Skip to main content.
Guide to Texas Legislative Information home page
Guide to Texas Legislative Information (GTLI)
Process for a Bill
 
Introducing a bill

A bill may be introduced by any member of the legislature in the memberís own chamber, and the steps in a billís progress in each chamber are basically the same. A bill passed by one chamber must proceed to the other for passage before going to the governor for approval or veto.

To introduce a bill in the house of representatives, a state representative first must file the required number of copies of the bill with the chief clerk of the house, who sequentially numbers each bill in the order in which it is received. The house rules of procedure permit unrestricted introduction of bills during the first 60 calendar days of each regular session. After the 60-day deadline, the introduction of any bill in the house, other than a local bill or a bill relating to a matter declared by the governor to be an emergency, requires the consent of at least four-fifths of those members present and voting.

To introduce a bill in the senate, a senator first must file the required number of copies of the bill with the secretary of the senate, who sequentially numbers each bill in the order in which it is received. The senate rules of procedure also permit unrestricted introduction of bills during the first 60 calendar days of each regular session. After the 60-day deadline, the introduction of any bill in the senate, other than a local bill or a bill relating to a matter declared by the governor to be an emergency, requires the consent of at least four-fifths of the membership of the senate.

Introducing a bill
Home Legislative Process Legislative Information Glossary
  This website is published by the Texas Legislative Council. This page was last updated August 30, 2010.