LPG service, including 
the necessary installation, disconnection, 
reconnection, testing, and repair of LPG motor 
fuel systems or mobile fuel systems, transfer 
systems, and transport systems involved in the 
testing of containers.

21 $400 (O)
$100 (R)

$2,450

Category P• Authorizes holder to operate a portable cylinder 
exchange service where the sale of LPG is within 
a portable cylinder with an LPG capacity not to 
exceed 21 pounds, where the portable cylinders 
are not fi lled on site, and where no other LPG 
activity requiring a license is conducted.

1,529 $100 (O)
$50 (R)

$113,240
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Texas Real Estate Commission
Easement or right-of-way agent 
registration

Authorizes registrant to perform technical and 
clerical work related to state and federally funded 
easement or right-of-way negotiations, relocations, 
appraisals, utilities and adjustments, acquisitions, 
and compliance for highway construction and 
improvements, and for the leasing, disposal, or 
exchange of highway assets.

22 T.A.C. 
§535.400

1,505 $80 $120,400 1997

Proprietary real estate school 
registration

Authorizes registrant to offer a real estate or real 
estate inspection educational program or course 
of study.  Excludes an accredited college or 
university.

22 T.A.C. 
§535.64

56 $400 (O)
$200 (R)

$13,000 2000

Real estate broker license Authorizes holder to act as an intermediary 
between a seller and a buyer of real estate.  Among 
other activities, the holder may sell, exchange, 
purchase, lease, or negotiate the sale of real estate 
and may offer to appraise or auction real estate.  
Includes a person employed by or for an owner 
of real estate to sell any portion of real estate or a 
person who engages in the business of charging an 
advance fee or contracting to collect a fee under 
a contract that requires the person primarily to 
promote the sale of real estate.

1101 23,150 $75 (O)
$60 (R)

$1,455,525 1939392

Real estate inspector license Authorizes holder to perform real estate inspections 
and render a statement regarding the condition 
of the improvements to real property, including 
structural items, electrical items, mechanical 
systems, plumbing systems, and equipment.

1102 4,260 $35 to
$60 (O)393 
$48 to
$58 (R)393

$175,035 1991

Real estate instructor registration Authorizes registrant to teach mandatory 
continuing education courses relating to real estate 
or real estate inspection.

22 T.A.C. 
§535.64

848 $25 $21,200 2000
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Real estate salesperson license Authorizes holder, when associated with an 
authorized broker, to directly or indirectly perform, 
offer, attempt, or agree to perform for another 
person any act within that broker's purview.

1101 84,068 $50 (O)
$30 or
$60 (R)394

$4,001,167 1939

Residential service company 
registration

Authorizes registrant to issue a home warranty 
contract to maintain, repair, or replace all or any part 
of the appliances; structural components; or electrical, 
plumbing, heating, cooling, or air conditioning systems 
of residential property or to perform or arrange to 
perform services under such a contract.

1303 155 $3,500 $120,000 1979

Texas Residential Construction Commission395,396

Builder/remodeler registration Authorizes holder, for a price, fee, commission, 
or wage, to construct, supervise, or manage the 
construction of: (1) a new home; (2) a material 
improvement to an existing home, other than 
solely the replacement or repair of the roof of 
an existing home; or (3) an improvement to the 
interior of an existing home when the cost of the 
work exceeds $20,000.

416 26,618 $500 (O)
$300 (R)

$6,999,146 2003

Residential construction arbitrator 
certifi cation

Authorizes holder to hear the claims of the parties to 
a dispute and render a decision.  An arbitrator may be 
chosen by the parties, appointed by a court, or selected 
by a third party under an agreement of the parties to 
the dispute or in accordance with applicable rules.

417 5 $50 $50 2003

Third-party inspector registration Authorizes registrant to investigate whether a 
construction for which the homeowner has fi led a 
complaint against the builder complies with applicable 
warranty and building and performance standards.  
Separate registration qualifi cations are required for an 
inspector of workmanship and materials issues and an 
inspector of  structural issues.

427 80 $50 $4,750 2003
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Table 1.  Occupational Licenses in Texas

Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Third-party warranty company 
registration

Authorizes registrant to contract with a builder 
or remodeler to provide the homeowner with 
minimum warranties for workmanship and 
materials, mechanical delivery systems, structural 
soundness, and habitability.  The company is 
expected to assist the homeowner with the repair 
of defective items that are warranted.

430 9 $500 (O)
$300 (R)

$2,525 2003

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending397

Loan offi cer license Authorizes holder to be sponsored by a licensed 
mortgage broker for the purpose of performing 
the acts of a mortgage broker.

156 8,547 $175 $1,498,164 1999

Mortgage banker registration Authorizes registrant, who must be authorized or 
approved as a mortgager with direct underwriting 
authority by the U.S. Department of Housing 
and Urban Development or an approved seller or 
servicer of specifi ed federal mortgage associations, 
to make real estate loans directly to consumers.

157 470 $500 $240,801 2003

Mortgage broker license Authorizes holder to receive an application from 
a prospective borrower for the purpose of making 
a mortgage loan from that person's own funds or 
from the funds of another person.

156 2,901 $375 $1,092,701 1999

Mortgage broker branch offi ce 
license

Authorizes a branch offi ce of a licensed mortgage 
broker to make mortgage loans.

156 758 $50 $37,900 1999

State savings institution charter Authorizes holder to incorporate as a state savings 
bank.

7 T.A.C. 
§75.1

5 $10,000 $50,000 1993

Texas State Securities Board398,399

Investment adviser registration Authorizes registrant, directly or through 
representatives, to render investment advice 
within the state for compensation.

581 7,502 $275 (O)400

$270 (R)400
$2,032,090 2001
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Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Securities dealer registration Authorizes registrant, directly or through agents, 
to offer for sale, sell, or make a sale of securities 
in this state.

581 1957

Investment adviser branch offi ce 
registration

Authorizes registrant to operate as a branch 
location of a registered investment adviser.

581 13,547 $25 $338,675 1989

Securities dealer branch offi ce 
registration

Authorizes registrant to operate as a branch 
location of a registered dealer.

581 1989

Investment adviser representative 
registration

Authorizes registrant to act or render services in the 
state on behalf of a registered investment adviser.

581 223,654401 $235 (O)400

$250 (R)400
$55,101,455 2001

Securities dealer agent 
registration

Authorizes holder to sell, offer for sale, or make 
sale of securities in the state on behalf of a 
registered securities dealer.

581 1957402

Board of Tax Professional Examiners
Tax appraiser registration Authorizes registrant to propose, render judgment 

on, recommend, or certify an appraised value 
to an appraisal review board or to engage in 
the appraisal of real or personal property for ad 
valorem tax purposes for an appraisal district.  
Includes appraisers and appraisal supervisors in 
private fi rms that provide appraisal services to 
appraisal districts under contract.

1151 2,321 $105 or
$155 (O)403

$55 or
$105 (R)403

$248,110404 1977

Tax assessor-collector registration Authorizes registrant to have responsibility for 
assessment and collection functions of a taxing 
unit.  Includes an individual who performs such 
functions and is required to register by the chief 
administrator of the unit's tax offi ce.

1151 1,155 $105 or
$155 (O)403

$55 or
$105 (R)403

1977405

Tax collector registration Authorizes registrant to have responsibility for the 
collection functions of a taxing unit.

1151 405 $105 or
$155 (O)403

$55 or
$105 (R)403

1983
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Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees

State Revenue 
from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Texas Department of Transportation
Converter license Authorizes holder, before the retail sale of a motor 

vehicle, to assemble, install, or affi x a body, cab, or 
special equipment to a chassis or to substantially add 
to, subtract from, or modify a previously assembled 
or manufactured motor vehicle other than a motor 
home, ambulance, or fi refi ghting vehicle.

2301 156 $375 $58,875 1987

Manufacturer or distributor 
license

Authorizes holder to manufacture or assemble a 
new motor vehicle or to distribute or sell such a 
vehicle to a franchised dealer.

2301 383 $900 $340,650 1971

Motor carrier registration Authorizes registrant to operate a commercial 
motor vehicle or a tow truck406 on a road or 
highway of this state or to operate a vehicle, 
regardless of size, to transport household goods 
for compensation.

643407 88,391 $5 to  $100408 $5,559,429 1927409

Motor vehicle franchised dealer 
license

Authorizes holder to engage in the business of 
buying, selling, or exchanging new motor vehicles 
and servicing or repairing motor vehicles under 
a manufacturer's warranty at an established and 
permanent place of business under a franchise in 
effect with a manufacturer or distributor.

2301 2,954 $175 to 
$750+410

$901,344 1971

Motor vehicle lessor license Authorizes holder to transfer by lease to another 
person the right to possess and use a motor vehicle 
titled in the name of the lessor.

2301 133 $175 to 
$750411

$35,150 1995

Representative license Authorizes holder to be or act as an agent or 
employee for a manufacturer, distributor, or 
converter and to perform any duty in this state 
relating to promoting the distribution or sale of new 
motor vehicles or to contact dealers in this state on 
behalf of a manufacturer, distributor, or converter. 

2301 1,941 $100 $194,099 1971
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Type of License Description Code 
Chapter

Number of 
Active

Licenses
Fees
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from Fees

(FY 07)
Year First 
Regulated

Salvage vehicle dealer license Authorizes holder to deal in nonrepairable motor 
vehicles, salvage motor vehicles, or used parts or 
to display a motor vehicle as an agent or escrow 
agent of an insurance company.  Excludes a person 
who casually repairs, rebuilds, or reconstructs 
fewer than three salvage motor vehicles in the 
same calendar year. 

2302 7,543 $95 $716,621 1995

Service-only facility license Authorizes a facility operated by a franchised 
dealer that is separate from a dealership, and at 
which the dealer does not offer motor vehicles for 
sale, to perform warranty service work on vehicles 
the dealer is franchised and licensed to sell.

2301412 3 $100 $300 1995

Vehicle lease facilitator license Authorizes a person, other than a franchised 
dealer, vehicle lessor, or bona fi de employee of a 
franchised dealer or vehicle lessor to (1) present 
to another person as a "motor vehicle leasing 
company" or "motor vehicle leasing agent," or 
similar title, and solicit or procure another person 
to enter into an agreement to become the lessee of 
a motor vehicle that is not, and will not be, titled 
in the name of or registered to the facilitator; (2) 
otherwise solicit another person to enter into an 
agreement to become a lessee of such a vehicle; or 
(3) otherwise engage in the business of securing 
lessees or prospective lessees of such a vehicle.

2301 57 $375 $21,750 1995

Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
Veterinarian license Authorizes holder to provide veterinary medical 

services for pets and livestock.413
801 5,924 $155 (O)414

$341 (R)415
$1,123,200 1911
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Notes

 1 In addition to these annual fees, the licensee must pay a one-time $50 public accountant certifi cate fee (Section 901.251, Occupations Code).
 2 A fi rm with six or more CPA employees and non-CPA owners also must pay a fi rm organization fee of $15 to $25 (based on the size of the fi rm) per each such individual.
 3 The 1979 licensing requirements applied only to a corporation or partnership.  In 1991, a defi nition for “fi rm” was added to the Public Accountancy Act (Article 41a-1, Vernon’s 

Texas Civil Statutes, codifi ed in 1999 as Chapter 901, Occupations Code) that applied the requirements to a sole proprietorship, partnership, professional or other corporation, or 
other business engaged in the practice of public accountancy.

 4 Code chapter references are to the Health and Safety Code.
 5 Licenses previously were valid for one year; effective September 1, 2007, a license issued or renewed on or after that date is valid for two years (Section 5, Chapter 809, Acts of 

the 80th Legislature, Regular Session, 2007).
 6 A nursing facility includes a nursing home, a nursing facility, and a skilled nursing facility.
 7 Number of nursing facility applications processed in FY 07 that involved any type of fee.  Number of active licenses was not available as of the date this table was prepared.
 8 The initial license issued to a license holder who has not previously held a license is a probationary license and is effective for one year.  The fee for a probationary license is $125 

plus $5 for each unit of capacity or bed space.  Fee for an initial and renewal license is $300 plus $10 for each unit of capacity or bed space.  Except for a probationary license, a 
license is valid for a two-year period.  The department also assesses a fee for a change of ownership ($300 plus $10 per bed) and for a change of administrator ($20).

 9 Licenses previously were valid for one year; effective September 1, 2007, a license issued or renewed on or after that date is valid for two years (Sections 3 and 14, Chapter 809, 
Acts of the 80th Legislature, Regular Session, 2007).

 10 Human Resources Code
 11 The year licensing of personal care homes as a separate type of facility began.
 12 Fee is based on $100 for an initial and renewal license plus $5 per bed.
 13 Total number of active licenses reported by the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services in FY 07.
 14 Biennial renewal.
 15 Facilities assessed a license fee in FY 07.  Does not include state-run facilities that are not required to be licensed.  The department reports 877 total active licenses as of October 

2007.
 16 Fee is based on $150 for an initial and renewal license plus $5 per bed.
 17 Unless otherwise indicated, code chapter references are to the Agriculture Code.
 18 In addition to the base fees, all applicants for organic certifi cation must pay a one-time $25 application fee.
 19 Some types of distributors are exempt from certifi cation requirements, though such businesses may choose to become certifi ed.
 20 The $400 fee applies to a distributor who acts as a broker or trader of organic products or who packs, grades, or sizes such products; the $600 fee applies to a distributor who 

warehouses or stores organic products or to a textile converter who cuts and sews organic fi ber products.
 21 Producers whose gross sales receipts are less than $5,000 per year are exempt from the certifi cation requirement but must follow organic farming practices.  Products from exempt 

operations may not be sold as organic ingredients to be used in organic processed products.
 22 The fee amount is based on the size of the crop production area (in acres for large areas and in square feet for greenhouses, indoor production areas, nurseries, and small outdoor 

areas).  For large areas, the fee amount also is based on how much land is in crop production at any time during the year and how much is not in crop production for the entire year.  
There is no maximum fee.

 23 The fee amount is based on the land area used to produce livestock with an additional fee for each type of livestock production.  There is no maximum fee.
 24 The majority of retailers are exempt or excluded from National Organic Standards certifi cation requirements.  Retailers who process organic products in one store location and 

then sell those products in multiple store locations must be certifi ed.  Other retailers who sell organic products may choose to be certifi ed to ensure that their stores comply with 
all organic handling requirements.

 25 A local governmental, state, or federal employee, or the supervisor or manager of such an employee, who certifi es in writing that the activities for which the license is required 
will be performed solely for the entity for whom the employee works, may request a fee waiver.

138



 26 This license is valid for fi ve years.
 27 From 1977 to 1989, private pesticide applicators were not required to be licensed but could be certifi ed by the Texas Department of Agriculture on a voluntary basis.  Private 

applicators who had been certifi ed before January 10, 1989, under this voluntary program were grandfathered by the 1989 legislation and their certifi cates continue in effect.  
However, a private applicator must be recertifi ed to purchase or use restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides.

 28 This license is valid for two years.
 29 Occupations Code
 30 This certifi cate of authority is valid for two years.
 31 This registration is valid for fi ve years.
 32 This license is valid for two years.  A facility engaged in shrimp production also must pay an annual surcharge of $8 per surface acre, collected biennially.
 33 The fee amount varies depending on the average weekly volume of cases packed at a facility.
 34 The fee amount varies depending on the average weekly volume of cases processed at a processing plant.
 35 The fee amount varies depending on the registrant’s classifi cation.  Class 1 ($75) includes businesses that sell, lease, or distribute, but do not grow nursery products or fl oral items, 

such as garden centers, grocery stores, landscape contractors, fl oral shops, interior decorators, and street vendors.  Classes 2, 3, and 4 ($110, $145, and $180) include permanently 
located businesses that sell, lease, or distribute nursery products or fl oral items, with class designations determined by the size of the business’s growing area.  Class M ($180) 
includes businesses that sell, lease, or distribute nursery products or fl oral items at temporary markets such as fl ea markets, arts and crafts shows, plant or fl ower shows, or other 
temporary markets other than trade shows, garden shows, or other horticultural exhibits that are exempt from registration requirements.

 36 The 1909 statute required the annual inspection of nurseries and other growers and the certifi cation of certain fruit trees.  In 1959, those requirements were expanded to include 
the inspection of the fl orists and the certifi cation of other nursery stocks and products and of potted plants, blooming plants, cut fl owers and foliage, fl oral decorations, and live 
decorative material.

 37 The fee amount varies depending on the number of rose bushes graded in a calendar year.
 38 In addition, each applicant must pay $250 for the Produce Recovery Fund.
 39 Natural Resources Code
 40 This certifi cate is valid for fi ve years; its renewal is contingent upon annual proof of insurance.
 41 If the warehouse has more than one location, the $150 fee applies to the headquarters facility, and a $100 fee is required for each additional facility location.  In addition, each 

warehouse must pay an annual inspection fee of $12 per 10,000 bushels or fraction thereof of the licensed storage capacity, or $100, whichever is greater.
 42 Code chapter references are to the Alcoholic Beverage Code.
 43 Unless noted otherwise, all fees include a surcharge that is used for the commission’s operating costs.
 44 Fee varies depending on the number of establishments.
 45 The 1935 legislation that established many of the alcoholic beverage permits and licenses established separate permits for distillers and rectifi ers; the two permits were combined 

into a single permit by the 68th Texas Legislature (Chapter 278, Acts of the 68th Legislature, Regular Session, 1983).
 46 There is no surcharge for this permit.
 47 Fraternal and veterans clubs were exempted from the private club permitting requirement established in 1961, but the provision for a certifi cate of exemption from such requirement 

was added in 1971.
 48 Fee varies by number of members (0 to 250 members is $1,133, etc.) up to 1,000 members.  For a private club with more  than 1,000 members, the fee is $3 per member.  The 

surcharge for all permit holders is $383.
 49 The higher fee is for the fi rst renewal, and the lower fee is for the second renewal.
 50 This permit has no surcharge.
 51 The 1935 legislation establishing the package store permit included a separate fee structure for permits to sell wine only.  The specifi c and separate wine-only package store permit 

was established in 1949.
 52 With the exception of the appraiser trainee authorization, which is renewed annually, all appraiser licenses and certifi cates are renewed biennially.
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 53 The board cannot provide revenue amounts by each category of appraiser.
 54 Fee varies depending on whether the applicant is a resident or nonresident and whether certifi cation is being obtained by examination or reciprocal agreement.
 55 The registration fee for landscape architects, interior designers, and architects seeking reciprocal registration and the renewal fee for all three professions includes a mandatory 

$200 professional fee.  The higher of the two amounts indicated is for nonresident renewals.
 56 The renewal fee is $25 for a resident emeritus architect, interior designer, or landscape architect ($183 for a nonresident), defi ned as a person who has been in that  profession for 

at least 20 years and is at least 65 years of age.
 57 Government Code
 58 Unless noted otherwise, code chapter references are to the Finance Code.
 59 This category includes two types of licenses: a money transmission license and a currency exchange license.
 60 If the application is for a temporary money transmission license, the fee includes an additional $1,500.
 61 The renewal of a currency exchange license is $500, and that of a money transmission license is $1,500.
 62 Chapter 151, Finance Code, was added by the 79th Texas Legislature (2005) to consolidate the regulation of money services businesses.  Previously, businesses that issue and 

sell checks, money orders, and other payment instruments used to transfer money from one person to another were regulated by the Texas Sale of Checks Act, which was enacted 
in 1963 as Article 489d, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, and subsequently codifi ed as Chapter 152, Finance Code.  Businesses that receive currency or an instrument payable in 
currency for transmission, exchange, or transportation were regulated by Chapter 153, Finance Code, which originally was enacted in 1991 as Article 350, Vernon’s Texas Civil 
Statutes.

 63 Health and Safety Code
 64 This annual fee is based on the cemetery corporation’s fund balance as refl ected on the most recent annual statement of funds report fi led with the department; the holder also must 

pay an annual assessment of between $200 and $7,600, based on the fund balance, for the department’s review and evaluation of the corporation’s books and records.
 65 The annual permit renewal fee is based on the number of outstanding contracts as refl ected on the most recent annual report the permit holder fi led with the department; the holder 

also must pay an annual examination fee of between $100 and $7,600, based on the number of outstanding contracts, for the department’s review and evaluation of the permit 
holder’s books and records.

 66 Each applicant must pay a $500 regulation fee plus a $500 registration fee per location.  This registration must be renewed every three years.
 67 Includes $200 professional licensing fee required by statute.
 68 Includes revenue generated from $200 professional licensing fee and revenue from licensing fees from chiropractic facilities and chiropractic radiological technicians.
 69 The registration requirement was implemented by board rule in 1996 under statutory authority granted to the board by Chapter 781, Acts of the 67th Legislature, Regular Session, 

1981, which allowed the board to require evidence of proper training in the use of analytical and diagnostic X-rays, and Chapter 559, Acts of the 68th Legislature, Regular Session, 
1983, which required the board to implement federal laws regarding the radiologic training of chiropractic employees.

 70 Code chapter  references are to the Finance Code.
 71 Chapter 345 applies to retailers generally; Chapter 347 applies to manufactured home dealers.
 72 The $10 fee applies to creditors governed by Chapter 345; the $15 fee applies to creditors governed by Chapter 347.  Both types of fees are per location.
 73 This fee is the initial investigation fee; in addition, the applicant must pay a $45 fi ngerprint processing fee per individual fi ngerprinted and a $25 registered offi ce fee per registered 

offi ce, which are locations in addition to the business’s main location that originate, service, or collect on retail installment motor vehicle sales contracts.  The registered offi ce fee 
is also charged for each additional assumed name used at a single location.

 74 This fee is the initial investigation fee ($250 if the application is for a new license or an existing license or if the application involves substantially identical principals and owners 
of a licensed pawnshop at a separate location).  In addition, an applicant must pay a $40 fi ngerprint processing fee and an operational assessment fee of $430 for the fi rst year’s 
assessment.

 75 The annual renewal fee is a fi xed fee of $430 for an active license and $125 for an inactive license.  In addition, the holder of an active license must pay a volume fee based on 
lending activity with a minimum of $430 and a maximum of $1,000.

 76 This fee is the initial investigation fee; in addition, the applicant must pay a $40 fi ngerprint processing fee.
 77 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
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 78 The 80th Texas Legislature designated two bill chapters as Chapter 351: House Bill 2138 requires the licensing of property tax lien lenders and House Bill 1344 requires the 
registration of  refund anticipation loan facilitators.  The chapter relating to property tax lien lenders will be redesignated a different chapter number in the next legislative 
session.

 79 This fee is the initial investigation fee.  An applicant for a new license also must pay an assessment fee of $430 per active license and $125 per inactive license, which is refundable 
if the application is not approved.  In addition, a licensee must pay an annual assessment fee of $430 for an active license or $125 for an inactive license.  The holder of an active 
license also must pay a volume fee based on the type of lending activity conducted and the volume of business in the previous calendar year; the maximum annual assessment fee 
for each licensed entity cannot average more than $1,000 per active licensed location.

 80 This fee is per location.
 81 Code chapter references are to the Government Code.
 82 Certifi cates are renewed biennially.
 83 Includes dentists licensed under Chapter 267, Occupations Code, as dentist faculty (94 licensees) and dental hygienist faculty (7 licensees).  The fee for initial registration as either 

dentist faculty or dental hygienist faculty  is $75.  The fee for annual license renewal as a dentist faculty is $61 and for annual license renewal as a dental hygienist faculty is $57.  
Faculty positions were fi rst regulated in 2003.

 84 Initial and renewal fees include $200 professional licensing fee required by statute.
 85 Includes initial application/examination and renewal fees.
 86 The initial registration requirement for dental assistants involved the certifi cation of their qualifi cation to perform radiographic procedures (positioning and exposing X-rays).
 87 Authority to operate a mobile dental facility or portable dental unit is derived by general rulemaking authority granted the board under Chapter 254, Occupations Code.  See 22 

T.A.C. §§108.40-108.43.
 88 Revenue includes early renewals for two facilities or units.
 89 Code chapter references are to the Education Code.
 90 Unless otherwise indicated, all certifi cates and registrations must be renewed every fi ve years.
 91 19 T.A.C. §230.316, adopted in 1996, provided criteria for the certifi cation of educational diagnosticians.  Senate Bill 158, enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007), requires 

such certifi cation for an educational diagnostician employed on or after September 1, 2008.
 92 Temporary certifi cates originally were temporary only in the sense that they were distinguished from permanent or lifetime certifi cates.  The 1905 statute provided for a temporary 

city certifi cate valid for a period not to exceed four years and a temporary county certifi cate valid for one, three, or four years as well as permanent city and county certifi cates.  A 
diploma from a Texas State Normal School or conferred by The University of Texas regents was regarded as a permanent state certifi cate, while certifi cates other than a diploma 
issued by those institutions were equivalent to two-, three-, four-, or six-year state certifi cates.  While all certifi cates issued after September 1, 1999, are subject to renewal, 
temporary certifi cates now are issued only to educators from out of state who have not yet satisfi ed certain examination requirements; such certifi cates are valid for two years of 
employment, after which the holder must apply for a standard certifi cate.

 93 This certifi cate replaces the certifi cates for exchange teachers (19 T.A.C. §230.510) and teachers for bilingual education programs (19 T.A.C. §230.511), the requirements for 
which were adopted in 1996 and which authorized the granting of an emergency permit valid for one school year to a teacher participating in an offi cially recognized foreign 
exchange teacher program.

 94 This certifi cate must be renewed every three years.
 95 This amount includes a $200 professional fee, from which the applicant may be exempt if the individual: (1) is at least 65 years of age; (2) is disabled and is limited in the ability to 

engage in the practice of engineering because of that disability, with certain exceptions; (3) is exempt from licensing requirements as an employee of a private corporation or other 
business entity engaged in certain activities under the corporation or entity’s direct supervision and control or of certain utilities or affi liates but does not claim that exemption; or 
(4) is not practicing engineering and has claimed inactive status with the board.

 96 Effective January 1, 2008, this fee is $150.
 97 Unless noted otherwise, code chapter references are to the Health and Safety Code.
 98 Unless noted otherwise, licenses and registrations are valid for two years.  Effective January 1, 2008, all licenses and registrations are valid for three years.  In addition, fees for 

two-year licenses are increased to refl ect an additional year of validity, and all fees are increased by $2 for each year the license is valid (for example, a fee of $70 for a two-year 
license is increased to $111 and fee of $105 for a three-year license is increased to $111).
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 99 In addition to the provisions of the cited code chapters and administrative rules, the provisions of Chapter 37, Water Code, and 30 T.A.C. §30.1 et seq., set out licensing and 
registration requirements for certain businesses, occupations, and professions relating to the installation, maintenance, and repair of public and private water systems and facilities.  
An exemption is provided for an on-site sewage facility site evaluator who is a licensed engineer.

 100 A backfl ow prevention assembly prevents water from backing up into and contaminating a public water supply.
 101 Occupations Code
 102 Water Code
 103 An OSSF apprentice is defi ned as a licensing category in 30 T.A.C. §285.2 but not in statute.  Section 366.071, Health and Safety Code, requires that a license or registration be 

issued by the commission under Chapter 37, Water Code, to “a person who constructs, installs, alters, extends, services, maintains, or repairs” an OSSF, which would apply to an 
apprentice performing such work under a licensed OSSF installer.

 104 Class A licensees are authorized to work on waterworks facilities.  Class B and C licensees are authorized to work on surface water, groundwater, or water distribution facilities.  
Class D licensees are authorized to work on any water facility.  Unlike the other license categories, an applicant for a Class D license is not required to have prior experience or 
education other than a high school diploma.

 105 The $70 fee applies to a Class D license; before January 1, 2008, this license was valid for two years.  As of January 1, 2008, the fee is $111 and the license is valid for three 
years.

 106 The fee amount varies depending on the number of facilities the company serves.
 107 Effective January 1, 2008, the fee range is increased to $122 to $636 and the registration is valid for three years.
 108 Classes differ in the level of education, experience, and hours of training credit required.
 109 The $70 fee applies to Class D and I licenses; before January 1, 2008, these licenses were valid for two years.  As of January 1, 2008, the fee is $111 and the licenses are valid for 

three years.
 110 Redesignated from Subchapter G, Chapter 341, Health and Safety Code (House Bill 3017, 80th Texas Legislature (2007)).
 111 Unless otherwise indicated, code references are to the Human Resources Code.
 112 With the exception of child-care administrator and child-placing agency administrator licenses, all of these authorizations are nonexpiring, which means that a licensee is not 

required to submit an application for renewal each year. However, the licensee must pay an annual fee, and if payment is not received by the license’s anniversary date, the 
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)  may suspend the license. If payment is not received within three months after the anniversary date, DFPS may revoke the 
license. 

 113 Each initial applicant also must pay a $25 examination fee.
 114 Each initial applicant must pay a nonrefundable application or request processing fee of $35; thereafter, an annual fee of $35 must be paid on the anniversary date of the initial 

registration.    
 115 Each applicant also must pay a capacity fee of $1 for each child the facility is permitted to serve. This fee is due on the date on which DFPS issues the facility’s initial license and 

on the anniversary of that date. 
 116 When paying the annual fee, each applicant also must pay a $2 background check fee for each person employed by the facility.
 117 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 118 An initial application or request for a listing requires payment of a $20 processing fee; once approved, the caregiver must pay a $20 annual list fee due on the anniversary date of 

the initial listing.
 119 Health and Safety Code
 120 Each applicant also must pay a capacity fee of $2 per person for the number of persons for which the maternity home is or will be licensed. 
 121 Code chapter references are to the Government Code.
 122 Volunteer fi refi ghters also must be certifi ed.
 123 Individual licenses are valid for a two-year period.
 124 Includes provisional licensees and embalmers.  Section 651.301, Occupations Code, requires a person to obtain a provisional license before engaging in learning the practice of 

funeral directing or embalming under the direction and direct supervision of a licensed funeral director or embalmer.
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 125 Includes provisional licenses.
 126 Establishment licenses are valid for one year.
 127 Includes all establishments.
 128 Section 651.352, Occupations Code, specifi cally prohibits a commercial embalmers establishment from selling “services or merchandise directly or at retail to the public . . . .”
 129 Section 651.353, Occupations Code, exempts from application of the section: “(1) a family, fraternal, or community cemetery that is not larger than 10 acres; (2) an unincorporated 

association of plot owners not operated for profi t; (3) a church, a religious society or denomination, or an entity solely administering the temporalities of a church or religious 
society or denomination; or (4) a public cemetery owned by this state, a county, or a municipality.”

 130 The licensing requirements for cemeteries and crematories superseded a previous registration requirement that was included in the 1999 codifi cation of various professional 
licensing and regulation statutes.

 131 Section 1002.351, Occupations Code, added in 2003, authorizes the board to adopt rules that require the registration of a fi rm or corporation wishing to engage in the public 
practice of geoscience.  The board adopted such a rule in March 2006 with an effective date of September 1, 2006.

 132 Except for code chapter references in the regulation of Health-related Professions and of Practices and Trades Related to Water, Health, and Safety, all other code chapter references 
to this agency’s regulatory authority are to the Health and Safety Code.

 133 Code chapter references are to the Occupations Code.
 134 License is valid for a term of two years.
 135 License renewals are valid for a term of two years.
 136 Dual registration authorizes holder to dispense both spectacles and contact lenses.
 137 An optician’s certifi cate of registration is valid for a period of one year or two years.  The $50 fee applies to an initial registration or renewal period of one year; the $100 fee applies 

to an initial registration or renewal period of two years.  The fee for an initial or renewal dual registration for one year is $80 and for two years is $160.
 138 Dual license fees as a speech-language pathologist and audiologist are determined separately.
 139 The lower fee is for a one-year license, and the higher fee is for a two-year license.
 140 Fee for a provisional license.
 141 Fee for a temporary certifi cate of registration to entitle an applicant approved for examination to practice speech-language pathology or audiology under supervision of an 

approved speech-language pathologist or audiologist for a period of time ending eight weeks after the next scheduled examination.
 142 Fee for a license issued or renewed for a term of one year, a temporary training permit, and an apprentice permit.
 143 Fee for a license issued or renewed for a term of two years.
 144 An athlete is a person who participates in an organized sport or sport-related exercise or activity, including interscholastic, intercollegiate, intramural, semiprofessional, and 

professional sports activities.
 145 Licenses can be renewed for a term of one year or two years.
 146 Licenses can be renewed for a term of one year or two years.
 147 Licenses are valid for a term of two years.
 148 Licenses are valid for a term of two years.
 149 Licenses are valid for a term of two years.
 150 An additional fee of $20 biennially applies for specialty recognition (Advanced Practitioner or Independent Practice).
 151 Section 601.102, Occupations Code, authorizes the Texas Board of Health to issue a general certifi cate to perform radiologic procedures or a limited certifi cate that authorizes a 

person to perform radiologic procedures only on specifi c parts of the human body.
 152 Reported schedule of fees includes general to limited certifi cate conversion fee, temporary certifi cate fees, and site visit fees.
 153 License renewal is valid for a term of two years.
 154 A fee of $50 applies for each additional specialty on initial application.  A fee of $75 applies for additional specialties on subsequent applications.
 155 Fee applies to fi rst specialty.  A fee of $50 applies for each additional specialty attached to license.  License renewals are valid for a term of two years.

143



 156 Licenses can be renewed for a term of one year or two years.
 157 License renewal is valid for a term of two years.
 158 License is valid for a term of two years.
 159 Provisional license renewal is valid for a term of one year.
 160 There is no renewal for a temporary license.
 161 Fee is $39 per bed based on the designed bed capacity of the facility.
 162 Chapter 42, Acts of the 37th Legislature, Regular Session, 1921, provided for the establishment and maintenance of hospitals in “counties and cities of over ten thousand 

inhabitants.” Chapter 76, Acts of the 37th Legislature, Regular Session, 1921, required an annual license for “maternity homes” or other places for “the reception, care and 
treatment of pregnant women.” The Texas Hospital Licensing Law (Chapter 223, Acts of the 56th Legislature, Regular Session, 1959) fi rst prohibited a person or governmental 
unit to “establish, conduct, or maintain a hospital without a license.”

 163 License is valid for a term of two years.
 164 Fee also applies to a change of ownership or relocation.
 165 Fee also applies to a change of ownership.
 166 Chapter 76, Acts of the 37th Legislature, Regular Session, 1921, required annual licenses for the conduct or management of “an institution or home for the boarding or sheltering 

of infant children, . . . or any lying-in hospital, hospital ward, maternity home or other place for the reception, care and treatment of pregnant women . . . .” Birthing centers as they 
are currently considered were fi rst regulated in 1985.

 167 Fee also applies to a change of ownership.
 168 Fee is $35 per bed per 12 months based on the designed bed capacity of the facility.  Total fee may not be less than $300 or more than $2,500.
 169 Fee varies depending on the number of dialysis stations at the facility.  All licenses are valid for a term of two years.
 170 Fee is based on $1,200 for initial and renewal license, $125 for each outpatient or residential site located at a separate physical address, and $35 per bed.
 171 Chapter 553, Acts of the 65th Legislature, Regular Session, 1977, required a license to operate an “alcohol treatment facility that treats alcoholics or alcohol and drug dependent 

persons.”
 172 Fee is based on $1,000 for initial permit plus a $60 patient fee for each patient the program is approved to treat.  Patient fee certifi cates are valid for a term of two years.  An 

additional $150 fee applies for each medication unit, a separate facility permitted for administration and dispensation of a narcotic drug and authorized for collection of samples 
for drug testing.

 173 Fee is $100 per bed per 12 months based upon the designed bed capacity.  Total fee may not be less than $3,000 per 12 months.
 174 License renewal fee is $50 for a day youth camp operating fewer than 10 days per year and $150 for a day youth camp operating 10 days or more per year.
 175 License renewal fee is $100 for a day youth camp operating fewer than 10 days per year and $450 for a day youth camp operating 10 days or more per year.
 176 Fee depends on gross annual sales.  Licenses are available for a term of one or two years.
 177 A separate license is required for each tanning facility.
 178 Licenses are available for a term of one or two years.
 179 Fees are dependent on temporary or permanent location of studio and whether business is operated as a tattoo only studio or a tattoo and body piercing studio.
 180 Fees are dependent on temporary or permanent location of studio and whether business is operated as a body piercing only studio or a tattoo and body piercing studio.
 181 Bedding permits are valid for a term of two years.
 182 Fee varies depending on the number of articles the manufacturer is requesting authorization to ship during the term of the permit.  The fee for authorization to ship more than 

100,000 articles is $1,320 plus $.03 for each article.
 183 Fee varies according to the same schedule as the fee for a mattress manufacturer permit.
 184 Fee varies depending on the number of articles the manufacturer is requesting authorization to ship during the term of the permit.  The fee for authorization to ship more than 

200,000 articles is $1,320 plus $.01 for each article.
 185 Fee varies according to the same schedule as the fee for a bedding product manufacturer permit.
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 186 Fee varies according to the same schedule as the fee for a bedding product manufacturer permit.
 187 License and registration renewals are for terms of 7-10 years, except for industrial radiographer certifi cations, which are renewed for a term of fi ve years.
 188 Includes 16,500 registrations, 1,600 specifi c licenses, 2,000 general license acknowledgements, and 1,500 industrial radiographer certifi cations.
 189 Licenses are available for a term of two years.
 190 Radioactive materials and X-ray fi rst regulated.
 191 There is currently one license issued for by-product material mineral recovery.
 192 Includes low dose-rate and high dose-rate remote afterloaders and intravenous brachytherapy.
 193 Mammography systems are certifi ed with the Department of State Health Services.  While the operation of the system is not specifi cally licensed, a mammography system cannot 

be operated without being certifi ed.  Certain mammography systems are certifi ed for use at an accredited, stand-alone mammography facility while others are certifi ed for use at 
otherwise licensed health care facilities.

 194 Fees for a food manufacturer and food wholesaler are based on gross annual manufactured sales.  Fees are assessed for an initial license, amendments to a license due to a change 
in ownership, and amendments to a license during a licensure period due to minor changes in business operations.  Licenses are valid for a two-year period.

 195 A food wholesaler that distributes food only to be stored in a warehouse is not required to obtain a license, but is required to register with the department and pay a registration fee 
of $100.

 196 Fees for a food warehouse operator are based on the maximum amount of square feet dedicated to food storage during the licensing period.  Licenses are valid for a two-year 
period.

 197 All manufacturer and distributor licenses are valid for a two-year period.
 198 All manufacturer and distributor license fees are based on gross annual device or drug sales or combined gross annual sales, as applicable.
 199 Fee is $600 for a one-year license and $1,200 for a two-year license.
 200 Licenses are valid for a term of two years.  The Department of State Health Services also assesses an inspection fee of $.045 for each 100 pounds of milk or milk products 

processed and distributed in the state by a processing or bottling plant in the state, or processed by an out-of-state processing or bottling plant and sold in the state, and a fee for 
the actual cost of analyzing samples for an out-of-state processing or bottling plant.

 201 Section 436.103, Health and Safety Code, requires the fi rst certifi ed shellfi sh dealer who harvests, purchases, handles, stores, packs, labels, unloads at dockside, or holds oysters 
taken from the water of this state to pay a fee of $1 for each barrel of oysters harvested, purchased, handled, or processed by the certifi ed shellfi sh dealer.  For purposes of assessing 
the fee, three 100-pound containers of oysters are the equivalent of one barrel of oysters.

 202 Permits are valid for a term of two years.
 203 Permits are also issued for child-care centers providing food service.  The fee is $250.
 204 Fee is based on gross annual volume of food sales.
 205 The Department of State Health Services sells food manager certifi cation examinations to examination administration sites for a fee of $10 per examination.  The permit fee to 

administer the examination is based on the number of sites at which the certifi ed food manager licensee administers the examination: one site, the fee is $400; two to 10 sites, the 
fee is $1,000; or over 10 sites, the fee is $2,000.  Examination administration sites are not required to provide a training program.  The fee to take the examination to become a 
certifi ed food manager is $10.  The data includes all three fees.

 206 Certifi cate is valid for a term of two years.  Fee is required for each food manager certifi cation program or food manager recertifi cation program.
 207 The department also assesses a fee of $.015 per 100 pounds of manufactured or processed frozen dessert manufactured by manufacturers located in the state and by manufacturers 

in another state and imported for sale in the state or $5 per month, whichever is greater.  The department is also required to assess a fee for the actual cost of analyzing samples of 
frozen desserts for a manufacturer not located in the state.  The data includes these fees.

 208 Certifi cation is valid for a term of two years.
 209 Permit is valid for a term of two years.
 210 Chapter 753, Acts of the 70th Legislature, Regular Session, 1987, required a permit for the retail sale of glue and paint.  The requirement was amended in 1989 to apply to the sale 

of abusable glue and aerosol paint and amended again in 2001 to apply to any abusable volatile chemical.
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 211 Section 501.024(g), Health and Safety Code, excepts application of the registration requirement for a retailer who distributes a hazardous substance to the public unless the retailer 
distributes a hazardous substance made to its specifi cations.

 212 Registration is valid for a term of two years.
 213 Additional certifi cations are available for emergency medical services (EMS) personnel to become an EMS information operator ($60), an EMS information operator instructor 

($60), an EMS instructor ($30), and an EMS training course coordinator ($60).  It is unclear if these additional fees are included in the total revenue data provided by the 
Department of State Health Services.

 214 Fee is $500 per provider plus $180 for each emergency medical services vehicle to be operated under the license.
 215 Section 781.151, Health and Safety Code, requires certain individuals employed as an alarm systems company, alarm systems installer, manager or branch offi ce manager, or 

security salesperson to register with the Department of State Health Services.  In addition, the section requires an owner, offi cer, partner, or shareholder who is responsible for 
managing the business of a personal emergency response system provider license holder to register with the department.

 216 The training requirement was enacted by Chapter 677, Acts of the 67th Legislature, Regular Session, 1981, but certifi cation of trained personnel was added by Chapter 1331, Acts 
of the 80th Legislature, Regular Session, 2007, and became effective September 1, 2007.

 217 Code chapter references are to the Occupations Code.
 218 Registration is available for a term of one year ($50 fee) or two years ($100 fee).  Initial registration fee includes application fee.
 219 Chapter 1953, Occupations Code, provides for the issuance of certifi cates of registration for a sanitarian, professional sanitarian, and sanitarian-in-training.
 220 Fee for an initial registration as sanitarian-in-training is $125.  Initial registration fee includes application fee.
 221 Fee for a renewal registration as sanitarian-in-training is $150; the sanitarian-in-training registration is limited to a one-time renewal.  Registration renewals are valid for a term of 

two years.
 222 All asbestos abatement registrations and licenses are effective for two years.
 223 Any housing constructed before 1978, except housing for the elderly or persons with disabilities (unless any child who is six years of age or younger resides or is expected to reside 

in such housing) or any zero-bedroom dwelling.  The term includes a residential dwelling, multi-family dwelling, and unit.
 224 All lead abatement certifi cations are effective for two years.
 225 Up until and including fi scal year 2007, license fees were for one-year licenses, with the exception of the salesperson’s license, which was valid for two years.  According to rule 

changes effective December 30, 2007, all license fees will be paid biennially, with the current fee amounts for one-year licenses doubled to refl ect this change.  In addition, a 
category was added for a retailer’s branch location sales license.

 226 Unless noted otherwise, code chapter references are to the Insurance Code.
 227 House Bill 2636, a nonsubstantive revision of the revised Insurance Code enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007), transfers Article 5.43-2, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, to 

Chapter 6002, Insurance Code, effective April 1, 2009.
 228 All initial licenses and registrations for fi re detection and alarm device installation are valid for one year; renewal licenses and registrations are valid for two years, except the 

residential fi re alarm technician license, which is valid for one year.
 229 This category was added by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no revenue for FY 07.
 230 The provision creating this new license category was not included in the nonsubstantive revision of the revised Insurance Code (House Bill 2636) that transferred Article 5.43-2, 

Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, to Chapter 6002, Insurance Code.
 231 House Bill 2636, a nonsubstantive revision of the revised Insurance Code enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007), transfers Article 5.43-1, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, to 

Chapter 6001, Insurance Code, effective April 1, 2009.
 232 All initial licenses and registrations for fi re extinguisher service and installation are valid for one year; renewals are valid for two years, except the fi re extinguisher apprentice 

permit, which may not be renewed.
 233 This is a one-year permit; when it expires, the holder can apply for subsequent one-year permits.  The permit is not renewable in that the department does not send the holder a 

renewal application; there are no late fees imposed for a subsequent permit applied for after the expiration date; and the permit number of an expired permit becomes void.
 234 House Bill 2636, a nonsubstantive revision of the revised Insurance Code enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007), transfers Article 5.43-3, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, to 

Chapter 6003, Insurance Code, effective April 1, 2009.
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 235 All initial licenses and registrations for fi re protection sprinkler system service and installation are valid for one year; renewals are valid for two years.
 236 Each applicant also must pay a $50 initial application fee.
 237 Occupations Code
 238 Section 2154.001, Occupations Code, defi nes “Fireworks 1.3G” as a large fi reworks device primarily designed to produce visible or audible effects by combustion, defl agration, or 

detonation.  “Fireworks 1.4G” is defi ned as a small fi reworks device primarily designed to produce visible or audible effects by combustion, defl agration, or detonation, and that 
complies with the construction, labeling, and chemical composition requirements of the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission.  These fi reworks are classifi ed as a “1.3G 
explosive” and “1.4G explosive,” respectively, by the department in 49 C.F.R. Part 173 (1996).

 239 This permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance and is not renewable.
 240 Each applicant also must pay, on issuance or renewal of the license, a $250 fee to fund the department’s fi reworks safety and education program.
 241 Section 2154.253, Occupations Code, defi nes “fl ame effects” as a stationary or hand-held device of solid, liquid, or gas, designed specifi cally to produce an open fl ame when 

ignited to display a thermal, physical, visual, or audible phenomenon as defi ned by NFPA standards.  Such devices include paraffi n wax candles, liquefi ed petroleum gas (LPG) 
candles, torches, and LPG burners.

 242 Each initial applicant also must pay a $20 examination fee.
 243 This permit expires on January 31 of each year and is not renewable.  An outdated permit may be exchanged for a current permit only in the year following the permit’s 

expiration.
 244 Each applicant also must pay a $10 fee to fund the department’s fi reworks safety and education program.
 245 Most insurance agent licenses and a license for a life insurance counselor, managing general agent, public insurance adjuster, or reinsurance intermediary broker or manager may 

be issued to either an individual or an insurance agency.  The authority granted to individual and agency license holders is identical; however, an applicant for an agency license 
must meet certain additional requirements, including providing copies of its articles of incorporation fi led with the secretary of state and certifi cation of franchise tax account status 
with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.

 246 Unless noted otherwise, licenses are valid for two years.
 247 Section 4004.101 et seq., Insurance Code, and 28 T.A.C. §19.1001 et seq. set out registration requirements for a continuing education course provider for insurance licensees.  28 

T.A.C. §19.1001 et seq. also provides registration requirements for prelicensing education course providers for insurance adjusters.  The statutory provision was enacted in 2001; 
a rule change adopted in 2003 extended the requirements to include prelicensing education course providers.

 248 The renewal fee includes a $3 subscription fee for online renewal of the license through the TexasOnline website that the Department of Information Resources charges the Texas 
Department of Insurance (TDI) for costs related to the website’s operation.  These subscription fees are not included in TDI’s revenue from fees for FY 07 for this license.

 249 This certifi cate is valid for one year.
 250 This license is valid until December 31 of the year after its issuance.  The $200 initial fee applies to a license issued between January 1 and June 30; the $100 initial fee applies 

to a license issued between July 1 and December 31.  A $200 license fee is required for each additional location.  In addition, each initial applicant must pay a $400 investigation 
fee.

 251 The 1941 law established licensing requirements for a “solicitor,” defi ned as a person who solicits insurance on behalf of a “local recording agent,” the former term for “insurance 
agent.” According to these provisions, a solicitor works for and offi ces with a local recording agent but is not authorized to sign and execute insurance policies.  With the enactment 
of Senate Bill 414 in 2001, “solicitor” was renamed “insurance service representative.”

 252 This certifi cate of authority is valid for three years.
 253 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 254 Section 4052.001, Insurance Code, provides that requirements for this license apply to a person who in any public manner uses the title “insurance adviser,” “insurance analyst,” 

“insurance counselor,” “insurance specialist,” “policyholders’ adviser,”  “policyholders’ counselor,” or any other similar title, or uses any other title indicating that the person gives 
or is engaged in the business of giving advice or other information to an insured, a benefi ciary, or any other person having an interest in a life, accident, or health insurance policy, 
a health benefi t plan, or an annuity or pure endowment contract.

 255 Section 1111.001, Insurance Code, defi nes “life settlement” as an agreement under which a person pays anything of value that is less than the expected death benefi t of a policy 
insuring the life of an individual who does not have a catastrophic or life-threatening illness or condition and is paid in return for the policy owner’s or certifi cate holder’s 
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assignment, transfer, bequest, devise, or sale of the death benefi t under or ownership of the policy.  A “viatical settlement” is based on a similar agreement except that it relates to a 
policy insuring the life of an individual who has a catastrophic or life-threatening illness or condition.  A “life settlor” is the insured under the policy transferred in a life settlement, 
and a “viator” is the insured under the policy transferred in a viatical settlement.

 256 The 1995 provision required the registration of “a person engaged in the business of viatical settlements”; subsequent rules provided for the registration of viatical settlement 
companies and brokers.  In 1999, the 76th Texas Legislature expanded the registration requirements to include persons engaged in the business of life settlements, and the 
rules were amended to refl ect that amendment.  In 2001, a rule change expanded the registration requirements to include provider representatives and changed “companies” to 
“providers.”

 257 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 258 The certifi cate expires on the 180th day after the date of issuance and may be renewed once on application to the insurance commissioner.  An individual may not hold more than 

two consecutive temporary certifi cates.
 259 Attorney’s title insurance is issued only in connection with and as part of a real property transaction and a title opinion of a title attorney.
 260 This license is valid for one year.
 261 According to The Basic Manual of Rules, Rates and Forms for the Writing of Title Insurance in the State of Texas, an abstract plant, which is used as the basis for issuance of title 

insurance policies in Texas, consists of fully indexed records showing all instruments of record affecting lands within the county for a period of at least 25 years immediately before 
the date of search.  The indices pertaining to land must be arranged in geographic order (i.e., by lot and block for subdivided lands and by survey or section number for acreage 
tracts).  Miscellaneous alphabetical indices must be maintained according to name.

 262 This number represents active licenses as of March 2008.  Of that total, 97 are new and renewal licenses issued in FY 07 and 100 are licenses that were active in FY 07 and 
eligible for renewal in FY 08 and new licenses issued between September 2007 and March 2008; the department cannot extract from its data the exact number of FY 08 renewal 
licenses.

 263 This fee includes a $125 application fee ($150 if the applicant is retaking a failed examination) and a $150 examination fee.
 264 This fee includes a $167 registration fee ($40 for an applicant with inactive status) and a $200 professional fee, which is prorated for applicants who register after the fi rst quarter 

of the year.  Inactive surveyors and state employees are exempt from paying the professional fee.  For active non-exempt applicants renewing as both a registered professional land 
surveyor and a licensed state land surveyor, the total fee is $409.

 265 The 1979 statute referred to a “public surveyor.” The term was replaced with “professional land surveyor” in 1989.
 266 Section 1071.352, Occupations Code, which requires a fi rm registration, was enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (House Bill 2820).  The board amended 22 T.A.C. §661.55 and 

added 22 T.A.C. §§661.56 and 661.57.  The amended and new provisions became effective November 4, 2007, with fi rm registrations required beginning January 1, 2008.
 267 This fee is per location.
 268 This fee was increased to $1,000 effective September 1, 2007.
 269 This is a fi ve-year license; there is no fee for renewal.
 270 No new licenses were issued in FY 07, and there is no fee for renewal, so there was no fee revenue in FY 07.
 271 Before March 1, 2008, a contract was valid for a period of time stated in the contract, or two years, whichever is less.  Effective March 1, 2008, the two-year maximum was 

increased to fi ve years.  Regardless of the validity period, the contract may be terminated within 10 days by written notice on the part of either party to the contract.
 272 In September 2007, the Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (TCLR) voted to reduce the original fee to $115 and the renewal fee to $65.  These changes will take effect 

in 2008.
 273 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 274 Each applicant also must submit an initial fee of $100 to the auctioneer education and recovery fund; the amount of the fee for this fund on a subsequent renewal application will 

be determined annually by the department and refl ected in the renewal notices sent by the department.
 275 This fee upgrades an associate auctioneer license to an auctioneer license.
 276 All barbering licenses are valid for two years, except a barber school permit and an examination proctor registration, which are valid for one year.
 277 The 1929 statute regulating barbers established certain curriculum requirements for state approval of a barber school but did not expressly require a permit; the 1930 amendments 

to the barber laws established this requirement.
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 278 This fee includes a $10 newsletter fee to cover the costs to the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) for publishing and distributing an annual newsletter that 
contains information relating to the state’s barbering occupations, including statute and rule changes.  Revenue from newsletter fees is not included in the revenue collected for 
licensing fees for FY 07.

 279 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $70; the change will take effect in 2008.
 280 The applicant must obtain this authorization from a licensed barber school and may provide the authorized services only at a licensed barbering establishment or a facility that 

holds a dual barber and beauty shop license.  See the “Cosmetology Licenses” section for a similar category that applies only to the practice of cosmetology.
 281 This permit originally applied to a manicurist specialty shop or a wig specialty shop.  In 2007, the defi nition of “specialty shop” was amended to include establishments that 

specialize in hair braiding or weaving.
 282 This fee includes a $10 fee for a book of Texas laws and rules relating to barbering, which is published by TDLR.  Revenue from the book fee is not included in the revenue 

collected for licensing fees in FY 07.  There is no charge for renewal of a student permit.
 283 Although Texas statutes and rules provide for the registration of examination proctors by TDLR, under current practice such proctors are employees of a private company under 

contract with the agency.  The current contract expires in 2008; if it is not renewed, state registration of examination proctors may be necessary.
 284 Hair weaving was included in the defi nition of barbering in 1975, but certifi cation in that specialty was not available until 2007.
 285 Section 2052.002(4), Occupations Code, defi nes combative sports as those sports, including boxing, kickboxing, martial arts, and mixed martial arts, in which participants 

voluntarily engage in full contact to score points, to cause an opponent to submit, or to disable an opponent in a contest, match, or exhibition.  The term does not include student 
training or exhibitions of students’ skills conducted by martial arts schools, or associations of schools, where the students’ participation is for health and recreational purposes 
rather than competition and where the intent is to use only partial contact.

 286 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 287 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $20; the change will take effect in 2008.
 288 Section 1602.002, Occupations Code, defi nes “cosmetology” as the practice of performing or offering to perform for compensation services relating to the treatment of a person’s 

hair by certain methods (including arranging, coloring, cutting, dyeing, shampooing, straightening, and waving) or providing a necessary service preparatory or ancillary to such 
a service; weaving or braiding; and shampooing and conditioning.  The term also includes servicing a person’s wig or artifi cial hairpiece; treating a person’s mustache or beard 
using certain methods; cleansing, stimulating, or massaging a person’s scalp, face, neck, or arms, or beautifying those areas using a cosmetic or other preparation or appliance; 
administering facial treatments; removing superfl uous hair from a person’s body using depilatories or mechanical tweezers; treating a person’s nails using certain methods; or 
massaging, cleansing, treating, or beautifying a person’s hands or feet.

 289 All cosmetology licenses are valid for two years, with the exception of an examination proctor registration, a private beauty culture school license, and a public secondary or 
postsecondary beauty culture school certifi cate, which are valid for one year.

 290 The applicant must obtain this authorization from a licensed cosmetology school or program and may provide the authorized services only at a licensed cosmetology establishment 
or a facility that holds a dual barber and beauty shop license.  See the “Barbering Licenses” section for a similar category that applies only to the practice of barbering.

 291 The 1935 provision required an individual wishing to work as a manicurist in a licensed beauty shop to register with what was then the State Board of Hairdressers and 
Cosmetologists.  A manicurist license was created in 1947; it was renamed a manicurist specialty license in 2007.

 292 Each applicant also must pay a $200 initial inspection fee; the inspection is conducted by TDLR prior to the operation of the school.
 293 There is no fee for renewing a student permit.
 294 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $115; the change will take effect in 2008.
 295 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $35; the change will take effect in 2008.
 296 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $50; the change will take effect in 2008.
 297 This license was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 298 Code chapter references are to the Health and Safety Code.
 299 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $115; the change will take effect in 2008.
 300 The ASME QEI accreditation program is designed for organizations that certify elevator inspectors and inspector supervisors in accordance with the ASME QEI-1 standard.  An 

inspector certifi ed by an accredited organization is qualifi ed to inspect elevators, escalators, and related equipment in accordance with the ASME A17.1 Elevator Code.
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 301 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $50; the change will take effect in 2008.
 302 Labor Code
 303 This fee varies depending on the number of employees assigned or leased, except the fee for a limited license is a fl at $750.  In addition, each applicant must pay a $150 application 

fee.
 304 Section 92.002, Labor Code, defi nes a common worker as an individual who performs labor involving physical tasks that do not require a particular skill; training in a particular 

occupation, craft, or trade; or practical knowledge of the principles or processes of an art, science, craft, or trade.
 305 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $150; the change will take effect in 2008.
 306 Section 1202.002, Occupations Code, defi nes industrialized housing as a residential structure designed for the occupancy of one or more families that is constructed in one or more 

modules or constructed using one or more modular components built at a location other than the permanent site, and designed to be used as a permanent residential structure when 
the module or the modular component is transported to the permanent site and erected or installed on a permanent foundation system.

 307 Section 1202.003, Occupations Code, defi nes an industrialized building as a commercial structure constructed in one or more modules or constructed using one or more modular 
components built at a location other than the commercial site, and designed to be used as a commercial building when the module or the modular component is transported to the 
commercial site and erected or installed. 

 308 Government Code
 309 Each initial applicant also must pay a $100 written examination fee and a $300 oral examination fee.
 310 Section 953.001, Occupations Code, defi nes a “legal service contract” as an agreement entered into for a separately stated consideration and under which the company obtains 

legal services for the contract holder through a contracting attorney.
 311 This fee varies depending on the number of legal service contracts the company sells during the 12 months preceding the date of the registration application.  In addition, by March 

1 of each year, the company also must pay an annual premium tax replacement fee.  This fee is equal to the difference between an amount equal to 1.7 percent of the amount the 
company collects for legal service contracts the company sold in Texas in the previous year and the amount the company paid to the state in franchise taxes in the same year.

 312 Section 1152.001, Occupations Code, defi nes property tax consulting services as preparing for another person a rendition statement or property report; representing another person 
in a taxpayer protest against a local appraisal review board; consulting or advising another person concerning  the preparation of such a statement or report or in such a protest; 
negotiating or entering into an agreement with an appraisal district on behalf of another person concerning an action that is or may be the subject of such a protest; or acting as the 
designated agent of a property owner.

 313 An initial certifi cate of registration is valid for a one-year term; a certifi cate of renewal of registration is valid for a two-year term.
 314 The fee includes a $200 professional fee.
 315 Each applicant also must pay a $150 examination fee to upgrade from a property tax consultant registration to a senior property tax consultant registration.
 316 Section 1304.003, Occupations Code, defi nes a service contract as an agreement entered into for a separately stated consideration and for a specifi ed term, under which the 

provider agrees to repair, replace, or maintain a product for operational or structural failure or damage caused by a defect in materials or workmanship or by normal wear.  A service 
contract also may provide incidental payment or indemnity under limited circumstances, including towing, rental, and emergency road service, or the repair or replacement of a 
product for damage resulting from a power surge or for accidental damage incurred in handling the product. 

 317 The registration fee is based on the number of service contracts sold in Texas during the previous 12-month period.
 318 House Bill 2094, enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007), transferred regulation of tow trucks and vehicle storage facilities from the Texas Department of Transportation 

(TxDOT) to TDLR and TCLR, effective January 1, 2008.  Before the bill’s passage, tow truck companies were required to be registered and vehicle storage facilities were required 
to be licensed; license requirements for tow truck operators and vehicle storage facility employees were newly created and therefore have no active licenses or fee revenue for FY 
07.

 319 In FY 07, TxDOT required tow truck companies to register as motor carriers, so the number of active licenses and the fee revenue presented here also are included under the “motor 
carrier registration” category in the TxDOT portion of this table.

 320 Under provisions of House Bill 2094, this category is changed to a towing company license.
 321 In FY 07, each registrant also was required to pay a $100 liability insurance fee when applying for the original license, if the insurance policy lapses or expires, or if the license 

is revoked; a $100 cargo insurance fee, if performing nonconsent tows; and $25 annually or $50 biennially for each tow truck the company owned and operated.  The renewal fee 
was $25 annually or $50 biennially per tow truck.  Under TDLR’s proposed rules, each applicant would pay a fl at fee of $350 for an original or renewal license.
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 322 The $25 fee is for an annual renewal and the $50 fee is for a biennial renewal.
 323 The Motor Carrier Act enacted in 1929 (Article 911b, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes) required all “Class B” motor carriers (motor carriers that transport property for compensation 

or hire between two or more incorporated cities, towns, or villages over public highways or streets of the state and not having fi xed routes, regular schedules, fi xed terminals, 
or published rates) to obtain a permit from the Railroad Commission of Texas and to pay an annual fee for each vehicle operated by the motor carrier; such carriers would have 
included tow truck companies.  In 1987, with the enactment of the Tow Truck Act (Article 6687-9b, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes), tow truck companies also were required to 
register with the Texas Department of Labor and Standards (the predecessor of TDLR).  In 1993, that registration program was transferred to the Railroad Commission of Texas.  
In 1995, the Motor Carrier Act and the Tow Truck Act were repealed and the tow truck registration program was modifi ed and transferred to TxDOT under the Motor Carrier 
Registration Act (Article 6675c, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes).  TxDOT administered the program until January 1, 2008, when all regulation of tow trucks was transferred to 
TDLR and TCLR.

 324 This fee amount was recommended by TDLR in proposed rules fi led January 2008.  The deadline for public comment on the proposed rules is March 10, 2008.
 325 Each applicant also must pay a $100 garage keepers liability insurance fi ling fee when applying for the original license, if the insurance policy lapses or expires, or if the license 

is revoked.
 326 In January 2008, TDLR fi led proposed rules that include an original and renewal application fee of $250 for each license applicant.  The deadline for public comment for the 

proposed rules is March 10, 2008.
 327 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 328 The fee for a combination water well driller and installer license is $325.
 329 Each applicant also must pay an examination fee of $100 for a general well digger examination.  In addition, the applicant may take an examination for an endorsement as a water 

well driller, a monitor well driver, or a closed loop geothermal well driller; the fee for each of those examinations is $50.
 330 Each applicant also must pay an examination fee of $100 for a general pump installer examination.  In addition, the applicant may take an examination for an endorsement as 

a pump installer single phase or pump installer three phase; or for installing windmills, hand pumps, and pump jacks; or line shaft turbine pumps.  The fee for each of those 
examinations is $50.

 331 The fee for a combination water well driller and installer apprentice registration is $115.
 332 Government Code
 333 Each applicant also must pay a $100 examination fee.
 334 This category was created by the 80th Texas Legislature (2007); therefore, there are no active licenses and no fee revenue for FY 07.
 335 Health and Safety Code
 336 In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to $350; the change will take effect in 2008.
 337 The renewal fee varies depending on the number of vehicle protection product warranties for which the registrant became obligated during the 12 months preceding the registration 

application date.  In September 2007, the TCLR voted to reduce this fee to between $350 to $1,000; the change will take effect in 2008.
 338 This fee varies depending on the annual gross receipts from the bingo games conducted.
 339 This number refers to authorized organizations, each of which may have up to 12 temporary licenses.
 340 A holder of this license has the option of renewing the license biennially for twice the annual renewal fee.
 341 Fee varies depending on the annual gross rentals from licensed organizations.
 342 Government Code
 343 The fee is $125 for one location and $50 for each additional location and is paid biennially.
 344 Includes $200 professional fee required by statute.
 345 Section 156.001, Occupations Code, requires a physician to register with the board every two years.  Registrations are staggered and serve as  a physician’s license renewal.
 346 Does not include the $200 professional fee nor the $80 surcharge on registrations and renewals required by Section 4, Chapter 202, Acts of the 78th Legislature, Regular Session, 

2003 (Senate Bill 104).

151



 347 The Medical Practice Act enacted in 1837 by the Congress of the Republic of Texas created the fi rst medical board to examine and license physicians.  The board was discontinued 
in 1848, but another regulatory law was enacted in 1873 (Chapter 55, Acts of the 13th Legislature, Regular Session, 1873) which provided for county boards of medical examiners.  
The Texas State Board of Medical Examiners (now the Texas Medical Board) was created in 1907.

 348 Includes only the state health agency, visiting professor, faculty temporary, and Department of State Health Services Medically Underserved Area licenses.  Other licenses either 
do not generate revenue or have their holders counted elsewhere.

 349 Except as indicated below, temporary and limited license categories were established by board rule under the board’s general rulemaking authority.
 350 The distinguished professors temporary license is valid for a one-year period and renewable one time, at the discretion of the executive director of the board.
 351 A visiting physician permit is valid for no more than 10 working days and for a specifi ed locale and purpose.  The executive director of the board may extend the length of the 

permit.
 352 A visiting professor license may be valid for any number of 31-day increments not to exceed 24 increments.  The incremental periods are not required to be contiguous, but may 

be made in any arrangement approved by the executive director of the board.
 353 A National Health Services Corps license is valid for the duration of the physician’s contract.  The license is issued for a term of one year and may be renewed.
 354 A faculty temporary license is issued for a term of one year.  A holder of a faculty temporary license may apply for one or more successive licenses.
 355 Includes the $80 fee required by Senate Bill 104.
 356 A postgraduate research temporary license may be issued for a maximum of one year and is not renewable.
 357 A Department of State Health Services Medically Underserved Area temporary license is valid for up to 31 days.  A physician may not be issued more than one temporary license 

in any 12-month period.  The physician must be employed by the Texas National Guard, the U.S. armed forces, or the national branch of the military reserves.
 358 The number of public health/administrative licenses are included in the number of physician licenses.
 359 Number includes only those offi ces registering in FY 07.
 360 Additional offi ce-based anesthesia registration is also valid for a two-year term.
 361 Total does not include $80 surcharge on registrations and renewals required by Senate Bill 104.
 362 Since the original Medical Practice Act in 1837, the various permutations of physician licensing laws have accommodated some form of restricted licensure for individuals who 

have yet to complete their medical education.
 363 Initial certifi cation is valid for a one-year term.
 364 Re-certifi cation is valid for a two-year term.
 365 Biennial renewal.
 366 A $200 fee is assessed for each licensed vocational nurse or registered nurse from another jurisdiction or licensing authority who is endorsed with a permanent license without 

further examination.
 367 A $25 fee is assessed for each advanced practice nurse on approval for prescriptive authority to carry out or sign prescription drug orders.
 368 Includes active and inactive licensees—all who paid the fee for FY 07.
 369 License is valid for a two-year period.
 370 Section 568.002, Occupations Code, authorizes the board to allow a technician to petition for an exemption from certifi cation requirements if the technician is in a county with a 

population of less than 50,000 or has been employed as a pharmacy technician in Texas for at least 10 years as of September 1, 2001, and the technician’s employer approves the 
petition.

 371 Biennial renewal.
 372 Original registration of additional facilities is $124 for each facility.
 373 Annual renewal registration of additional facilities is $126 for each facility.
 374 An internship license expires one year after its date of issue.  On good cause shown to the board, the license may be extended or renewed for up to six months.  After the expiration 

of the original license and any extension or renewal granted by the board, a trainee may not hold another internship license before the fi rst anniversary of the date the trainee’s 
previous internship license expired.
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 375 Includes the $200 professional licensing fee required by statute.
 376 Includes license and examination fees.  Does not include annual license renewal fees.
 377 The provisional license was created by Chapter 439, Acts of the 75th Legislature, Regular Session, 1997, to replace the certifi cate that was the original prerequisite for licensure.
 378 See also Section 21.003, Education Code.
 379 The department’s Private Security Bureau, which regulates the private security industry in Texas, issues licenses to private security companies and requires that individuals be 

registered by a licensed company, with the exception of an instructor of a basic training course for commissioned security offi cers.
 380 All licenses, with the exception of an instructor license, are valid for one year.  All registrations, an instructor license, and a personal protection offi cer authorization are valid for 

two years.
 381 Section 1702.221, Occupations Code, which requires registration for a security salesperson, also applies to an alarm systems salesperson.  The bureau makes no distinction 

between the two categories except in regard to their continuing education requirements.  The authorization under an alarm systems salesperson registration is limited to the sale 
of alarm systems; a security salesperson registration authorizes the registrant to sell both alarm systems and security systems.

 382 In addition to a company license, each branch offi ce must be licensed and the company must pay a license fee of $300 per branch offi ce, which is included in the reported fee 
revenue for the company.  A branch offi ce is defi ned as a location identifi ed to the public as a place from which business is conducted, solicited, or advertised and that is other than 
the principal place of business as shown in the bureau’s records.

 383 The Private Detectives Act, enacted in 1969, provided for the licensing and regulation of a private investigator (Class A), private patrol operator (Class B), or an operator who 
provides services within Classes A and B (Class C).  The act also created registration requirements for any employee of  a licensee and certifi cation requirements for a branch 
offi ce.  The licensee is defi ned as “a person.” Beginning in 1971, when “person” was defi ned to include an individual, fi rm, association, company, partnership, corporation, or other 
similar entity, the licensee is described as “a person or company.”

 384 A private security consultant is a one-person company that must be licensed by the bureau.  House Bill 2833 (80th Texas Legislature, 2007) changes this license category to 
“private security consulting company” and creates a registration category for an employee of such a company.  The license and registration fees will be determined by rule.

 385 The requirement for an employer of a private security offi cer seeking a security offi cer commission to apply to the board for that commission was enacted in 1975, but the approval 
to employ commissioned security offi cers did not take the form of a letter of authority until 1983.

 386 Beginning in 1969, each employee of a licensed private investigator, other than an employee engaged in clerical or other noninvestigation-related work, was required to be registered 
with what was then the Texas Board of Private Detectives, Private Investigators, Private Patrolmen, Private Guards, and Managers.  In 1975, that requirement was clarifi ed to apply 
to each individual employed as a private investigator, manager, or branch offi ce manager of a licensee, including a security services contractor or an investigations company.  In 
1983, the registration was made voluntary for employees not otherwise required to register and was further expanded to apply to an employee of any bureau licensee.

 387 An occupational license is required for any person other than a patron who participates in racing at which pari-mutuel wagering is conducted, including a person employed by a 
licensee to work at a racetrack where such wagering is conducted.  Racetrack licenses are excluded because such licenses are perpetual and the license fees are based on various 
factors, including the number of live race days conducted by the racetrack association.

 388 This license may be renewed for one, two, or three years.  The renewal fee for a two-year license is $150 and for a three-year license is $225.
 389 This registration may be renewed for one, two, or three years.  The renewal fee for two years is $50 and for three years is $75.
 390 Code chapter references are to the Natural Resources Code.
 391 These containers are manufactured to the specifi cations of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
 392 As originally enacted, this license was for a real estate dealer.  The 54th Texas Legislature (1955) replaced “dealer” with “broker.”
 393 Fee varies depending on whether the license is for an apprentice, real estate, or professional inspector.
 394 The lower fee is for an annual renewal, and the higher fee is for a biennial renewal, for which a licensee is eligible upon completing a certain level of continuing education 

coursework.
 395 Code chapter references are to the Property Code.
 396 In September 2005, the commission increased its registration and certifi cate fees.  To offset the impact of the increase, the commission extended the validation period from one 

year to two years and began using a staggered renewal schedule wherein a registration or certifi cate with an even number must be renewed in the next even-numbered year and 
one with an odd number must be renewed in the next odd-numbered year.  The state revenue from fees represents only new registrations or certifi cates or those that were renewed 
during FY 07.
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 397 Code chapter references are to the Finance Code.
 398 Statutory references are to the Texas Securities Act (Article 581, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes).
 399 The board does not compile separate data for investment advisers and securities dealers; the two functions are reported together.
 400 Includes a $200 professional fee.
 401 This number includes notice fi lings, which the state requires for a federal covered investment adviser or its representative.  These fi lings, which include payment of the same 

licensing and professional fee as an investment adviser representative registration, are copies of documents the investment adviser or representative fi les with the Securities 
Exchange Commission.

 402 The 1957 statute referred to an individual selling securities on behalf of a dealer as an “agent or salesman”; the term “salesman” was removed in 2001.
 403 The lower fee is for a single registration fi eld, and the higher fee is for a dual fi eld.
 404 Revenue is not reported separately by fi eld; all registrants are included in the category “tax professionals.”
 405 The 1977 statute referred primarily to an “assessor,” but the registration requirement applied also to certain assessor-collectors; the term was replaced by “assessor-collector,” with 

the explicit reference to the offi ce’s dual function, in 1983.
 406 Chapter 1046, Acts of the 80th Legislature, Regular Session, 2007, transferred regulation of tow truck companies to TDLR, effective January 1, 2008.
 407 Transportation Code
 408 The fee is $5 for a seven-day registration, $25 for a 90-day registration, and $100 per year for an annual or biennial registration.  The applicant must also pay a vehicle registration 

fee of $10 to $50 per vehicle depending on the type of vehicle and the validity period of the motor carrier registration.
 409 The 1927 statute applied only to motor bus companies transporting passengers.  Beginning in 1929, regulation was applied to motor carriers transporting property, and subsequent 

amendments extended that regulation to include the various types of commercial vehicles used to transport passengers or cargo.
 410 The fee amount varies depending on the number of motor vehicles sold during the preceding calendar year.  In addition, a manufacturer must pay a $20 fee for each of its 

franchises.  For FY 07, there were 5,577 dealer franchises, which generated $111,540 in fees.
 411 The fee amount varies depending on the number of motor vehicles leased during the preceding calendar year.
 412 According to 43 T.A.C. §8.103(c), a service-only facility is considered a dealership under Section 2301.002(8), Occupations Code.
 413 Section 801.256, Occupations Code, authorizes the board to issue a special license to an applicant “who is: (1) a member of the faculty or staff of a board-approved veterinary 

program at an institution of higher education; (2) a veterinarian employee of the Texas Animal Health Commission; (3) a veterinarian employee of the Texas Veterinary Medical 
Diagnostic Laboratory; or (4) a person licensed to practice veterinary medicine in another jurisdiction, if the board determines that the person’s specialty practice is unrepresented 
or underrepresented . . . .”

 414 Fee for requisite examination.
 415 Includes $200 professional licensing fee required by statute.
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Table 2.  Statutory Penalties for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses1

Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy
Accounting licenses (generally)

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person regulated under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule 
or order adopted under this chapter in a manner that constitutes a ground for disciplinary action.
[Statutory Authority: Section 901.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $100,000 for each violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the board shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard to the public;
 (2) the economic damage to property caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
(c) The board by rule shall adopt a schedule for purposes of this subchapter [Subchapter L. Administrative Penalty] that 
prescribes ranges in the amounts of administrative penalties to be imposed for specifi ed types of conduct and circumstances.
[Statutory Authority: Section 901.552, Occupations Code] 

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.  Each violation is a separate offense.
(b) Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor. An offense under 
this section that involves intentional fraud is punishable as:
 (1) a state jail felony if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the violation resulted in a monetary loss of less than 
$10,000 or did not result in a monetary loss;
 (2) a felony of the third degree if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the violation resulted in a monetary loss of at 
least $10,000 but less than $100,000; or
 (3) a felony of the second degree if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the violation resulted in a monetary loss of at 
least $100,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 901.602, Occupations Code]
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Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
Home and community support services 
licenses

Administrative penalties• (a) The department shall assess an administrative penalty against a home and community support services agency that violates 
Section 166.004 [Statement Relating to Advance Directive].
(b) A penalty assessed under this section shall be $500.
[Statutory Authority: Section 142.0145, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates:
 (1) this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (2) Section 102.001, Occupations Code [Soliciting Patients; Offense], if the violation relates to the provision of home 
health, hospice, or personal assistance services.
(b) The penalty shall be not less than $100 or more than $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a violation that occurs 
before the day on which the person receives written notice of the violation from the department does not constitute a separate 
violation and shall be considered to be one violation.  Each day of a continuing violation that occurs after the day on which the 
person receives written notice of the violation from the department constitutes a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 142.017, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who engages in the business of providing home health, hospice, or personal assistance services, or represents to 
the public that the person is a provider of home health, hospice, and personal assistance services for pay, without a license 
issued under this chapter authorizing the services that are being provided is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $1,000 
or more than $2,500 for each day of violation.  Penalties may be appropriated only to the department and to administer this 
chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 142.014, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly administers medication to a client of a home and community support 
services agency and the person is not authorized to administer the medication under Section 142.021 [Administration of 
Medication] or 142.022 [Exemptions for Nursing Students and Medication Aide Trainees].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 142.029, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person authorized by this subchapter [Subchapter B.  Permits to Administer Medication] to administer medication to a 
client of a home and community support services agency may not dispense dangerous drugs or controlled substances without 
complying with Subtitle J, Title 3, Occupations Code [Pharmacy and Pharmacists].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 142.030, Health and Safety Code]
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Convalescent and nursing home and 
related institutions licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who:
 (1) violates this chapter or a rule, standard, or order adopted or license issued under this chapter;
 (2) makes a false statement, that the person knows or should know is false, of a material fact:
  (A) on an application for issuance or renewal of a license or in an attachment to the application;  or
  (B) with respect to a matter under investigation by the department;
 (3) refuses to allow a representative of the department to inspect:
  (A) a book, record, or fi le required to be maintained by an institution; or
  (B) any portion of the premises of an institution;
 (4) wilfully interferes with the work of a representative of the department or the enforcement of this chapter;
 (5) wilfully interferes with a representative of the department preserving evidence of a violation of this chapter or a rule, 
standard, or order adopted or license issued under this chapter;
 (6) fails to pay a penalty assessed by the department under this chapter not later than the 10th day after the date the 
assessment of the penalty becomes fi nal;  or
 (7) fails to notify the department of a change of ownership before the effective date of the change of ownership.
(b) Except as provided by Subsection (f) and Section 242.0665(c) [Institution’s Right to Correct a Violation], the penalty may 
not exceed $10,000 a day for each violation.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation.
(e) In determining the amount of a penalty, the department shall consider any matter that justice may require, including:
 (1) the gradations of penalties established under Subsection (d);
 (2) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act and the 
hazard or potential hazard created by the act to the health or safety of the public;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) deterrence of future violations; and
 (5) efforts to correct the violation.
(f) The penalty for a violation of Section 242.072(c) [Posting Notice of Suspension of Admissions Order] or a right of a resident 
adopted under Subchapter L may not exceed $1,000 a day for each violation.  This subsection does not apply to conduct that 
violates both Subchapter K or a standard adopted under Subchapter K and a right of a resident adopted under Subchapter L.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.066, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalties• (a) A person who violates or causes a violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty 
of not less than $1,000 or more than $20,000 for each act of violation if the department determines the violation threatens 
the health and safety of a resident.
(b) In determining the amount of a penalty to be awarded under this section, the trier of fact shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of violations committed by the person or the person’s affi liate, employee, or controlling person;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) the efforts made to correct the violation;
 (5) any misrepresentation made to the department or to another person regarding:
  (A) the quality of services rendered or to be rendered to residents;
  (B) the compliance history of the institution or any institutions owned or controlled by an owner or controlling person of 
the institution; or
  (C) the identity of an owner or controlling person of the institution;
 (6) the culpability of the individual who committed the violation; and
 (7) any other matter that should, as a matter of justice or equity, be considered.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.065, Health and Safety Code]

< Text of section effective until federal determination of failure to comply with federal regulations >
A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter I. Nursing Facility Administration] is liable to the state for a civil penalty 
of $1,000 for each day of violation.  At the request of the department, the attorney general shall bring an action to recover a 
civil penalty established by this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.319, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 242.031 [License Required].
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by a fi ne of not more than $1,000 for the fi rst offense and not more than $500 
for each subsequent offense.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation after conviction is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.064, Health and Safety Code]

(c) During the period that an institution is ordered to suspend admissions, the institution shall post a notice of the suspension 
on all doors providing ingress to and egress from the institution.  The notice shall be posted in the form required by the 
department.
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(d) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:
 (1) violates Subsection (c); or
 (2) removes a notice posted under Subsection (c) before the facility is allowed to admit residents.
(e) An offense under Subsection (d) is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.072, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A home commits an offense if the home fails or refuses to comply with Section 242.100 [Notifi cation of Closing].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.101, Health and Safety Code]

(a) An institution that violates this subchapter [Subchapter H.  Care for Residents with Alzheimer’s Disease and Related 
Disorders] is subject to an administrative penalty under Subchapter C [General Enforcement].
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.203, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person who intentionally hampers, obstructs, tampers with, or destroys an electronic monitoring device installed in a 
resident’s room in accordance with this subchapter or a tape or recording made by the device commits an offense.  An offense 
under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.852, Health and Safety Code]

Assisted living facility license

Administrative penalties• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who:
 (1) violates this chapter or a rule, standard, or order adopted under this chapter or a term of a license issued under this 
chapter;
 (2) makes a false statement, that the person knows or should know is false, of a material fact:
  (A) on an application for issuance or renewal of a license or in an attachment to the application; or
  (B) with respect to a matter under investigation by the department;
 (3) refuses to allow a representative of the department to inspect:
  (A) a book, record, or fi le required to be maintained by an assisted living facility; or
  (B) any portion of the premises of an assisted living facility;
 (4) wilfully interferes with the work of a representative of the department or the enforcement of this chapter;
 (5) wilfully interferes with a representative of the department preserving evidence of a violation of this chapter or a rule, 
standard, or order adopted under this chapter or a term of a license issued under this chapter;
 (6) fails to pay a penalty assessed under this chapter not later than the 30th day after the date the assessment of the penalty 
becomes fi nal; or
 (7) fails to notify the department of a change of ownership before the effective date of the change of ownership.
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(b) Except as provided by Section 247.0452(c) [Right to Correct a Violation], the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each 
violation.
(d) In determining the amount of a penalty, the department shall consider any matter that justice may require, but must consider 
each of the following and make a record of the extent to which each of the following was considered:
 (1) the gradations of penalties established under Subsection (c);
 (2) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act and the 
hazard or potential hazard created by the act to the health or safety of the public;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) deterrence of future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) the size of the facility and of the business entity that owns the facility.
[Statutory Authority: Section 247.0451, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The department shall assess an administrative penalty against an assisted living facility that violates Section 166.004 
[Statement Relating to Advance Directive].
(b) A penalty assessed under this section shall be $500.
[Statutory Authority: Section 247.0459, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) Except as provided by Subsections (b) and (c), a person who violates this chapter or who fails to comply with a rule adopted 
under this chapter and whose violation is determined by the department to threaten the health and safety of a resident of an 
assisted living facility is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $10,000 for each act of violation.  Each 
day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground of recovery.
(b) A person is subject to a civil penalty if the person:
 (1) is in violation of Section 247.021 [License Required]; or
 (2) has been determined to be in violation of Section 247.021 and violates any other provision of this chapter or fails to 
comply with a rule adopted under this chapter.
(c) The amount of a civil penalty under Subsection (b) may not be less than $1,000 or more than $10,000 for each act of 
violation.  Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground of recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 247.045, Health and Safety Code]
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Intermediate care facility for the 
mentally retarded license

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who:
 (1) violates this chapter or a rule, standard, or order adopted or license issued under this chapter;
 (2) makes a false statement, that the person knows or should know is false, of a material fact:
  (A) on an application for issuance or renewal of a license or in an attachment to the application; or
  (B) with respect to a matter under investigation by the department;
 (3) refuses to allow a representative of the department to inspect:
  (A) a book, record, or fi le required to be maintained by the institution; or
  (B) any portion of the premises of an institution;
 (4) wilfully interferes with the work of a representative of the department or the enforcement of this chapter;
 (5) wilfully interferes with a representative of the department preserving evidence of a violation of this chapter or a rule, 
standard, or order adopted or license issued under this chapter;
 (6) fails to pay a penalty assessed by the department under this chapter not later than the 10th day after the date the 
assessment of the penalty becomes fi nal;
 (7) fails to submit a plan of correction within 10 days after receiving a statement of licensing violations; or
 (8) fails to notify the department of a change in ownership before the effective date of that change of ownership.
(b) The penalty for a facility with fewer than 60 beds shall be not less than $100 or more than $1,000 for each violation.  
The penalty for a facility with 60 beds or more shall be not less than $100 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  The total 
amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed 
$5,000 for a facility with fewer than 60 beds or $25,000 for a facility with 60 beds or more.  Each day a violation occurs or 
continues is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(d) The department by rule shall establish a specifi c and detailed schedule of appropriate and graduated penalties for each 
violation based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation and the hazard 
of the violation to the health or safety of clients;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) whether the affected facility had identifi ed the violation as a part of its internal quality assurance process and had made 
appropriate progress on correction;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation;
 (6) the size of the facility;  and
 (7) any other matters that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 252.065, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $100 
or more than $10,000 for each violation if the department determines the violation threatens the health and safety of a 
resident.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 251.064, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 252.031 [License Required].
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by a fi ne of not more than $1,000 for the fi rst offense and not more than $500 
for each subsequent offense.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation after conviction is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 252.063, Health and Safety Code]

Nursing facility administrator license

Civil penalties• < Text of section effective until federal determination of failure to comply with federal regulations >
A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter I. Nursing Facility Administration] is liable to the state for a civil penalty 
of $1,000 for each day of violation.  At the request of the department, the attorney general shall bring an action to recover a 
civil penalty established by this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.319, Health and Safety Code]

< Text of section effective upon federal determination of failure to comply with federal regulations >
A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter I.  Nursing Facility Administration] is liable to the state for a civil penalty 
of $1,000 for each day of violation.  At the request of the department, the attorney general shall bring an action to recover a 
civil penalty established by this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.324, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• < Text of section effective until federal determination of failure to comply with federal regulations >
(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally violates Section 242.305 [Practicing Without a 
License].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.321, Health and Safety Code]

< Text of section effective upon federal determination of failure to comply with federal regulations >
(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally violates Section 242.310 [License Renewal].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 242.326, Health and Safety Code]
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Texas Department of Agriculture
Organics Licenses

Organics licenses (generally)

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter A. Organic Standards and Certifi cation] or a rule adopted under this 
subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed $10,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues is 
a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
(e) This section is applicable only if the department chooses to use civil remedy as opposed to criminal penalty under Section 
18.008, Agriculture Code [see below].
[Statutory Authority: Section 18.009, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:
 (1) violates this subchapter [Subchapter A. Organic Standards and Certifi cation]; or
 (2) fails to comply with a notice, order, or rule of the department under this subchapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 18.008, Agriculture Code]

Pesticide and Structural Pest Control Licenses
Pesticide licenses (generally)

Administrative penalties• (a) If a person violates a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section or a rule or order adopted by 
the department under a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section, the department may assess an 
administrative penalty against the person as provided by this section.
(b) The penalty for each violation may be in an amount not to exceed the maximum provided by Subsection (c) of this section.  
Each day a violation continues or occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessments.
(c) The provisions of this code subject to this section and the applicable penalty amounts are as follows:

Provision Amount of Penalty
Chapter 41 ..................................................................................................................................................... $1,000
Chapters 13, 14A, 18, 46, 61, 94, 95, 101, 102, 103, 121, 125, 132, and 134 .......................... not more than $500
Subchapter B, Chapter 71; Chapter 19; Chapter 76 [Pesticide and Herbicide
 Regulation] ...................................................................................................................... not more than $2,000
Subchapters A and C, Chapter 71; Chapters 72, 73, and 74 ................................................... not more than $5,000
Chapter 14 ............................................................................................................................ not more than $10,000

165



Table 2.  Statutory Penalties for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses1

Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

(d) In determining the amount of the penalty, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including but not limited to the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited 
acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health or safety of the public;
 (2) the damage to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 12.020, Agriculture Code]

(a) If a person violates a provision of this chapter or a rule or order adopted by the department under this chapter, the department 
may assess an administrative penalty against the person as provided by Section 12.020, Agriculture Code [Administrative 
Penalties], except that the penalty shall not exceed $4,000 for all violations related to a single incident.
(b) The department shall establish a schedule stating the types of violations possible under this chapter.  The department is 
not required to comply with Subchapter B, Chapter 2001, Government Code [Administrative Procedure: Rulemaking], when 
establishing or revising the schedule.  The department shall publish the initial schedule and any subsequent revision in the 
Texas Register before the schedule or revision is implemented.
(c) If the department elects to assess an administrative penalty, no action for a civil penalty may be based on the same violation 
or violations.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.1555, Agriculture Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates a provision of this chapter administered by a regulatory agency other than the department or a rule 
adopted by a regulatory agency other than the department under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $50 
nor more than $1,000 for each day on which the violation occurs.
(b) A person who violates a provision of this chapter administered by the department or a rule adopted by the department 
under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $10,000 for each violation, provided that 
the penalty shall not exceed $25,000 for all violations related to a single incident.
(c) No civil penalty may be collected for any violation that constituted the basis for a department proceeding to assess an 
administrative penalty, regardless of whether the department was or was not successful in collecting the administrative 
penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.156, Agriculture Code]
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Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person distributes within this state or delivers for transportation or transports in intrastate 
commerce or between points within this state through a point outside this state, any of the following:
 (1) a pesticide that has not been registered as provided by this chapter, except for a pesticide that is not for use in this state 
and is only being manufactured, transported, or distributed for use outside of this state;
 (2) a pesticide that has a claim, a direction for its use, or labeling that differs from the representations made in connection 
with its registration;
 (3) a pesticide that is not in the registrant’s or manufacturer’s unbroken immediate container and that is not labeled with the 
information and in the manner required by Section 76.021 [Labeling Information] of this code;
 (4) a pesticide:
  (A) that is of strength or purity that falls below the professed standard or quality expressed on its labeling or under which 
it is sold;
  (B) for which a substance has been substituted wholly or in part;
  (C) of which a valuable constituent has been wholly or in part abstracted; or
  (D) in which a contaminant is present in an amount that is determined by the department to be a hazard;
 (5) a pesticide or device that is misbranded; or
 (6) a pesticide in a container that is unsafe due to damage.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) detaches, alters, defaces, or destroys, wholly or in part, any label or labeling provided for by this chapter or a rule 
adopted under this chapter before the container has been emptied and rinsed properly;
 (2) adds any substance to or takes any substance from a pesticide in a manner that may defeat the purpose of this chapter or 
a rule adopted under this chapter;
 (3) uses or causes to be used a pesticide contrary to its labeling or to a rule of the department limiting the use of the 
pesticide;
 (4) handles, transports, stores, displays, or distributes a pesticide in a manner that violates a provision of this chapter or a 
rule adopted by the department under this chapter; or
 (5) disposes of, discards, or stores a pesticide or pesticide container in a manner that the person knows or should know is 
likely to cause injury to man, vegetation, crops, livestock, wildlife, or pollinating insects.
(c) A person other than a person to whom the pesticide is registered commits an offense if the person uses for the person’s 
advantage or reveals, other than to a properly designated state or federal offi cial or employee, a physician, or in emergency to 
a pharmacist or other qualifi ed person for the preparation of an antidote, any information relating to pesticide formulas, trade 
secrets, or commercial or fi nancial information acquired under this chapter and marked as privileged or confi dential by the 
registrant.
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(d) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) commits an act for which a certifi ed applicator’s license may be suspended, modifi ed, revoked, or not renewed under 
Section 76.116 [Suspension, Modifi cation, or Revocation of License] of this code; or
 (2) violates any provision of this chapter to which this section does not expressly apply.
(e) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) knowingly or intentionally uses, causes to be used, handles, stores, or disposes of a pesticide in a manner that causes 
injury to man, vegetation, crops, livestock, wildlife, or pollinating insects;
 (2) violates Section 76.071(a) [License Required; section prohibits a person from distributing in this state a restricted-use or 
state-limited-use pesticide or regulated herbicide without a valid current pesticide dealer license issued by the department];
 (3) has a permit to apply a powder or dry-type regulated herbicide and applies a herbicide that does not meet the requirements 
of Section 76.144(c) [County Herbicide Regulations];
 (4) violates a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (5) fails to keep or submit records in violation of this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.201, Agriculture Code]

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (b) of this section, an offense under Section 76.201 of this code is a Class C misdemeanor, 
unless the person has been previously convicted of an offense under that section, in which event the offense is a Class B 
misdemeanor.
(b) An offense under Section 76.201(e) of this code is a Class A misdemeanor, unless the person has been previously 
convicted of an offense under that subsection, in which event the offense is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.202, Agriculture Code]

Structural pest control licenses 
(generally)

Administrative penalty• The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter, a rule adopted or order issued 
under this chapter, or a cease and desist order issued under Section 1951.604 [Cease and Desist Order].
[Statutory Authority: Section 1951.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 a day for each violation.  Each day a violation continues 
or occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessment.
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(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health or safety of the public;
 (2) the economic damage to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1951.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule, license, or order of the commissioner is subject to a civil penalty of not less 
than $50 or more than $2,000 for each act of violation and for each day of violation.
(b) If it appears that a person has violated or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule, license, or order of the commissioner, 
the commissioner may have a civil action instituted in a district court for:
 (1) injunctive relief to restrain the person from continuing the violation or threat of violation;
 (2) the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty under Subsection (a); or
 (3) both injunctive relief and the civil penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1951.602, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates this chapter;
 (2) violates a rule adopted under Section 1951.205 [Environmental Rules] or 1951.206 [Rules Restricting Advertising or 
Competitive Bidding]; or
 (3) intentionally makes a false statement in an application for a license or otherwise fraudulently obtains or attempts to 
obtain a license.
(b) Each day a violation occurs is a separate offense.
(c) Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, an offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.  An offense under 
this section is a Class B misdemeanor if the person has been convicted previously of an offense under this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1951.603, Occupations Code] 
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Weights and Measures Licenses
Public weigher certifi cate of authority 
(county or state)

Criminal penalties• (a) A public weigher or deputy public weigher who intentionally or knowingly issues a certifi cate of weight or measure giving 
a false weight or measure for a commodity weighed or measured commits an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.259, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person who intentionally or knowingly issues an offi cial certifi cate of weight or measure for any commodity without fi rst 
obtaining a certifi cate of authority under Section 13.255 [Certifi cate] of this code, who issues an offi cial certifi cate of weight 
or measure after revocation of the person’s certifi cate of authority, or who issues an offi cial certifi cate of weight or measure 
without executing a bond as required under Section 13.256 [Bond] of this code commits an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.260, Agriculture Code] 

Weights and measures licenses, 
registrations, and certifi cates of 
authority (generally)

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed 
$500 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty 
assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.007, Agriculture Code]

Weights and measures inspection 
company license

Civil penalties• (a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter F. Inspection and Testing of Liquefi ed Petroleum Gas Meters] or a rule 
adopted under this subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $10,000 for each 
violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.307, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter G. Inspection and Testing of Ranch Scales] or a rule adopted under this 
subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $10,000 for each violation.  Each day 
a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.357, Agriculture Code]
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(a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter H. Licensed Inspectors of Weighing and Measuring Devices] or a rule 
adopted under this subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $10,000 for each 
violation. Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.406, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) An individual commits an offense if the individual is required to be licensed under this subchapter [Subchapter F. Inspection 
and Testing of Liquefi ed Petroleum Gas Meters], is not licensed under this subchapter, and performs or offers to perform an 
inspection or test on a liquefi ed petroleum gas meter for compensation.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.308, Agriculture Code]

(a) An individual commits an offense if the individual is required to be licensed under this subchapter [Subchapter G. Inspection 
and Testing of Ranch Scales], is not licensed under this subchapter, and performs or offers to perform an inspection or test on 
a ranch scale for compensation.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.358, Agriculture Code]

(a) An individual commits an offense if the individual is required to be licensed under this subchapter [Subchapter H. Licensed 
Inspectors of Weighing and Measuring Devices], is not licensed under this subchapter, and performs or offers to perform an 
inspection or test on a weighing or measuring device for compensation.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 13.407, Agriculture Code]

Other Licenses
Aquaculture facility license (a) Except as provided by Subsection (b), (c), or (d) of this section, a person who violates any provision of this chapter or rule 

adopted under this chapter commits an offense that is a Class C misdemeanor.
(b) A person who violates Section 134.019 [Marketing of Cultured Redfi sh and Cultured Speckled Sea Trout] or 134.020 
[Exotic Species] commits an offense that is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) A person who violates Section 134.022(b) of this code [relating to acquiring or otherwise exercising control over cultured 
species with intent to deprive the owner] by taking cultured species of a value of $200 or more but less than $750 commits an 
offense that is a Class A misdemeanor.
(d) A person who violates Section 134.022(b) of this code by taking cultured species of a value of $750 or more commits an 
offense that is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 134.023, Agriculture Code]
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Egg broker license; egg dealer-wholesaler 
license; egg processor license

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed 
$500 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty 
assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 132.0715, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates a provision of this chapter.
(b) An offense under this chapter is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 132.081, Agriculture Code]

Egg broker license; egg dealer-wholesaler 
license

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person sells, in bulk or in containers, eggs that are not denatured and are inedible for 
any reason, including eggs that are:
 (1) leakers;
 (2) affected by black, white, or mixed rot;
 (3) addled;
 (4) incubated; or
 (5) contaminated by a blood ring or an embryo chick at or beyond the blood-ring stage.
(b) It is an exception to the application of this section that:
 (1) the inedible eggs do not exceed fi ve percent by count of the eggs sold; and
 (2) the eggs are sold to:
  (A) a dealer for candling and grading; or
  (B) a breaking plant for breaking purposes.
(c) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 132.082, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person uses the prefi x “U.S.” on grades and weight classes of shell eggs that are not 
graded under offi cial United States Department of Agriculture supervision.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 132.083, Agriculture Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) advertises or sells shell eggs below the quality of Grade A by describing the eggs as “fresh,” “yard,” “selected,” “hennery,” 
“new-laid,” “infertile,” “cage,” or with words that have similar meaning; or
 (2) advertises eggs by price without also indicating the full, correct, and unabbreviated designation of size and grade of the 
eggs.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 132.084, Agriculture Code]  

Nursery or fl oral registration

Administrative penalty• (a) If a person violates a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section or a rule or order adopted by 
the department under a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section, the department may assess an 
administrative penalty against the person as provided by this section.
(b) The penalty for each violation may be in an amount not to exceed the maximum provided by Subsection (c) of this section.  
Each day a violation continues or occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessments.
(c) The provisions of this code subject to this section and the applicable penalty amounts are as follows:

Provision Amount of Penalty
Chapter 41 ..................................................................................................................................................... $1,000
Chapters 13, 14A, 18, 46, 61, 94, 95, 101, 102, 103, 121, 125, 132, and 134 .......................... not more than $500
Subchapter B [Inspection of Nursery Products and Florist Items], Chapter 71;
 Chapter 19; Chapter 76 ......................................................................................................not more than $2,000
Subchapters A [Inspections, Quarantines, Control and Eradication Zones]
 and C [Inspection of Vegetable Plants], Chapter 71; Chapters 72, 73, and 74 ...............not more than $5,000
Chapter 14 ............................................................................................................................ not more than $10,000

(d) In determining the amount of the penalty, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including but not limited to the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited 
acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health or safety of the public;
 (2) the damage to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 12.020, Agriculture Code]
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Civil penalties• (a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter A. Inspections; Quarantines; Control and Eradication Zones] or a rule 
adopted under this subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $10,000 for each 
violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.012, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter B. Inspection of Nursery Products and Florist Items] or a rule adopted 
under this subchapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 for each violation.  
Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.059, Agriculture Code] 

(a) A person who violates this subchapter [Subchapter C. Inspection of Vegetable Plants] or a rule adopted under this subchapter 
is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $10,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation 
continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.117, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if, in violation of a rule adopted under Section 71.007 [Rules] or 71.0081 [Vehicle Inspections 
for Insect Pests or Plant Diseases] of this code, the person:
 (1) sells, carries, or transports a plant, plant product, or substance that is found to be infested or infected or found to be from 
a quarantined area;
 (2) sells, carries, or transports a plant, plant product, or substance into a pest-free zone;
 (3) maintains ripening fruit during the host-free period on any tree declared to be a nuisance in the quarantine order;
 (4) fails or refuses to administer the treatment provided for, including specifi c methods of spraying, removal of diseased 
parts, removal and destruction of fallen or culled fruits, or removal of weeds or plants that may be hosts or carriers of insect 
pests or plant diseases; or
 (5) fails to store products in the manner required.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) A person commits a separate offense for each plant or plant product sold or transported.
(d) An offense under this section may be prosecuted in any county in which the violation occurs.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.013, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person wilfully or negligently:
 (1) violates a provision of this subchapter [Subchapter B. Inspection of Nursery Products and Florist Items]; or
 (2) fails or refuses to comply with a notice, order, or rule of the department under this subchapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Each day that a person maintains premises in a condition not in compliance with this subchapter after receiving notice by 
registered or certifi ed mail under Section 71.046 of this code is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.058, Agriculture Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) wilfully or negligently violates a provision of this subchapter [Subchapter C. Inspection of Vegetable Plants]; or
 (2) makes a false representation of plants by use of a certifi cate tag or stamp.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) A person fi nally convicted of an offense under this section shall be removed from the list of certifi ed growers for a period 
of 12 months.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.116, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person sells, distributes, or imports into the state a noxious or invasive plant species 
included on the department’s list described under Section 71.151 [List Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) A person commits a separate offense for each noxious or invasive plant item or unit sold, distributed, or imported.
[Statutory Authority: Section 71.152, Agriculture Code] 

Rose grading certifi cate of authority (a) A person commits an offense if the person advertises, sells, or offers for sale a rose plant or a shipment of rose plants that 
is not clearly and distinctly marked with a grade in accordance with the rules of the department.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 121.010, Agriculture Code]

Perishable commodities license 
(handling and marketing of)

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed 
$500 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty 
assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 101.0185, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) acts in violation of Section 101.003 [License Required] by not obtaining a license or registration or after receiving notice 
of cancellation of a license or registration;
 (2) acts or assumes to act as a transporting agent or buying agent:
  (A) without fi rst obtaining an identifi cation card; or
  (B) after receiving notice of cancellation of an identifi cation card;
 (3) as a transporting agent or buying agent, fails and refuses to turn over to the department an identifi cation card in accordance 
with Section 101.010(e) [Transporting Agent or Buying Agent Identifi cation Card; subsection requires cardholder to return the 
card to the department for cancellation when no longer the agent of the licensee];
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 (4) as a license holder, fails to furnish information under Section 101.017 [Record of Sale] before the 11th day following 
the date of demand;
 (5) as a license holder, fails to settle with a producer or seller on the grade and quality of perishable commodities in the 
manner provided by Section 101.015 [Settlement on Grade and Quality];
 (6) as a cash dealer, pays for perishable commodities by a means other than United States currency;
 (7) as a license holder, transporting agent, or buying agent, violates a provision of this chapter;
 (8) acts or assumes to act as a cash dealer without fi rst registering as a cash dealer;
 (9) as a license holder, buys or sells perishable commodities by weight and does not have the perishable commodities 
weighed on scales that meet state requirements;
 (10) fails to prepare and maintain records required by Sections 101.016 [Records of Purchase], 101.017, and 101.018 
[Department Enforcement]; or
 (11) fails to provide records as required by Sections 101.016 and 101.018.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not more than $500.
(c) A person commits a separate offense for each day the person acts in violation of Section 101.003 of this code without fi rst 
obtaining a license or violates Subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3) of this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 101.020, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person acts or assumes to act as a license holder under Chapter 101 [Handling and 
Marketing of Perishable Commodities] without fi rst paying the fee required by this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not more than $500.
(c) A person commits a separate offense for each day the person acts in violation of this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 103.013, Agriculture Code]

Public grain warehouse license

Administrative penalty• (a) If a person violates a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section or a rule or order adopted by 
the department under a provision of this code described by Subsection (c) of this section, the department may assess an 
administrative penalty against the person as provided by this section.
(b) The penalty for each violation may be in an amount not to exceed the maximum provided by Subsection (c) of this section.  
Each day a violation continues or occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessments.
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(c) The provisions of this code subject to this section and the applicable penalty amounts are as follows:
Provision Amount of Penalty
Chapter 41 ..................................................................................................................................................... $1,000
Chapters 13, 14A, 18, 46, 61, 94, 95, 101, 102, 103, 121, 125, 132, and 134 .......................... not more than $500
Subchapter B, Chapter 71; Chapter 19; Chapter 76 ............................................................... not more than $2,000
Subchapters A and C, Chapter 71; Chapters 72, 73, and 74 ................................................... not more than $5,000
Chapter 14 [Regulation of Public Grain Warehouse Operators] .....................................not more than $10,000

(d) In determining the amount of the penalty, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including but not limited to the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited 
acts, and the hazard or potential hazard created to the health or safety of the public;
 (2) the damage to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 12.020, Agriculture Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $500 or more than $10,000 for each 
violation.  Each day a violation occurs or continues may be considered a separate violation for purposes of a civil penalty 
assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.086, Agriculture Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates a provision of this chapter for which an offense is not expressly 
provided.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.071, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) transacts any public grain warehouse business without fi rst obtaining a license required by this chapter; or
 (2) continues to transact public grain warehouse business after a license has been revoked or suspended, or the license 
holder has been placed on probation, except as permitted under Section 14.084 [Operation After Revocation or Suspension of 
a License or Probation].
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
(c) A person commits a separate offense for each day business prohibited by this section is carried on.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.072, Agriculture Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) issues or aids in issuing a receipt or scale weight ticket knowing that the grain covered by the receipt or scale weight 
ticket has not been actually received at the grain warehouse;
 (2) issues or aids in issuing a duplicate or additional negotiable receipt for grain knowing that a former negotiable receipt 
for the same grain or any part of the grain is outstanding except as permitted by Section 14.055 [Duplicate Receipts]; or
 (3) fraudulently and without proper authority represents, forges, alters, counterfeits, or simulates any license, scale weight 
ticket, or receipt provided for by this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.073, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) delivers grain out of a public grain warehouse knowing that a negotiable receipt for the grain is outstanding and without 
possessing that receipt; or
 (2) delivers grain out of a public grain warehouse:
  (A) knowing that a nonnegotiable receipt or scale weight ticket is outstanding;
  (B) without the prior approval of the person lawfully entitled to delivery; and
  (C) without the delivery being shown on the appropriate records of the warehouse operator.
(b) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution under this section that the person’s action is:
 (1) a sale or other disposition of grain in lawful enforcement of a warehouse operator’s lien;
 (2) a warehouse operator’s lawful termination of a storing, shipping, or handling agreement;
 (3) a delivery to the person lawfully entitled to delivery;
 (4) a delivery authorized by prior approval of the person lawfully entitled to delivery and the delivery is shown on the 
appropriate records of the warehouse operator;
 (5) necessary to prevent destruction of the grain;
 (6) taken under the order of a state or federal court; or
 (7) permitted by a rule of the department necessary to carry out this chapter.
(c) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.074, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person fraudulently issues or aids in fraudulently issuing a receipt or scale weight ticket 
knowing that it contains a false statement.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.075, Agriculture Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person changes a receipt or scale weight ticket after its issuance.
(b) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that the change on the receipt or scale weight ticket is a notation by the 
warehouse operator for partial delivery or corrections made by the warehouse operator to refl ect accuracy of accounts.
(c) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.076, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) deposits grain without having title to the grain or deposits grain on which there is a lien or mortgage;
 (2) receives for the grain a negotiable receipt; and
 (3) negotiates the receipt for value with intent to deceive and without disclosing the person’s lack of title or the existence 
of a lien or mortgage on the grain.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.077, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) obtains or exercises control over grain stored in a public grain warehouse without the owner’s effective consent and with 
the intent to deprive the owner of the grain;
 (2) obtains from another person grain stolen from a public grain warehouse knowing that the grain is stolen; or
 (3) exercises control over grain stolen from a public grain warehouse knowing that the grain is stolen.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the second degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.078, Agriculture Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) without the department’s consent and with the intent to obstruct the department’s regulation, management, or control 
of sealed grain, obtains or exercises control over grain stored in a building, bin, or other similar structure sealed by the 
department;
 (2) breaks, removes, vandalizes, or otherwise interferes with a department seal placed on a building, bin, or other similar 
structure used for the receiving of grain for hire, shipping of grain for hire, storing of grain for hire, or handling of grain for 
hire;
 (3) without the department’s consent and with the intent to obstruct the department’s regulation, management, or control of 
sealed grain, interferes with the department’s access to or control of grain stored in a building, bin, or other similar structure 
sealed by the department; or
 (4) interferes with the lawful investigation or inspection of the facilities, records, or grain deposits of a public grain warehouse 
by a department inspector or other department offi cial.
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(b) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution under this section that the person’s action is:
 (1) necessary to prevent destruction of stored grain or the sealed structure; or
 (2) taken under the order of a state or federal court.
(c) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.079, Agriculture Code]

Vegetable seed license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person sells or offers, exposes, or transports for sale agricultural or vegetable seed 
within this state that:
 (1) has not been tested for germination in accordance with Section 61.009 [Germination and Purity Testing] of this code;
 (2) is not labeled in accordance with Section 61.004 [Labeling of Agricultural Seed], 61.005 [Labeling of Vegetable Seed], 
or 61.006 [Labeling of Treated Seed] of this code, as applicable;
 (3) has false or misleading labeling;
 (4) is represented by a false or misleading advertisement;
 (5) contains noxious weed seeds in excess of the limitations per pound, allowing for tolerances, prescribed under Section 
61.008 [Noxious Weed Content] of this code;
 (6) has labeling or advertising subject to this chapter that represents the seed to be certifi ed in violation of Section 61.007 
[Certifi ed Seed] of this code; or
 (7) is labeled by variety name in violation of Section 61.007(b) [subsection prohibits dealing in certain seed labeled by 
variety name if the seed is not certifi ed by an offi cial seed certifying agency] of this code.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) detaches, alters, defaces, or destroys any label provided for in this chapter or the rules adopted under this chapter;
 (2) alters or substitutes seed in a manner that may defeat the purposes of this chapter;
 (3) disseminates a false or misleading advertisement concerning agricultural or vegetable seed;
 (4) fails to comply with a stop-sale order issued under Section 61.014 [Stop-Sale Order] of this code;
 (5) hinders or obstructs an authorized person in the performance of duties under this chapter;
 (6) uses the word “type” in violation of Section 61.004(b) [subsection prohibits using the word “type” in any labeling in 
connection with the name of an agricultural seed variety] of this code; or
 (7) violates any other provision of this chapter.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(d) If a person is prosecuted under this section for selling or offering or exposing for sale in this state agricultural or vegetable 
seed that is incorrectly labeled or represented as to kind, variety, type, treatment, or origin and that cannot be identifi ed by 
examination, it is a defense to prosecution that the defendant obtained an invoice or grower’s declaration giving kind, kind and 
variety, or kind and type, treatment, and origin, if required.
[Statutory Authority: Section 61.018, Agriculture Code]
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Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
Alcoholic beverage licenses and 
permits (generally)

Administrative penalty in certain • 
counties

(a) This section applies only to an original or renewal application made in connection with an establishment located in a county 
with a population of 1.4 million or more.
(b) In addition to any other applicable civil or criminal penalty, the commission may impose an administrative penalty not 
to exceed $4,000 on a licensee or permittee who makes a false or misleading statement in an original or renewal application, 
either in the formal application itself or in any written instrument relating to the application submitted to the commission or 
its offi cers or employees, in connection with an establishment that is licensed or permitted under Chapter 25 or 69 for the 
on-premises consumption of beer exclusively or beer and wine exclusively, other than an establishment holding a food and 
beverage certifi cate whose primary business being operated on the premises is food service.
[Statutory Authority: Section 11.321, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

Civil penalty • (a) When the commission or administrator is authorized to suspend a permit or license under this code, the commission or 
administrator shall give the permittee or licensee the opportunity to pay a civil penalty rather than have the permit or license 
suspended, unless the basis for the suspension is a violation of Section 11.61(b)(14) [relating to cancellation or suspension 
of permit for selling or delivering an alcoholic beverage to an intoxicated person], 22.12 [Breach of Peace; relating to a 
wine only package store permit], 28.11 [Breach of Peace; relating to a mixed beverage permit], 32.17(a)(2) [relating to the 
cancellation or suspension of a private club registration permit for refusing to allow a commission agent or a peace offi cer onto 
club premises during an investigation], 32.17(a)(3) [providing for the cancellation or suspension of a private club registration 
permit for refusing to furnish a commission agent or representative with requested information], 61.71(a)(5) [providing for 
the cancellation or suspension of a retail dealer’s on- or off-premise license for providing an alcoholic beverage to a minor], 
61.71(a)(6) [providing for the cancellation or suspension of a retail dealer’s on- or off-premise license for providing an 
alcoholic beverage to an intoxicated person], 61.74(a)(14) [providing for the cancellation or suspension of a distributor’s 
license for selling or delivering beer to a minor], 69.13 [Breach of Peace:  Retail Establishment; relating to a retail dealer’s 
on-premise license], 71.09 [Breach of Peace:  Retail Establishment; relating to a retail dealer’s off-premise license], 101.04 
[Consent to Inspection; Penalty], 101.63 [Sale to Certain Persons], 106.03 [Sale to Minors], 106.06 [Purchase of Alcohol for 
a Minor;  Furnishing Alcohol to a Minor], or 106.15 [Prohibited Activities by Persons Younger Than 18], the sale or offer for 
sale of an alcoholic beverage during hours prohibited by Chapter 105 [Hours of Sale and Consumption], consumption or the 
permitting of consumption of an alcoholic beverage on the person’s licensed or permitted premises during hours prohibited 
by Chapter 105 or Section 32.17(a)(7) [providing for the cancellation or suspension of a private club registration permit for 
causing, permitting, or allowing any person to consume or be served any alcoholic beverage on the club premises during 
certain periods], or an offense relating to prostitution or gambling, in which case the commission or administrator shall 
determine whether the permittee or licensee may have the opportunity to pay a civil penalty rather than have the permit or 
license suspended.  The commission shall adopt rules addressing when suspension may be imposed pursuant to this section
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without the opportunity to pay a civil penalty.  In adopting rules under this subsection, the commission shall consider the type 
of license or permit held, the type of violation, any aggravating or ameliorating circumstances concerning the violation, and 
any past violations of this code by the permittee or licensee.  In cases in which a civil penalty is assessed, the commission or 
administrator shall determine the amount of the penalty.  The amount of the civil penalty may not be less than $150 or more 
than $25,000 for each day the permit or license was to have been suspended.  If the licensee or permittee does not pay the 
penalty before the sixth day after the commission or administrator notifi es him of the amount, the commission or administrator 
shall impose the suspension.
(b) In the case of a violation of this code by a permittee or a licensee, the commission or administrator may relax any 
provision of the code relating to the suspension or cancellation of the permit or license and assess a sanction the commission 
or administrator fi nds just under the circumstances, and the commission or administrator may reinstate the license or permit 
at any time during the period of suspension on payment by the permittee or licensee of a fee of not less than $75 nor more 
than $500, if the commission or administrator fi nds that any of the circumstances described in Subsection (c) exists.
(c) The following circumstances justify the application of Subsection (b):
 (1) that the violation could not reasonably have been prevented by the permittee or licensee by the exercise of due 
diligence;
 (2) that the permittee or licensee was entrapped;
 (3) that an agent, servant, or employee of the permittee or licensee violated this code without the knowledge of the permittee 
or licensee;
 (4) that the permittee or licensee did not knowingly violate this code;
 (5) that the permittee or licensee has demonstrated good faith, including the taking of actions to rectify the consequences of 
the violation and to deter future violations; or
 (6) that the violation was a technical one.
[Statutory Authority: Section 11.64, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person who violates a provision of this code for which a specifi c penalty is not provided is guilty of a misdemeanor and 
on conviction is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by confi nement in the county jail for 
not more than one year or by both.
(b) The term “specifi c penalty,” as used in this section, means a penalty which might be imposed as a result of a criminal 
prosecution.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1.05, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

A person who violates a valid rule of the commission is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is punishable by the 
penalty prescribed in Section 1.05 of this code [see above].
[Statutory Authority: Section 5.42, Alcoholic Beverage Code]
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(a) By accepting a license or permit, the holder consents to the commission, an authorized representative of the commission, 
or a peace offi cer entering the licensed premises at any time to conduct an investigation or inspect the premises for the purpose 
of performing any duty imposed by this code.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person refuses to allow the commission, an authorized representative of the commission, 
or a peace offi cer to enter a licensed or permitted premises as required by Subsection (a). An offense under this section is a 
Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority:  Section 101.04, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person with criminal negligence sells an alcoholic beverage to an habitual drunkard or 
an intoxicated or insane person.
(b) Except as provided in Subsection (c) of this section, a violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of 
not less than $100 nor more than $500, by confi nement in jail for not more than one year, or by both.
(c) If a person has been previously convicted of a violation of this section or of Section 106.03 [Sale to Minors] of this code, 
a violation is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000, by confi nement in jail for 
not more than one year, or by both.
[Statutory Authority:  Section 101.63, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

Except as provided in Section 103.05(d) [relating to a peace offi cer’s falsifi ed report of a property seizure] of this code, a 
person who makes a false statement or false representation in an application for a permit or license or in a statement, report, 
or other instrument to be fi led with the commission and required to be sworn commits an offense punishable by imprisonment 
in the penitentiary for not less than 2 nor more than 10 years.
[Statutory Authority: Section 101.69, Alcoholic Beverage Code]

(a) A permittee or licensee commits an offense if he employs, authorizes, permits, or induces a person younger than 18 years 
of age to dance with another person in exchange for a benefi t, as defi ned by Section 1.07, Penal Code [Defi nitions], on the 
premises covered by the permit or license.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) In addition to a penalty imposed under Subsection (b), the commission or administrator shall:
 (1) suspend for a period of fi ve days the license or permit of a person convicted of a fi rst offense under Subsection (a);
 (2) suspend for a period of 60 days the license or permit of a person convicted of a second offense under Subsection (a); and
 (3) cancel the license or permit of a person convicted of a third offense under Subsection (a).
(d) This section does not apply to a gift or benefi t given for a dance at a wedding, anniversary, or similar event.
(e) A person does not commit an offense under Subsection (a) if the person younger than 18 years of age falsely represents 
the person’s age to be at least 18 years of age by displaying an apparently valid Texas driver’s license or an identifi cation card 
issued by the Department of Public Safety containing a physical description consistent with the person’s appearance.
[Statutory Authority: Section 106.15, Alcoholic Beverage Code] 
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Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certifi cation Board
Appraiser licenses and certifi cates 
(generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The board may impose an administrative penalty under Section 1103.518(2)(H) [relating to action after hearing; authorizing 
an administrative law judge to impose an administrative penalty after a contested case hearing] in an amount not to exceed:
 (1) $1,500 for each violation; or
 (2) $5,000 for multiple violations proved in one contested case.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1103.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalties• (a) A certifi ed or licensed appraiser who fi les against another certifi ed or licensed appraiser a complaint that the board determines 
by the board to be frivolous is liable for a civil penalty.
(b) The amount of a civil penalty imposed under this section may not be less than $1,000 or more than $10,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1103.553, Occupations Code]

(a) A person who receives consideration for engaging in an activity for which a certifi cate or license is required under this 
chapter and who does not hold a certifi cate or license is liable for a civil penalty.
(b) The amount of a civil penalty imposed under this section may not be less than the amount of money equal to the value 
of the consideration received or more than three times the amount of money equal to the value of the consideration 
received.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1103.5535, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:
 (1) provides false information in connection with a required affi davit fi led under Section 1103.205 [Fulfi llment of Experience 
Requirements]; or
 (2) violates Section 1103.401 [Use of Insignia or Identifi cation].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1103.554, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person engages in an activity for which a certifi cate or license is required under this 
chapter without holding a certifi cate or license.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1103.5545, Occupations Code]
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Texas Board of Architectural Examiners
Architect, landscape architect, and 
interior designer registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person who engages in conduct for which the person is subject to 
disciplinary action under this subtitle [Subtitle B.  Regulation of Architecture and Related Practices], regardless of whether 
the person holds a certifi cate of registration issued under this subtitle.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1051.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000.
(b) In determining the amount of a penalty, the board shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the conduct that is the ground for imposing the penalty, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any relevant act or omission; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health or safety of the public;
 (2) the economic damage to property caused by the conduct;
 (3) the history of previous grounds for imposing a penalty on the person who engaged in the conduct;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future conduct that is a ground for imposing a penalty;
 (5) efforts to correct the conduct that is a ground for imposing a penalty; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
(c) The board by rule shall adopt an administrative penalty schedule for violations of this subtitle or board rules to ensure that 
the amounts of penalties imposed are appropriate to the violation.  The board must provide the administrative penalty schedule 
to the public on request.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1051.452, Occupations Code]

Architect registration

Criminal penalty• (a) A person, whether acting independently or on behalf of the person’s fi rm, commits a violation if, in violation of this chapter, 
the person:
 (1) engages in the practice of architecture, or offers or attempts to engage in the practice of architecture;
 (2) prepares architectural plans or specifi cations for and observes or supervises the construction, enlargement, or alteration 
of a building for another person; or
 (3) advertises or puts out a sign, card, or drawing designating the person as an architect or architectural designer or uses 
another business or professional title that uses a form of the word “architect.”
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $250 and not more than $1,000. 
Each day of violation is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1051.801, Occupations Code]
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Interior designer registration

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 1053.151 [Registration Required] or a standard of 
conduct adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1053.351, Occupations Code]

Texas Department of Banking
Money services business license

Administrative penalty• (a) After notice and hearing, the commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person that:
 (1) has violated this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter and has failed to correct the violation not 
later than the 30th day after the date the department sends written notice of the violation to the person;
 (2) if the person is a license holder, has engaged in conduct specifi ed in Section 151.703 [Suspension and Revocation of 
License];
 (3) has engaged in a pattern of violations; or
 (4) has demonstrated wilful disregard for the requirements of this chapter, the rules adopted under this chapter, or an order 
issued under this chapter.
(b) A violation corrected after a person receives written notice from the department of the violation may be considered for 
purposes of determining whether a person has engaged in a pattern of violations under Subsection (a)(3) or demonstrated 
wilful disregard under Subsection (a)(4).
(c) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation or, in the case of a continuing violation, $5,000 for 
each day that the violation continues.  Each transaction in violation of this chapter and each day that a violation continues is 
a separate violation.
(d) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider factors that include the seriousness of the 
violation, the person’s compliance history, and the person’s good faith in attempting to comply with this chapter, provided that 
if the person is found to have demonstrated wilful disregard under Subsection (a)(4), the trier of fact shall recommend that the 
commissioner impose the maximum administrative penalty permitted under Subsection (c).
[Statutory Authority: Section 151.707, Finance Code]
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) intentionally makes a false statement, misrepresentation, or certifi cation in a record or application fi led with the 
department or required to be maintained under this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, or intentionally 
makes a false entry or omits a material entry in the record or application; or
 (2) knowingly engages in an activity for which a license is required under Subchapter D [Money Transmission License] 
without being licensed under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 151.708, Finance Code]

Perpetual care cemetery certifi cate of 
authority

Administrative penalty• (a) After notice and opportunity for hearing, the commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person who:
 (1) violates this chapter or a fi nal order of the commissioner or rule of the Finance Commission of Texas and does not 
correct the violation before the 31st day after the date the person receives written notice of the violation from the banking 
department; or
 (2) engages in a pattern of violations, as determined by the commissioner.
(b) The amount of the penalty for each violation may not exceed $1,000 for each day the violation occurs.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider the seriousness of the violation, the person’s 
history of violations, and the person’s good faith in attempting to comply with this chapter.  The imposition of a penalty under 
this section is subject to judicial review as a contested case under Chapter 2001, Government Code.  The commissioner may 
collect the penalty in the same manner that a money judgment is enforced in district court.
[Statutory Authority: Section 712.0441, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person who is an individual, fi rm, association, corporation, or municipality, or an offi cer, agent, or employee of an 
individual, fi rm, association, corporation, or municipality, commits an offense if the person sells, offers to sell, or advertises 
for sale an interment right in a plot and, before a fund is established for the cemetery in which the plot is located as provided 
by this chapter, represents that the plot is under perpetual care.  An offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.  
This subsection does not prevent an aggrieved party or the attorney general from maintaining a civil action for the recovery of 
damages caused by an injury resulting from an offense under this subsection.
(b) A person who is an individual, fi rm, association, corporation, or municipality, or an offi cer, agent, or employee of an 
individual, fi rm, association, corporation, or municipality, commits an offense if the person knowingly defalcates or 
misappropriates assets of a fund.  An offense under this subsection is punishable as if it were an offense under Section 32.45, 
Penal Code [Misapplication of Fiduciary Property or Property of a Financial Institution].2

[Statutory Authority: Section 712.048, Health and Safety Code]

187



Table 2.  Statutory Penalties for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses1

Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

Prepaid funeral contract seller permit

Administrative penalty• (a) After notice and opportunity for hearing, the commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person who:
 (1) violates this chapter or a fi nal order of the commissioner or rule of the commission and does not correct the violation 
before the 31st day after the date the person receives written notice of the violation from the department; or
 (2) engages in a pattern of violations, as determined by the commissioner.
(b) The amount of the penalty for each violation may not exceed $1,000 for each day the violation occurs.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider the seriousness of the violation, the person’s 
history of violations, and the person’s good faith in attempting to comply with this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 154.406, Finance Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) Except as provided by Section 154.402 [Criminal Penalty Relating to Deposit or Withdrawal of Money], an offi cer, director, 
agent, or employee of a seller commits an offense if the person:
 (1) makes or attempts to make a contract in violation of this chapter;
 (2) refuses to allow an inspection of the seller’s records relating to the sale of prepaid funeral benefi ts;
 (3) engages in fraud, deception, misrepresentation, or another dishonest practice in the sale of a contract subject to this 
chapter; or
 (4) otherwise violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section for which a penalty is not expressly provided by this subchapter is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $500;
 (2) confi nement in the county jail for a term of not less than one month or more than six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
(c) Each violation of this chapter is a separate offense and shall be prosecuted individually.
[Statutory Authority: Section 154.401, Finance Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) fails to deposit money in compliance with this chapter; or
 (2) withdraws money in a manner inconsistent with this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable as if it were an offense under Section 32.45, Penal Code [Misapplication of 
Fiduciary Property or Property of a Financial Institution].2

[Statutory Authority: Section 154.402, Finance Code]

(a) An offi cer of a seller commits an offense if the offi cer fails or refuses to fi le an annual report required by Section 154.052 
[Annual Report] before the 31st day after the date the offi cer is notifi ed by the department of the requirement.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor and is punishable as provided by Section 154.401 [see above].
[Statutory Authority: Section 154.403, Finance Code]
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(a) A seller or a person acting on behalf of a seller commits an offense if the seller or person:
 (1) collects money under a prepaid funeral benefi ts contract; and
 (2) fails to deliver the money to a designated agent of the seller before the 31st day after the date it is collected.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable as if it were an offense under Section 32.45, Penal Code [Misapplication of 
Fiduciary Property or Property of a Financial Institution].2

[Statutory Authority: Section 154.404, Finance Code]

(a) A designated agent of a seller commits an offense if the agent fails to deposit money collected under a prepaid funeral 
benefi ts contract before the 31st day after the date it is received by the agent.
(b) It is an exception to the application of this section that the failure to make a deposit is inadvertent and is corrected before 
the 11th day after the date the seller discovers the failure.
(c) An offense under this section is punishable as if it were an offense under Section 32.45, Penal Code [Misapplication of 
Fiduciary Property or Property of a Financial Institution].2

[Statutory Authority: Section 154.405, Finance Code]

Texas Board of Chiropractic Examiners
Chiropractic licenses

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this chapter if the person violates this 
chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority:  Section 201.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000.
(b) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 201.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted by the board under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty 
of $1,000 for each day of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 201.603, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.  An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by 
a fi ne of not less than $50 or more than $500 or by confi nement in the county jail for not more than 30 days.
[Statutory Authority: Section 201.604, Occupations Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 201.301 [License Required].
(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), an offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant has been previously convicted under Subsection (a), the offense 
is a felony of the third degree.
(d) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 201.605, Occupations Code]

(a) In this section, “intoxicated” has the meaning assigned by Section 49.01, Penal Code.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person is licensed or regulated under this chapter, provides chiropractic treatment or 
services to a patient while intoxicated, and, by reason of that conduct, places the patient at a substantial and unjustifi able risk 
of harm.
(c) An offense under this section is a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 201.606, Occupations Code]

Offi ce of Consumer Credit Commissioner
Pawnshop license; pawnshop employee 
license

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under 
this chapter.
(b) The commissioner may assess the administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $1,000.
(c) Each day a violation continues or occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of this section.  The aggregate 
amount of penalties that may be assessed under this section against a person during one calendar year may not exceed $10,000 
for violations an element of which occurred at the same business location.
(d) In determining the amount of a penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 371.303, Finance Code]
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Criminal penalties• (a) A person who violates Section 371.051 [Pawnshop License Required] commits an offense.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) accepts employment at a pawnshop writing pawn transactions; and
 (2) does not comply with Section 371.101(a) [requiring a pawnshop employee to apply for a pawnshop employee license 
not later than 75 days after the date employment begins].
(c) A person commits an offense if the person continues employment at a pawnshop after:
 (1) the person’s application for a pawnshop employee license is denied; or
 (2) the person’s pawnshop employee license has expired or has been revoked, suspended, or surrendered.
(d) Except as provided by Subsection (e), an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(e) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne not to exceed $10,000;
 (2) confi nement in county jail for a term not to exceed one year; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 371.304, Finance Code]

Refund anticipation loan facilitator 
registration

Administrative penalty• The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty of $500 against a person for each knowing and wilful violation of 
this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.007, Finance Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person engages in a business that is subject to Chapter 342 [Consumer Loans], 346 
[Revolving Credit Accounts], or 351 [Tax Refund Anticipation Loans] without holding the license or other authorization 
required under that chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not more than $1,000.
(c) Each loan made without the required authority by Chapter 342, 346, or 351 is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 349.502, Finance Code]

Regulated loan license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person engages in a business that is subject to Chapter 342 [Consumer Loans], 346, or 
351 without holding the license or other authorization required under that chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not more than $1,000.
(c) Each loan made without the required authority by Chapter 342, 346, or 351 is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 349.502, Finance Code]
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Court Reporters Certifi cation Board
Court reporting fi rm registration; 
shorthand reporter certifi cate

Criminal penalty• (a) Except as provided by Section 52.031 [Employment of Noncertifi ed Shorthand Reporters], a person commits an offense if 
the person engages in shorthand reporting in violation of  Section 52.021 [Certifi cation of Reporters] of this code.  Each day 
of violation constitutes a separate offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 52.032, Government Code]

State Board of Dental Examiners
Dental licenses

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this subtitle [Subtitle D. Dentistry] 
who violates this subtitle or a rule or order adopted under this subtitle.
[Statutory Authority: Section 264.001, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The executive director or a board subcommittee, of which, at least one member is a public member of the board, shall 
determine the amount of the penalty based on a standardized penalty schedule.  The board by rule shall develop the schedule 
based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic damage to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 264.002, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates a provision of this subtitle is liable to the state for a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $5,000.
(b) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing the civil penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 264.101, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this subtitle [Subtitle D.  Dentistry].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) A violation under this section does not include a violation to which Section 262.203 [Criminal Penalty; relating to dental 
hygienists] applies.
(d) If it is shown at the trial of an offense under this section that the defendant was previously convicted under this section or 
if the offense involves practicing without an appropriate board license, the offense is a felony of the third degree.
(e) Each day of a violation is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 264.151, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 258.0511 [Access to Dental Records].
(b) Notwithstanding Section 264.151 [Criminal Penalty], an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) If it is shown at the trial of an offense under this section that the defendant was previously convicted under this section, the 
offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 264.152, Occupations Code]

Dental hygienist license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates a provision of this chapter or Chapter 256 [Licensing of Dentists and 
Dental Hygienists] relating to the regulation of dental hygienists.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $1,000;
 (2) confi nement in jail for not less than one month or more than one year; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
(c) Each day of a violation under this section is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 262.203, Occupations Code]

Dental laboratory registration

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) is a dentist and provides a dental laboratory service without being exempt under Section 266.002(2); or
 (2) violates Section 266.151 [Registration Required] or 266.301 [Dental Prosthetic Appliance].
(b) An offense for a violation of Section 266.151 or Section 266.301(b) is a felony of the third degree.
(c) An offense for a violation of Section 266.301(c) or (d) [Dental Prosthetic Appliance] is a Class C misdemeanor.  If it is 
shown on the trial of an offense under this section that the defendant has previously been convicted for an offense under this 
subsection, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 266.303, Occupations Code]
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Texas Board of Professional Engineers
Engineer license; engineer fi rm registration

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1001.501, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $3,000 for each violation. Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts or resistance to efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
(c) The board may include in the amount of the penalty the actual costs of investigating and prosecuting the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1001.502, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) engages in the practice of engineering without being licensed or exempted from the licensing requirement under this chapter;
 (2) violates this chapter;
 (3) presents or attempts to use as the person’s own the license or seal of another; or
 (4) gives false evidence of any kind to the board or a board member in obtaining a license.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1001.552, Occupations Code]

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Backfl ow prevention assembly tester 
license; customer service inspector 
license; public water system operator 
license (Classes A, B, C, and D); water 
operations company registration
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Administrative penalty• (a) If a person causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of this subchapter [Subchapter C. Sanitary Standards of Drinking 
Water;  Protection of Public Water Supplies and Bodies of Water] or a rule or order adopted under this subchapter, the 
commission may assess a penalty against that person as provided by this section.  The penalty shall not be less than $50 nor 
more than $1,000 for each violation. Each day of a continuing violation may be considered a separate violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commission shall consider:
 (1) the nature of the circumstances and the extent, duration, and gravity of the prohibited acts or omissions;
 (2) with respect to the alleged violator:
  (A) the history and extent of previous violations;
  (B) the degree of culpability, including whether the violation was attributable to mechanical or electrical failures and 
whether the violation could have been reasonably anticipated and avoided;
  (C) the person’s demonstrated good faith, including actions taken by the person to correct the cause of the violation;
  (D) any economic benefi t gained through the violation; and
  (E) the amount necessary to deter future violation; and
 (3) any other matters that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 341.049, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter or if the person violates 
a permitting or inspection requirement imposed under Section 341.064(n) [Swimming Pools and Bathhouses; relating to the 
authority of a county or municipality regarding permits for and inspections of public swimming pools] or a closure order 
issued under Section 341.064(o) [relating to the authority of a county or municipality to close a public swimming pool]. An 
offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $10 or more than $200.
(b) If it is shown on the trial of the defendant that the defendant has been convicted of an offense under this chapter within a 
year before the date on which the offense being tried occurred, the defendant shall be punished by a fi ne of not less than $10 
or more than $1,000, confi nement in jail for not more than 30 days, or both.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 341.091, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates a provision of Section 341.031 [Public Drinking Water];
 (2) violates a provision of Section 341.032(a) or  (b) [Drinking Water Provided by Common Carrier];
 (3) violates a provision of Section 341.033(a)-(f) [Protection of Public Water Supplies];
 (4) constructs a drinking water supply system without submitting completed plans and specifi cations as required by Section 
341.035(c) [Approved Plans Required for Public Water Supplies];
 (5) begins construction of a drinking water supply system without the commission’s approval as required by Section 
341.035(a);
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 (6) violates a provision of Section 341.0351 [Notifi cation of System Changes] or 341.0352 [Advertised Quality of Water Supply];
 (7) fails to remove a sign as required by Section 341.0354 [Highway Signs for Approved System Rating]; or
 (8) violates a provision of Section 341.036 [Sanitary Defects at Public Drinking Water Supply Systems].
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c)  If it is shown on a trial of the defendant that the defendant has been convicted of such an offense within a year before the 
date on which the offense being tried occurred, the subsequent offense is a Class B misdemeanor.
(d) Each day of a continuing violation is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 341.047, Health and Safety Code]

Landscape irrigation installer license or 
landscape irrigator license

Administrative penalty• (a) The amount of the penalty for a violation of Chapter 37 of this code, Chapter 366, 371, or 372, Health and Safety Code, or 
Chapter 1903, Occupations Code [Irrigators], may not exceed $2,500 a day for each violation. Each day that a continuing 
violation occurs may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 7.052, Water Code]

Civil penalty• A person who causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, order, or permit relating to Chapter 37 of this code, Chapter 
366, 371, or 372, Health and Safety Code, Subchapter G, Chapter 382, Health and Safety Code, or Chapter 1903, Occupations Code, 
shall be assessed for each violation a civil penalty not less than $50 nor greater than $5,000 for each day of each violation as the court 
or jury considers proper.  A person who causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, order, or permit relating to any 
other matter within the commission’s jurisdiction to enforce, other than violations of Chapter 11, 12, 13, 16, or 36 of this code, or Chapter 
341, Health and Safety Code, shall be assessed for each violation a civil penalty not less than $50 nor greater than $25,000 for each day 
of each violation as the court or jury considers proper.  Each day of a continuing violation is a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 7.102, Water Code]

On-site sewage facility licenses and 
registrations

Administrative penalty• (a)  The commission may assess an administrative penalty against a person as provided by this subchapter if:
 (1)  the person violates:
  (A)  a provision of this code or of the Health and Safety Code that is within the commission’s jurisdiction;
  (B) a rule adopted or order issued by the commission under a statute within the commission’s jurisdiction; or
  (C) a permit issued by the commission under a statute within the commission’s jurisdiction; and
 (2) a county, political subdivision, or municipality has not instituted a lawsuit and is not diligently prosecuting that lawsuit 
under Subchapter H against the same person for the same violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 7.051, Water Code]
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(a) The amount of the penalty for a violation of Chapter 37 of this code, Chapter 366 [On-Site Sewage Disposal Systems], 
371, or 372, Health and Safety Code, or Chapter 1903, Occupations Code, may not exceed $2,500 a day for each violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 7.052, Water Code]

Civil penalty• A person who causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, order, or permit relating to Chapter 37 of this 
code, Chapter 366, 371, or 372, Health and Safety Code [On-Site Sewage Disposal Systems], Subchapter G, Chapter 382, 
Health and Safety Code, or Chapter 1903, Occupations Code, shall be assessed for each violation a civil penalty not less than 
$50 nor greater than $5,000 for each day of each violation as the court or jury considers proper.  A person who causes, 
suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a statute, rule, order, or permit relating to any other matter within the commission’s 
jurisdiction to enforce, other than violations of Chapter 11, 12, 13, 16, or 36 of this code, or Chapter 341, Health and Safety 
Code, shall be assessed for each violation a civil penalty not less than $50 nor greater than $25,000 for each day of each 
violation as the court or jury considers proper.  Each day of a continuing violation is a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 7.102, Water Code]

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services
Licenses and registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may impose an administrative penalty against a facility or family home licensed or registered under this 
chapter that violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.  In addition, the department may impose an 
administrative penalty against a residential child-care facility or a controlling person of a residential child-care facility if the 
facility or controlling person:
 (1) violates a term of a license or registration issued under this chapter;
 (2) makes a statement about a material fact that the facility or person knows or should know is false:
  (A) on an application for the issuance of a license or registration or an attachment to the application;  or
  (B) in response to a matter under investigation;
 (3) refuses to allow a representative of the department to inspect:
  (A) a book, record, or fi le required to be maintained by the facility;  or
  (B) any part of the premises of the facility;
 (4) purposefully interferes with the work of a representative of the department or the enforcement of this chapter;  or
 (5) fails to pay a penalty assessed under this chapter on or before the date the penalty is due, as determined under this 
section.
(a-1) Nonmonetary, administrative penalties or remedies, including but not limited to corrective action plans, probation, and 
evaluation periods, shall be imposed when appropriate before monetary penalties.
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(b) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The penalty for a 
violation may be in an amount not to exceed the following limits, based on the maximum number of children for whom 
the facility or family home was authorized to provide care or the number of children under the care of the child-placing 
agency when the violation occurred:
 (1)  for violations that occur in a facility other than a residential child-care facility:
 Number of children Maximum amount of penalty
 20 or less $50
 21-40 $60
 41-60 $70
 61-80 $80
 81-100 $100
 More than 100 $150
 (2)  for violations that occur in a residential child-care facility:
 Number of children Maximum amount of penalty
 20 or less $100
 21-40 $150
 41-60 $200
 61-80 $250
 81-100 $375
 More than 100 $500
(c)  In addition to the number of children, the amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1)  the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and 
the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2)  the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3)  the history of previous violations;
 (4)  the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5)  efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6)  any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 42.078, Human Resources Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50 nor more than $100 for each day of violation and for each act 
of violation if the person:
(1) threatens serious harm to a child in a facility or family home by violating a provision of this chapter or a department rule 
or standard;
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 (2) violates a provision of this chapter or a department rule or standard three or more times within a 12-month period;  or
 (3) places a public advertisement for an unlicensed facility or an unlisted or unregistered family home.
(b) The civil penalty authorized by this section is cumulative and in addition to the criminal penalties and injunctive relief 
provided by this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 42.075, Human Resources Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person who operates a child-care facility or child-placing agency without a license commits a Class B misdemeanor.
(b) A person who operates a family home without a required listing or registration commits a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) A person who places a public advertisement for an unlicensed facility or an unlisted or unregistered family home 
commits a Class C misdemeanor.
(d) It is not an offense under this section if a professional provides legal or medical services to:
 (1) a parent who identifi es the prospective adoptive parent and places the child for adoption without the assistance of the 
professional;  or
 (2) a prospective adoptive parent who identifi es a parent and receives placement of a child for adoption without assistance 
of the professional. 
[Statutory Authority: Section 42.076, Human Resources Code]

(i) A director, owner, or operator of a day-care center commits an offense if the director, owner, or operator knowingly:
 (1) fails to submit to the department information about a person as required by this section and department rules for use in 
conducting background and criminal history checks with respect to the person;  and
 (2) employs the person at the day-care center or otherwise allows the person to regularly or frequently stay or work at the 
day-care center while children are being provided care.
(j) A director, owner, or operator of a day-care center commits an offense if, after the date the director, owner, or operator 
receives notice from the department that, based on the results of a person’s background or criminal history check, the person 
is precluded from being present at the day-care center, the director, owner, or operator knowingly:
 (1) employs the person at the day-care center;  or
 (2) otherwise allows the person to regularly or frequently stay or work at the day-care center while children are being 
provided care.
(k) An offense under Subsection (i) or (j) is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 42.056, Human Resources Code] 
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Child-care administrator license or 
child-placing agency administrator 
license

Criminal penalty• A person who serves as a child-care or child-placing agency administrator without the license required by this chapter 
commits a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 43.012, Human Resources Code]

Day-care center license

Criminal penalty• (a) An owner or operator of a day-care center commits an offense if the owner or operator knowingly operates the day-care 
center:
 (1) without a director who meets the qualifi cations of a director prescribed by department rules;  or
 (2) without the routine presence during the day-care center’s hours of operation of a director described by Subdivision (1).
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 42.0761, Human Resources Code]

Maternity home license

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or who fails to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil 
penalty of not less than $100 or more than $10,000 for each violation if the department determines the violation threatens 
the health and safety of a patient.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 249.012, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 249.002(a) [License Required].
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by a fi ne of not more than $1,000 for the fi rst offense and not more than 
$500 for each subsequent offense.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 249.011, Health and Safety Code]
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Texas Commission on Fire Protection
Fire service individual or facility 
certifi cation

Administrative penalty• (a) In addition to other penalties imposed by law, a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter 
is subject to an administrative penalty in an amount set by the commission not to exceed $1,000 for each violation.  In 
addition to the administrative penalty, the person must pay costs incurred by the attorney general’s offi ce under this subsection.  
The administrative penalty shall be assessed in a proceeding conducted in accordance with Chapter 2001 [Administrative 
Procedure].
[Statutory Authority: Section 419.906, Government Code]

Civil penalty• (b) The attorney general or the commission may institute a suit for an injunction to enforce this chapter. Venue for the suit is 
in a district court in Travis County.  The court may also award the commission a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each 
violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter, plus court costs, reasonable attorney fees, and costs incurred 
by the commission or the attorney general’s offi ce under this subsection.
[Statutory Authority: Section 419.906, Government Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) accepts an appointment in violation of Section 419.032 [Appointment of Fire Protection Personnel] or 419.037 
[Appointment as Marine Fire Protection Personnel];
 (2) knowingly accepts an appointment in violation of Section 419.038 [Appointment to Aircraft Fire Fighting and Rescue 
Fire Protection Personnel Position];
 (3) appoints or retains a person in violation of Section 419.032; or
 (4) appoints a person in violation of Section 419.037 or 419.038.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 419.039, Government Code]

Texas Funeral Service Commission
Funeral services licenses

Administrative penalties• (a) The commission may assess an administrative penalty against a person regulated under this chapter if the commission 
determines that the person has violated this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 651.551, Occupations Code]
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(a) The amount of the administrative penalty shall be not less than $100 or more than $5,000 for each violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commission shall base its decision on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the threat the violation poses to health and safety;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation;
 (6) the guidelines adopted under Section 651.5515; and
 (7) any other matter that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 651.552, Occupations Code]

For purposes of this subchapter, a person regulated under this chapter that violates Chapter 716, Health and Safety Code 
[Crematories], violates this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 651.559, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) acts or holds the person out as a funeral director, embalmer, or provisional license holder without being licensed under this chapter;
 (2) makes a fi rst call in a manner that violates Section 651.401 [First Call];
 (3) is a funeral director, embalmer, or provisional license holder and engages in a funeral practice that violates this chapter 
or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (4) violates Chapter 154, Finance Code [Prepaid Funeral Services], or a rule adopted under that chapter, regardless of 
whether the Texas Department of Banking or another governmental agency takes action relating to the violation.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 651.602, Occupations Code]

Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists
Geoscientist license or geoscientist 
fi rm registration

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed under this chapter or any other person who violates 
this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1002.451, Occupations Code]
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(a) The board may include in the amount of the administrative penalty the actual costs of investigating and prosecuting for a 
specifi c violation.
(b) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $100 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate 
violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts or resistance to efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1002.452, Occupations Code]

Texas Department of State Health Services
General Health

Youth camp license

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty if a person violates this Act [the Texas Youth Camp Safety and 
Health Act] or a rule or order adopted or license issued under this Act.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the person’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) such other matters as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $1,000 a day for each violation.
(d) Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 141.016, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not less than 
$50 or more than $1,000 for each act of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 141.015, Health and Safety Code]

Renderers license

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter, a rule adopted by the 
board under the authority of this chapter, or an order or license issued under this chapter.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the person’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) such other matters as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $25,000 a day for each violation.
(d) Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 144.081, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person continues any operation or construction subject to regulation under this chapter 
without obtaining and maintaining an operating license or construction permit.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $50 or more than $500;
 (2) confi nement in the county jail for not more than 30 days; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
(c) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 144.080, Health and Safety Code]

Tattoo and certain body piercing studio 
licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty against a person who violates a rule adopted under Section 
146.007 [Compliance with Chapter and Rules] or an order adopted or license issued under this chapter.
(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to exceed $5,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
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(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amounts necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 146.019, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated or is violating this chapter or an order issued or a rule adopted under this chapter, 
the commissioner may request the attorney general or the district attorney, county attorney, or municipal attorney in the 
jurisdiction where the violation is alleged to have occurred, is occurring, or may occur to institute a civil suit for:
 (1) an order enjoining the violation;
 (2) a permanent or temporary injunction, a temporary restraining order, or other appropriate remedy, if the department 
shows that the person has engaged in or is engaging in a violation;
 (3) the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty;  or
 (4) both injunctive relief and a civil penalty.
(b) A civil penalty may not exceed $5,000 a day for each violation.  Each day the violation occurs constitutes a separate 
violation for the purposes of the assessment of a civil penalty.
(c) In determining the amount of the civil penalty, the court hearing the matter shall consider:
 (1) the person’s history of previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) the hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged;  and
 (5) any other matter as justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 146.020, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 146.018, Health and Safety Code]
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General and special hospital licenses

Administrative penalties• (a) The commissioner of health may assess an administrative penalty against a hospital that violates this chapter, a rule 
adopted pursuant to this chapter, a special license provision, an order or emergency order issued by the commissioner or the 
commissioner’s designee, or another enforcement procedure permitted under this chapter.  The commissioner shall assess an 
administrative penalty against a hospital that violates Section 166.004 [Statement Relating to Advance Directives].
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner of health shall consider:
 (1) the hospital’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any threat to the health, safety, or rights of the hospital’s patients;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the hospital;  and
 (5) such other matters as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation, except that the penalty for a violation of Section 166.004 shall be 
$500. Each day of a continuing violation, other than a violation of Section 166.004, may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 241.059, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The board may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or regulated under this chapter who violates 
this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter relating to the provision of mental health, chemical dependency, or 
rehabilitation services.
(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to exceed $25,000. Each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) enforcement costs relating to the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 241.060, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A hospital shall timely adopt, implement, and enforce a patient transfer policy in accordance with Section 241.027 
[Patient Transfers].  A hospital may implement patient transfer agreements in accordance with Section 241.028 [Transfer 
Agreements].
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(b) A hospital that violates Subsection (a), another provision of this chapter, or a rule adopted or enforced under this chapter is liable 
for a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for each day of violation and for each act of violation.  A hospital that violates this 
chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter relating to the provision of mental health, chemical dependency, or rehabilitation 
services is liable for a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each day of violation and for each act of violation.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the district court shall consider:
 (1) the hospital’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (3) whether the health and safety of the public was threatened by the violation;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the hospital; and
 (5) the amount necessary to deter future violations.
[Statutory Authority: Section 241.055, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person establishes, conducts, manages, or operates a hospital without a license.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not more than $100 for the fi rst offense and not 
more than $200 for each subsequent offense.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 241.057, Health and Safety Code]

Ambulatory surgical center license

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or 
a rule or order adopted under this chapter.  A penalty collected under this section or Section 243.016 [Payment and Collection 
of Administrative Penalty; Judicial Review] shall be deposited in the state treasury in the general revenue fund.
(c) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $5,000.
(d) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including when applicable whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 243.015, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or who fails to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty 
of not less than $100 or more than $500 for each violation if the department determines the violation threatens the health 
and safety of a patient.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 243.014, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 243.003(a) [prohibiting the establishment or operation of an 
ambulatory surgical center without a license].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 243.013, Health and Safety Code]

Birthing center license

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or 
a rule or order adopted under this chapter.  A penalty collected under this section or Section 244.016 [Payment and Collection 
of Administrative Penalty; Judicial Review] shall be deposited in the state treasury in the general revenue fund.
(c) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $5,000.
(d) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including when applicable whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 244.015, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or who fails to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty 
of not less than $100 or more than $500 for each violation if the department determines the violation threatens the health 
and safety of a patient.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 244.014, Health and Safety Code]
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 244.003(a) [License Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 244.013, Health and Safety Code]

Abortion facility license

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under 
this chapter.
(b) The penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate 
violation.
(c) In determining the amount of an administrative penalty assessed under this section, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matters that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 245.017, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who knowingly violates this chapter or who knowingly fails to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter 
is liable for a civil penalty of not less than $100 or more than $500 for each violation if the department determines the 
violation threatens the health and safety of a patient.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
 [Statutory Authority: Section 245.015, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 245.003(a) [License Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 245.014, Health and Safety Code]

Special care facilities

Administrative penalty• (a) The department of health may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this 
chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 248.101, Health and Safety Code]
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(a) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $5,000.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including when applicable whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 248.102, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• A license holder or person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted by the board under this chapter is liable for a civil 
penalty, to be imposed by a district court, of not more than $1,000 for each day of violation.  All penalties collected under 
this section shall be deposited to the credit of the General Revenue Fund.
[Statutory Authority: Section 248.054, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person who knowingly establishes or operates a special care facility without a license issued under this chapter commits 
an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 248.055, Health and Safety Code]

End stage renal disease facility license

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under 
this chapter.
(b) The penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation.
(c) In determining the amount of an administrative penalty assessed under this section, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation;  and
 (5) any other matters that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 251.066, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who knowingly violates this chapter or who knowingly fails to comply with a rule adopted under this chapter is 
liable for a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for each violation if the department fi nds that the violation threatens the 
health and safety of a patient of an end stage renal disease facility.
(b) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate ground for recovery.
[Statutory Authority: Section 251.065, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 251.011 [License Required] or 251.031 [Training Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 251.064, Health and Safety Code]

Bedding permits

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under 
this chapter.
(b) The penalty may not exceed $25,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate 
violation.
(c) In determining the amount of an administrative penalty assessed under this section, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation;  and
 (5) any other matters that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 345.101, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if a person:
 (1) manufactures, repairs, or renovates:
  (A) bedding using material in violation of rules adopted under Section 345.0055 [Material Used in Bedding];
  (B) bedding or batting in violation of Section 345.005 [Materials Obtained From Dump or Junkyard];
  (C) bedding using material in violation of Section 345.024 [Germicidal Treatment of Bedding and Materials]; or
  (D) bedding that does not conform to the label requirements of Subchapter B [Labels];
 (2) introduces or delivers for introduction into commerce:
  (A) bedding or batting manufactured, repaired, or renovated in violation of Section 345.005, 345.0055, or 345.024;
  (B) bedding that does not conform to the label requirements of Subchapter B; or
  (C) bedding or material the sale of which is prohibited as provided by Section 345.084 [Sale of Bedding or Material 
Prohibited by Department];
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 (3) receives in commerce:
  (A) bedding or batting manufactured, repaired, or renovated in violation of Section 345.005, 345.0055, or 345.024;
  (B) bedding that does not conform to the label requirements of Subchapter B; or
  (C) bedding or material the sale of which is prohibited as provided by Section 345.084; or
 (4) violates Section 345.041 [Permits], 345.042 [Permit to Apply Germicidal Treatment], or any other provision of this 
chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 345.087, Health and Safety Code]

Radioactive material licenses and 
mammography systems certifi cation

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may assess an administrative penalty as provided by this section and Sections 401.385-401.390 against a person who 
causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of a provision of this chapter relating to an activity under the department’s jurisdiction, a rule or 
order adopted by the department under this chapter, or a condition of a license or registration issued by the department under this chapter.
(b) The penalty for each violation may not exceed $10,000 a day for a person who violates this chapter or a rule, order, license, 
or registration issued under this chapter.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the department shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited acts and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the public health or safety;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (5) any other matters that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.384, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalties• (a) A person who causes, suffers, allows, or permits a violation of this chapter, a department rule or order, or a license or 
registration condition is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $100 or more than $25,000 for each violation and for each 
day that a continuing violation occurs.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.381, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly violates a provision of this chapter other than the 
offense described by Section 401.383 [Criminal Penalty for Certain Acts Related to Low-Level Radioactive Waste].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor, unless it is shown on the trial of the person that the person has 
been previously convicted of an offense under this section, in which event the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.382, Health and Safety Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly receives, processes, concentrates, stores, transports, 
or disposes of low-level radioactive waste without a license issued under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor, unless it is shown at the trial of the person that the person has 
been previously convicted of an offense under this section, in which event the offense is punishable by a fi ne of not less than 
$2,000 or more than $100,000, confi nement in the county jail for not more than one year, or both.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.383, Health and Safety Code]

Wholesale distributors of prescription 
and non-prescription drug licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates Subchapter B [Prohibited Acts] or 
an order adopted or registration issued under this chapter.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the person’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) such other matters as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $25,000 a day for each violation.
(d) Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 431.054, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) At the request of the commissioner, the attorney general or a district, county, or city attorney shall institute an action in 
district court to collect a civil penalty from a person who has violated Section 431.021 [Prohibited Acts].
(b) The civil penalty may not exceed $25,000 a day for each violation.  Each day of violation constitutes a separate violation 
for purposes of the penalty assessment.
[Statutory Authority: Section 431.0585, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates any of the provisions of Section 431.021 relating to unlawful or 
prohibited acts.  A fi rst offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor unless it is shown on the trial of an offense 
under this subsection that the defendant was previously convicted of an offense under this subsection, in which event the 
offense is a state jail felony.  In a criminal proceeding under this section, it is not necessary to prove intent, knowledge, 
recklessness, or criminal negligence of the defendant beyond the degree of culpability, if any, stated in Subsection (a-2) or 
Section 431.021, as applicable, to establish criminal responsibility for the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 431.059, Health and Safety Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly sells, transfers, or otherwise furnishes a product containing ephedrine 
to a person 17 years of age or younger, unless:
 (1) the actor is:
  (A) a practitioner or other health care provider licensed by this state who has obtained, as required by law, consent to the 
treatment of the person to whom the product is furnished; or
  (B) the parent, guardian, or managing conservator of the person to whom the product is furnished;
 (2) the person to whom the product is furnished has had the disabilities of minority removed for general purposes under 
Chapter 31, Family Code; or
 (3) the product is a drug.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor unless it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant has 
been previously convicted of an offense under this section, in which event the offense is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) A product containing ephedrine that is not described in Subsection (a)(3) must be labeled in accordance with rules adopted 
by the Texas Department of Health to indicate that sale to persons 17 years of age or younger is prohibited.
[Statutory Authority: Section 431.022, Health and Safety Code]

Salvage broker/operator

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates a rule adopted under Section 
432.011 [Minimum Standards] or an order adopted or license issued under this chapter.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the person’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) other matters as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $25,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues is a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 432.021, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted or order 
issued under this chapter, the commissioner may request the attorney general or a district, county, or municipal attorney of the 
municipality or county in which the violation has occurred, is occurring, or may occur to institute a civil suit for:
 (1) an order enjoining the act or an order directing compliance;
 (2) a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining order, or other appropriate order if the department shows that the 
person is engaged in or is about to engage in any of the acts;
 (3) the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty; or
 (4) both the injunctive relief and civil penalty.
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(b) The penalty may be in an amount not to exceed $25,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues is a separate violation.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s history of previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged; and
 (5) other matters as justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 432.018, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) operates a salvage establishment or acts as a salvage broker without a license issued under this chapter; or
 (2) fails to comply with a rule adopted under Section 432.011 [Minimum Standards].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 432.019, Health and Safety Code]

Milk seller permits3

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $25 or more than $200.
(c) Each violation constitutes a separate offense.
(d) The penalty prescribed by this section is subject to either the sanctions prescribed in the Grade A Pasteurized Milk Ordinance 
for products covered by the ordinance or any civil or administrative penalty or sanction otherwise imposed by Chapter 431 
[Texas Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act] or other law for products not covered by the ordinance.
[Statutory Authority: Section 435.014, Health and Safety Code]

Aquatic life permits (molluscan 
shellfi sh and crabmeat)3

Administrative penalties• (a) The director may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates Section 436.011 [Prohibited Acts] or an 
order issued under this chapter.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the director shall consider:
 (1) the person’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) the hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) other matters as justice may require.
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(c) The penalty may not exceed $25,000 a day for each violation.
(d) Each day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 436.034, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalties• (a) At the request of the director, the attorney general or a district, county, or municipal attorney shall institute an action in 
district or county court to collect a civil penalty from a person who has violated Section 436.011 [Prohibited Acts].
(b) A person who violates Section 436.011 is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $25,000 a day for each violation.  Each 
day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate violation for purposes of penalty assessment.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s history of previous violations under this chapter;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person; and
 (5) other matters as justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 436.027, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence commits an 
unlawful act under Section 436.011 [Prohibited Acts].
(b) A violation of Section 436.011(1), (2), or (3) is a Class B Parks and Wildlife Code misdemeanor under Section 12.405, 
Parks and Wildlife Code [Class B Parks and Wildlife Code Misdemeanor].  Each day of a continuing violation constitutes 
a separate offense.  Commissioned offi cers of the Parks and Wildlife Department shall enforce Sections 436.011(1), (2), 
and (3).
(c) If it is shown at trial that the defendant has been convicted once within fi ve years before the trial date of a violation of 
Section 436.011(1) or (2), a violation by the defendant under Section 436.011(1) or (2) is a Class A Parks and Wildlife Code 
misdemeanor under Section 12.404, Parks and Wildlife Code [Class A Parks and Wildlife Code Misdemeanor].
(d) If it is shown at trial that the defendant has been convicted two or more times within fi ve years before the trial date of a 
violation of Section 436.011(1) or (2), a violation by the defendant under Section 436.011(1) or (2) is a Parks and Wildlife 
Code felony under Section 12.407, Parks and Wildlife Code [Parks and Wildlife Code Felony].
(e) A violation of Section 436.011(4), (5), (6), (7), (8), (9), (10), (11), (12), (13), (14), or (15) is a Class A misdemeanor.  Each 
day of a continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 436.038, Health and Safety Code]
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Food service establishment permit

Administrative penalties• (a) The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty against a person who holds a permit or who is regulated under 
this chapter and who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to exceed $10,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the enforcement costs relating to the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 437.018, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The director of a public health district or the commissioners court of a county may impose an administrative penalty on a 
person the district or county requires to hold a permit under Section 437.003 [County Authority to Require Permit] or 437.004 
[Public Health District Authority to Require Permit] if the person violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this 
chapter.
(b) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $500 per day, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate 
violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.  The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 437.0185, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a food service establishment, retail food store, mobile food unit, or 
roadside food vendor without a permit required by the county or public health district in which the entity is operating.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) Each day on which a violation occurs constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 437.016, Health and Safety Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a food service establishment, retail food store, mobile food unit, or 
temporary food service establishment without a permit that is required by the department under Section 437.0055 [Permit 
From Department Required in Areas Not Regulated by County or Public Health District].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day on which a violation occurs constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 437.0165, Health and Safety Code]

Frozen dessert manufacturer license3 (See entry for wholesale distributors of prescription and non-prescription drug licenses on pp. 213-214.)

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally violates Section 440.011 [Prohibited Acts] or a rule 
adopted by the board under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(c) The penalty prescribed by this section is in addition to any civil or administrative penalty or sanction otherwise imposed 
under Chapter 431 or other law [Texas Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act].
[Statutory Authority: Section 440.032, Health and Safety Code]

Bottled and vended water operator 
certifi cate of competency3

(See entry for wholesale distributors of prescription and non-prescription drug licenses on pp. 213-214.)

Chemical dependency treatment 
facility license

Administrative penalty• (a) The commission may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or regulated under this chapter who 
violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to exceed $25,000. Each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) enforcement costs relating to the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 464.019, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person or facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each day of violation and for each act of 
violation of this subchapter [Subchapter A. Regulation of Chemical Dependency Treatment Facilities] or a rule adopted under 
this subchapter.  In determining the amount of the civil penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s or facility’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (3) whether the health and safety of the public was threatened by the violation;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person or facility; and
 (5) the amount necessary to deter future violations.
[Statutory Authority: Section 464.017, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person establishes, conducts, manages, or operates a treatment facility without a license.  
Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally, maliciously, or recklessly makes a false report under Section 
464.010 [Reports of Abuse or Neglect].
(c) A person commits an offense if the person has reasonable grounds to suspect that abuse or neglect of a client may have 
occurred and does not report the suspected or possible abuse or neglect.
(d) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 464.016, Health and Safety Code]

Narcotic treatment center license

Administrative penalty• If a person violates this chapter, a rule adopted under this chapter, or an order or permit issued under this chapter, the commissioner 
may assess an administrative penalty against the person as provided by Chapter 431 [Texas Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act].
[Statutory Authority: Section 466.043, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated this chapter, a rule adopted under this chapter, or an order or permit issued under this 
chapter, the commissioner may request the attorney general or the district, county, or municipal attorney of the municipality or 
county in which the violation occurred to institute a civil suit for the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty.
(b) The penalty may be in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each violation.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s history of previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;  and
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged.
[Statutory Authority: Section 466.045, Health and Safety Code]
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person operates a narcotic drug treatment program without a permit issued by the department.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 466.044, Health and Safety Code]

Abusable volatile chemical sellers 
permit

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person who sells abusable glue or aerosol paint at retail who 
violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.101, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $5,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.102, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly delivers an abusable volatile chemical to a person who is younger 
than 18 years of age.
(d) Except as provided by Subsections (e) and (f), an offense under this section is a state jail felony.
(e) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor if it is shown on the trial of the defendant that at the time of the 
delivery the defendant or the defendant’s employer held a volatile chemical sales permit for the location of the sale.
(f) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor if it is shown on the trial of the defendant that at the time of the 
delivery the defendant or the defendant’s employer:
 (1) did not hold a volatile chemical sales permit but did hold a sales tax permit for the location of the sale; and
 (2) had not been convicted previously under this section for an offense committed after January 1, 1988.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.032, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly uses or possesses with intent to use inhalant paraphernalia to inhale, 
ingest, or otherwise introduce into the human body an abusable volatile chemical in violation of  Section 485.031.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) knowingly:
  (A) delivers or sells inhalant paraphernalia;
  (B) possesses, with intent to deliver or sell, inhalant paraphernalia; or
  (C) manufactures, with intent to deliver or sell, inhalant paraphernalia; and
 (2) at the time of the act described by Subdivision (1), knows that the person who receives or is intended to receive the 
paraphernalia intends that it be used to inhale, ingest, apply, use, or otherwise introduce into the human body a volatile 
chemical in violation of  Section 485.031.
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(c) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class B misdemeanor, and an offense under Subsection (b) is a Class A 
misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.033, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person sells an abusable volatile chemical in a business establishment and the person 
does not display the sign required by Section 485.017 [Signs].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.034, Health and Safety Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person sells an abusable volatile chemical in violation of Section 485.011 [Permit 
Required] and the purchaser is 18 years of age or older.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.035, Health and Safety Code]

Title 4, Penal Code [Inchoate Offenses], applies to an offense under this subchapter [Subchapter C. Criminal Penalties].
[Statutory Authority: Section 485.038, Health and Safety Code]

Private mental hospitals and other 
mental health facilities licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) The board may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or regulated under this subtitle who violates this 
subtitle or a rule or order adopted under this subtitle.
(b) The penalty for a violation may be in an amount not to exceed $25,000. Each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) enforcement costs relating to the violation, including investigation costs, witness fees, and deposition expenses;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 571.025, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $25,000 for each day of violation and for each act of violation of 
this subtitle or a rule adopted under this subtitle.  In determining the amount of the civil penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s or facility’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (3) whether the health and safety of the public was threatened by the violation;
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person or facility; and
 (5) the amount necessary to deter future violations.
[Statutory Authority: Section 571.023, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally causes, conspires with another to cause, or assists another to cause 
the unwarranted commitment of a person to a mental health facility.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates a provision of this subtitle [Subtitle C. Texas Mental Health Code].
(c) An individual who commits an offense under this section is subject on conviction to:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $50 or more than $25,000 for each violation and each day of a continuing violation;
 (2) confi nement in jail for not more than two years for each violation and each day of a continuing violation; or
 (3) both fi ne and confi nement.
(d) A person other than an individual who commits an offense under this section is subject on conviction to a fi ne of not less 
than $500 or more than $100,000 for each violation and each day of a continuing violation.
(e) If it is shown on the trial of an individual that the individual has previously been convicted of an offense under this section, 
the offense is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $50,000 for each violation and each day of a continuing violation;
 (2) confi nement in jail for not more than four years for each violation and each day of a continuing violation; or
 (3) both fi ne and confi nement.
(f) If it is shown on the trial of a person other than an individual that the person previously has been convicted of an offense 
under this section, the offense is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $1,000 or more than $200,000 for each violation and 
each day of a continuing violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 571.020, Health and Safety Code]

Safety
Emergency medical services provider 
licenses and certifi cates

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against an emergency medical services provider or a course 
coordinator who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or an order issued under this chapter.
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(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the emergency medical services provider’s or course coordinator’s previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the emergency medical services provider’s or course coordinator’s demonstrated good faith; and
 (5) any other matter as justice may require.
(c) The penalty may not exceed $7,500 for each violation.  The board by rule shall establish gradations of penalties in 
accordance with the relative seriousness of the violation.
(d) Each day a violation continues may be considered a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 773.065, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) The attorney general, a district attorney, or a county attorney may bring a civil action to compel compliance with this 
chapter or to enforce a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty in addition to any 
injunctive relief or other remedy provided by law.  The civil penalty may not exceed $250 a day for each violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 773.063, Health and Safety Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly practices as, attempts to practice as, or represents himself to be 
an emergency medical technician-paramedic, emergency medical technician-intermediate, emergency medical technician, 
emergency care attendant, or licensed paramedic and the person does not hold an appropriate certifi cate issued by the department 
under this chapter.  An offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.
(b) An emergency medical services provider commits an offense if the provider knowingly advertises or causes the advertisement 
of a false, misleading, or deceptive statement or representation concerning emergency medical services staffi ng, equipment, 
and vehicles.  An offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly uses or permits to be used a vehicle that the person owns, operates, 
or controls to transport a sick or injured person unless the person is licensed as an emergency medical services provider by the 
department.  An offense under this subsection is a Class A misdemeanor.
(d) It is an exception to the application of Subsection (c) that the person transports a sick or injured person:
 (1) to medical care as an individual citizen not ordinarily engaged in that activity;
 (2) in a casualty situation that exceeds the basic vehicular capacity or capability of an emergency medical services provider; 
or
 (3) as an emergency medical services provider in a vehicle for which a variance has been granted under Section 773.052.
[Statutory Authority: Section 773.064, Health and Safety Code]
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Personal emergency response system 
provider license and registration

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a 
rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 781.451, Health and Safety Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 781.452, Health and Safety Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 a 
day.
[Statutory Authority: Section 781.402, Health and Safety Code]

Health and Safety of Animals
Animal control offi cer and animal 
shelter personnel training

Criminal penalty• (a) Each animal shelter operated in this state shall comply with the standards for:
 (1) housing and sanitation existing on September 1, 1982, and adopted under Chapter 826; and
 (2) animal control offi cer training adopted under Chapter 829.
(b) An animal shelter shall separate animals in its custody at all times by species, by sex (if known), and if the animals are not 
related to one another, by size.
(c) An animal shelter may not confi ne healthy animals with sick, injured, or diseased animals.
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(d) Each person who operates an animal shelter shall employ a veterinarian at least once a year to inspect the shelter to 
determine whether it complies with the requirements of this chapter and Chapter 829 [Animal Control Offi cer Training].  The 
veterinarian shall fi le copies of the veterinarian’s report with the person operating the shelter and with the department on forms 
prescribed by the department.
(e) The board may require each person operating an animal shelter to keep records of the date and disposition of animals 
in its custody, to maintain the records on the business premises of the animal shelter, and to make the records available for 
inspection at reasonable times.
(f) A person commits an offense if the person substantially violates this section.  An offense under this subsection is a Class 
C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 823.003, Health and Safety Code]

Practices and Trades Related to Water, Health, and Safety
Code enforcement offi cer registration

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person registered under this chapter who violates this chapter or a 
rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1952.251, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1952.252, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 1952.101 [Registration Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1952.201, Occupations Code]
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Sanitarian registration

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person registered under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule 
or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1953.301, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1953.302, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 1953.101 [Registration Required].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1953.251, Occupations Code]

Asbestos removal licenses and 
registrations

Administrative penalty• The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under 
this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1954.351, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $10,000 a day for each violation.  Each day a violation continues 
may be considered a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) any hazard created to the health and safety of the public;
 (3) the person’s history of previous violations; and
 (4) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1954.352, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) The commissioner may request the attorney general or the district, county, or city attorney having jurisdiction to bring a 
civil suit for injunctive relief, the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty, or both, against a person who:
 (1) appears to have violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this 
chapter; or
 (2) owns a public building or is the owner’s agent and has contracted with or otherwise permitted a person who is not 
licensed or registered under this chapter to perform in the building an activity for which a license or registration is required.
(b) A civil penalty may not exceed $10,000 a day for each violation.  Each day a violation occurs or continues to occur is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) In determining the amount of a civil penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) any hazard created to the health and safety of the public;
 (3) the person’s history of previous violations; and
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged with the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1954.401, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person required to be licensed under this chapter commits an offense if the person:
 (1) removes asbestos from a public building or encapsulates the asbestos without a license after having been previously 
assessed a civil or administrative penalty for removing or encapsulating asbestos without a license; or
 (2) fails to keep records as required by Section 1954.251 after having been previously assessed a civil or administrative 
penalty for failing to keep records.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne not to exceed $20,000, unless the defendant has been 
previously convicted under this section, in which event the offense is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne not to exceed $25,000;
 (2) confi nement in jail for not more than two years; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1954.402, Occupations Code]

Lead-based paint abatement 
certifi cation

Administrative penalty• (a) The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter.  The amount of the penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each day of the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1955.103, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted or certifi cation 
issued under this chapter, the state may bring an action in the manner prescribed by Section 7.105(a), Water Code [Civil Suit], 
for injunctive relief, to recover a civil penalty, or for both injunctive relief and a civil penalty.
(c) The amount of a civil penalty imposed under this section may not exceed:
 (1) $2,000 for the fi rst violation; or
 (2) $10,000 for a subsequent violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1955.104, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if:
 (1) the person knowingly violates this chapter or a rule adopted or certifi cation issued under this chapter; and
 (2) the violation endangers the public health and safety.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne not to exceed $10,000;
 (2) confi nement for a term not to exceed six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and the confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1955.105, Occupations Code]

Mold assessor and remediator licenses

Administrative penalty• The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order 
issued under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1958.251, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues under 
Section 1958.101 [License Required] or 1958.155 [Confl ict of Interest; Disclosure Required] may be considered a separate 
violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commissioner shall consider:
 (1) whether the violation was committed knowingly, intentionally, or fraudulently;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard created to the health and safety of the public;
 (4) the person’s history of previous violations; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1958.252, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty in an amount not to 
exceed $2,000 for the fi rst violation or $10,000 for a second or later violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1958.301, Occupations Code]

Health-related Professions4

Sex offender treatment provider license

Administrative penalty• The council may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter or a rule or order adopted under 
this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 110.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 110.452, Occupations Code]

Midwife license

Administrative penalty• The midwifery board may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 203.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues is a 
separate violation.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 203.452, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person is liable for a civil penalty if the person is required to be licensed under this chapter and the person knowingly or 
intentionally practices midwifery:
 (1) without a license or while the license is suspended or revoked; or
 (2) in violation of a midwifery board order.
(b) A civil penalty under this section may not exceed $250 for each violation.  Each day of violation may constitute a separate 
violation for purposes of penalty assessment.  In determining the amount of the penalty, the court shall consider:
 (1) the person’s history of previous violations;
 (2) the seriousness of the violation;
 (3) any hazard to the health and safety of the public; and
 (4) the demonstrated good faith of the person charged.
[Statutory Authority: Section 203.501, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person is required to be licensed under this chapter and the person knowingly practices 
midwifery without a license.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 203.504, Occupations Code]

Optician registration

Administrative penalty• The department may assess an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 352.301, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation 
is a separate violation.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 352.302, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• In addition to any other remedy provided by law, including injunctive relief, a court may impose a civil penalty for a violation 
of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 352.352, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 352.353, Occupations Code]

Speech-language pathologist and 
audiologist license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or 
order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.552, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) confi nement in the county jail for a period not to exceed six months;
 (2) a fi ne not to exceed $1,000; or
 (3) both the confi nement and the fi ne.
[Statutory Authority: Section 401.503, Occupations Code]

Hearing instrument fi tter and dispenser 
license

Administrative penalty• (a) The committee, with the board’s approval, may impose an administrative penalty on a person described in this chapter for 
a violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $250 plus costs for the fi rst violation and $1,000 plus costs for 
each subsequent violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 402.551, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted by the committee under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty 
not to exceed $5,000 a day.
[Statutory Authority: Section 402.553, Occupations Code]

Athletic trainer license

Administrative penalty• (a) The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule 
or order adopted under this chapter.  A penalty collected under this section or Section 451.352 shall be deposited in the state 
treasury in the general revenue fund.
(c) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $500 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $2,500.
(d) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including, when applicable, whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 451.351, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $25 or more than $200.
[Statutory Authority: Section 451.301, Occupations Code]

Massage therapist license

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 455.301, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
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(d) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including, when applicable, whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 455.302, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) The attorney general, a district or county attorney, a municipal attorney, or the department may institute an action for 
injunctive relief to restrain a violation by a person who:
 (1) appears to be in violation of or threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (2) is the owner or operator of an establishment that offers massage therapy or other massage services regulated by this 
chapter and is not licensed under this chapter.
(b) The attorney general, a district or county attorney, a municipal attorney, or the department may institute an action to collect 
a civil penalty from a person who appears to be in violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.  The amount 
of a civil penalty shall be not less than $1,000 or more than $10,000 for each violation.
(c) Each day a violation occurs or continues to occur is a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 455.351, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person is required to be licensed under this chapter and the person:
 (1) knowingly violates Section 455.151, 455.159, 455.202(b), 455.203(a) or (c), 455.204(b) or (c), or 455.205(b), (c), or (d); 
or
 (2) collects a fee or any other form of compensation for massage therapy without being licensed under this chapter.
(a-1) A person commits an offense if the person is required to be licensed under this chapter and the person knowingly violates 
Section 455.205(a) [Performing Massage Therapy for a Sexually Oriented Business].  An offense under this subsection is a 
Class B misdemeanor, unless the actor has previously been convicted one or two times of an offense under this subsection, in 
which event it is a Class A misdemeanor.  If the actor has previously been convicted three or more times of an offense under 
this subsection, the offense is a state jail felony.
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(b) An owner or operator of a massage establishment commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 455.151(a) 
[Practicing Without a License], 455.155(d) [Sexually Oriented Business Holding a License], 455.202(a) [Employ of Massage 
Therapists by Massage Establishment Required], 455.204(b) or (c) [Display and Presentation of License by Request of Certain 
Law Enforcement Offi cials], or 455.205(d).  An offense under this subsection is a Class B misdemeanor, unless the actor has 
previously been convicted one or two times of an offense under this subsection, in which event it is a Class A misdemeanor.  
If the actor has previously been convicted three or more times of an offense under this subsection, the offense is a state jail 
felony.
(d) Except as provided by Subsections (a-1), (b), and (e), an offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(e) If it is shown at the trial of an offense under this section that the defendant has been previously convicted of an offense 
under this section, the offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 455.352, Occupations Code]

Professional counselor license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or 
order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 503.501, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 503.502, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:
 (1) engages in the practice of professional counseling without holding a license under this chapter;
 (2) represents the person by the title “Licensed Professional Counselor” or “Licensed Counselor” without holding a license 
under this chapter;
 (3) represents the person by the title “Licensed Professional Counselor — Art Therapist,” “Art Therapist,” or by the initials 
“L.P.C. — A.T.” or “A.T.” without:
  (A) holding a license with a specialization in art therapy under Section 503.303 [Specialization in Art Therapy]; or
  (B) holding a license under Section 503.309 [Repealed]; or
 (4) uses any title, words, letters, or abbreviations that imply that the person is licensed under this chapter if the person is not 
licensed under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 503.452, Occupations Code]

Chemical dependency counselor 
license

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 504.301, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation 
is a separate violation.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 504.302, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter, the department or the attorney general at the request of the department may institute an action in district court for an 
injunction, a civil penalty, or both.
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(b) On application for injunctive relief and a fi nding that a person is violating or threatening to violate this chapter or a rule 
adopted under this chapter, the district court may grant injunctive relief as the facts warrant.  The department is not required 
to give an appeal bond in an appeal of an action seeking injunctive relief under this section.
(c) The amount of a civil penalty imposed under this section may not be less than $50 or more than $500 for each day of the 
violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 504.351, Occupations Code]

Social worker license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on:
 (1) a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter; and
 (2) a person who violates a cease and desist order issued by the board under Section 505.508 [Cease and Desist Order].
[Statutory Authority: Section 505.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 505.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates or threatens to violate this chapter, a rule adopted by the board under this chapter, or an order issued 
by the board or department under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of not less than $50 or more than $500 
for each day of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 505.504, Occupations Code]

Medical radiologic technologist 
certifi cation

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 601.351, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day of a continuing violation is 
a separate violation.
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(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 601.352, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter, the board or the department may bring an action to enjoin the continued or threatened violation.
(b) A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is subject to a civil penalty in an amount not to 
exceed $1,000 for each day of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 601.401, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person who is required to be certifi ed under this chapter commits an offense if the person:
 (1) knowingly administers a radiologic procedure to another person without holding a valid certifi cate issued by the department;
 (2) practices radiologic technology without holding a certifi cate under this chapter;
 (3) uses or attempts to use a suspended or revoked certifi cate;
 (4) knowingly allows a student enrolled in an education program to perform a radiologic procedure without direct supervision;
 (5) obtains or attempts to obtain a certifi cate through bribery or fraudulent misrepresentation;
 (6) uses the title or name “certifi ed medical radiologic technologist” or any other name or title that implies the person is 
certifi ed to practice radiologic technology, unless the person is certifi ed under this chapter;
 (7) knowingly conceals information relating to enforcement of this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (8) employs a person not certifi ed by or in compliance with this chapter for the purpose of applying ionizing radiation to a person.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 601.402, Occupations Code]

Medical physicist license

Administrative penalty• (a) The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule 
or order adopted under this chapter.  A penalty collected under this subchapter shall be deposited in the state treasury in the 
general revenue fund.
(c) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $500 for each violation, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a 
separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The total amount of the penalty assessed for a violation continuing or 
occurring on separate days under this subsection may not exceed $2,500.
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(d) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the threat to health or safety caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) whether the violator demonstrated good faith, including, when applicable, whether the violator made good faith efforts 
to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 602.351, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted by the board under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty not 
to exceed $5,000 a day.
[Statutory Authority: Section 602.3015, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) practices medical physics without holding a license under this chapter;
 (2) practices a specialty of medical physics without holding a license for the specialty;
 (3) practices medical physics in violation of this chapter; or
 (4) uses in any manner letters, terminology, symbols, or signs to indicate or imply that the person is qualifi ed or licensed to 
practice medical physics in a manner for which the person is not licensed under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 602.302, Occupations Code]

Perfusionist license

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a 
rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority:  Section 603.501, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
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(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority:  Section 603.502, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter,  a rule adopted by the executive commissioner, or an order adopted by the commissioner 
under this chapter is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000 a day.
[Statutory Authority: Section 603.4515, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 603.251 [License Required] or 603.354 [Certifi cation 
From American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 603.452, Occupations Code]

Respiratory care practitioner certifi cate

Administrative penalty• The department may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 604.301, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues is a 
separate violation.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts made to correct the violation;  and
 (5) any other matter that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 604.302, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 604.101 [Certifi cate or Temporary Permit Required; 
Supervision] or 604.102 [Use of Title].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 604.351, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly:
 (1) sells, fraudulently obtains, or furnishes a respiratory care diploma, certifi cate, temporary permit, or record;
 (2) practices respiratory care under a respiratory care diploma, certifi cate, temporary permit, or record illegally or fraudulently 
obtained or issued;
 (3) impersonates in any manner a respiratory care practitioner;
 (4) practices respiratory care while the person’s certifi cate or temporary permit is suspended, revoked, or expired;
 (5) conducts a formal respiratory care education program to prepare respiratory care personnel other than a program approved 
by the department;
 (6) employs a person as a respiratory care practitioner who does not hold a certifi cate or temporary permit in the practice 
of respiratory care; or
 (7) otherwise practices medicine in violation of Section 604.002 [Interpretation: Practice of Medicine].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 604.352, Occupations Code]

Orthotist and prosthetist license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or 
order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 605.401, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 605.402, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter is subject to a civil penalty of $200 for the fi rst violation and $500 for each subsequent 
violation.
(b) Each day a violation of Section 605.351 [Use of Title] continues is a separate violation for the purpose of this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 605.354, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person required to hold a license under this chapter commits an offense if the person knowingly practices, attempts to 
practice, or offers to practice orthotics or prosthetics without holding a license issued under this chapter.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 605.356, Occupations Code]

Dietitian license

Administrative penalty• The dietitians board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter 
or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 701.501, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not be less than $50 or more than $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a 
violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 701.502, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 701.251 [License Required; Commission 
Registration].
(b) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 701.353(a) [relating to the prohibited use of seal without 
license].
(c) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 701.451, Occupations Code]
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Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Manufactured housing licenses 
(generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The director may assess against a person who fails to comply with this chapter, the rules adopted under this chapter, or any 
fi nal order of the department an administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each violation of this chapter 
and:
 (1) reasonable attorney’s fees;
 (2) administrative costs;
 (3) witness fees;
 (4) investigative costs; and
 (5) deposition expenses.
(b) The director may assess against a licensee who fails to provide information to a consumer as required by this chapter an 
administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed:
 (1) $1,000 for the fi rst violation;
 (2) $2,000 for the second violation; and
 (3) $4,000 for each subsequent violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1201.605, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (j) If it appears that a person is in violation of, or is threatening to violate, any provision of this chapter or a rule or order related 
to the administration and enforcement of the manufactured housing program, the attorney general, on behalf of the director, 
may institute an action for injunctive relief to restrain the person from continuing the violation and for civil penalties not to 
exceed $1,000 for each violation and not exceeding $250,000 in the aggregate.  A civil action fi led under this subsection shall 
be fi led in district court in Travis County.  The attorney general and the director may recover reasonable expenses incurred 
in obtaining injunctive relief under this subsection, including court costs, reasonable attorney’s fees, investigative costs, 
witness fees, and deposition expenses.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1201.611, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person or a director, offi cer, or agent of a corporation commits an offense if the person, director, offi cer, or agent knowingly and 
wilfully violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued by the department in a manner that threatens consumer health or safety.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not more than $4,000;
 (2) confi nement in county jail for a term of not more than one year; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1201.606, Occupations Code]
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A person who is not exempt under this chapter and who, without fi rst obtaining a license required under this chapter, performs 
an act that requires a license under this chapter commits an offense.  An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.  
A second or subsequent conviction for an offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1201.609, Occupations Code]

Texas Department of Insurance5

Fire Detection and Alarm Device Installation Licenses
Fire alarm branch offi ce registration; 
fi re alarm fi rm registration; fi re alarm 
planning superintendent license; fi re 
alarm technician license; residential 
fi re alarm superintendent license

Criminal penalty• (a) An individual or organization commits an offense if the individual or organization violates Section 6002.151 [Firm 
Registration Certifi cate Required; Limited Certifi cate], 6002.152 [Branch Offi ce Registration Certifi cate Required], or 
6002.154 [Fire Alarm Technician, Residential Fire Alarm Superintendent, and Fire Alarm Planning Superintendent].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 6002.351, Insurance Code]

Fire Extinguisher Service and Installation Licenses
Licenses, permits, and registrations 
(generally)

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 6001.251(a) [Prohibited Practices; subsection 
prohibits the sale, lease, installation, or use of a detection or alarm device, alarm system, or item of monitoring equipment 
without a label of approval or listing of a testing laboratory approved by the department].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 6001.301, Insurance Code]

Fire Protection Sprinkler System Service and Installation Licenses
Fire protection sprinkler system 
contractor registration; responsible 
managing employee license
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Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Section 6003.151(a) [Fire Protection Sprinkler System 
Contractor; Registration Certifi cate Required], 6003.153 [Responsible Managing Employee: License Required], or 6003.251 
[Prohibited Practices].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 6003.301, Insurance Code]

Fireworks and Fireworks Display Licenses
Fireworks manufacturer license; 
fi reworks pyrotechnic operator 
license; fi reworks pyrotechnic special 
effects operator license; fl ame effects 
operator license; public display 
permit

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 2154.101(b), (c)(2), or (d) [relating to general requirements; 
subsections set out minimum age requirements for a pyrotechnic operator’s license and prohibit fraudulent attempts to obtain 
such a license or altering or defacing the license], 2154.151(e) [Manufacturer’s License; requires a licensed manufacturer 
to submit samples of all fi reworks to the state fi re marshal for approval], or 2154.201(a), (b)(2), or (c) [similar to Section 
2154.101, but applicable to public fi reworks display permits], or Subchapter F [Prohibited Acts].
(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) A violation of Section 2154.251(a)(1), (2), (3), (4), (5), or (8) [relating to the prohibited use of fi reworks] that results 
in property damage in an amount of less than $200 and does not result in bodily injury or death, or a violation of Section 
2154.254(a) or (b) [Employment of Minors] is a Class C misdemeanor.
(d) Each day a violation occurs or continues constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2154.303, Occupations Code] 

Insurance Licenses
Insurance licenses (generally)

Administrative penalty• The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this code or another insurance 
law of this state who violates:
 (1) this code;
 (2) another insurance law of this state; or
 (3) a rule or order adopted under this code or another insurance law of this state.
[Statutory Authority: Section 84.021, Insurance Code]
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(a) The penalty for a violation may not exceed $25,000, unless a greater or lesser penalty is specifi ed by this code or another 
insurance law of this state.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to the public interest or public confi dence caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;
 (6) whether the violation was intentional; and
 (7) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 84.022, Insurance Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person or entity, including an insurer, that violates this chapter [Chapter 101. Unauthorized Insurance] or Chapter 226 
[Unauthorized and Independently Procured Insurance Premium Tax] is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000 for 
each act of violation and for each day of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 101.105, Insurance Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person, including an insurer, who intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly violates Section 101.102 [Unauthorized 
Insurance Prohibited] commits an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
(c) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that Section 101.051 [Conduct That Constitutes the Business of Insurance] or 
101.052 [Advertising Relating to Medicare Supplement Policies], as applicable, by its terms does not apply to the person charged.
[Statutory Authority: Section 101.106, Insurance Code]

Insurance adjuster license (including 
limited license)

Criminal penalty• A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 4101.051 [License Required] or 4101.102(c) [Limited License; 
subsection prohibits a person from adjusting claims in a kind of insurance other than that for which the adjuster is specifi cally 
licensed].  An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not more than $500;
 (2) confi nement in the county jail for not more than six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and the confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 4101.203, Insurance Code]
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Insurance premium fi nance company 
license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or negligently engages in the operation of an insurance premium fi nance company 
and does not hold a license issued under this chapter;
 (2) intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or negligently violates this chapter;
 (3) intentionally or knowingly omits to state a material fact necessary to give the commissioner or the department information 
lawfully required of the person; or
 (4) refuses to permit an investigation or examination authorized under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 651.208, Insurance Code]

Public insurance adjuster

Administrative penalty• The commissioner, in lieu of suspending or revoking a license for a violation of this chapter or a rule adopted under this 
chapter, may impose on a license holder an administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $2,000 per violation if the 
commissioner determines that that action better serves the purposes of this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 4102.204, Insurance Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.  An offense under this subsection is a Class B misdemeanor.
(b) If conduct that constitutes an offense under this section also constitutes an offense under any other law, the person 
committing the offense may be prosecuted under this section or the other law.
(c) In addition to the criminal penalties imposed under this section, a person in violation of this chapter is subject to the 
sanctions provided by Sections 541.108 [Cease and Desist Order], 541.109 [Modifi cation or Setting Aside of Order], and 
541.110 [Administrative Penalty], as if the person had violated an order under those sections.
[Statutory Authority: Section 4102.206, Insurance Code]

Reinsurance intermediary broker 
license

(a) The commissioner may impose or seek any sanction authorized by law, including the penalties authorized by Chapters 82 
[Sanctions] and 83 [Emergency Cease and Desist Orders], against a reinsurance intermediary, insurer, or reinsurer who the 
commissioner determines, after notice and hearing as provided by this code, has violated this chapter.
(b) The commissioner may impose or seek any sanction authorized by law, including the penalties authorized by Chapter 101 
[Unauthorized Insurance], against a nonlicensed reinsurance intermediary who violates this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 4152.302, Insurance Code]
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Utilization review agent certifi cate If the commissioner determines that a utilization review agent, health maintenance organization, insurer, or other person or 
entity conducting utilization review has violated or is violating this chapter, the commissioner may:
 (1) impose a sanction under Chapter 82 [Sanctions];
 (2) issue a cease and desist order under Chapter 83 [Emergency Cease and Desist Orders]; or
 (3) assess an administrative penalty under Chapter 84 [Administrative Penalties].
[Statutory Authority: Section 4201.603, Insurance Code]

Texas Board of Professional Land Surveying
Land surveyor licenses and 
registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under 
this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1071.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $1,500 for each violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the board shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts;
 (2) the economic damage to property caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
(c) The board by rule shall adopt an administrative penalty schedule for violations of this chapter or board rules to ensure that 
the amounts of penalties imposed are appropriate to the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1071.452, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule is liable for a civil penalty not to exceed $1,500 for each violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1071.503, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalty• (b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) engages in the practice of or offers to practice professional surveying or state land surveying in this state without being 
registered or licensed in accordance with this chapter;
 (2) presents or attempts to use another person’s certifi cate of registration, license, or seal issued under this chapter;
 (3) gives false or forged evidence to obtain or assist another person in obtaining a certifi cate of registration or license; or
 (4) violates this chapter or a rule adopted by the board.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1071.504, Occupations Code]

Commission on Law Enforcement Offi cer Standards and Education
Law enforcement offi cer licenses 
(generally)

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person appoints or retains another person as an offi cer or county jailer in violation of 
Section 1701.301 [License Required], 1701.303 [License Application; Duties of Appointing Entity], or 1701.306 [Psychological 
and Physical Examination].
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 and not more than 
$1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1701.551, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person appoints or retains another person in violation of Section 1701.403 [Investigative 
Hypnosis].
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 and not more than 
$1,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1701.552, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person appoints or retains an individual as an offi cer, public security offi cer, or county 
jailer in violation of Section 1701.312 [Disqualifi cation:  Felony Conviction or Placement on Community Supervision] or 
1701.313 [Disqualifi cation:  Conviction of Barratry].
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1701.553, Occupations Code]
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Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Licenses

Air conditioning and refrigeration 
contractor license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) knowingly engages in air conditioning and refrigeration contracting without holding a license issued under this chapter; 
or
 (2) purchases a refrigerant or equipment containing a refrigerant in this state in violation of Section 1302.353 [Purchase of 
Refrigerant: License or Registration Required], 1302.355 [Purchase of Refrigerant: Evidence Requirement], or 1302.356 [Sale 
or Use of Certain Refrigerants Prohibited].
(b) It is an exception to the application of this section with respect to a purchase of a refrigerant or equipment containing a 
refrigerant in this state in violation of Section 1302.356 that the refrigerant or equipment is purchased for use only in a motor 
vehicle and that use is authorized by the United States Environmental Protection Agency.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1302.453, Occupations Code]

Auctioneer Licenses
Auctioneer licenses (generally)

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person acts as an auctioneer without a license.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1802.301, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates a provision of this chapter or a rule adopted by the commission under 
this chapter for which a penalty is not provided.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1802.303, Occupations Code]

Barbering and Cosmetology Licenses
Barber school permit; barbershop 
permit; Class A barber certifi cate; 
private beauty culture school license
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Civil penalty• (a) A barber, barbershop owner, barber school, or private beauty culture school that violates this chapter [Chapter 1603. 
Regulation of Barbering and Cosmetology], Chapter 1601 [Barbers], Chapter 1602 [Cosmetologists], or a commission rule is 
liable for a civil penalty in addition to any injunctive relief or other remedy provided by law.
(b) The amount of the civil penalty for a barber or barbershop owner may not exceed $25 a day for each violation.
(c) The amount of the civil penalty for a barber school or private beauty culture school may not exceed $1,000 a day for each 
violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1603.452, Occupations Code]

Cosmetology licenses (generally)

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) Unless otherwise provided by this chapter, an offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less 
than $100 or more than $300.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1602.554, Occupations Code] 

Combative Sports Licenses
Combative sports licenses (generally)

Civil penalty• (a) A court may assess a civil penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.  The 
amount of the penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2052.303, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2052.309, Occupations Code]

Promoter license

Criminal penalty• A promoter who does not comply with Section 2052.115(1) [Promoter Responsibilities; subdivision requires promoter to 
assure that all contestants scheduled to participate in a promoted event are licensed before the event] in a timely manner is 
subject to a penalty under this chapter for each contestant who obtains a license less than 72 hours before an event in which 
the contestant is scheduled to participate.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2052.3015, Occupations Code]
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Electrician Licenses
Electrician licenses (generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The executive director may impose an administrative penalty on a person under Subchapter F [Administrative Penalty6], 
Chapter 51 [Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation], regardless of whether the person holds a license under this 
chapter [Chapter 1305. Electricians], if the person violates:
 (1) this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (2) a rule or order of the executive director or commission.
(b) An administrative penalty may not be imposed unless the person charged with a violation is provided the opportunity for 
a hearing.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1305.301, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (b) The attorney general or executive director may institute an action for an injunction or a civil penalty under this chapter as 
provided by Section 51.352 [Injunctive Relief; Civil Penalty7].
[Statutory Authority: Section 1305.302(b), Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person subject to this chapter commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates the licensing requirements of this chapter;
 (2) performs electrical work without a license to perform electrical work in this state;
 (3) employs an individual who does not hold the appropriate license required by this chapter; or
 (4) falsifi es a certifi cation of on-the-job training.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1305.303, Occupations Code]

Employment Services Licenses
Personnel employment service 
certifi cate of authority

Administrative penalty• (b) If, after a hearing, the commission determines that a personnel service has violated Section 2501.102 [Imposition of Fee 
Prohibited Before Employment Offer Accepted], the commission may award the complainant an amount equal to the amount 
of the fee charged by the personnel service.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2501.154, Occupations Code]
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(a) In addition to the amount awarded to a complainant under Section 2501.154(b), the executive director may impose on 
the personnel service an administrative penalty equal to two times the amount awarded under that subsection.  A penalty 
collected under this section shall be deposited in the state treasury.
(b) A penalty imposed under this section is in lieu of a criminal penalty provided by this chapter for a violation of Section 
2501.102.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2501.253, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2501.251, Occupations Code]

Staff leasing services license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person who violates Section 91.061 [Prohibited Acts] commits an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 91.063, Labor Code]

Talent agency registration

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2105.253, Labor Code] 

Temporary common worker employer 
registration

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally violates:
 (1) this chapter;
 (2) a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (3) an administrative order adopted under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 92.031, Labor Code] 
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Industrialized Housing and Buildings Licenses
Industrialized housing and buildings 
licenses (generally)

Criminal penalty• (b) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter [Chapter 1202. Industrialized Housing and Buildings] or a 
published rule of the commission or order of the commission or the executive director.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1202.351, Occupations Code]

Legal Services Licenses
Court interpreter license

Administrative penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this subchapter [Subchapter C. Court Interpreters for Individuals Who 
Do Not Communicate in English] or a rule adopted under this subchapter.
(b) A person who violates this subchapter or a rule adopted under this subchapter is subject to an administrative penalty 
assessed by the commission as provided by Subchapter F, Chapter 51, Occupations Code.7

[Statutory Authority: Section 57.050, Government Code]

For-profi t legal service contract 
company registrations (generally)

Civil penalty• (a) The executive director may institute an action against a company or sales representative for injunctive relief under Section 
51.352 [Injunctive Relief; Civil Penalty] to restrain a violation or a threatened violation of this chapter [Chapter 953. Regulation 
of For-profi t Legal Service Contract Companies] or an order issued or rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) In addition to the injunctive relief, the executive director may institute an action for a civil penalty as provided by Section 
51.352.7

[Statutory Authority: Section 953.203, Occupations Code]

Property Tax Consulting Licenses
Property tax consultant registrations 
(generally)

Criminal penalty• (a) A person required to be registered under this chapter commits an offense if the person:
 (1) is not registered under this chapter; and
 (2) performs or offers to perform property tax consulting services for compensation.
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(b) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) knows that a person required to be registered under this chapter is not registered; and
 (2) represents that the person required to be registered is a property tax consultant, agent, counselor, advisor, or representative.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1152.252, Occupations Code]

Service Contract Provider Licenses
Service contract provider registrations 
(generally)

Civil penalty• (a) The executive director may institute an action under Section 51.352 [Injunctive Relief; Civil Penalty] for injunctive relief 
to restrain a violation or a threatened violation of this chapter [Chapter 1304. Service Contract Providers] or an order issued 
or rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) In addition to the injunctive relief, the executive director may institute an action for a civil penalty as provided by Section 
51.352.7  The amount of a civil penalty assessed under this section may not exceed:
 (1) $2,500 for each violation; or
 (2) $50,000 in the aggregate for all violations of a similar nature.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1304.202, Occupations Code]

Towing and Vehicle Storage Facility Licenses
Tow truck company registration; tow 
truck operator license

Criminal penalty• A violation of this chapter is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than $500 or more than $1,500.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2308.405, Occupations Code]

Vehicle storage facility licenses 
(generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The commission may impose an administrative penalty on a person under Subchapter F, Chapter 51,7 regardless of whether the 
person holds a registration, permit, or license under this chapter [Chapter 2303. Vehicle Storage Facilities], if the person violates:
 (1) this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (2) a rule or order of the executive director or commission.
(b) An administrative penalty may not be imposed unless the person charged with a violation is provided the opportunity for 
a hearing.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2303.304, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) If a person has violated, is violating, or is threatening to violate this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter, 
the department or the attorney general at the request of the department may institute an action for:
 (1) injunctive relief;
 (2) a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each violation; or
 (3) both injunctive relief and the civil penalty.
(b) If the department or the attorney general prevails in an action under this section, the department or the attorney general is 
entitled to recover reasonable attorney’s fees and court costs.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2303.301, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates the licensing requirements of this chapter; or
 (2) employs an individual who does not hold an appropriate license required by this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2303.302, Occupations Code]

Water Well Driller and Pump Installer Licenses
Water well driller license

Civil penalty• A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $200 or 
more than $1,000 for each day of noncompliance or each act of noncompliance as determined by the court.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1901.401, Occupations Code]

Water well pump installer license

Civil penalty• A person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $200 or 
more than $1,000 for each day of noncompliance or each act of noncompliance as determined by the court.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1902.401, Occupations Code]

Other Licenses
Discount health care program operator 
registration

Administrative penalty• On a fi nding that a ground for disciplinary action exists under this chapter, the executive director of the department may 
impose an administrative sanction, including any administrative penalty, as provided by Chapter 51, Occupations Code.6
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.151, Health and Safety Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) The executive director of the department may institute an action against a program operator or marketer for injunctive relief 
under Section 51.352, Occupations Code [Injunctive Relief; Civil Penalty], to restrain a violation or a threatened violation of 
this chapter or an order issued or rule adopted under this chapter.
(b) In addition to the injunctive relief, the executive director of the department may institute an action for a civil penalty as 
provided by  Section 51.352, Occupations Code.7

(c) The amount of any civil penalty assessed under this section may not exceed $2,500 for each violation.
(d) Advertising, selling, or distributing a discount health care program that violates this chapter is a false, misleading, or deceptive act 
or practice for purposes of Section 17.46, Business & Commerce Code [Deceptive Trade Practices Unlawful].  The exclusive remedy 
for such a violation is an action by the offi ce of the attorney general as provided by Section 17.46(a), Business & Commerce Code.
(e) The offi ce of the attorney general may not bring an action under Section 17.46, Business & Commerce Code, for a violation 
arising out of the same act or failure to act for which an administrative or civil penalty has been assessed in accordance with 
Section 76.151 [Disciplinary Action] or this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 76.152, Health and Safety Code] 

Vehicle protection product warrantor 
registration

Civil penalty• (a) In addition to injunctive relief under Section 2306.252 [Injunction], the executive director may bring an action against a 
warrantor for a civil penalty as provided by Section 51.352.7

(b) A civil penalty assessed under this section may not exceed:
 (1) $1,000 for each violation; or
 (2) $50,000 in the aggregate for all violations of a similar nature.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2306.253, Occupations Code]

Texas Lottery Commission
Bingo licenses (generally)

Administrative penalty• The commission may impose an administrative penalty against a person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted 
by the commission under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2001.601, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
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(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the director shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited acts;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2001.602, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly participates in the award of a prize to a bingo player in a manner that 
disregards, to any extent, the random selection of numbers or symbols.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
(c) It is a defense to prosecution under this section that no participant in the game furnished anything of value for the opportunity 
to participate in the game.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2001.552, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if a person sells or attempts to induce the sale of bingo equipment, supplies, or automated 
bingo services to a licensed authorized organization and the person is not licensed to do so.
(b) A licensed system service provider commits an offense if the person provides system services to a person other than a 
licensed authorized organization or a group of licensed authorized organizations.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2001.553, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense and the person’s license is subject to revocation under this chapter if the person:
 (1) makes a false statement or material omission in an application for a license under this chapter;
 (2) fails to maintain records that fully and accurately record each transaction connected with the conducting of bingo, the 
leasing of premises to be used for bingo, or the manufacture, sale, or distribution of bingo supplies or equipment;
 (3) falsifi es or makes a false entry in a book or record if the entry relates to bingo, the disposition of bingo proceeds, 
the application of rent received by a licensed authorized organization, or the gross receipts from the manufacture, sale, or 
distribution of bingo supplies or equipment;
 (4) diverts or pays a portion of the net proceeds of bingo to a person except in furtherance of one or more of the lawful 
purposes provided by this chapter; or
 (5) violates this chapter or a term of a license issued under this chapter.
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(b) An offense under Subsection (2), (3), or (5) is a Class C misdemeanor, unless it is shown on the trial of the offense that 
the person has been convicted previously under this section, in which event the offense is a Class B misdemeanor.  An 
offense under Subsection (1) or (4) is a Class A misdemeanor.  This subsection does not apply to an offense committed under 
Section 2001.551(b) [Unlawful Bingo; Offense] or Section 2001.552 [Fraudulent Award of Prizes; Offense].
 [Statutory Authority: Section 2001.554, Occupations Code]

Texas Medical Board
Physician licenses and permits8

Administrative penalty• (a) The board by rule shall prescribe the procedure by which it may impose an administrative penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.002, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.003, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) If it appears that a person is in violation of or is threatening to violate this subtitle or a rule or order adopted by the board, 
the attorney general may institute an action for a civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation.
(b) Each day a violation continues constitutes a separate violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.101, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this subtitle [Subtitle B. Physicians] or a rule of the board.
(b) If another penalty is not specifi ed for the offense, an offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.151, Occupations Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person practices medicine in this state in violation of this subtitle.
(b) Each day a violation continues constitutes a separate offense.
(c) An offense under Subsection (a) is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.152, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person practices medicine without a license or permit and causes another person:
 (1) physical or psychological harm; or
 (2) fi nancial harm.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a)(1) is a felony of the third degree.
(c) An offense under Subsection (a)(2) is a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.153, Occupations Code]

(b) A person commits an offense if the person is licensed or regulated under this subtitle, performs surgery on a patient while 
intoxicated, and, by reason of that conduct, places the patient at a substantial and unjustifi able risk of harm.
(c) An offense under this section is a state jail felony.
(d) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution under this section that the actor performed the surgery in an emergency.  In this subsection, 
“emergency” means a condition or circumstance in which a reasonable person with education and training similar to that of the actor 
would assume that the person on whom the surgery was performed was in imminent danger of serious bodily injury or death.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.1535, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person makes a false statement:
 (1) in the person’s application for a license; or
 (2) under oath to obtain a license or to secure the registration of a license to practice medicine.
(b) An offense under this section:
 (1) constitutes tampering with a governmental record or perjury as provided by the Penal Code; and
 (2) shall be punished on conviction as provided by that code.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.154, Occupations Code]

(a) A physician commits an offense if the physician employs or agrees to employ, pays or promises to pay, or rewards or 
promises to reward any person, fi rm, association, partnership, or corporation for securing or soliciting a patient or patronage.
(b) Each payment, reward, or fee or agreement to pay or accept a reward or fee constitutes a separate offense.
(c) A physician commits an offense if the physician accepts or agrees to accept a payment or other thing of value for securing 
or soliciting patronage for another physician.
(e) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.155, Occupations Code]
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A person, partnership, trust, association, or corporation commits an offense if the person, partnership, trust, association, 
or corporation, through the use of any letters, words, or terms affi xed on stationery or on advertisements, or in any other 
manner, indicates that the person, partnership, trust, association, or corporation is entitled to practice medicine if the person, 
partnership, trust, association, or corporation is not licensed to do so.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.156, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person unlawfully discloses confi dential information described by Section 160.006 
[Board Confi dentiality] that is possessed by the board.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.158, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person practices medicine without complying with the registration requirements imposed 
by this subtitle.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) constitutes the offense of practicing medicine without a license.
[Statutory Authority: Section 165.159, Occupations Code]

Physician assistant licenses and permits

Administrative penalty• (a) The physician assistant board by order may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed under this chapter 
who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The penalty may be in an amount not to exceed $5,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation 
for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The physician assistant board shall base the amount of the penalty on:
 (1) the severity of patient harm;
 (2) the severity of economic harm to any person;
 (3) the severity of any environmental harm;
 (4) increased potential for harm to the public;
 (5) any attempted concealment of misconduct;
 (6) any premeditated or intentional misconduct;
 (7) the motive for the violation;
 (8) prior misconduct of a similar or related nature;
 (9) the license holder’s disciplinary history;
 (10) prior written warnings or written admonishments from any government agency or offi cial regarding statutes or 
regulations relating to the misconduct;
 (11) violation of a board order;
 (12) failure to implement remedial measures to correct or mitigate harm from the misconduct;
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 (13) lack of rehabilitative potential or likelihood of future misconduct of a similar nature;
 (14) relevant circumstances increasing the seriousness of the misconduct; and
 (15) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 204.351, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if, without holding a license issued under this chapter, the person:
 (1) holds the person out as a physician assistant;
 (2) uses any combination or abbreviation of the term “physician assistant” to indicate or imply that the person is a physician 
assistant; or
 (3) acts as a physician assistant.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 204.352, Occupations Code]

Surgical assistant licenses and permits

Administrative penalty• (a) The medical board by order may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed under this chapter who violates 
this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The penalty may be in an amount not to exceed $5,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation 
for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(c) The medical board shall base the amount of the penalty on:
 (1) the severity of patient harm;
 (2) the severity of economic harm to any person;
 (3) the severity of any environmental harm;
 (4) the increased potential for harm to the public;
 (5) any attempted concealment of misconduct;
 (6) any premeditated or intentional misconduct;
 (7) the motive for the violation;
 (8) any prior misconduct of a similar or related nature;
 (9) the license holder’s disciplinary history;
 (10) any prior written warnings or written admonishments from any government agency or offi cial regarding statutes or 
rules relating to the misconduct;
 (11) whether the violation is of a board order;
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 (12) the person’s failure to implement remedial measures to correct or mitigate harm from the misconduct;
 (13) the person’s lack of rehabilitative potential or likelihood of future misconduct of a similar nature;
 (14) any relevant circumstances increasing the seriousness of the misconduct; and
 (15) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 206.351, Occupations Code]

Acupuncturist and acudetox specialist 
licenses, certifi cations, and permits

Administrative penalty• The acupuncture board by order may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or regulated under this 
chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 205.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation;  and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 205.453, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (b) In addition to injunctive relief or any other remedy provided by law, a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted 
under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $2,000 for each violation.
(c) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a civil penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 205.402, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) Except as provided by Section 205.303 [Acudetox Specialist], a person commits an offense if the person practices 
acupuncture in this state without a license issued under this chapter.
(b) Each day a person practices acupuncture in violation of Subsection (a) constitutes a separate offense.
(c) An offense under Subsection (a) is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 205.401, Occupations Code]
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Texas Board of Nursing
Nursing licenses

Administrative penalties• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this chapter who violates this chapter 
or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 301.501, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 301.502, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates Section 301.451 [Certain Prohibited Practices] or Section 301.251 [License Required] is liable to 
the state for a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 a day.
(b) The civil penalty may be collected in a suit initiated by the board.
[Statutory Authority: Section 301.502, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 301.451 [Certain Prohibited Practices] or Section 301.251 
[License Required].
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor, except that if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the 
defendant has been previously convicted under Subsection (a), the offense is a felony of the third degree.
(c) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 301.554, Occupations Code]
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Texas Optometry Board
Optometrist license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this chapter who violates this chapter 
or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $2,500 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) The attorney general or board may institute an action in a district court in the county in which a violation of Section 351.251 
[License Required], 351.403 [False, Deceptive, or Misleading Advertising], 351.409 [Prohibited Activity by Unlicensed 
Person], or 351.607 [Dispensing Contact Lenses; Penalty] is alleged to have occurred for injunctive relief and a civil penalty 
not to exceed $10,000 for each violation plus court costs and reasonable attorney’s fees.
(b) The attorney general or board may institute an action against a manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer of ophthalmic goods in a 
district court in the county in which a violation of Section 351.408 [Control of Optometry] is alleged to have occurred for injunctive 
relief and a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each day of a violation plus court costs and reasonable attorney’s fees.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.603, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $1,000;
 (2) confi nement in county jail for a term of not less than two months or more than six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
(c) A separate offense is committed each day a violation of this chapter occurs or continues.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.606, Occupations Code]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person dispenses a contact lens by mail or otherwise to a patient in this state without 
having a valid prescription signed by an optometrist, therapeutic optometrist, or licensed physician.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of $1,000 for each lens dispensed.  The fi ne is in 
addition to any other penalty imposed under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 351.607, Occupations Code]

Texas State Board of Pharmacy
Pharmacist and pharmacy licenses

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this subtitle [Subtitle J, Pharmacy 
and Pharmacists] who violates this subtitle or a rule or order adopted under this subtitle.
[Statutory Authority: Section 566.001, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of the administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation, including a violation involving the 
diversion of a controlled substance.
(b) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing the penalty.
(c) The amount, to the extent possible, shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 566.002, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates the license requirements of this subtitle is liable to the state for a civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 
for each day the violation continues.
(b) A person found by the board to have unlawfully engaged in the practice of pharmacy or unlawfully operated a pharmacy 
is subject to a civil penalty under this section.
[Statutory Authority: Section 566.1013, Occupations Code]

265



Table 2.  Statutory Penalties for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses1

Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this subtitle or any rule adopted under this subtitle relating to unlawfully 
engaging in the practice of pharmacy or unlawfully operating a pharmacy.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates the licensing requirements of this subtitle or Section 558.001 
[License Required], 558.002 [Unauthorized Acquisition of License], or 560.002 [Use of “Pharmacy”;  Providing Pharmacy 
Services Without License].
(c) A person commits an offense if the person violates Section 560.001 [License Required] or 560.003 [Prohibited Advertising 
of Pharmacy].
(d) Each day of violation under Subsection (b) or (c) is a separate offense.
(e) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 566.151, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this chapter is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 567.003, Occupations Code]

Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners
Physical therapy licenses

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this chapter or a facility registered 
under this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 453.401, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $200 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or occurs 
is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of a prohibited act;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 453.402, Occupations Code]
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Civil penalty• (a) A person found by a court to have violated this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of $200 for each day the 
violation continues.
[Statutory Authority: Section 453.453, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 453.455, Occupations Code]

Occupational therapy licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) The board may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or facility registered under this chapter who 
violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The penalty may not exceed $200, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for the purpose of 
imposing a penalty.  The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts, and the 
hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice requires.
[Statutory Authority: Section 454.3521, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person found by a court to have violated this chapter is liable to this state for a civil penalty of $200 for each day the 
violation continues.
[Statutory Authority: Section 454.353, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day of violation constitutes a separate offense.
 [Statutory Authority: Section 454.355, Occupations Code]
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Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners
Plumber licenses and registrations 
(generally)

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1301.701, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstance, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act; and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
(c) The board by rule or through procedures adopted by the board and published in the Texas Register shall develop a 
standardized penalty schedule based on the criteria listed in Subsection (b).
[Statutory Authority: Section 1301.702, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• A person who violates this chapter or a rule, permit, or order of the board is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50 or 
more than $1,000 for each act of violation and for each day of violation after notice is provided to the person.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1301.507, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter;
 (2) does not hold a license or endorsement or is not registered under this chapter and engages in an activity for which a 
license, endorsement, or registration is required; or
 (3) employs a person who does not hold a license or endorsement or who is not registered to engage in an activity for which 
a license, endorsement, or registration is required under this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1301.508, Occupations Code]
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Texas Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
Podiatric physician license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty against a person licensed or regulated under this chapter who violates this 
chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 202.551, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate 
violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited acts;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter future violations;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 202.552, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates Section 202.352 [Board Approval of Names Under Which Podiatrist May Practice] or a rule adopted 
or a determination made by the board under that section is subject to a civil penalty of not less than $50 or more than $500 
for each day of violation.
(b) If it appears that a person has violated or is violating Section 202.352 or a rule adopted or determination made by the board 
under that section, the board may institute a civil action in district court for:
 (1) injunctive relief to restrain the person from continuing the violation;
 (2) the assessment and recovery of a civil penalty under Subsection (a); or
 (3) both injunctive relief and the civil penalty.
[Statutory Authority: Section 202.604, Occupations Code]
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Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person professes to be a podiatrist or practices or assumes the duties incident to the 
practice of podiatry without holding a license to practice podiatry.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $50 or more than $500;
 (2) confi nement in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 202.605, Occupations Code]

(a) A podiatrist commits an offense if the podiatrist amputates a human foot.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $500;
 (2) confi nement in the county jail for not less than 30 days or more than six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 202.606, Occupations Code]

Texas Polygraph Examiners Board
Polygraph examiner license

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) violates this chapter other than Section 1703.306 [Confi dentiality of Examination Results]; or
 (2) falsely represents that the person:
  (A) has been or is a polygraph examiner or trainee; or
  (B) is qualifi ed to use an instrument to detect deception or verify the truth of a statement.
(b) An offense under this section is a misdemeanor punishable by:
 (1) a fi ne of not less than $100 or more than $1,000;
 (2) confi nement in county jail for a term not to exceed six months; or
 (3) both the fi ne and confi nement.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1703.402, Occupations Code]

A person commits a Class B misdemeanor if the person, with criminal negligence, violates Section 1703.306.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1703.403, Occupations Code]

270



Table 2.  Statutory Penalties for Violations Relating to Occupational Licenses1

Type of License and Penalty Penalty Description and Statutory Authority

Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists
Psychology licenses

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed or regulated under this chapter if the person violates this 
chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 501.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $1,000.  Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate 
violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts made to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 501.452, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty of 
$1,000 for each day of violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 501.502, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person engages in the practice of psychology or represents that the person is a psychologist 
in violation of this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) Each day a violation occurs is a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 501.503, Occupations Code]
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Department of Public Safety of the State of Texas
Private security licenses and 
registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• In addition to any other disciplinary action taken by the department, and subject to the board’s fi nal order in a hearing under 
this subchapter, the department may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed, commissioned, or registered under 
this chapter who violates this chapter or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.401, Occupations Code]

(a) Each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty.  The amount of each 
separate violation may not exceed $500.
(b) The amount of a violation shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the public caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.402, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) A person who is not licensed under this chapter, who does not have a license application pending, and who violates this 
chapter may be assessed a civil penalty to be paid to the state not to exceed $10,000 for each violation.
(b) A person who contracts with or employs a person who is required to hold a license, certifi cate of registration, or security 
offi cer commission under this chapter knowing that the person does not hold the required license, certifi cate, or commission 
or who otherwise, at the time of contract or employment, is in violation of this chapter may be assessed a civil penalty to be 
paid to the state in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.381, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly falsifi es fi ngerprints or photographs submitted under Section 1702.110 
[Application for License].
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.384, Occupations Code]
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(a) A license holder commits an offense if the license holder:
 (1) operates a guard dog company; and
 (2) fails to provide necessary food, care, or shelter for an animal used by the guard dog company.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.385, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person contracts with or employs a person who is required to hold a license, registration, 
certifi cate, or commission under this chapter knowing that the person does not hold the required license, registration, certifi cate, 
or commission or who otherwise, at the time of contract or employment, is in violation of this chapter.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.386, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person contracts with or is employed by a bail bond surety as defi ned by Chapter 1704 
[Regulation of Bail Bond Sureties] to secure the appearance of a person who has violated Section 38.10, Penal Code [Bail 
Jumping and Failure to Appear], unless the person is:
 (1) a peace offi cer;
 (2) an individual licensed as a private investigator or the manager of a licensed investigations company; or
 (3) a commissioned security offi cer employed by a licensed guard company.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) is a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.3863, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person fails to surrender or immediately return to the commission the person’s 
registration, commission, pocket card, or other identifi cation issued to the person by the commission on notifi cation of a 
summary suspension or summary denial under Section 1702.364 [Summary Actions].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.387, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person violates a provision of this chapter for which a specifi c criminal penalty is not 
prescribed.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor, except that the offense is a felony of the third degree if the 
person has previously been convicted under this chapter of failing to hold a license, registration, certifi cate, or commission 
that the person is required to hold under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1702.388, Occupations Code]
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Texas Racing Commission
Licenses

Administrative penalty• (a) If the commission determines that a person regulated under this Act has violated this Act or a rule or order adopted 
under this Act in a manner that constitutes a ground for a disciplinary action under this Act, the commission may assess an 
administrative penalty against that person as provided by this section.
(b) The commission may assess the administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each violation.  In 
determining the amount of the penalty, the commission shall consider the seriousness of the violation.
[Statutory Authority: Section 15.03, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

Criminal penalties• If no specifi c penalty is provided for a provision of this Act that is a penal offense, a person who violates the provision commits 
a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 15.01, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if, with an intent to deceive and an intent to obtain a benefi t, the person knowingly makes a 
false statement or offers, agrees to convey, or conveys false information about a greyhound race or horse race to another.
(b) Except as provided by Subsection (c), an offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
(c) An offense under this section is a state jail felony if:
 (1) the actor is a licensee under this Act or an employee or member of the commission and the actor knowingly represents 
that a member or employee of the commission or a person licensed by the commission is the source of the false information; 
or
 (2) the false statement or information was contained in racing selection information provided to the public.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.01, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly or intentionally possesses or displays a credential or false credential 
that identifi es the person as the holder of the credential and the person knows:
 (1) that the credential is not issued to the person; or
 (2) the person is not a licensee.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.02, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person is a licensee and the person knowingly or intentionally permits, facilitates, or 
allows access, to an enclosure where races are conducted, to another person who the person knows:
 (1) has engaged in bookmaking, touting, or illegal wagering;
 (2) derives income from illegal activities or enterprises;
 (3) has been convicted of a violation of this Act; or
 (4) is excluded by the commission from entering a racetrack facility.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.04, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly makes a material and false, incorrect, or deceptive statement to 
another who is conducting an investigation or exercising discretion under this Act or a rule adopted under this Act.
(b) In this section, the term “statement” means a representation of fact and includes:
 (1) a written or oral statement; or
 (2) a sworn or unsworn statement.
(c) An offense under this section is a state jail felony unless the statement was material in a commission action relating to a 
racetrack license, in which event the offense is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.06, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person with criminal negligence refuses, denies, or hinders entry to another who is 
exercising or attempting to exercise a power of entry under this Act or a commission rule.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person with criminal negligence refuses, denies, hinders, interrupts, disrupts, impedes, 
or otherwise interferes with a search by a person exercising or attempting to exercise a power to search under this Act or a 
commission rule.
(c) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.07, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly forges a pari-mutuel ticket with the intent to defraud 
or harm another.
(c) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.08, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person impersonates a licensee with the intent to induce another person to submit to the 
actor’s purported authority as a licensee or to rely on the actor’s actions as an alleged licensee.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.09, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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(a) A person commits an offense if the person possesses a prohibited device or prohibited substance on a racetrack facility, in 
an enclosure, or at a training facility.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) of this section is a Class A misdemeanor, unless the actor possessed the device or 
substance with the intent to infl uence or affect the outcome of a horse or greyhound race in a manner contrary to this Act 
or a commission rule, in which event it is a state jail felony.
(c) A person commits an offense if, with the intent to infl uence or affect a horse or greyhound race in a manner contrary to this 
Act or a commission rule, the person:
 (1) uses or offers to use a prohibited device; or
 (2) uses or offers to use a prohibited substance.
(d) An offense under Subsection (c) of this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.10, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if, with the intent to infl uence or affect the outcome of a race in a manner contrary to this 
Act or a commission rule, the person offers, confers, agrees to confer on another, or solicits, accepts, or agrees to accept 
from another person any benefi t as consideration for the actions of a person who receives the benefi t relating to the conduct, 
decision, opinion, recommendation, vote, or exercise of discretion as a licensee or other person associated with or interested 
in any stable, kennel, horse, greyhound, or horse or greyhound race.
(b) An offense under this section is a state jail felony, unless the recipient of the benefi t is a steward, judge, or other racetrack 
offi cial exercising authority over a horse or greyhound race that the person providing or offering the benefi t intended to 
infl uence, in which event it is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.11, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person with criminal negligence permits, facilitates, or allows:
 (1) wagering by a minor at a racetrack facility; or
 (2) entry by a child to the viewing section of a racetrack facility.
(b) An offense under Subsection (a) of this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(c) A person commits an offense if the person is a minor and intentionally or knowingly engages in wagering at a racetrack.
(d) An offense under Subsection (c) of this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
(e) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution of an offense under Subsection (a)(2) that a child was accompanied by and was 
in the physical presence of a parent, guardian, or spouse who was 21 years of age or older.
(f) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution of an offense under Subsection (a) of this section that the minor falsely represented 
the minor’s age by displaying to the person an apparently valid Texas driver’s license or identifi cation card issued by the 
Department of Public Safety that contains a physical description consistent with the minor’s appearance.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.13, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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A person commits an offense if:
 (1) the person participates, permits, or conducts a greyhound or horse race at a licensed racetrack facility;
 (2) the person wagers on the partial or fi nal outcome of the greyhound or horse race or knows or reasonably should know 
that another is betting on the partial or fi nal outcome of the race; and
 (3) the race is not part of a performance or meeting conducted under this Act or commission rule.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.14, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if, without a license, the person participates or is otherwise involved in, in any capacity, 
greyhound racing or horse racing with pari-mutuel wagering.
(b) It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution under Subsection (a) of this section that the actor was a spectator or a person 
placing a wager.
(c) An offense under Subsection (a) of this section is a Class A misdemeanor, unless the actor was required by this Act to 
obtain a racetrack license, in which event it is a state jail felony.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.15, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) conducts a greyhound or horse race without a racetrack license; and
 (2) knows or reasonably should know that another person is betting on the fi nal or partial outcome of the race.
(b) An offense under this section is a felony of the third degree.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.16, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person intentionally or knowingly:
 (1) fails or refuses to display a credential to another after a lawful request; or
 (2) fails or refuses to give the person’s name, residence address, or date of birth to another after a lawful request.
(b) In this section, “lawful request” means a request from the commission, an authorized agent of the commission, the director 
or a commissioned offi cer of the Department of Public Safety, a peace offi cer, or a steward or judge at any time and any 
restricted location that:
 (1) is on a racetrack facility; and
 (2) is not a public place.
(c) Except as provided by Subsection (d) of this section, an offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
(d) At the punishment stage of a trial for an offense under Subsection (a)(1) of this section, the defendant may raise an issue as to whether 
the defendant was a licensee at the time of the offense.  If the defendant proves the issue, the offense is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.17, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

A person who is subject to prosecution for a penal offense under this Act and another law may be prosecuted under either law.
[Statutory Authority: Section 14.19, Texas Racing Act (Art. 179e et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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Railroad Commission of Texas
Compressed natural gas (CNG) and 
liquefi ed natural gas (LNG) licenses

Civil penalty• (a) If a person violates this chapter, a rule of the commission adopted under this chapter, or a term, condition, or provision of 
a license or registration issued by the commission under this chapter and the violation results in pollution of the air or water of 
this state or poses a threat to the public safety, the person may be assessed a civil penalty by the commission.
(b) The penalty may not exceed $10,000 a day for each violation.  Each day a violation continues may be considered a 
separate violation for purposes of penalty assessments.
(c) In determining the amount of the penalty, the commission shall consider the person’s history of previous violations of this 
chapter, the seriousness of the violation, any hazard to the health or safety of the public, and the demonstrated good faith of 
the person charged.
[Statutory Authority: Section 116.143, Natural Resources Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person who knowingly violates this chapter or rules adopted by the commission under this chapter commits an offense.
(b) An offense under this section is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $100 nor more than $5,000.
(c) Each day a violation continues constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 116.142, Natural Resources Code]

Liquefi ed petroleum gas (LPG) license

Civil penalty• A person forfeits to the state a civil penalty of not less than $25 nor more than $200 if the person:
 (1) fails or refuses to comply with or violates this subchapter [Subchapter I. Alternative Fuels Research and Education]; or
 (2) fails or refuses to comply with or violates a commission rule for administering or enforcing this subchapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.248, Natural Resources Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) In addition to injunctive relief and other penalties provided in this chapter, a person who knowingly violates or fails to 
comply with this chapter or rules adopted under this chapter is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor and is punishable by a fi ne 
of not less than $100 nor more than the maximum fi ne as set out in Section 12.239 [Class C Misdemeanor] of the Penal 
Code.
(b) A person previously convicted under this section who knowingly violates or fails to comply with this chapter is guilty of a 
Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fi ne of not less than the maximum fi ne allowed by law for a Class C misdemeanor, 
nor more than the maximum fi ne as set out in Section 12.2110 [Class A Misdemeanor] of the Penal Code.
(c) A penalty prescribed by this section is in addition to injunctive relief and other penalties provided by this chapter.
(d) Each day the violation or failure to comply continues constitutes a separate offense.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.232, Natural Resources Code]
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(a) Any person who knowingly sells, furnishes, delivers, or supplies LPG for storage in or use or consumption by or through 
a container, appliance, transport, or system to which a warning tag is attached is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction 
is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 and not more than $2,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.235, Natural Resources Code]

An unauthorized person who knowingly removes, destroys, or in any way obliterates a warning tag attached to a container, 
appliance, transport, or system is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is punishable by a fi ne of not less than $50 and 
not more than $2,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.236, Natural Resources Code]

(a) A person who fails to fi le a report as provided by this subchapter or who possesses a fee collected or payable under this 
subchapter [Subchapter I. Alternative Fuels Research and Education] and who fails to remit the fee to the commission at the 
time and in the manner required by this subchapter and rules of the commission shall pay a penalty of fi ve percent of the 
amount of the fee due and payable.  If the person fails to fi le the report or pay the fee before the 30th day after the date on 
which the fee or report is due, the person shall pay a penalty of an additional fi ve percent of the amount of the fee due and 
payable.
(b) The commission may add a penalty of 75 percent of the amount of the fee or penalty due if failure to fi le the report or 
pay the fee when it comes due is attributable to fraud or an intent to evade the application of this section or a rule made under 
this subchapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.247, Natural Resources Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person makes and delivers to the commission a report required under this subchapter to 
be made and delivered to the commission, if the report contains false information. An offense under this subsection is a felony 
of the third degree.
(b) The court may not fi ne a corporation or association under Section 12.51(c), Penal Code11 [Authorized Punishments for 
Corporations and Associations], unless the amount of the fi ne under that subsection is greater than the amount that could be 
fi xed by the court under Section 12.51(b), Penal Code.12

(c) In addition to a sentence imposed on a corporation, the court shall give notice of the conviction to the attorney general as 
required by Article 17A.09, Code of Criminal Procedure.
[Statutory Authority: Section 113.250, Natural Resources Code]

Texas Real Estate Commission
Broker license; salesperson license

Administrative penalty• The commission may impose an administrative penalty on a person who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued 
by the commission under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1101.701, Occupations Code]
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(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation.  Each day a violation continues or 
occurs may be considered a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty if the commission determines that the person 
charged:
 (1) engaged in an activity for which a broker or salesperson license is required without holding the license; and
 (2) was not licensed by the commission as a broker or salesperson at any time in the four years preceding the date of the 
violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the administrator shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited acts;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1101.702, Occupations Code]

Civil penalty• (a) In addition to injunctive relief under Sections 1101.751 [Injunctive Action Brought by Commission] and 1101.752 
[Additional Injunctive Authority], a person who receives a commission or other consideration as a result of acting as a broker 
or salesperson without holding a license or certifi cate of registration under this chapter is liable to the state for a civil penalty 
of not less than the amount of money received or more than three times the amount of money received.
(b) The commission may recover the civil penalty, court costs, and reasonable attorney’s fees on behalf of the state.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1101.753, Occupations Code]

Inspector license

Administrative penalty• (a) The commission may impose an administrative penalty as provided by Subchapter O, Chapter 1101 [Administrative 
Penalty. Subchapter applies generally to real estate brokers and salespersons], on a person who violates this chapter or a rule 
adopted or order issued by the commission under this chapter or Chapter 1101.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1102.403, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person wilfully violates or fails to comply with this chapter or a commission order.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1102.406, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person does not hold a license under this chapter and knowingly engages in the business 
of real estate inspecting, including performing an inspection while the person’s license is revoked or suspended.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1102.407, Occupations Code]
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Residential service company registration

Civil penalty• (a) A person who violates this chapter is liable for a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed $2,500 for each violation or 
$50,000 in the aggregate for all violations of a similar nature.
(b) The commission may bring an action to collect a civil penalty under this section.
(c) For purposes of this section, violations are of a similar nature if the violations consist of the same or a similar course of 
conduct, action, or practice, regardless of the number of times the conduct, act, or practice occurred.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1303.404, Occupations Code]

A residential service company that engages in business in violation of this chapter shall pay $100 for each day the company 
continues to write new business while in violation of this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1303.407, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person:
 (1) wilfully violates this chapter or a rule adopted under this chapter; or
 (2) knowingly makes a false statement with respect to a report or a statement required by this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1303.406, Occupations Code]

Texas Residential Construction Commission
Certifi cates and registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• In a contested case involving disciplinary action, the commission may, as part of the commission’s order, impose an 
administrative penalty on a registered or certifi ed person who violates this title or a rule adopted or order issued by the 
commission under this title.
[Statutory Authority: Section 419.001, Property Code]

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (c), an administrative penalty imposed under this chapter may not exceed $10,000 for 
each violation.
(b) In determining the amount of an administrative penalty, the hearings offi cer or commission shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the prohibited acts;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter justice may require.
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(c) A violation of Section 418.001(2) or (12) [Grounds for Disciplinary Action; subsections relate to misappropriation or 
misapplication of trust funds in the practice of residential construction and statutory or common-law fraud or misappropriation 
of funds] is punishable by a penalty not to exceed $100,000.
[Statutory Authority: Section 419.002, Property Code]

Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
Licenses and registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• (a) The commissioner may impose an administrative penalty on a person licensed under this chapter who violates this chapter 
or a rule or order adopted under this chapter.
(b) The amount of the penalty may not exceed $2,500, and each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation 
for the purpose of imposing a penalty.  The amount shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of the violation;
 (2) the history of previous violations;
 (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (4) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (5) any other matter that justice may require.
 [Statutory Authority: Section 156.302, Finance Code]

State Securities Board
Registrations (generally)

Administrative penalty• A. After giving notice and opportunity for a hearing, the commissioner may issue an order which assesses an administrative 
fi ne against any person or company found to have:
 (1) engaged in fraud or a fraudulent practice in connection with:
  (A) the offer for sale or sale of a security; or
  (B) the rendering of services as an investment adviser or investment adviser representative;
 (2) made an offer containing a statement that is materially misleading or is otherwise likely to deceive the public; or
 (3) engaged in an act or practice that violates this Act or a board rule or order.
B. Any administrative fi ne assessed under this section must be in an amount that does not exceed $10,000 for a single violation 
or $100,000 for multiple violations in a single proceeding or a series of related proceedings.
C. For purposes of determining the amount of an administrative fi ne assessed under this section, the commissioner shall 
consider factors set out in guidelines established by the board.
[Statutory Authority: Section  581-23-1, Securities Act (Art. 581 et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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Criminal penalties• Any person who shall:
A. Sell, offer for sale or delivery, solicit subscriptions or orders for, dispose of, invite offers for, or who shall deal in any other 
manner in any security or securities without being a registered dealer or agent as in this Act provided shall be deemed guilty 
of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the 
penitentiary for not less than two or more than 10 years, or by both such fi ne and imprisonment.
B. Sell, offer for sale or delivery, solicit subscriptions to and orders for, dispose of, invite orders for, or who shall deal in any 
other manner in any security or securities issued after September 6, 1955, unless said security or securities have been registered 
or granted a permit as provided in Section 7 of this Act [Permit or Registration for Issue by Commissioner;  Information for 
Issuance of Permit or Registration], shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to 
pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the penitentiary for not less than two or more than 10 years, or by 
both such fi ne and imprisonment.
C. In connection with the sale, offering for sale or delivery of, the purchase, offer to purchase, invitation of offers to purchase, 
invitations of offers to sell, or dealing in any other manner in any security or securities, whether or not the transaction or 
security is exempt under Section 5 [Exempt Transactions] or 6 [Exempt Securities] of this Act, directly or indirectly:
 (1) engage in any fraud or fraudulent practice;
 (2) employ any device, scheme, or artifi ce to defraud;
 (3) knowingly make any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the 
statements made, in the light of the circumstances under which they are made, not misleading; or
 (4) engage in any act, practice or course of business which operates or will operate as a fraud or deceit upon any person, is 
guilty of a felony and upon conviction shall be:
(a) imprisoned for not less than 2 or more than 10 years and fi ned not more than $10,000, if the amount involved in the 
offense is less than $10,000;
(b) imprisoned for not less than 2 or more than 20 years and fi ned not more than $10,000, if the amount involved in the 
offense is $10,000 or more but less than $100,000; or
(c) imprisoned for life or for not less than 5 or more than 99 years and fi ned not more than $10,000, if the amount involved 
is $100,000 or more.
D. Knowingly violate a cease and desist order issued by the commissioner under the authority of Section 23A, 23B [Cease and 
Desist Orders;  Cease Publication Orders;  List of Securities Offered], or 23-2 [Emergency Cease and Desist Order] of this Act 
shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 or 
imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more than two years, or by both such fi ne and imprisonment.
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E. Knowingly make or cause to be made, in any document fi led with the commissioner or in any proceeding under this Act, 
whether or not such document or proceeding relates to a transaction or security exempt under the provisions of Section 5 or 6 
of this Act, any statement which is, at the time and in the light of the circumstances under which it is made, false or misleading 
in any material respect shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fi ne of 
not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the penitentiary for not less than two or more than 10 years, or by both such fi ne 
and imprisonment.
F. Knowingly make any false statement or representation concerning any registration made under the provisions of this Act 
shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 or 
imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more than two years, or by both such fi ne and imprisonment.
G. Make an offer of any security within this state that is not in compliance with the requirements governing offers set forth 
in Section 22 of this Act [Regulation of Offers] shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof, shall be 
sentenced to pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more than two years, or by both 
such fi ne and imprisonment.
H. Knowingly make an offer of any security within this state prohibited by a cease publication order issued by the commissioner 
under Section 23C of this Act shall be deemed guilty of a felony, and upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a 
fi ne of not more than $5,000 or imprisonment in the penitentiary for not more than two years, or by both such fi ne and 
imprisonment.
I. Render services as an investment adviser or an investment adviser representative without being registered as required by this 
Act shall be deemed guilty of a felony and on conviction of the felony shall be sentenced to pay a fi ne of not more than $5,000 
or imprisonment in the penitentiary for not less than two or more than 10 years, or by both the fi ne and imprisonment.
[Statutory Authority: Section  581-29, Securities Act (Art. 581 et seq., V.T.C.S.)]

B. If conduct constituting an offense under Section 29 of this Act [Penal Provisions] is performed by an agent acting in behalf 
of a corporation or association and within the scope of the person’s offi ce or employment, the corporation or association is 
criminally responsible for the offense only if its commission was authorized, requested, commanded, performed, or recklessly 
tolerated by:
 (1) a majority of the governing board acting in behalf of the corporation or association; or
 (2) a high managerial agent acting in behalf of the corporation or association and within the scope of the high managerial 
agent’s offi ce or employment.
C. It is an affi rmative defense to prosecution of a corporation or association under Subsection B of this section that the high 
managerial agent having supervisory responsibility over the subject matter of the offense employed due diligence to prevent 
its commission.
[Statutory Authority: Section  581-29-3, Securities Act (Art. 581, et seq., V.T.C.S.)]
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Board of Tax Professional Examiners
Registrations (generally)

Criminal penalties• (a) A person commits an offense if the person does not register with the board as required by Section 1151.151 [Registration 
Required; Exemption].
(b) An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1151.251, Occupations Code]

(a) A person commits an offense if the person performs an appraisal, assessment, or collection function while the person’s 
registration or certifi cation with the board is revoked or suspended.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class B misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 1151.252, Occupations Code]

Texas Department of Transportation
Converter license, manufacturer or 
distributor license, motor vehicle 
franchised dealer license, motor vehicle 
lessor license, representative license, 
service-only facility license,
vehicle lease facilitator license

Civil penalty• (a) If, after a proceeding under this chapter and board rules, the board determines that a person is violating or has violated this 
chapter, a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter, or Section 503.038(a), Transportation Code [Cancellation of General 
Distinguishing Number], the board may impose a civil penalty.  The amount of the penalty may not exceed $10,000 for each 
violation.  Each act of violation and each day a violation continues is a separate violation.
(b) In determining the amount of the penalty, the board shall consider:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act, and the 
harm or potential harm to the safety of the public;
 (2) the economic damage to the public caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2301.801, Occupations Code]
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Salvage vehicle dealer license

Criminal penalty• (a) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates:
 (1) a provision of this chapter other than Subchapter G [Motor Vehicle Salvage Yards in Certain Counties]; or
 (2) a rule adopted under a provision of this chapter other than Subchapter G.
(b) A person commits an offense if the person knowingly violates Subchapter G.
(c) An offense under Subsection (a) is a Class A misdemeanor unless it is shown on the trial of the offense that the defendant 
has been previously convicted of an offense under that subsection, in which event the offense is punishable as a state jail 
felony.
(d) An offense under Subsection (b) is a Class C misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 2302.353, Occupations Code]

Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
Veterinarian license

Administrative penalty• The board may impose an administrative penalty on a person, including a corporation, organization, business trust, estate, trust, 
partnership, association, or other legal entity who violates this chapter or a rule adopted or order issued under this chapter.
[Statutory Authority: Section 801.451, Occupations Code]

(a) The amount of an administrative penalty may not exceed $5,000 for each violation per day.
(b) The amount of the penalty shall be based on:
 (1) the seriousness of the violation, including:
  (A) the nature, circumstances, extent, and gravity of any prohibited act;  and
  (B) the hazard or potential hazard created to the health, safety, or economic welfare of the public;
 (2) the economic harm to property or the environment caused by the violation;
 (3) the history of previous violations;
 (4) the amount necessary to deter a future violation;
 (5) efforts to correct the violation; and
 (6) any other matter that justice may require.
[Statutory Authority: Section 801.452, Occupations Code]

Criminal penalty• (a) A person, including an entity, commits an offense if the person violates this chapter.
(b) An offense under this section is a Class A misdemeanor.
[Statutory Authority: Section 801.504, Occupations Code]
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Notes

 1  There are no statutory penalties relating to certifi cates administered by the State Board for Educator Certifi cation.
 2  General administrative, civil, and criminal penalties of Chapter 431, Health and Safety Code (the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act) apply.
 3  Occupations Code
 4  Section 32.45(c), Penal Code, provides that an offense under this section is: (1) a Class C misdemeanor if the value of the property misapplied is less than $20; (2) a Class B 

misdemeanor if the value of the property misapplied is $20 or more but less than $500; (3) a Class A misdemeanor if the value of the property misapplied is $500 or more but 
less than $1,500; (4) a state jail felony if the value of the property misapplied is $1,500 or more but less than $20,000; (5) a felony of the third degree if the value of the property 
misapplied is $20,000 or more but less than $100,000; (6) a felony of the second degree if the value of the property misapplied is $100,000 or more but less than $200,000; or 
(7) a felony of the fi rst degree if the value of the property misapplied is $200,000 or more.
An offense described by Subsections (1)-(6) is increased to the next higher category of offense if it is shown on the trial of the offense that the offense was committed against an 
elderly individual.

 5  There are no statutory penalties relating to elevator contractor and inspector licenses, which are administered by the Texas Department of Insurance.
 6  Section 51.302, Occupations Code, provides that the amount of an administrative penalty assessed by the commission or executive director may not exceed $5,000 per day for 

each violation and that each day a violation continues or occurs is a separate violation for purposes of imposing a penalty. The provision requires the amount of the penalty to 
be based on: (1) the seriousness of the violation; (2) the respondent’s history of previous violations; (3) the amount necessary to deter a future violation; (4) efforts made by the 
respondent to correct the violation; and (5) any other matter that justice may require. In addition, the provision requires the commission, by rule or by procedure published in the 
Texas Register, to establish a written enforcement plan that provides notice to license holders of the specifi c ranges of penalties that apply to specifi c alleged violations and the 
criteria by which the department determines the amount of a proposed administrative penalty.

 7  Section 51.352, Occupations Code, authorizes the attorney general or the executive director to institute an action for injunctive relief to restrain a violation by and to collect 
a civil penalty from a person that appears to be in violation of or threatening to violate a law establishing a regulatory program administered by the department or a rule or 
order of the commission or executive director related to the regulatory program. The provision does not state a specifi c or maximum amount for such a penalty. In addition, 
the provision authorizes the attorney general and the department to recover reasonable expenses incurred in obtaining injunctive relief under this section, including court costs, 
reasonable attorney’s fees, investigative costs, witness fees, and deposition expenses.

 8  Includes physician-in-training permit.
 9  Section 12.23, Penal Code, provides that an individual found guilty of a Class C misdemeanor shall be punished by a fi ne not to exceed $500.
 10  Section 12.21, Penal Code, provides that an individual found guilty of a Class A misdemeanor shall be punished by: (1) a fi ne not to exceed $4,000;
 (2) confi nement in jail for a term not to exceed one year; or (3) both such fi ne and confi nement.
 11  Section 12.51(c), Penal Code, provides that in lieu of other fi nes authorized by that section, if a court fi nds that the corporation or association gained money or property or 

caused personal injury or death, property damage, or other loss through the commission of a felony or Class A or Class B misdemeanor, the court may sentence the corporation 
or association to pay a fi ne in an amount fi xed by the court, not to exceed double the amount gained or caused by the corporation or association to be lost or damaged, 
whichever is greater.

 12  Section 12.51(b), Penal Code, provides that if a corporation or association is adjudged guilty of an offense that provides a penalty including imprisonment, or that provides 
no specifi c penalty, a court may sentence the corporation or association to pay a fi ne in an amount fi xed by the court, not to exceed: (1) $20,000 if the offense is a felony of 
any category; (2) $10,000 if the offense is a Class A or Class B misdemeanor; (3) $2,000 if the offense is a Class C misdemeanor; or (4) $50,000 if, as a result of an offense 
classifi ed as a felony or Class A misdemeanor, an individual suffers serious bodily injury or death.
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